التشخيص

من المرجح أن يتمكَّن الطبيب من تشخيص التِهاب تقرن الجريبات الشعرية بمجرد النظر إلى الجلد المصاب. ولا يلزم إجراء فحوصات أخرى.

العلاج

عادةً ما تزول الجريبات الشعرية تلقائيًا بشكل تدريجي. ولكن يمكنك في الوقت الحالي استخدام أيٍ من المنتجات المختلفة المتاحة لتحسين مظهر البشرة. فإذا كان الترطيب وغيره من وسائل العناية الشخصية غير مُجدٍ، فقد يصف الطبيب بعض الكريمات الطبية.

  • كريمات إزالة خلايا الجلد الميتة. تساعد الكريمات التي تحتوي على حمض ألفا هيدروكسي وحمض اللبنيك (اللاكتيك) أو حمض الساليسيليك أو اليوريا على تفكيك خلايا الجلد الميتة وإزالتها. كما أنها ترطب الجلد الجاف وتنعّمه. وتُصرَف هذه الكريمات (مستحضرات التقشير الموضعية) من دون وصفة طبية أو بوصفة طبية. ويمكن أن ينصحك الطبيب بالخيار الأنسب والجرعات الملائمة، علمًا بأن الأحماض الموجودة في هذه الكريمات قد تسبب احمرارًا أو وخزًا أو تهيجًا في الجلد، وبالتالي لا يُنصح باستخدامها للأطفال.
  • كريمات منع انسداد المسام. تعمل الكريمات المشتقة من فيتامين A (الرتينويدات الموضعية) على تعزيز معدل تجدد الخلايا ومنع انسداد جُريبات الشعر. ومن أمثلة الرتينويدات الموضعية، تريتينوين (ألترينو، أفيتا، رينوفا، ريتين-A، وغير ذلك) وتازاروتين (أرازلو، أفاغو، تازوراك، أو غير ذلك)، علمًا بأن هذه المنتجات قد تسبب تُهيج الجلد وجفافه. كذلك إذا كنتِ في فترة الحمل أو الرضاعة، فقد يقترح طبيبكِ تأخير العلاج بالريتينويد الموضعي، أو يختار علاجًا مختلفًا.

قد يُحسّن استخدام الكريمات الطبية بانتظام من مظهر البشرة. ولكن في حال التوقف عنه، ربما تعود الحالة إلى ما كانت عليه. وحتى مع العلاج، قد يستمر تقرن الجريبات الشعرية لسنوات.

نمط الحياة والعلاجات المنزلية

لن تقي تدابير الرعاية الذاتية من الإصابة بتَقران الجُريبات الشَّعرية أو التخلص منه. لكنها قد تحسِّن مظهر الجلد المصاب. وعند استخدام منتج جديد، اختبره على منطقة من الجلد المصاب أولاً مثل الذراع لمعرفة ما إذا كان المنتج فعالاً لحالتك ولا يسبب أي تفاعلات تحسسية أم لا.

  • استخدم المياه الدافئة وقلِّل وقت الاستحمام. يتسبب الماء الساخن والاغتسال أو الاستحمام لوقت طويل في فقدان زيوت البشرة. قلِّل وقت الاغتسال بحيث يكون 10 دقائق أو أقل. واستخدم الماء الدافئ وليس الساخن.
  • تعامل مع الجلد بلطف. تجنب استخدام الصابون من النوع القاسي على الجلد والمسبب لجفاف البشرة. أزِل الجلد الميت (قشِّره) برفق باستخدام منشفة أو لوفة. وقد يؤدي الفرك الشديد أو إزالة سدادات جُريبات الشعر إلى تهيج الجلد وتفاقم الحالة. بعد الاغتسال أو الاستحمام، امسح الجلد وجففه برفق باستخدام منشفة بحيث تبقى بعض الرطوبة عليه.
  • جرِّب الكريمات الطبية. ضَع على الجلد المصاب كريمًا متاحًا من دون وصفة طبية يحتوي على اليوريا أو حمض اللاكتيك أو حمض ألفا هيدروكسي أو حمض الساليسيليك. تساعد هذه الكريمات على تفكيك خلايا الجلد الميتة وإزالتها. كما أنها ترطِّب الجلد الجاف وتنعِّمه. استعمل هذا المنتج قبل المرطِّب.
  • رطِّب جلدك. بينما لا يزال الجلد رطبًا بعد الاستحمام، ضَع مرطبًا يحتوي على اللانولين أو الفازلين أو الجلسرين. تعمل هذه المكونات على تلطيف الجلد الجاف وتساعد على حبس الرطوبة. يُفضل استخدام المرطبات ذات القوام الكثيف مثل يوسيرين وسيتافيل. أعِد استعمال المنتج على الجلد المصاب عدة مرات في اليوم.
  • استخدم جهازًا مرطبًا للجو. تتسبب الرطوبة المنخفضة في جفاف الجلد. وسيضيف جهاز ترطيب الجو المنزلي المحمول أو الملحق بالفرن رطوبة إلى الهواء داخل منزلك.
  • تجنب ارتداء الملابس الضيقة لمنع احتكاكها بالجلد. احمِ الجلد المصاب من الاحتكاك الذي يحدث عند ارتداء الملابس الضيقة.

الاستعداد لموعدك

من المحتمل أن تبدأ في زيارة طبيب الأسرة الخاص بك. أو قد يحيلك إلى أخصائي في الأمراض الجلدية (طبيب أمراض جلدية). وقد ترغب في إعداد قائمة من الأسئلة لطرحها على طبيبك.

بالنسبة لتقرّن الجريبات الشعرية، تتضمن بعض الأسئلة الأساسية ما يلي:

  • ما السبب الأرجح لهذه الأعراض؟
  • ما الأسباب المحتملة الأخرى لهذه الأعراض؟
  • هل من المحتمل أن تكون هذه الحالة مؤقتة أم مزمنة؟
  • ما أفضل مسار عمل؟
  • ما البدائل للنهج الأولي الذي تقترحه؟
  • هل هناك دواء بديل جنيس للدواء الذي تصفه؟

ما الذي تتوقعه من طبيبك

من المُرجَّح أن يطرَح عليك طبيبك عددًا من الأسئلة. وقد يوفر لك استعدادك للإجابة عن هذه الأسئلة الوقت بعد ذلك للتطرّق لأي نقاط ترغب في مناقشتها. قد يطرح عليك الطبيب الأسئلة التالية:

  • متى بدأ ظهور الأعراض؟
  • هل الأعراض مستمرة أم عَرضية؟
  • ما الذي يجعل الأعراض تتحسن، إن وُجد؟
  • ما الذي يجعل الأعراض تزداد سوءًا، إن وُجد؟
  • هل يتعرض أفراد العائلة الآخرون لتغيرات مشابهة في الجلد؟
  • هل لديك أنت أو طفلك تاريخ من الإصابة بالربو أو حمى الكلأ أو غيرهما من أنواع الحساسية؟
  • هل لديك أنت أو طفلك تاريخ من الإصابة بالإكزيما؟
30/01/2021
  1. AskMayoExpert. Keratosis pilaris. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  2. Keratosis pilaris. American Osteopathic College of Dermatology. http://www.aocd.org/skin/dermatologic_diseases/keratosis_pilaris.html. Accessed Oct. 2, 2020.
  3. Keratosis pilaris. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/dermatologic-disorders/cornification-disorders/keratosis-pilaris. Accessed Oct. 2, 2020.
  4. Keratosis pilaris. American Academy of Dermatology. https://www.aad.org/public/diseases/a-z/keratosis-pilaris-overview. Accessed Oct. 2, 2020.
  5. Dermatologists' top 10 tips for relieving dry skin. American Academy of Dermatology. https://www.aad.org/dermatology-a-to-z/health-and-beauty/general-skin-care/dry-skin-tips. Accessed Oct. 2, 2020.

Diagnosis

Your health care provider will likely be able to diagnose keratosis pilaris just by looking at the affected skin. No testing is needed.

Treatment

Keratosis pilaris usually clears up on its own with time. In the meantime, you might use one of the many products available to help improve how the skin looks. If moisturizing and other self-care measures don't help, your health care provider may prescribe medicated creams.

  • Creams to remove dead skin cells. Creams containing alpha hydroxy acid, lactic acid, salicylic acid or urea help loosen and remove dead skin cells. They also moisturize and soften dry skin. These creams are called topical exfoliants. Depending on their strengths, they are available with a prescription or as a nonprescription products. Your health care provider can advise you on the best option and how often to apply. The acids in these creams may cause inflamed skin or stinging, so they aren't recommended for young children.
  • Creams to prevent plugged follicles. Creams derived from vitamin A are called topical retinoids. They work by promoting cell turnover and preventing plugged hair follicles. Tretinoin (Altreno, Avita, Renova, Retin-A, others) and tazarotene (Arazlo, Avage, Tazorac, others) are examples of topical retinoids. These products can irritate and dry the skin. Also, if you're pregnant or nursing, your health care provider may suggest delaying topical retinoid therapy or choosing another treatment.

Using medicated cream regularly may improve how the skin looks. But if you stop, the condition returns. And even with treatment, keratosis pilaris might last for years.

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free, and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips and current health topics, like COVID-19, plus expertise on managing health.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Lifestyle and home remedies

Self-help measures won't prevent keratosis pilaris or make it go away. But they may improve how the affected skin looks. When using a product new to you, test it on one area of affected skin first, such as an arm. If it seems to work and doesn't cause a reaction, use it for your keratosis pilaris.

  • Use warm water and limit bath time. Hot water and long showers or baths remove oils from the skin. Limit bath or shower time to about 10 minutes or less. Use warm, not hot, water.
  • Be gentle to the skin. Avoid harsh, drying soaps. Gently remove dead skin with a washcloth or loofah. Vigorous scrubbing or removal of hair follicle plugs may irritate the skin and worsen the condition. After washing or bathing, gently pat or blot the skin with a towel so that some moisture remains.
  • Try medicated creams. Apply a nonprescription cream that contains urea, lactic acid, alpha hydroxy acid or salicylic acid. These creams help loosen and remove dead skin cells. They also moisturize and soften dry skin. Put on this product before moisturizer.
  • Moisturize. While the skin is still moist from bathing, apply a moisturizer that contains lanolin, petroleum jelly or glycerin. These ingredients soothe dry skin and help trap moisture. Thicker moisturizers work best. Examples are Eucerin and Cetaphil. Reapply the product to the affected skin several times a day.
  • Use a humidifier. Low humidity dries out the skin. A portable home humidifier or one attached to your furnace will add moisture to the air inside your home.
  • Avoid friction from tight clothes. Protect affected skin from the friction caused by wearing tight clothes.

Preparing for your appointment

You're likely to start by seeing your health care provider. Or you may be referred to a specialist in skin diseases (dermatologist). You may want to prepare a list of questions to ask your health care provider.

For keratosis pilaris, some basic questions include:

  • What is likely causing the symptoms?
  • What are other possible causes for the symptoms?
  • Is this condition likely short lived, or will it last a long time?
  • What is the best course of action?
  • What are the alternatives to the primary approach that you're suggesting?
  • Is there a generic alternative to the medicine you're prescribing?

What to expect from your doctor

Your health care provider is likely to ask you several questions. Being ready to answer them may reserve time to go over any points you want to discuss more. Your health care provider may ask:

  • When did the symptoms begin?
  • Have the symptoms been steady or spotty?
  • What, if anything, seems to improve the symptoms?
  • What, if anything, appears to worsen the symptoms?
  • Do other family members have similar skin changes?
  • Do you or your child have a history of asthma or hay fever or other allergies?
  • Do you or your child have a history of eczema?
Dec. 23, 2022
  1. AskMayoExpert. Keratosis pilaris. Mayo Clinic; 2022.
  2. Keratosis pilaris. American Osteopathic College of Dermatology. http://www.aocd.org/skin/dermatologic_diseases/keratosis_pilaris.html. Accessed Oct. 2, 2020.
  3. Keratosis pilaris. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/dermatologic-disorders/cornification-disorders/keratosis-pilaris. Accessed Oct. 2, 2020.
  4. Keratosis pilaris. American Academy of Dermatology. https://www.aad.org/public/diseases/a-z/keratosis-pilaris-overview. Accessed Oct. 2, 2020.
  5. Dermatologists' top 10 tips for relieving dry skin. American Academy of Dermatology. https://www.aad.org/dermatology-a-to-z/health-and-beauty/general-skin-care/dry-skin-tips. Accessed Oct. 2, 2020.