诊断

根据美国儿科学会指南,诊断活动性头虱侵染的金标准是发现活的若虫或成虱。

这些指南建议使用像标准护发素之类的产品润滑湿发后再进行检查。医生会用细齿梳从头皮至发梢仔细梳理孩子的头发。如果没有发现活虱,医生可能会在第二次预约就诊时重复整项检查。

辨别虱卵

医生还会在您孩子的头发上寻找虱卵。为了寻找虱卵,医生可能会使用一种称为伍德灯的专业灯,它会让虱子呈现蓝色。但发现虱卵并不一定能确诊活性虱侵染。

活虱子需要靠近头皮才能存活。在距离头皮超超过 1/4 英寸(6 毫米)的地方发现的虱子可能已经死亡或成为空壳。疑似虱卵可以在显微镜下进行检查,以确定其是否是活卵 — 这可能是正在发生虱侵染的证据。

如果没有发现活虱卵,那它们可能是此前侵染的残余物,不需要治疗。

治疗

医生可能会推荐杀死虱子和虱卵的非处方药 (OTC) 。这些药物可能杀不死刚产下的卵。因此,一般需要适当安排第二次治疗,在幼虫孵出后,尚未长成成虱前杀死幼虫。

一些研究表明,首次治疗后 7 到 9 天是理想的第二次治疗时间,但也存在其他的再次治疗时间表。要求医生写一份建议治疗时间表说明。

非处方(OTC)产品

非处方药物以除虫菊酯为基础,除虫菊酯是一种从菊花中提取的化合物,对虱子有毒。在使用这些治疗方法之前,请用洗发水清洗孩子的头发,不要使用护发素。洗头前用白醋冲洗头发可能有助于溶解将虱卵固定在发丝上的胶水。按照包装上药物在头发上停留时间的说明,用温水在水槽上冲洗孩子的头发。

非处方药物包括以下:

  • 氯菊酯(Nix)。氯菊酯是除虫菊酯的合成版本。氯菊酯不能杀死虱卵,首次应用后 9~10 天需重复治疗。副作用可能包括头皮发红和瘙痒。
  • 除虫菊酯与添加剂(Rid)。在这种非处方药物中,除虫菊酯与另一种增强其有效性的化学物质结合。该产品只杀虱子,不能杀灭虱卵,需在首次治疗后 9 至 10 天再施用。副作用可能包括头皮瘙痒和发红。如果您孩子对菊花或豚草过敏,则不应使用除虫菊酯。

处方药

在一些地理区域,虱子已经对 OTC 药物产生了耐药性。此外,OTC 治疗可能由于使用不当而失败,例如没有在适当的时间重复治疗。

如果正确使用 OTC 治疗失败,医生可能会推荐处方治疗。其中包括:

  • 伊维菌素(Sklice)。伊维菌素对虱子而言有毒。它已获批用于年满 6 个月及以上的人。在干发上涂一次该药物,10 分钟后用水冲洗。对于体重超过 33 磅的儿童,如果其他局部治疗不能有效消除虱侵染,也可以口服伊维菌素片剂。
  • 多杀菌素(Natroba)。多杀菌素已获批用于年满 6 个月及以上的人。将其涂在干发上,10 分钟后用温水冲洗。其能杀死虱子和虱卵,通常不需要重复治疗。
  • 马拉硫磷。马拉硫磷已获批用于年满 6 个月及以上的人。涂抹洗液,自然晾干,8 - 12 小时后冲洗干净。该药酒精含量高,因此不能与电吹风一起使用或在明火附近使用。如有必要,可在第一次治疗后 7 至 9 天再次使用马拉硫磷。

生活方式与家庭疗法

如果您不想使用药物治疗头虱侵染,可考虑使用家庭疗法。但几乎没有临床证据表明这种治疗的有效性。

湿梳

用细齿的虱子梳梳理湿头发可以去除虱子和一些虱卵。研究表明,湿梳的效果各不相同。

您应该浸湿头发,并在头发上涂抹头发润滑剂,如护发素或橄榄油。一次治疗中,至少将整个头部从头皮到发尾梳理两次。这个过程应每三到四天重复一次,持续数周,至少到没有发现虱子后两周。

精油

小型临床研究认为,一些天然植物油可通过窒息作业杀死虱子,但有效性尚不确定。这些产品包括:

  • 茶树油
  • 茴香油
  • 依兰油

这些产品不一定符合美国食品药品监督管理局(FDA)批准的药物使用的安全性、有效性和生产标准,有时会引起过敏反应。

窒息剂

一些家用产品可治疗头虱侵染。在毛发上足量使用这些产品,然后戴上浴帽过夜,可使虱子缺氧。基于此目的的产品包括:

  • 蛋黄酱
  • 橄榄油
  • 人造奶油或黄油
  • 凡士林

但是,这些治疗方法的效果并不明确。

脱水

还可以选择使用机器,利用机器产生的热空气通过脱水杀死头虱和虫卵。操作这种机器需要特殊培训,目前仅在专业的虱子治疗中心使用。

这种机器产生的气流温度低于多数吹风机,但气流速度快得多,从而通过风干杀死虱子。不能用普通吹风机达到这一效果,因为普通吹风机温度过高,会烧伤头皮。

应避免使用的危险品

请勿使用易燃物品(例如煤油或汽油)杀死虱子或去除虱卵。

家庭清洁

虱子通常每天都会从人类头皮摄食,如果虱卵并非在头皮附近的温度下孵育,则无法存活。因此,虱子在家庭用品上存活的可能性很小。

作为预防措施,您可以清洁患者在前两天使用过的物品。清洁建议如下:

  • 在热水中清洗物品。在温度至少为 130 F (54.4 C) 的热肥皂水中清洗床上用品、毛绒玩具和衣物,并在高温下烘干。
  • 清洁护发用品。将梳子、刷子和发饰在热肥皂水中浸泡 5 到 10 分钟后清洁。
  • 用塑料袋密封物品。将无法清洗的物品放在塑料袋中密封两周。
  • 吸尘打扫。用吸尘器仔细打扫地板和软垫家具。

准备您的预约

如果您怀疑您的孩子有头虱,咨询您的家庭医生或儿科医生。您的医生会检查您孩子的头皮,查看有没有活虫或成虱,然后确定是否患有活动性头虱侵染。您的医生会仔细检查您孩子的头发,如有必要,在确诊头虱侵染前在显微镜下观察可疑物质。

July 03, 2022
  1. Head lice: Frequently asked questions. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/lice/head/gen_info/faqs.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  2. Kimberlin DW, et al. Pediculosis capitis. In: Red Book Online. 31st ed. American Academy of Pediatrics; 2018. https://redbook.solutions.aap.org. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  3. James WD, et al. Pediculosis capitis. In: Andrews' Diseases of the Skin: Clinical Dermatology. 13th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  4. Dinulos JGH. Infestations and bites. In: Habif's Clinical Dermatology. 7th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  5. Head lice: Treatment frequently asked questions. Centers for Disease Control and Protection. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/lice/head/gen_info/faqs_treat.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  6. AskMayoExpert. Lice. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  7. Gunning K, et al. Lice and scabies: Treatment update. American Family Physician. 2019. https://www.aafp.org/afp/2019/0515/p635.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  8. Goldstein AO, et al. Pediculosis capitis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  9. Head lice: Diagnosis. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/lice/head/diagnosis.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  10. Anise. Natural Medicines. https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  11. Ylang ylang oil. Natural Medicines. https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  12. Head lice: Prevention and control. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/lice/head/prevent.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  13. Head lice: Treatment. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/lice/head/treatment.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  14. AAP updates treatment for head lice. American Academy of Pediatrics. https://www.aap.org/en-us/about-the-aap/aap-press-room/pages/AAP-Updates-Treatments-for-Head-Lice.aspx. Accessed Feb. 20, 2020.

相关

Mayo Clinic 新闻

产品与服务

Diagnosis

According to the American Academy of Pediatrics guidelines, the gold standard for diagnosing an active head-lice infestation is the identification of a live nymph or adult louse.

These guidelines recommend an examination of wet hair lubricated with such products as a standard hair conditioner. Your doctor will carefully comb your child's hair with a fine-toothed comb (nit comb) from the scalp to the end of the hair. If no live louse is found, he or she will likely repeat the entire exam at a second appointment.

Identifying nits

Your doctor will also look for nits in your child's hair. To find nits, he or she may use a specialized light called a Wood's light, which causes nits to appear bluish. But the identification of nits does not necessarily confirm the diagnosis of an active lice infestation.

A live nit needs to be near the scalp to survive. Nits found more than about 1/4 inch (6 millimeters) from the scalp are likely dead or empty. Suspect nits can be examined under a microscope to determine if they're living — evidence of a likely active lice infestation.

If no live nits are found, they're probably left from a previous infestation and do not need to be treated.

Treatment

Your doctor will likely recommend an over-the-counter (OTC) medication that kills lice and some of the nits. These medications may not kill recently laid eggs. Therefore, an appropriately timed second treatment is usually necessary to kill nymphs after they hatch but before they become adult lice.

Some studies suggest that retreating seven to nine days after the first treatment is the ideal time for a second treatment, but other retreatment schedules exist. Ask your doctor for written instructions for a recommended treatment schedule.

Over-the-counter (OTC) products

OTC medications are based on pyrethrin, a chemical compound extracted from the chrysanthemum flower that is toxic to lice. Wash your child's hair with shampoo with no conditioner before using one of these treatments. Rinsing the hair with white vinegar before washing may help dissolve the glue that holds the nits to the hair shafts. Follow directions on the package for how long to leave the medication in the hair, and rinse your child's hair over a sink with warm water.

OTC medications include the following:

  • Permethrin (Nix). Permethrin is a synthetic version of pyrethrin. Permethrin does not kill nits, and treatment needs to be repeated nine to 10 days after first application. Side effects may include redness and itching of the scalp.
  • Pyrethrin with additives (Rid). In this OTC medication, pyrethrin is combined with another chemical that enhances its effectiveness. This product only kills lice, not nits, and needs to be reapplied nine to 10 days after first treatment. Side effects may include itching and redness of the scalp. Pyrethrin shouldn't be used if your child is allergic to chrysanthemum or ragweed.

Prescription medications

In some geographic regions, lice have developed resistance to OTC medications. Also, OTC treatment may fail because of incorrect use, such as not repeating the treatment at an appropriate time.

If the correct use of an OTC treatment has failed, your doctor may recommend a prescription treatment. These include:

  • Ivermectin (Sklice). Ivermectin is toxic to lice. It is approved for use with people age 6 months or older. It can be applied once to dry hair and then rinsed with water after 10 minutes. Ivermectin is also available as a tablet to be taken by mouth to children weighing more than 33 lbs. if other topical treatments do not effectively eliminate a lice infestation.
  • Spinosad (Natroba). Spinosad is approved for use with people age 6 months or older. It can be applied to dry hair and rinsed with warm water after 10 minutes. It kills lice and nits and usually doesn't need repeated treatment.
  • Malathion. Malathion is approved for use with people age 6 or older. The lotion is applied, left to dry naturally and rinsed out after eight to 12 hours. The drug has a high alcohol content, so it can't be used with a hair dryer or near an open flame. Malathion can be reapplied seven to nine days after the first treatment if necessary.

Lifestyle and home remedies

If you prefer not to use a medication for treating a head-lice infestation, you may consider an alternative home treatment. There is little to no clinical evidence of the effectiveness of such treatments.

Wet-combing

Combing wet hair with a fine-toothed nit comb may remove lice and some nits. Studies show that wet-combing results vary.

The hair should be wet, and you should add something to lubricate the hair, such as a hair conditioner or olive oil. Comb the entire head from the scalp to the end of the hair at least twice during a session. The process should be repeated every three to four days for several weeks — at least two weeks after no more lice are found.

Essential oils

Small clinical studies have suggested that some natural plant oils may kill lice by suffocation, but effectiveness is uncertain. These products include:

  • Tea tree oil
  • Anise oil
  • Ylang-ylang oil

These products are not required to meet safety, efficacy and manufacturing standards used for drugs approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), and can sometimes cause allergic reactions.

Smothering agents

A number of household products are used to treat head-lice infestations. These products are thought to deprive the lice of air when generous amounts are applied to the hair, covered with a shower cap and left on overnight. Products used for this purpose include:

  • Mayonnaise
  • Olive oil
  • Margarine or butter
  • Petroleum jelly

However, the effectiveness of these treatments is unclear.

Dehydration

Another option is a machine that uses one application of hot air in an attempt to kill head lice and their eggs through dehydration. The machine requires special training and is currently available only at professional lice treatment centers.

The machine uses air that is cooler than most hair dryers and at a much higher flow rate to kill the lice by drying them out. A regular hair dryer should not be used to accomplish this result as it's too hot and could burn the scalp.

Dangerous products to avoid

Flammable products, such as kerosene or gasoline, should never be used to kill lice or to remove nits.

Household cleaning

Lice usually don't live past one day without feeding from a human scalp, and eggs do not survive if they aren't incubated at the temperature near the scalp. Therefore, the chance of lice surviving on household items is small.

As a precaution, you may clean items that the affected person has used in the previous two days. Cleaning recommendations include the following:

  • Wash items in hot water. Wash bedding, stuffed animals and clothing in hot, soapy water — at least 130 F (54.4 C) — and dry at high heat.
  • Clean hair care items. Clean combs, brushes and hair accessories by soaking them in hot, soapy water for five to 10 minutes.
  • Seal items in plastic bags. Seal items that can’t be washed in plastic bags for two weeks.
  • Vacuum. Give the floor and upholstered furniture a good vacuuming.

Preparing for your appointment

See your family doctor or pediatrician if you suspect your child has head lice. Your doctor will examine your child's scalp and look for a live nymph or adult louse to determine if he or she has an active head-lice infestation. Your doctor can carefully inspect your child's hair and, if necessary, examine suspect items under a microscope before confirming a diagnosis of head-lice infestation.

July 10, 2020
  1. Head lice: Frequently asked questions. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/lice/head/gen_info/faqs.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  2. Kimberlin DW, et al. Pediculosis capitis. In: Red Book Online. 31st ed. American Academy of Pediatrics; 2018. https://redbook.solutions.aap.org. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  3. James WD, et al. Pediculosis capitis. In: Andrews' Diseases of the Skin: Clinical Dermatology. 13th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  4. Dinulos JGH. Infestations and bites. In: Habif's Clinical Dermatology. 7th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  5. Head lice: Treatment frequently asked questions. Centers for Disease Control and Protection. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/lice/head/gen_info/faqs_treat.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  6. AskMayoExpert. Lice. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  7. Gunning K, et al. Lice and scabies: Treatment update. American Family Physician. 2019. https://www.aafp.org/afp/2019/0515/p635.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  8. Goldstein AO, et al. Pediculosis capitis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  9. Head lice: Diagnosis. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/lice/head/diagnosis.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  10. Anise. Natural Medicines. https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  11. Ylang ylang oil. Natural Medicines. https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  12. Head lice: Prevention and control. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/lice/head/prevent.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  13. Head lice: Treatment. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/lice/head/treatment.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  14. AAP updates treatment for head lice. American Academy of Pediatrics. https://www.aap.org/en-us/about-the-aap/aap-press-room/pages/AAP-Updates-Treatments-for-Head-Lice.aspx. Accessed Feb. 20, 2020.