诊断

由于巨细胞动脉炎的早期症状与其他常见疾病较为相似,所以这种疾病很难诊断。为此,医生会尝试排除可能导致这种问题的其他原因。

除了询问您的症状和病史外,医生可能还会进行全面的体格检查,并特别留意颞动脉。通常,这两条动脉中的一条或两条都会出现压痛、脉搏减弱以及索样感和索样外观。

医生可能还会建议您接受一些检测。

血液检测

以下检测可用于帮助诊断您的病情,并在治疗期间跟踪您的病情发展。

  • 红细胞沉降率。通常简称为沉降率,此检测可测量红细胞沉降到血液试管底部的速度。红细胞快速沉降可能表示体内有炎症。
  • C 反应蛋白(CRP)。此检测可测量体内有炎症时肝脏所产生的一种物质。

影像学检查

这些方法可以被用来诊断巨细胞动脉炎并监测您对治疗的反应。检查可能包括:

  • 多普勒超声。这项检查使用声波来产生血液流经血管的图像。
  • 磁共振血管造影术(MRA)。这项检查会结合使用磁共振成像和能够产生血管详细图像的造影剂。由于这项检查在管状机器中进行,所以如果呆在狭小的空间让您感到不适,请提前告知医生。
  • 正电子发射计算机断层扫描(PET)。如果医生怀疑您的大动脉(例如主动脉)可能有巨细胞动脉炎,他或她可能会建议您进行正电子发射计算机断层扫描。这项检查使用的是含有微量放射性物质的静脉示踪剂溶液。正电子发射计算机断层扫描可以产生大血管的详细图像,并突出显示发炎区域。

活检

确诊巨细胞动脉炎的最佳方法是获取少量颞动脉样本(活检)。这条动脉靠近皮肤,正好从耳朵前面一直延伸到头皮。此程序可使用局部麻醉在门诊进行,通常不会带来什么不适或瘢痕。获得的样本会在实验室的显微镜下接受检查。

如果您患有巨细胞动脉炎,该动脉会经常出现炎症,包括被称为巨细胞的巨大细胞炎症,这种疾病也是由此而得名。巨细胞动脉炎患者的活检结果也存在呈阴性的可能。

如果检查结果不够明确,医生可能会建议在头部另一侧再做一次颞动脉活检。

治疗

巨细胞动脉炎的主要治疗方法包括高剂量的皮质类固醇药物,例如泼尼松。由于需要立即治疗以防止视力减退,医生甚至会在通过活检确认诊断结果之前就开始用药。

在开始治疗后的几天内,您可能就会感觉有所好转。如果您在开始接受皮质类固醇治疗之前已发生视力减退,则不太可能改善视力。但是,您未受影响的眼睛或许能够补偿某些视力变化。

您可能需要继续服药一两年或更久。在第一个月后,医生可能会开始逐渐降低剂量,直至达到控制炎症所需的皮质类固醇最低剂量为止。

在这个减量期中,有些症状可能会再次出现,尤其是头痛。许多人在这个时间点还可能会出现风湿性多肌痛的症状。此类发作通常可通过稍微增加皮质类固醇的剂量进行治疗。医生可能会建议使用名为甲氨蝶呤(Trexall)的免疫抑制药物。

皮质类固醇可能产生严重的副作用,例如骨质疏松症、高血压和肌无力。为了应对潜在的副作用,医生可能会监控您的骨密度,并可能会开一些钙或维生素 D 补充剂或其他药物,以帮助预防骨量丢失。

美国食品药品监督管理局最近批准了托珠单抗(Actemra)用于治疗巨细胞动脉炎。它通过皮下注射方式给药。副作用包括使患者更容易感染。目前还需开展更多研究。

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

生活方式与家庭疗法

产品与服务

如果您在妙佑医疗国际接受巨细胞动脉炎治疗,不妨注册参加此在线课程:坦然面对巨细胞动脉炎

如果巨细胞动脉炎在早期得到诊断和治疗,预后通常非常好。在开始皮质类固醇治疗后,您的症状会很快得到改善,视力也不会受到影响。

下面的建议可能有助于您控制病情并应对药物的副作用:

  • 健康饮食。健康饮食有助于预防潜在问题,例如骨头变薄、高血压和糖尿病。饮食中增加新鲜水果和蔬菜、全谷类、瘦肉和鱼,同时限制盐、糖和酒精。

    一定要摄入足够的钙和维生素 D。专家建议 50 岁以上的女性和 70 岁以上的男性每天摄入 1,200 毫克(mg)钙和 800 国际单位(IU)维生素 D。请咨询医生,以了解适合您的剂量。

  • 定期运动。经常进行有氧运动(如散步)有助于防止骨质流失、高血压和糖尿病。也有益于您的心脏和肺。此外,许多人还发现运动可以改善情绪并提升整体幸福感。

    如果您没有运动习惯,请慢慢开始并逐渐加强运动。您的医生可以帮助您制定运动计划。

  • 进行检查。定期就医以检查治疗的副作用以及是否产生并发症。
  • 咨询关于阿司匹林的问题。询问您的医生关于每天服用 75 到 150 毫克阿司匹林的问题。每天服用小剂量阿司匹林可能会降低失明和卒中的风险。

妥善处理与支持

学习关于巨细胞动脉炎及其治疗的所有知识,可以帮助您更好地控制自己的病情。您的医护团队可以回答您的问题,在线互助组也可以提供帮助。了解您服用的药物可能产生的副作用,并将所有健康变化报告给医生。

准备您的预约

您可能会先去看全科医生。如果您有视觉症状,可能会将您转诊至眼科专家(眼科医生);如果您有头痛,可能会将您转诊至脑部和神经系统专家(神经科医生),或者转诊至关节、骨骼和肌肉疾病专家(风湿病学家)。

以下信息可以帮助您做好就诊准备。

您可以做些什么

约诊时,询问是否有需要提前准备的事项。对于诊断巨细胞动脉炎的一些检查,您可能需要在就诊前遵循特殊说明。

请列出以下内容:

  • 您的症状,包括那些看似与您的约诊原因无关的症状,以及开始时间
  • 关键个人信息,包括任何重大压力或近期生活变化
  • 您正在服用的所有药物、维生素和其他补充剂,以及相应剂量
  • 要问医生的问题

请一名朋友或家人陪您就诊,帮助您记住医生所提供的信息。

对于巨细胞动脉炎,可向医生咨询的一些问题包括:

  • 主要是哪些原因引起我的症状?
  • 其他可能的原因有哪些?
  • 我需要做哪些检查?
  • 我可以选择哪些治疗方案?
  • 药物会有哪些副作用?
  • 我需要服药多长时间,我的长期预后如何?
  • 巨细胞动脉炎会复发吗?
  • 我还有其他疾病。如何一起治疗这些疾病?
  • 我是否需要改变饮食?我需要服用补充剂吗?
  • 是否有我可以带走的手册或其他印刷材料?您建议哪些网站?

如果您还有其他问题,请随时提问。

医生可能做些什么

医生可能会问您一些问题,例如:

  • 您的症状是持续存在还是偶尔出现?
  • 您的症状有多严重?
  • 有没有什么因素似乎会改善您的症状?
  • 有没有什么因素似乎会加重您的症状?

在此期间您可以做什么

询问您的医生是否需服用止痛药,例如如对乙酰氨基酚(泰勒诺等)、布洛芬(艾德维尔、Motrin IB 等)或萘普生钠(萘普生),可能会有助于缓解头痛或压痛。

May 13, 2021
  1. Docken WP, et al. Clinical manifestations of giant cell arteritis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.
  2. Patient fact sheet: Giant cell arteritis. American College of Rheumatology. https://www.rheumatology.org/I-Am-A/Patient-Caregiver/Diseases-Conditions/Giant-Cell-Arteritis. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.
  3. Docken WP. Diagnosis of giant cell arteritis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.
  4. Giant cell arteritis. Arthritis Foundation. https://www.arthritis.org/about-arthritis/types/giant-cell-arteritis/. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.
  5. Dejaco C, et al. Giant cell arteritis and polymyalgia rheumatic: Current challenges and opportunities. Nature Reviews Rheumatology. 2017;13:578.
  6. Giant cell arteritis. Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center. https://rarediseases.info.nih.gov/diseases/9615/giant-cell-arteritis. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.
  7. FDA approves Genentech's Actemra for giant cell arteritis. Vasculitis Foundation. https://www.vasculitisfoundation.org/fda-approves-genentechs-actemra-for-giant-cell-arteritis/. Accessed Sept. 11, 2018.
  8. Giant cell arteritis. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/musculoskeletal-and-connective-tissue-disorders/vasculitis/giant-cell-arteritis. Accessed Sept. 11, 2018.
  9. What is osteoporosis? NIH Osteoporosis and Related Bone Diseases National Resource Center. https://www.bones.nih.gov/health-info/bone/osteoporosis/osteoporosis-ff. Accessed Sept. 11, 2018.
  10. Docken WP. Treatment of giant cell arteritis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.

Diagnosis

Giant cell arteritis can be difficult to diagnose because its early symptoms resemble those of other common conditions. For this reason, your doctor will try to rule out other possible causes of your problem.

In addition to asking about your symptoms and medical history, your doctor is likely to perform a thorough physical exam, paying particular attention to your temporal arteries. Often, one or both of these arteries are tender, with a reduced pulse and a hard, cordlike feel and appearance.

Your doctor might also recommend certain tests.

Blood tests

The following tests might be used to help diagnose your condition and to follow your progress during treatment.

  • Erythrocyte sedimentation rate. Commonly referred to as the sed rate, this test measures how quickly red blood cells fall to the bottom of a tube of blood. Red cells that drop rapidly might indicate inflammation in your body.
  • C-reactive protein (CRP). This measures a substance your liver produces when inflammation is present.

Imaging tests

These might be used to diagnose giant cell arteritis and to monitor your response to treatment. Tests might include:

  • Doppler ultrasound. This test uses sound waves to produce images of blood flowing through your blood vessels.
  • Magnetic resonance angiography (MRA). This test combines an MRI with the use of a contrast material that produces detailed images of your blood vessels. Let your doctor know ahead of time if you're uncomfortable being confined in a small space because the test is conducted in a tube-shaped machine.
  • Positron emission tomography (PET). If your doctor suspects you might have giant cell arteritis in large arteries, such as your aorta, he or she might recommend PET. This test uses an intravenous tracer solution that contains a tiny amount of radioactive material. A PET scan can produce detailed images of your larger blood vessels and highlight areas of inflammation.

Biopsy

The best way to confirm a diagnosis of giant cell arteritis is by taking a small sample (biopsy) of the temporal artery. This artery is situated close to the skin just in front of your ears and continues up to your scalp. The procedure is performed on an outpatient basis using local anesthesia, usually with little discomfort or scarring. The sample is examined under a microscope in a laboratory.

If you have giant cell arteritis, the artery will often show inflammation that includes abnormally large cells, called giant cells, which give the disease its name. It's possible to have giant cell arteritis and have a negative biopsy result.

If the results aren't clear, your doctor might advise another temporal artery biopsy on the other side of your head.

Treatment

The main treatment for giant cell arteritis consists of high doses of a corticosteroid drug such as prednisone. Because immediate treatment is necessary to prevent vision loss, your doctor is likely to start medication even before confirming the diagnosis with a biopsy.

You'll likely begin to feel better within a few days of beginning treatment. If you have visual loss before starting treatment with corticosteroids, it's unlikely that your vision will improve. However, your unaffected eye might be able to compensate for some of the visual changes.

You may need to continue taking medication for one to two years or longer. After the first month, your doctor might gradually begin to lower the dosage until you reach the lowest dose of corticosteroids needed to control inflammation.

Some symptoms, particularly headaches, may return during this tapering period. This is the point at which many people also develop symptoms of polymyalgia rheumatica. Such flares can usually be treated with slight increases in the corticosteroid dose. Your doctor might also suggest an immune-suppressing drug called methotrexate (Trexall).

Corticosteroids can lead to serious side effects, such as osteoporosis, high blood pressure and muscle weakness. To counter potential side effects, your doctor is likely to monitor your bone density and might prescribe calcium and vitamin D supplements or other medications to help prevent bone loss.

The Food and Drug Administration recently approved tocilizumab (Actemra) to treat giant cell arteritis. It's given as an injection under your skin. Side effects include making you more prone to infections. More research is needed.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Lifestyle and home remedies

When giant cell arteritis is diagnosed and treated early, the prognosis is usually excellent. Your symptoms will likely improve quickly after beginning corticosteroid treatment, and your vision isn't likely to be affected.

The following suggestions might help you manage your condition and cope with side effects of your medication:

  • Eat a healthy diet. Eating well can help prevent potential problems, such as thinning bones, high blood pressure and diabetes. Emphasize fresh fruits and vegetables, whole grains, and lean meats and fish, while limiting salt, sugar and alcohol.

    Be sure to get enough calcium and vitamin D. Experts recommend 1,200 milligrams (mg) of calcium and 800 international units (IU) of vitamin D a day for women over 50 and men over 70. Check with your doctor to see what dose is right for you.

  • Exercise regularly. Regular aerobic exercise, such as walking, can help prevent bone loss, high blood pressure and diabetes. It also benefits your heart and lungs. In addition, many people find that exercise improves their mood and overall sense of well-being.

    If you're not used to exercising, start out slowly and build up gradually. Your doctor can help you plan an exercise program.

  • Get checkups. See your doctor regularly to check for side effects of treatment and development of complications.
  • Ask about aspirin. Ask your doctor about taking between 75 and 150 mg of aspirin daily. Taken daily, low-dose aspirin might reduce the risk of blindness and stroke.

Coping and support

Learning everything you can about giant cell arteritis and its treatment can help you feel more in control of your condition. Your health care team can answer your questions, and online support groups might also be of help. Know the possible side effects of the medications you take, and report any changes in your health to your doctor.

Preparing for your appointment

You might start by seeing your primary care doctor. He or she may refer you to an eye specialist (ophthalmologist) if you're having visual symptoms, a brain and nervous system specialist (neurologist) if you're having headaches, or a specialist in diseases of the joints, bones and muscles (rheumatologist).

Here's some information to help you get ready for your appointment.

What you can do

When you make the appointment, ask if there's anything you need to do in advance. For some tests involved in diagnosing giant cell arteritis, you might need to follow special instructions before the appointment.

Make a list of:

  • Your symptoms, including those that seem unrelated to the reason for which you scheduled the appointment, and when they began
  • Key personal information, including any major stresses or recent life changes
  • All medications, vitamins and other supplements you take, including doses
  • Questions to ask your doctor

Take a friend or family member with you to help you remember the information you're given.

For giant cell arteritis, questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What's the most likely cause of my symptoms?
  • What are other possible causes?
  • What tests will I need?
  • What are my treatment options?
  • What side effects can I expect from the medication?
  • How long do I need to stay on medication, and what's my long-term prognosis?
  • Will giant cell arteritis come back?
  • I have these other health conditions. How can I best manage them together?
  • Do I need to change my diet? Do I need to take supplements?
  • Do you have brochures or other printed material that I can have? What websites do you recommend?

Don't hesitate to ask other questions.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions, such as:

  • Have your symptoms been continuous or occasional?
  • How severe are your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, seems to improve your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, appears to worsen your symptoms?

What you can do in the meantime

Ask your doctor if taking a pain reliever such as acetaminophen (Tylenol, others), ibuprofen (Advil, Motrin IB, others) or naproxen sodium (Aleve) might help ease head pain or tenderness.

Sept. 27, 2018
References
  1. Docken WP, et al. Clinical manifestations of giant cell arteritis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.
  2. Patient fact sheet: Giant cell arteritis. American College of Rheumatology. https://www.rheumatology.org/I-Am-A/Patient-Caregiver/Diseases-Conditions/Giant-Cell-Arteritis. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.
  3. Docken WP. Diagnosis of giant cell arteritis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.
  4. Giant cell arteritis. Arthritis Foundation. https://www.arthritis.org/about-arthritis/types/giant-cell-arteritis/. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.
  5. Dejaco C, et al. Giant cell arteritis and polymyalgia rheumatic: Current challenges and opportunities. Nature Reviews Rheumatology. 2017;13:578.
  6. Giant cell arteritis. Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center. https://rarediseases.info.nih.gov/diseases/9615/giant-cell-arteritis. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.
  7. FDA approves Genentech's Actemra for giant cell arteritis. Vasculitis Foundation. https://www.vasculitisfoundation.org/fda-approves-genentechs-actemra-for-giant-cell-arteritis/. Accessed Sept. 11, 2018.
  8. Giant cell arteritis. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/musculoskeletal-and-connective-tissue-disorders/vasculitis/giant-cell-arteritis. Accessed Sept. 11, 2018.
  9. What is osteoporosis? NIH Osteoporosis and Related Bone Diseases National Resource Center. https://www.bones.nih.gov/health-info/bone/osteoporosis/osteoporosis-ff. Accessed Sept. 11, 2018.
  10. Docken WP. Treatment of giant cell arteritis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 7, 2018.