治疗

一般情况下,时差调节较为短暂,通常无需治疗。其症状常常会在数天内得到改善,尽管有时会持续更长时间。

但是,如果您经常出差,且持续受到时差调节的困扰,医生可能会施行光照治疗或开药。

光照治疗

除其他因素外,您体内的生物钟受阳光暴露影响。跨时区旅行时,您的身体必须适应新的白昼时间表并重置,从而让您在适当的时间入睡和清醒。

医生可能推荐光照治疗。在您希望清醒的时段,用模拟阳光的人造强光或灯光进行规定时间的照射。光疗法有多种形式,包括使用放在桌子上的光疗箱、台灯或戴在头上的灯罩。

例如,若您是商务旅行者并且在新时区白天期间往往接触不到自然光,光照治疗可能对您有用。

药物

  • 非苯二氮卓类药物,如唑吡坦(Ambien)和右佐匹克隆(Lunesta)
  • 苯二氮卓类药物,如替马西泮 (Restoril) 和咪达唑仑 (Nayzilam)

这些药物,有时被称为安眠药,可以帮助您在飞行期间和之后的几个晚上入睡。副作用不常见,但可能包括恶心、呕吐、遗忘症、梦游、意识混乱和早晨嗜睡。

虽然这些药物似乎有助于保证睡眠时间和睡眠质量,但它们可能不能减轻时差调节的日间症状。这些药物通常只推荐给那些其他疗法没有效果的患者。

生活方式与家庭疗法

阳光

通过晒太阳恢复生物钟。它是调节睡眠-唤醒周期最强大的自然工具。

晨光照射通常能帮助您适应较早的时区(向东旅行),而暮光则能帮助您适应较晚的时区(向西旅行)。根据出发点和目的地以及总体睡眠习惯,提前制定计划以确定最佳光照时间:

  • 旅行前。您可以在旅行前三天开始光疗,以帮助您在到达目的地前适应新的时区。如果您向东旅行,试着比平时早一个小时醒来,并且至少接受一个小时的光照。每天提前一小时醒来,在出发旅行前每天都这样。如有可能,您还应把每晚的就寝时间提前一个小时。对于西行,推迟您的起床和就寝时间。
  • 在目的地。如果您向东旅行且跨越了三到五个时区,则在清晨最先要避开的就是光照。试着在上午的中间至末尾的时段接受几个小时的强光照射。如果您要跨越更多时区或向西旅行,在抵达的早晨避免强光,但要在午后接受阳光照射。白天,当您需要避免光照时,可使用墨镜帮助遮光。晚上,拉上百叶窗或窗帘,或戴着眼罩。在旅途中的每一天,逐渐将光照时间提前。

结合光照与散步或慢跑之类的运动,可以帮助您更快地适应新的时间。

咖啡因

含咖啡因的饮料,例如咖啡、浓咖啡和软饮料,可能有助于抵抗日间嗜睡。请明智选择含咖啡因的饮料。避免在午后摄入含咖啡因的饮料,因为在午后摄入的咖啡因会让您更难入睡或安眠。

替代医学

褪黑素

褪黑素作为一种时差疗法和睡眠辅助剂,已被广泛研究,目前已成为有效治疗时差反应的常用药物。最新的研究似乎表明,褪黑素可以在您平时不休息的时候有助于睡眠,并有益于有时差反应的人群。

您的身体将褪黑素视为黑暗信号,因此褪黑素通常具有与明亮光线相反的效果。

您服用褪黑素的时间很重要。如果您想把生物钟调早一点,比如在向东飞行后,您应该在当地的就寝时间服用褪黑素,直至适应了当地时间。如果您想把生物钟调晚一点,比如在向西飞行后,拧应该在早上服用褪黑素。

尽管一些研究表明更高的剂量更有助于睡眠,但小到 0.5 毫克的剂量似乎和 5 毫克或更高的剂量一样有效。如果您使用褪黑素,请在计划睡觉前 30 分钟服用,或询问医生什么时间合适。

服用褪黑素时避免饮酒。副作用不常见,但可能包括头晕、头痛、日间嗜睡、食欲不振,可能还有恶心和定向障碍。

其他可能的补救措施

有些人通过运动来缓解时差调节的影响。

如果您想尝试替代疗法,比如草药补充剂,一定要先咨询医生,因为有些疗法可能会与其他药物相互作用或产生副作用。

June 23, 2022
  1. Weir RE. Jet lag and shift work. Sleep Medicine Clinic. 2014;9:561.
  2. Goldstein CA. Jet lag. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 9, 2020.
  3. Kryger MH, et al., eds. Shift work, shift-work disorder and jet lag. In: Principles and Practice of Sleep Medicine. 6th ed. St. Louis, Mo.: Elsevier Saunders; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 20, 2018.
  4. Longo DL, et al., eds. Sleep disorders. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 19th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2015. http://www.accessmedicine.com. Accessed June 24, 2015.
  5. Weingarten JA. Air travel. Chest. 2013;144:1394.
  6. Jet lag. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel/page/jet-lag. Accessed Aug. 20, 2018.
  7. Sack RL. Jet lag. The New England Journal of Medicine. 2010;362:440.
  8. Sateia M. Jet lag disorder. In: International Classification of Sleep Disorders. 3rd ed. Darien, Ill.: American Academy of Sleep Medicine; 2014. http://www.aasmnet.org/EBooks/ICSD3. Accessed July 6, 2015.

相关

产品与服务

Treatment

Jet lag is generally temporary and usually doesn't need treatment. Symptoms often improve within a few days, though they sometimes last longer.

However, if you're a frequent traveler continually bothered by jet lag, your doctor may prescribe light therapy or medications.

Light therapy

Your body's internal clock is influenced by exposure to sunlight, among other factors. When you travel across time zones, your body must adjust to a new daylight schedule and reset, allowing you to fall asleep and be awake at the appropriate times.

Your doctor may recommend light therapy. This involves exposure to an artificial bright light or lamp that simulates sunlight for a specific and regular amount of time when you're meant to be awake. Light therapy comes in a variety of forms, including a light box that sits on a table, a desk lamp or a light visor that you wear on your head.

Light therapy may be useful, for example, if you're a business traveler and are often away from natural sunlight during the day in a new time zone.

Medications

  • Nonbenzodiazepines, such as zolpidem (Ambien) and eszopiclone (Lunesta)
  • Benzodiazepines, such as temazepam (Restoril) and midazolam (Nayzilam)

These medications — sometimes called sleeping pills — may help you sleep during your flight and for several nights afterward. Side effects are uncommon, but may include nausea, vomiting, amnesia, sleepwalking, confusion and morning sleepiness.

Although these medications appear to help sleep duration and quality, they may not lessen daytime symptoms of jet lag. These medications are usually only recommended for people who haven't been helped by other treatments.

More Information

Lifestyle and home remedies

Sunlight

Use sunlight to reset your internal clock. It's the most powerful natural tool for regulating the sleep-wake cycle.

Morning light exposure can usually help you adjust to an earlier time zone (traveling eastward), while evening light helps you adapt to a later time zone (traveling westward). Plan ahead to determine the best times for light exposure based on your departure and destination points and overall sleep habits:

  • Before your trip. You can start light therapy up to three days before travel to help you adjust to your new time zone before you arrive at your destination. If you're traveling east, try waking about one hour earlier than your usual wake time and get at least one hour of light exposure. Do this daily until you leave for your trip, waking one hour earlier each day. You should also adjust your bedtime to one hour earlier each night if possible. For westward travel, delay your wake and bedtimes.
  • At your destination. If you've traveled eastward and crossed three to five time zones, try avoiding bright daylight first thing in the morning. Try to get several hours of bright light exposure in mid- to late morning. If you're crossing more time zones or traveling west, avoid bright light the morning of arrival, but seek sunshine in the early afternoon. During the day, dark glasses can help block out light when you need to avoid exposure. At night, draw the window blinds or drapes or use a sleep mask. For each day on your trip, gradually shift your light exposure earlier.

Combining light exposure with exercise such as walking or jogging may help you adapt to the new time even faster.

Caffeine

Beverages with caffeine such as coffee, espresso and soft drinks may help offset daytime sleepiness. Choose caffeinated drinks wisely. Avoid caffeinated beverages after midday since caffeine consumed after that time may make it even more difficult to fall asleep or sleep well.

Alternative medicine

Melatonin

As a jet lag remedy and sleep aid, melatonin has been widely studied, and it's now a commonly accepted part of effective jet lag treatment. The latest research seems to show that melatonin aids sleep during times when you wouldn't normally be resting, making it beneficial for people with jet lag.

Your body treats melatonin as a darkness signal, so melatonin generally has the opposite effect of bright light.

The time at which you take melatonin is important. If you're trying to reset your body clock to an earlier time, such as after flying east, you should take melatonin at local bedtime nightly until you have become adapted to local time. If you're trying to reset your body clock to a later time, such as after flying west, melatonin should be taken in the morning.

Doses as small as 0.5 milligram seem just as effective as doses of 5 milligrams or higher, although higher doses have been shown by some studies to be more sleep promoting. If you use melatonin, take it 30 minutes before you plan to sleep or ask your doctor about the proper timing.

Avoid alcohol when taking melatonin. Side effects are uncommon but may include dizziness, headaches, daytime sleepiness, loss of appetite, and possibly nausea and disorientation.

Additional possible remedies

Some people use exercise to try to ease the effects of jet lag.

If you want to try an alternative therapy, such as an herbal supplement, be sure to check with your doctor first because some therapies may interact with other medications or cause side effects.

Oct. 02, 2020
  1. Weir RE. Jet lag and shift work. Sleep Medicine Clinic. 2014;9:561.
  2. Goldstein CA. Jet lag. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 9, 2020.
  3. Kryger MH, et al., eds. Shift work, shift-work disorder and jet lag. In: Principles and Practice of Sleep Medicine. 6th ed. St. Louis, Mo.: Elsevier Saunders; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 20, 2018.
  4. Longo DL, et al., eds. Sleep disorders. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 19th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2015. http://www.accessmedicine.com. Accessed June 24, 2015.
  5. Weingarten JA. Air travel. Chest. 2013;144:1394.
  6. Jet lag. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel/page/jet-lag. Accessed Aug. 20, 2018.
  7. Sack RL. Jet lag. The New England Journal of Medicine. 2010;362:440.
  8. Sateia M. Jet lag disorder. In: International Classification of Sleep Disorders. 3rd ed. Darien, Ill.: American Academy of Sleep Medicine; 2014. http://www.aasmnet.org/EBooks/ICSD3. Accessed July 6, 2015.

Related

Associated Procedures