التشخيص

المعيار الأبرز لتشخيص الإصابة النشطة بقمل الرأس - وفق إرشادات الأكاديمية الأمريكية لطب الأطفال - هو اكتشاف حوراء حية أو قملة بالغة.

وتوصي هذه الإرشادات بفحص الشعر بعد ترطيبه ودهنه بمستحضرات مثل بلسم الشعر العادي. سيمشط طبيبك شعر طفلك بعناية باستخدام مشط ذي أسنان رفيعة (مشط إزالة بيض القمل) بادئًا من فروة رأسه حتى أطراف شعره. وإذا لم يُعثَر على قملة حية، فمن المرجح أن يحدد موعدًا طبيًا ثانيًا لإعادة الفحص.

التعرف على بيض قملة الرأس

سوف يتحقق الطبيب من وجود بيض قمل الرأس (الصئبان) في شعر طفلك أيضًا. وللعثور على هذا البيض، قد يستخدم مصباحًا متخصصًا يُسمى مصباح وود، وهو يجعل بيض القمل يظهر بلون ضارب إلى الزرقة. ولكن التعرف على بيض قمل الرأس لا يؤكد بالضرورة تشخيص الإصابة بعدوى القمل النشطة.

وتحتاج بيضة قملة الرأس إلى أن تكون بالقرب من فروة الرأس لتستطيع البقاء على قيد الحياة. من المحتمل أن يكون بيض قملة الرأس الذي تم العثور عليه عند حوالي أكثر من 1/4 بوصة (6 ملليمترات) من فروة الرأس ميتًا أو فارغًا. يمكن فحص بيض قمل الرأس المشتبه به تحت المجهر لتحديد ما إذا كان البيض على قيد الحياة، بما يُعد دليلاً محتملاً على وجود عدوى قمل نشطة.

إذا لم يُعثر على بيض قمل الرأس على قيد الحياة، فربما يكون باقيًا من عدوى سابقة وليس دليلاً على عدوى نشطة.

العلاج

من المحتمل أن يوصي طبيبك بأدوية متاحة دون وصفة طبية لقتل القمل وبعض الصئبان. من الممكن ألا تتمكن تلك الأدوية من قتل البيض الذي تم وضعه حديثًا. لذلك، عادةً ما يكون العلاج الثاني في الوقت المناسب ضروريًا لقتل اليرقانات بعد فقسها وقبل تحولها إلى قمل بالغ.

وتشير بعض الدراسات إلى أن إعادة العلاج بعد سبعة إلى تسعة أيام من العلاج الأول هو الوقت المثالي للعلاج الثاني، ولكن توجد جداول أخرى لإعادة العلاج. اطلب من طبيبك تعليمات مكتوبة لجدول العلاج الذي يوصي به.

منتجات متاحة دون وصفة طبية

تعتمد الأدوية المتاحة دون وصفة طبية على مادة البيريثرين، وهو مركب كيميائي يُستخرج من زهرة الأقحوان وهو سام للقمل. اغسلي شعر طفلك بالشامبو دون استخدام منعِّم الشعر (البلسم) قبل استخدام أحد هذه العلاجات. قد يساعد شطف الشعر بالخل الأبيض قبل غسله على إذابة الصمغ الذي يثبت الصئبان على خُصلات الشعر. اتبعي التعليمات الموجودة على العبوة لمعرفة المدة التي يجب أن يُترك خلالها الدواء على الشعر، واشطفي شعر طفلك على المغسلة بالماء الدافئ.

تشمل الأدوية المتاحة دون وصفة طبية ما يلي:

  • بيرمثرين (نيكس). البيرمثرين هو نسخة اصطناعية من مادة البيريثرين. لا يقتل البيرمثرين الصئبان، ويجب تكرار العلاج بعد تسعة إلى 10 أيام من أول استخدام. وقد تتضمَّن الأعراض الجانبية احمرارًا وحكَّة في فروة الرأس.
  • بيريثرين مع إضافات (ريد). في هذا الدواء المتاح دون وصفة طبية، يتم دمج البيريثرين مع مادة كيميائية أخرى تعزز فعاليته. ويقتل هذا المنتج القمل فقط، وليس الصئبان، ويجب إعادة استخدامه بعد تسعة إلى 10 أيام من أول استخدام للعلاج. وقد تتضمَّن الآثار الجانبية حكَّة واحمرارًا في فروة الرأس. لا ينبغي استخدام البيريثرين إذا كان طفلك مصابًا بحساسية تجاه الأقحوان أو عشبة الرجيد.

أدوية مقررة بوصفة طبية

طوّر القمل - في بعض المناطق الجغرافية - مقاومته للأدوية المتاحة دون وصفة طبية. كذلك، قد يفشل العلاج المتاح دون وصفة طبية بسبب الاستخدام الخاطئ، كعدم تكرار العلاج في الوقت المناسب.

لكن إذا لم يُجد الاستخدام الصحيح للأدوية المتاحة دون وصفة طبية نفعًا، فقد يوصي الطبيب بعلاجات تُصرف بوصفة طبية. ومنها:

  • مستحضر إيفيرمكتين (سكلايس). إيفيرمكتين مستحضر سامّ للقمل. وهو مستحضر معتمد للاستخدام مع الأطفال من سن 6 أشهر فأكثر. يوضع المستحضر مرة واحدة فقط على الشعر الجاف ثم يُشطف بالماء بعد 10 دقائق. يتوفر إيفرمكتين أيضًا بشكل أقراص يمكن أن يتناولها للأطفال الذين يزيد وزنهم عن 33 رطلًا (15 كغم) عن طريق الفم، إذا كانت العلاجات الموضعية الأخرى لا تقضي بشكل فعال على تفشي القمل.
  • سبينوساد (ناتروبا). سبينوساد مستحضر معتمَد للاستخدام مع الأطفال من سن 6 أشهر فأكثر. يوضع المستحضر على الشعر الجاف ثم يُشطف بالماء الدافئ بعد 10 دقائق. وينجح في قتل القمل والصئبان، ولا يحتاج إلى تكرار العلاج به.
  • مالاثيون. مالاثيون مستحضر معتمَد للاستخدام مع الأطفال من سن 6 أشهر فأكثر. يوضع هذا الدهان ويُترك ليجفّ بشكل طبيعي ثم يُشطف بعد مدة تتراوح بين 8 ساعات إلى 12 ساعة. يحتوي هذا العقار على كمية كبيرة من الكحول، ومن ثَم يمنع استخدامه مع مجفف الشعر أو بالقرب من لهب مكشوف. يمكن وضع الدواء مرة أخرى بعد مرور فترة من سبعة إلى تسعة أيام من المرة الأولى عند الضرورة.

نمط الحياة والعلاجات المنزلية

إذا كنت تفضل عدم استخدام دواء لعلاج عدوى طفيليات قمل الرأس، فإنه يمكنك التفكير في علاج منزلي بديل. لا يوجد سوى القليل من الأدلة السريرية حول فاعلية أنواع العلاج هذه.

تمشيط الشعر المبلل

قد يزيل تمشيط الشعر المبلل باستخدام مشط ذي أسنان رفيعة مخصص لمقاومة الصئبان، القمل وبعض الصئبان. تظهر الدراسات أن نتائج التمشيط الرطب تختلف من حالة لأخرى.

يجب أن يكون الشعر مبللاً، ويجب عليك إضافة مادة لترطيب الشعر، مثل بلسم الشعر أو زيت الزيتون. مشِّط الرأس بالكامل بدءًا من فروة الرأس حتى نهاية الشعر مرتين على الأقل خلال الجلسة الواحدة. يجب تكرار هذه العملية كل ثلاثة إلى أربعة أيام لعدة أسابيع، بعد أسبوعين على الأقل من عدم العثور على المزيد من القمل.

الزيوت العطرية

أشارت دراسات سريرية محدودة إلى أن بعض الزيوت النباتية الطبيعية قد تقتل القمل بالاختناق، إلا أن فاعليتها غير مؤكدة. تشمل هذه المنتجات ما يلي:

  • زيت شجرة الشاي
  • زيت اليانسون
  • زيت يلانغ يلانغ

لا يلزم أن تلبي هذه المنتجات معايير السلامة، والفاعلية، والتصنيع المستخدمة في العقاقير التي تعتمدها هيئة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA)، ويمكن أن تسبب ردود فعل تحسسية في بعض الأحيان.

عوامل الاختناق

يُستخدم عدد من المنتجات المنزلية لعلاج عدوى قمل الرأس. يُعتقد أن هذه المنتجات تحرم القمل من الهواء عند وضعها بكميات وفيرة على الشعر وتغطية الشعر بقبعة الاستحمام وتركه طوال الليل. تشمل المنتجات المستخدمة لهذا الغرض ما يلي:

  • المايونيز
  • زيت الزيتون
  • السمن الصناعي أو الزبد
  • هُلام النفط (الفازلين)

ومع ذلك، فإن فعالية هذه الوسائل العلاجية غير واضحة.

الجفاف

يتوفر خيار آخر، وهو جهاز يستخدم تيارًا من الهواء الساخن لمرة واحدة بحيث يتم تسليطه على قمل الرأس في محاولة لقتل قمل الرأس وبيضه عن طريق التجفيف. ويتطلب الجهاز تدريبًا خاصًا وهو غير متاح حاليًا إلا في المراكز المتخصصة في علاج القمل.

ويستخدم الجهاز هواءً أبرد من معظم مجففات الشعر، وبمعدل تدفق أعلى بكثير لقتل القمل عن طريق تجفيفه. وينبغي عدم استخدام مجفف الشعر العادي للحصول على هذه النتيجة؛ لأنه ساخن جدًا وقد يحرق فروة الرأس.

المنتجات الخطرة التي يجب تجنبها

يُمنع استخدام المنتجات القابلة للاشتعال، مثل الكيروسين أو البنزين، لقتل القمل أو لإزالة بيض القمل.

تنظيف المنزل

لا يعيش القمل عادةً أكثر من يوم واحد دون أن يتغذى من فروة الرأس البشرية، ولا يمكن للبيض البقاء على قيد الحياة إذا لم يتم تحضينه في درجة الحرارة بالقرب من فروة الرأس. ولذلك، تكون فرصة بقاء القمل على قيد الحياة على الأدوات المنزلية ضئيلة.

وكإجراء وقائي، يمكنك تنظيف الأدوات التي استخدمها الشخص المصاب في اليومين السابقين. تشمل توصيات التنظيف ما يلي:

  • غسل الأدوات في مياه ساخنة. احرص على غسل الفراش ودمى الحيوانات المحشوة والملابس بالماء الساخن والصابون — في درجة حرارة لا تقل عن 130 فهرنهايت (54.4 درجة مئوية) — وتجفيفها في درجة حرارة عالية.
  • تنظيف أدوات العناية بالشعر. احرص على تنظيف الأمشاط والفرش وإكسسوارات الشعر بنقعها في ماء ساخن وصابون لمدة خمس إلى 10 دقائق.
  • عزل الأدوات في أكياس بلاستيكية. احرص على عزل الأدوات التي لا يمكن غسلها ووضعها في أكياس بلاستيكية لمدة أسبوعين.
  • التنظيف باستخدام مكنسة كهربائية. احرص على تنظيف الأرض والأثاث المُنجَّد تنظيفًا جيدًا باستخدام المكنسة الكهربائية.

الاستعداد لموعدك

راجع طبيب الأسرة أو طبيب الأطفال إذا كنت تشك في إصابة طفلك بقمل الرأس. سيفحص الطبيب المعالج لك فروة رأس طفلك ويبحث عن شرنقة حية أو قملة بالغة لتحديد ما إذا كان يعاني من إصابة نشطة بقمل الرأس أم لا. ويمكن للطبيب المعالج فحص شعر طفلك بعناية، وإذا لزم الأمر، فحص الأغراض المشتبه بها تحت المجهر قبل تأكيد تشخيص الإصابة بقمل الرأس.

10/07/2020
  1. Head lice: Frequently asked questions. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/lice/head/gen_info/faqs.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  2. Kimberlin DW, et al. Pediculosis capitis. In: Red Book Online. 31st ed. American Academy of Pediatrics; 2018. https://redbook.solutions.aap.org. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  3. James WD, et al. Pediculosis capitis. In: Andrews' Diseases of the Skin: Clinical Dermatology. 13th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  4. Dinulos JGH. Infestations and bites. In: Habif's Clinical Dermatology. 7th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  5. Head lice: Treatment frequently asked questions. Centers for Disease Control and Protection. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/lice/head/gen_info/faqs_treat.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  6. AskMayoExpert. Lice. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  7. Gunning K, et al. Lice and scabies: Treatment update. American Family Physician. 2019. https://www.aafp.org/afp/2019/0515/p635.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  8. Goldstein AO, et al. Pediculosis capitis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  9. Head lice: Diagnosis. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/lice/head/diagnosis.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  10. Anise. Natural Medicines. https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  11. Ylang ylang oil. Natural Medicines. https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  12. Head lice: Prevention and control. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/lice/head/prevent.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  13. Head lice: Treatment. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/lice/head/treatment.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  14. AAP updates treatment for head lice. American Academy of Pediatrics. https://www.aap.org/en-us/about-the-aap/aap-press-room/pages/AAP-Updates-Treatments-for-Head-Lice.aspx. Accessed Feb. 20, 2020.

Diagnosis

According to the American Academy of Pediatrics guidelines, the gold standard for diagnosing an active head-lice infestation is the identification of a live nymph or adult louse.

These guidelines recommend an examination of wet hair lubricated with such products as a standard hair conditioner. Your doctor will carefully comb your child's hair with a fine-toothed comb (nit comb) from the scalp to the end of the hair. If no live louse is found, he or she will likely repeat the entire exam at a second appointment.

Identifying nits

Your doctor will also look for nits in your child's hair. To find nits, he or she may use a specialized light called a Wood's light, which causes nits to appear bluish. But the identification of nits does not necessarily confirm the diagnosis of an active lice infestation.

A live nit needs to be near the scalp to survive. Nits found more than about 1/4 inch (6 millimeters) from the scalp are likely dead or empty. Suspect nits can be examined under a microscope to determine if they're living — evidence of a likely active lice infestation.

If no live nits are found, they're probably left from a previous infestation and do not need to be treated.

Treatment

Your doctor will likely recommend an over-the-counter (OTC) medication that kills lice and some of the nits. These medications may not kill recently laid eggs. Therefore, an appropriately timed second treatment is usually necessary to kill nymphs after they hatch but before they become adult lice.

Some studies suggest that retreating seven to nine days after the first treatment is the ideal time for a second treatment, but other retreatment schedules exist. Ask your doctor for written instructions for a recommended treatment schedule.

Over-the-counter (OTC) products

OTC medications are based on pyrethrin, a chemical compound extracted from the chrysanthemum flower that is toxic to lice. Wash your child's hair with shampoo with no conditioner before using one of these treatments. Rinsing the hair with white vinegar before washing may help dissolve the glue that holds the nits to the hair shafts. Follow directions on the package for how long to leave the medication in the hair, and rinse your child's hair over a sink with warm water.

OTC medications include the following:

  • Permethrin (Nix). Permethrin is a synthetic version of pyrethrin. Permethrin does not kill nits, and treatment needs to be repeated nine to 10 days after first application. Side effects may include redness and itching of the scalp.
  • Pyrethrin with additives (Rid). In this OTC medication, pyrethrin is combined with another chemical that enhances its effectiveness. This product only kills lice, not nits, and needs to be reapplied nine to 10 days after first treatment. Side effects may include itching and redness of the scalp. Pyrethrin shouldn't be used if your child is allergic to chrysanthemum or ragweed.

Prescription medications

In some geographic regions, lice have developed resistance to OTC medications. Also, OTC treatment may fail because of incorrect use, such as not repeating the treatment at an appropriate time.

If the correct use of an OTC treatment has failed, your doctor may recommend a prescription treatment. These include:

  • Ivermectin (Sklice). Ivermectin is toxic to lice. It is approved for use with people age 6 months or older. It can be applied once to dry hair and then rinsed with water after 10 minutes. Ivermectin is also available as a tablet to be taken by mouth to children weighing more than 33 lbs. if other topical treatments do not effectively eliminate a lice infestation.
  • Spinosad (Natroba). Spinosad is approved for use with people age 6 months or older. It can be applied to dry hair and rinsed with warm water after 10 minutes. It kills lice and nits and usually doesn't need repeated treatment.
  • Malathion. Malathion is approved for use with people age 6 or older. The lotion is applied, left to dry naturally and rinsed out after eight to 12 hours. The drug has a high alcohol content, so it can't be used with a hair dryer or near an open flame. Malathion can be reapplied seven to nine days after the first treatment if necessary.

Lifestyle and home remedies

If you prefer not to use a medication for treating a head-lice infestation, you may consider an alternative home treatment. There is little to no clinical evidence of the effectiveness of such treatments.

Wet-combing

Combing wet hair with a fine-toothed nit comb may remove lice and some nits. Studies show that wet-combing results vary.

The hair should be wet, and you should add something to lubricate the hair, such as a hair conditioner or olive oil. Comb the entire head from the scalp to the end of the hair at least twice during a session. The process should be repeated every three to four days for several weeks — at least two weeks after no more lice are found.

Essential oils

Small clinical studies have suggested that some natural plant oils may kill lice by suffocation, but effectiveness is uncertain. These products include:

  • Tea tree oil
  • Anise oil
  • Ylang-ylang oil

These products are not required to meet safety, efficacy and manufacturing standards used for drugs approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), and can sometimes cause allergic reactions.

Smothering agents

A number of household products are used to treat head-lice infestations. These products are thought to deprive the lice of air when generous amounts are applied to the hair, covered with a shower cap and left on overnight. Products used for this purpose include:

  • Mayonnaise
  • Olive oil
  • Margarine or butter
  • Petroleum jelly

However, the effectiveness of these treatments is unclear.

Dehydration

Another option is a machine that uses one application of hot air in an attempt to kill head lice and their eggs through dehydration. The machine requires special training and is currently available only at professional lice treatment centers.

The machine uses air that is cooler than most hair dryers and at a much higher flow rate to kill the lice by drying them out. A regular hair dryer should not be used to accomplish this result as it's too hot and could burn the scalp.

Dangerous products to avoid

Flammable products, such as kerosene or gasoline, should never be used to kill lice or to remove nits.

Household cleaning

Lice usually don't live past one day without feeding from a human scalp, and eggs do not survive if they aren't incubated at the temperature near the scalp. Therefore, the chance of lice surviving on household items is small.

As a precaution, you may clean items that the affected person has used in the previous two days. Cleaning recommendations include the following:

  • Wash items in hot water. Wash bedding, stuffed animals and clothing in hot, soapy water — at least 130 F (54.4 C) — and dry at high heat.
  • Clean hair care items. Clean combs, brushes and hair accessories by soaking them in hot, soapy water for five to 10 minutes.
  • Seal items in plastic bags. Seal items that can’t be washed in plastic bags for two weeks.
  • Vacuum. Give the floor and upholstered furniture a good vacuuming.

Preparing for your appointment

See your family doctor or pediatrician if you suspect your child has head lice. Your doctor will examine your child's scalp and look for a live nymph or adult louse to determine if he or she has an active head-lice infestation. Your doctor can carefully inspect your child's hair and, if necessary, examine suspect items under a microscope before confirming a diagnosis of head-lice infestation.

July 10, 2020
  1. Head lice: Frequently asked questions. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/lice/head/gen_info/faqs.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  2. Kimberlin DW, et al. Pediculosis capitis. In: Red Book Online. 31st ed. American Academy of Pediatrics; 2018. https://redbook.solutions.aap.org. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  3. James WD, et al. Pediculosis capitis. In: Andrews' Diseases of the Skin: Clinical Dermatology. 13th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  4. Dinulos JGH. Infestations and bites. In: Habif's Clinical Dermatology. 7th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  5. Head lice: Treatment frequently asked questions. Centers for Disease Control and Protection. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/lice/head/gen_info/faqs_treat.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  6. AskMayoExpert. Lice. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  7. Gunning K, et al. Lice and scabies: Treatment update. American Family Physician. 2019. https://www.aafp.org/afp/2019/0515/p635.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  8. Goldstein AO, et al. Pediculosis capitis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  9. Head lice: Diagnosis. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/lice/head/diagnosis.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  10. Anise. Natural Medicines. https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  11. Ylang ylang oil. Natural Medicines. https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  12. Head lice: Prevention and control. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/lice/head/prevent.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  13. Head lice: Treatment. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/lice/head/treatment.html. Accessed Feb. 29, 2020.
  14. AAP updates treatment for head lice. American Academy of Pediatrics. https://www.aap.org/en-us/about-the-aap/aap-press-room/pages/AAP-Updates-Treatments-for-Head-Lice.aspx. Accessed Feb. 20, 2020.