التشخيص

قد يصعب تشخيص مرض التهاب الشريان ذي الخلايا العملاقة؛ لأن أعراضه المبكرة تشبه أعراض حالات شائعة أخرى. ولهذا السبب، سيحاول طبيبك استبعاد الأسباب الأخرى المحتملة لمشكلتك.

بالإضافة إلى السؤال عن الأعراض والتاريخ الطبي، من المرجح أن يُجري طبيبك فحصًا بدنيًّا شاملًا، مع إعطاء اهتمام خاص لشرايينك الصدغية. غالبًا ما يكون أحد هذين الشريانين أو كلاهما حساسًا للألم، مع انخفاض النبض ومظهر قوي شبيه بالحبل.

قد ينصح طبيبك أيضًا بإجراء اختبارات معينة.

اختبارات الدم

يُمكن استخدام الاختبارات التالية للمساعدة في تشخيص حالتك ومتابعة تقدمك أثناء العلاج.

  • سُرْعَةُ تَثَفُّلِ الكُرَيَّاتِ الحُمُر. يُشار إليه عادة باسم سُرْعَة التَّثَفُّل، يَقيس هذا الاختبار مدى سرعة سقوط خلايا الدم الحمراء في قاع أنبوب الدم. الخلايا الحمراء التي تَسقط بسرعة قد تُشير إلى وجود التهاب في الجسم.
  • البروتين التفاعلي سي (CRP). يَقيس هذا الاختبار مادة يُنتجها الكبد عند وجود التهاب.

الفحوص التصويرية

قد تستخدم هذه لتشخيص التهاب الشريان ذي الخلايا العملاقة ومراقبة استجابتك للعلاج. تتضمن الفحوصات ما يلي:

  • التخطيط فوق الصوتي (دوبلر). يَستخدم هذا الاختبار الموجات الصوتية لإنتاج صور لتدفُّق الدم عبر الأوعية الدموية.
  • تصوير الأوعية بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRA). يجمع هذا الاختبار بين التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي واستخدام مادة تبايُن تنتج صورًا مفصلة للأوعية الدموية. أخبِرْ طبيبك في وقت مبكر إذا كنتَ غير مرتاح في كونك مقيدًا في مكان صغير؛ لأن الاختبار يُجرَى في جهاز على شكل أنبوب.
  • التصوير المقطعي بالإصدار البوزيتروني (PET). إذا اشتبه طبيبك في احتمال إصابتك بالتهاب الشريان ذي الخلايا العملاقة في الشرايين الكبيرة، مثل الشريان الأورطي، فقد يوصي بإجراء التصوير المقطعي بالإصدار البوزيتروني PET. يستخدم هذا الاختبار محلولًا كاشفًا عن طريق الوريد يحتوي على كمية ضئيلة من المواد المشعة. يمكن أن ينتج عن التصوير المقطعي بالإصدار البوزيتروني PET صورٌ مفصلة للأوعية الدموية الأكبر حجمًا، ويسلِّط الضوء على مناطق الالتهاب.

الخِزعة

أفضل طريقة لتأكيد تشخيص التهاب الشرايين الخلوي العملاق هي أخذ عينة صغيرة (خزعة) من الشريان الصدغي. يقع هذا الشريان بالقرب من الجلد أمام أذنيك مباشرة ويمتد حتى فروة الرأس. يتم هذا إجراء في العيادات الخارجية وباستخدام بنج موضعي، وعادة ما يصاحبه القليل من الإحساس بعدم الراحة أو التندب. تُفحَص العينة تحت المجهر في أحد المختبرات.

إذا كتب مصابًا بالتهاب الشرايين الخلوي العملاق، فسيظهر الالتهاب على الشريان وعادة ما تكون به خلايا كبيرة بشكل غير طبيعي، تسمى بالخلايا العملاقة، ومنها أتى اسم المرض. قد تكون مصابًا بالتهاب الشرايين الخلوي العملاق وتعطي الخزعة نتيجة سلبية.

إذا لم تكن النتائج واضحة، فقد يطلب طبيبك إجراء خزعة أخرى من الشريان الصدغي الموجود في الجهة الأخرى من رأسك.

العلاج

إن العلاج الرئيسي لالتهاب الشرايين الخلوي العملاق يتمثَّل في تَناوُل جرعات عالية من أدوية الكورتيكوستيرويد مثل بريدنيزون. ونظرًا لكون العلاج الفوري ضروريًّا للوقاية من فقدان البصر، فمن المحتمَل أن يبدأ الطبيب في إعطاء الدواء حتى قبل تأكيد التشخيص عبر خِزعة.

من المرجَّح أن تشعر بتحسُّن خلال بضعة أيام من بَدْء العلاج. إذا فقدتَ البصر قبلَ بَدْء العلاج بالكورتيكوستيرويدات، فمن غير المرجَّح أن يتحسَّن بصركَ. بالرغم من ذلك، فقد يمكن تعويض إصابة العين المتضرِّرة عن طريق استخدام بعض التغييرات البصرية.

وقد تحتاج إلى الاستمرار في تَناوُل الدواء لمدة تتراوح ما بين سنة إلى سنتين أو أكثر. بعد الشهر الأول، قد يبدأ الطبيب تدريجيًّا بتخفيض الجرعة حتى تصل إلى أقل جرعة من الكورتيكوستيرويدات اللازمة للسيطرة على الالتهاب.

وقد تُعاوِد بعض الأعراض الظهور، خاصةً الصداع، خلال فترة تخفيض جرعة الدواء. وخلال هذه الفترة أيضًا يُصاب العديد من الأشخاص بأعراض ألم العضلات الروماتزمي. ويُمكِن علاج هذه الأعراض عادة بزيادة طفيفة في جرعة الكورتيكوستيرويد. وقد يقترح طبيبكَ أيضًا عقارًا مثبِّطًا للمناعة يُدعى ميثوتريكسات (تريكسال).

ويُمكِن أن تُسبِّب الكورتيكوستيرويدات آثارًا جانبية خطيرة، مثل هشاشة العظام، وارتفاع ضغط الدم، وضعف العضلات. ولمواجهة هذه الآثار الجانبية المحتمَلة، من المحتمل أن يفحص الطبيب كثافة عظامكَ، وقد يَصِف مكمِّلات الكالسيوم، وفيتامين D، أو أدوية أخرى؛ للمساعدة في منع فقدان العظام.

وافَقَتْ إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية حديثًا على دواء توسيليزوماب (أكتيمرا)؛ لعلاج التهاب الشرايين الخلوي العملاق. يُعْطَى عن طريق الحقن تحت الجلد. وتتضمَّن الآثار الجانبية زيادة احتمالية تعرُّضكَ للعدوى. وهناك حاجة إلى إجراء المزيد من الأبحاث.

التجارب السريرية

اطلع على الدراسات التي تجريها Mayo Clinic لاختبار العلاجات والتدخلات الطبية والفحوصات الجديدة كوسائل للوقاية من هذا المرض أو تشخيصه أو علاجه أو السيطرة عليه.

التجارب السريرية

اطلع على الدراسات التي تجريها Mayo Clinic لاختبار العلاجات والتدخلات الطبية والفحوصات الجديدة كوسائل للوقاية من هذا المرض أو تشخيصه أو علاجه أو السيطرة عليه.

نمط الحياة والعلاجات المنزلية

عند تشخيص الشرايين الخَلوي العِملاق وعلاجه مُبكرًا، فإنَّ احتمالات الشِّفاء مُمتازة. ستتحسَّن أعراضك في أغلب الأحيان سريعًا بعد البَدء بتناوُل علاج الكورتيكوستيرويد، ولن تتأثَّر قدرتك على الإبصار.

قد تُساعدك الاقتراحات الآتية لتدبُّر حالتك والتَّعامُل مع الأعراض الجانبية لأدويتك:

  • اتّبعي نظامًا غذائيًّا صحيًّا. يُمكن أن تُساعد التغذية السليمة على تجنُّب المشكلات المُحتمَلة، مثل هشاشة العظام، وارتفاع ضغط الدم وداء السُّكَّري. التأكيد على أهمية الفاكهة والخضروات الطازجة، والحبوب الكاملة، واللحوم خالية الدهون والأسماك، والحدِّ من تناوُل الأملاح، والسُّكَّريات والكحول.

    تأكَّد من تناوُلك الكالسيوم وفيتامين D بالقدْر الكافي. يُوصي الخُبراء بتناوُل 1200 مغم من الكالسيوم و800 وحدة دولية من فيتامين D في اليوم للسيدات فوق سن الـ50 والرجال فوق سن الـ70. استشِر الطبيب لمَعرفة ما هي الجرعة المُناسبة لك.

  • مارس التمارين الرياضية بانتظام. مارس التمارين الهوائية بانتظام، مثل المَشي، ممَّا يُساعِد على تجنُّب فقْد العظام، وارتفاع ضغط الدم والسُّكَّري. ويُفيد أيضًا قلبك ورئتيك. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يجِد البعضُ أنَّ مُمارسة التَّمارين تُحسِّن من الحالة النفسية وتعزيز الثقة بالنفس بشكلٍ عام.

    إذا لم تكن مُعتادًا على مُمارسة الرياضة، فابدأ بشكلٍ بطيء وتقدَّم تدريجيًّا. يُمكن أن يُساعدك طبيبك على وضع خُطة لبرنامج مُمارسة الرياضة.

  • اذهبْ للفحص الدَّوري. ينبغي زيارة الطبيب دَوريًّا للتَّحقُّق من الآثار الجانبية للعلاج وتطوُّر المُضاعفات.
  • اسأل طبيبك بخصوص الأسبرين. استشيري الطبيبة عن تناوُل جرعة من الأسبرين تتراوَح بين 75 إلى 150 مغم يوميًّا. تناوُل جرعةٍ صغيرة من الأسبرين يوميًّا قد يُقلِّل من خطر العَمى والسَّكتات الدِّماغية.

التأقلم والدعم

إن معرفة كل ما بوسعكَ عن التهاب الشرايين الخلوي العملاق وعلاجه يمكن أن يساعدكَ في الشعور بالمزيد من التحكُّم في حالتكَ. يستطيع فريق الرعاية الصحية أن يُجيب عن أسئلتكَ، وربما تساعدكَ كذلك مجموعات الدعم المتوفِّرة عبر الإنترنت. ينبغي لكَ معرفة الآثار الجانبية المحتمَلة للأدوية التي تأخذها، وإبلاغ طبيبكَ بأيِّ تغيُّرات في صحتكَ.

الاستعداد لموعدك

يمكنك أن تبدأ في استشارة طبيب الرعاية الأولية. قد يحيلك إلى اختصاصي عيون (طبيب عيون) إذا كنت تشعر بأعراض بصرية، أو اختصاصي مخ وأعصاب (طبيب أعصاب) إذا كنت تشعر بالصداع، أو اختصاصي مفاصل وعظام وعضلات (طبيب روماتيزم).

يرد فيما يلي بعض المعلومات للمساعدة في الاستعداد للموعد الطبي المحدد لك.

ما يمكنك فعله؟

عند حجز موعد طبي، اسأل عما إذا كان هناك أي شيءٍ ينبغي عليكَ فعله مقدمًا. بالنسبة لبعض الفحوصات المُستخدَمة في تشخيص التهاب الشريان الصُّدْغي، قد تحتاج إلى اتِّباع تعليمات خاصة قبل الموعد مع الطبيب.

جهِّزْ قائمة بما يلي:

  • أعراضكَ، وتشمل تلكَ التي تبدو غير مرتبطة بسبب تحديدكَ للموعد ومتى بدأَت تلكَ الأعراض
  • المعلومات الشخصية الرئيسية، بما في ذلكَ أي ضغوطات شديدة تعرضتَ لها أو تغييرات حياتية حدثت لكَ مؤخرًا
  • جميع الأدوية والفيتامينات والمكملات الغذائية التي تتناولها مع تحديد الجرعات
  • الأسئلة التي قد يكون مطلوبًا طرحها على طبيبك

اصطحِب معكَ صديقًا أو أحد أفراد العائلة لمساعدتكَ في تذكُّر المعلومات التي تُقدَّم لكَ.

بالنسبة لالتهاب الشريان الصُّدْغي، تتضمن بعض الأسئلة التي ستطرحها على طبيبكَ:

  • ما أكثر الأسباب احتمالًا لإصابتي بهذه الأعراض؟
  • ما الأسباب الأخرى المُحتمَلة؟
  • ما الفحوصات التي أحتاج إلي إجرائها؟
  • ما خيارات العلاج المتاحة؟
  • ما الآثار الجانبية المُتوقعة التي تَنتج عن العلاج؟
  • ما المدة التي أحتاجها للاستمرار في العلاج، وما توقعات سير المرض الخاص بي على المدى الطويل؟
  • هل تعود الإصابة بالتهاب الشريان الصُّدْغي مرة أخرى؟
  • لديَّ تلك المشاكل الصحية الأخرى. كيف يمكنني إدارة هذه الحالات معًا على النحو الأفضل؟
  • هل أحتاج إلى تغيير نظامي الغذائي؟ هل أحتاج إلى تناوُل المكملات الغذائية؟
  • هل هناكَ أي منشورات أو مواد مطبوعة أخرى يمكنني الحصول عليها؟ ما المواقع الإلكترونية التي تَنصحُني بها؟

لا تتردَّدْ في طرح الأسئلة.

ما يمكن أن يقوم به الطبيب

من المرجَّح أن يطرح عليك طبيبك عددًا من الأسئلة، مثل:

  • هل أعراضُك مُستمرَّة أم عرَضِية؟
  • إلى أي مدًى تفاقمت الأعراض؟
  • ما الذي يُحسِّن من أعراضكَ، إن وُجد؟
  • ما الذي يجعَل أعراضَك تزداد سُوءًا، إن وُجِد؟

ما الذي يُمكنُك القِيام به في هذه الأثناء؟

استشر طبيبك إذا كان تناوُل مسكن للألم مثل الأسِيتامينُوفين (تيلينول، غير ذلك)، أيبوبروفين (أدفيل، موترين آي بي، غير ذلك) أو نابروكسين الصوديوم (ألييف) قد يساعد في تخفيف آلام الرأس أو الإيلام.

20/06/2019
  1. Docken WP, et al. Clinical manifestations of giant cell arteritis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.
  2. Patient fact sheet: Giant cell arteritis. American College of Rheumatology. https://www.rheumatology.org/I-Am-A/Patient-Caregiver/Diseases-Conditions/Giant-Cell-Arteritis. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.
  3. Docken WP. Diagnosis of giant cell arteritis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.
  4. Giant cell arteritis. Arthritis Foundation. https://www.arthritis.org/about-arthritis/types/giant-cell-arteritis/. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.
  5. Dejaco C, et al. Giant cell arteritis and polymyalgia rheumatic: Current challenges and opportunities. Nature Reviews Rheumatology. 2017;13:578.
  6. Giant cell arteritis. Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center. https://rarediseases.info.nih.gov/diseases/9615/giant-cell-arteritis. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.
  7. FDA approves Genentech's Actemra for giant cell arteritis. Vasculitis Foundation. https://www.vasculitisfoundation.org/fda-approves-genentechs-actemra-for-giant-cell-arteritis/. Accessed Sept. 11, 2018.
  8. Giant cell arteritis. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/musculoskeletal-and-connective-tissue-disorders/vasculitis/giant-cell-arteritis. Accessed Sept. 11, 2018.
  9. What is osteoporosis? NIH Osteoporosis and Related Bone Diseases National Resource Center. https://www.bones.nih.gov/health-info/bone/osteoporosis/osteoporosis-ff. Accessed Sept. 11, 2018.
  10. Docken WP. Treatment of giant cell arteritis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.

Diagnosis

Giant cell arteritis can be difficult to diagnose because its early symptoms resemble those of other common conditions. For this reason, your doctor will try to rule out other possible causes of your problem.

In addition to asking about your symptoms and medical history, your doctor is likely to perform a thorough physical exam, paying particular attention to your temporal arteries. Often, one or both of these arteries are tender, with a reduced pulse and a hard, cordlike feel and appearance.

Your doctor might also recommend certain tests.

Blood tests

The following tests might be used to help diagnose your condition and to follow your progress during treatment.

  • Erythrocyte sedimentation rate. Commonly referred to as the sed rate, this test measures how quickly red blood cells fall to the bottom of a tube of blood. Red cells that drop rapidly might indicate inflammation in your body.
  • C-reactive protein (CRP). This measures a substance your liver produces when inflammation is present.

Imaging tests

These might be used to diagnose giant cell arteritis and to monitor your response to treatment. Tests might include:

  • Doppler ultrasound. This test uses sound waves to produce images of blood flowing through your blood vessels.
  • Magnetic resonance angiography (MRA). This test combines an MRI with the use of a contrast material that produces detailed images of your blood vessels. Let your doctor know ahead of time if you're uncomfortable being confined in a small space because the test is conducted in a tube-shaped machine.
  • Positron emission tomography (PET). If your doctor suspects you might have giant cell arteritis in large arteries, such as your aorta, he or she might recommend PET. This test uses an intravenous tracer solution that contains a tiny amount of radioactive material. A PET scan can produce detailed images of your larger blood vessels and highlight areas of inflammation.

Biopsy

The best way to confirm a diagnosis of giant cell arteritis is by taking a small sample (biopsy) of the temporal artery. This artery is situated close to the skin just in front of your ears and continues up to your scalp. The procedure is performed on an outpatient basis using local anesthesia, usually with little discomfort or scarring. The sample is examined under a microscope in a laboratory.

If you have giant cell arteritis, the artery will often show inflammation that includes abnormally large cells, called giant cells, which give the disease its name. It's possible to have giant cell arteritis and have a negative biopsy result.

If the results aren't clear, your doctor might advise another temporal artery biopsy on the other side of your head.

Treatment

The main treatment for giant cell arteritis consists of high doses of a corticosteroid drug such as prednisone. Because immediate treatment is necessary to prevent vision loss, your doctor is likely to start medication even before confirming the diagnosis with a biopsy.

You'll likely begin to feel better within a few days of beginning treatment. If you have visual loss before starting treatment with corticosteroids, it's unlikely that your vision will improve. However, your unaffected eye might be able to compensate for some of the visual changes.

You may need to continue taking medication for one to two years or longer. After the first month, your doctor might gradually begin to lower the dosage until you reach the lowest dose of corticosteroids needed to control inflammation.

Some symptoms, particularly headaches, may return during this tapering period. This is the point at which many people also develop symptoms of polymyalgia rheumatica. Such flares can usually be treated with slight increases in the corticosteroid dose. Your doctor might also suggest an immune-suppressing drug called methotrexate (Trexall).

Corticosteroids can lead to serious side effects, such as osteoporosis, high blood pressure and muscle weakness. To counter potential side effects, your doctor is likely to monitor your bone density and might prescribe calcium and vitamin D supplements or other medications to help prevent bone loss.

The Food and Drug Administration recently approved tocilizumab (Actemra) to treat giant cell arteritis. It's given as an injection under your skin. Side effects include making you more prone to infections. More research is needed.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Lifestyle and home remedies

When giant cell arteritis is diagnosed and treated early, the prognosis is usually excellent. Your symptoms will likely improve quickly after beginning corticosteroid treatment, and your vision isn't likely to be affected.

The following suggestions might help you manage your condition and cope with side effects of your medication:

  • Eat a healthy diet. Eating well can help prevent potential problems, such as thinning bones, high blood pressure and diabetes. Emphasize fresh fruits and vegetables, whole grains, and lean meats and fish, while limiting salt, sugar and alcohol.

    Be sure to get enough calcium and vitamin D. Experts recommend 1,200 milligrams (mg) of calcium and 800 international units (IU) of vitamin D a day for women over 50 and men over 70. Check with your doctor to see what dose is right for you.

  • Exercise regularly. Regular aerobic exercise, such as walking, can help prevent bone loss, high blood pressure and diabetes. It also benefits your heart and lungs. In addition, many people find that exercise improves their mood and overall sense of well-being.

    If you're not used to exercising, start out slowly and build up gradually. Your doctor can help you plan an exercise program.

  • Get checkups. See your doctor regularly to check for side effects of treatment and development of complications.
  • Ask about aspirin. Ask your doctor about taking between 75 and 150 mg of aspirin daily. Taken daily, low-dose aspirin might reduce the risk of blindness and stroke.

Coping and support

Learning everything you can about giant cell arteritis and its treatment can help you feel more in control of your condition. Your health care team can answer your questions, and online support groups might also be of help. Know the possible side effects of the medications you take, and report any changes in your health to your doctor.

Preparing for your appointment

You might start by seeing your primary care doctor. He or she may refer you to an eye specialist (ophthalmologist) if you're having visual symptoms, a brain and nervous system specialist (neurologist) if you're having headaches, or a specialist in diseases of the joints, bones and muscles (rheumatologist).

Here's some information to help you get ready for your appointment.

What you can do

When you make the appointment, ask if there's anything you need to do in advance. For some tests involved in diagnosing giant cell arteritis, you might need to follow special instructions before the appointment.

Make a list of:

  • Your symptoms, including those that seem unrelated to the reason for which you scheduled the appointment, and when they began
  • Key personal information, including any major stresses or recent life changes
  • All medications, vitamins and other supplements you take, including doses
  • Questions to ask your doctor

Take a friend or family member with you to help you remember the information you're given.

For giant cell arteritis, questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What's the most likely cause of my symptoms?
  • What are other possible causes?
  • What tests will I need?
  • What are my treatment options?
  • What side effects can I expect from the medication?
  • How long do I need to stay on medication, and what's my long-term prognosis?
  • Will giant cell arteritis come back?
  • I have these other health conditions. How can I best manage them together?
  • Do I need to change my diet? Do I need to take supplements?
  • Do you have brochures or other printed material that I can have? What websites do you recommend?

Don't hesitate to ask other questions.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions, such as:

  • Have your symptoms been continuous or occasional?
  • How severe are your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, seems to improve your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, appears to worsen your symptoms?

What you can do in the meantime

Ask your doctor if taking a pain reliever such as acetaminophen (Tylenol, others), ibuprofen (Advil, Motrin IB, others) or naproxen sodium (Aleve) might help ease head pain or tenderness.

Sept. 27, 2018
References
  1. Docken WP, et al. Clinical manifestations of giant cell arteritis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.
  2. Patient fact sheet: Giant cell arteritis. American College of Rheumatology. https://www.rheumatology.org/I-Am-A/Patient-Caregiver/Diseases-Conditions/Giant-Cell-Arteritis. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.
  3. Docken WP. Diagnosis of giant cell arteritis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.
  4. Giant cell arteritis. Arthritis Foundation. https://www.arthritis.org/about-arthritis/types/giant-cell-arteritis/. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.
  5. Dejaco C, et al. Giant cell arteritis and polymyalgia rheumatic: Current challenges and opportunities. Nature Reviews Rheumatology. 2017;13:578.
  6. Giant cell arteritis. Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center. https://rarediseases.info.nih.gov/diseases/9615/giant-cell-arteritis. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.
  7. FDA approves Genentech's Actemra for giant cell arteritis. Vasculitis Foundation. https://www.vasculitisfoundation.org/fda-approves-genentechs-actemra-for-giant-cell-arteritis/. Accessed Sept. 11, 2018.
  8. Giant cell arteritis. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/musculoskeletal-and-connective-tissue-disorders/vasculitis/giant-cell-arteritis. Accessed Sept. 11, 2018.
  9. What is osteoporosis? NIH Osteoporosis and Related Bone Diseases National Resource Center. https://www.bones.nih.gov/health-info/bone/osteoporosis/osteoporosis-ff. Accessed Sept. 11, 2018.
  10. Docken WP. Treatment of giant cell arteritis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.