诊断

如果您患妊娠期糖尿病的风险趋于平均,您可能要在孕中期(怀孕后的 24 周到28 周)接受筛查。

如果您患糖尿病的风险偏高,例如您在孕前超重或肥胖,或您的母亲、父亲、兄弟姐妹或子女有糖尿病,您的医生可能会在怀孕早期(很可能是您首次孕检的时候)检查糖尿病。

妊娠期糖尿病的常规筛查

根据医务人员不同,筛查过程可能会略有差异,但一般包括:

  • 初始葡萄糖筛查试验。喝一杯糖浆状的葡萄糖溶液。一小时后抽血化验血糖水平。若血糖水平为或 190 mg/dl 或 10.6 mmol/L 或更高,则提示患有妊娠期糖尿病。

    血糖水平低于 140 mg/dL(7.8 mmol/L)一般属于正常范围,尽管具体阈值可能因临床情况或实验室而异。如果血糖水平高于正常,还需要做葡萄糖耐量试验来确定您是否患妊娠期糖尿病。

  • 后续葡萄糖耐量试验。这次试验与前面的初始试验相似,不同之处只是溶液中的含糖量更高,并且会在三小时内每隔一小时检查一次血糖。如果至少有两次血糖读数高于预期,可诊断为妊娠期糖尿病。

治疗

妊娠期糖尿病的治疗方式包括:

  • 改变生活方式
  • 监测血糖
  • 必要时,请用药

控制血糖水平有助于维持您和您孩子的健康。封闭管理也会有助您避免怀孕与分娩期间出现并发症。

生活方式改变

您的生活方式(饮食和运动方式)是保持您的血糖水平在健康范围内的重要因素。医生不建议怀孕期间减重,因为您的身体正在努力支持您的宝宝成长。但是医生可以根据怀孕前的体重来帮助您设定体重增加的目标。

监测血糖

在您怀孕期间,您的医护团队可能会要求您每天接受四次或以上的血糖检查(早上和饭后的第一件事就是检查血糖),以确保您的血糖水平保持在健康范围内。

用药

如果饮食和运动不足以控制血糖,您可能需要注射胰岛素来降低血糖。10% 至 20% 的妊娠期糖尿病女性需要使用胰岛素治疗才能达到血糖目标。一些医生会开口服药物来控制血糖,而另一些医生则认为需要更多研究来证实口服药物与注射胰岛素对控制妊娠期糖尿病同等安全和有效。

密切监测婴儿

治疗方案的重要部分是密切观察婴儿。医生可能反复进行超声波或其他检查来检查婴儿的生长发育是否正常。如果您未在预产期分娩(有时会提前),医生可能会进行催产。在预产期之后生产可能会增加您和婴儿出现并发症的风险。

分娩后随访

医生会您分娩后检查您的血糖并在其后 6 至 12 周内再次检查,以确保您的血糖水平恢复正常。如果您的检查结果正常(大多数人都正常),则您至少需要每三年评估一次糖尿病风险。

如果以后的检查表明存在 2 型糖尿病或糖尿病前期,请与您的医生商谈增强预防工作或开始制定糖尿病管理计划。

更多信息

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

妥善处理与支持

知道自己的身体状况会影响未出生宝宝的健康,您会感到很有压力。但是,控制血糖水平的办法(比如健康饮食和定期锻炼)可以帮助缓解压力,滋养您的宝宝,并有助于预防未来的 2 型糖尿病。

如果尽可能多地了解妊娠期糖尿病,可能让您感觉好些。向您的医疗团队咨询,或者阅读关于妊娠期糖尿病的书籍和文章。一些女性发现针对妊娠期糖尿病女性的支持小组很有帮助。

准备您的预约

您可能会在妊娠期间的常规检查中发现自己患有妊娠期糖尿病。医生可能会将您转诊到专门治疗糖尿病的其他健康专业人士,比如内分泌医师、注册营养师或糖尿病教育家。他们可以帮助您学习在妊娠期间控制血糖水平。

以下信息可以帮助您做好就诊准备,并了解医生或其他健康专业人士会采取什么措施。

您可以做什么

  • 了解就诊前是否有任何限制规定。约诊时,请询问是否需要禁食做化验,或者是否需要为诊断检测做其他的准备。
  • 写下您目前的症状, 包括看似与妊娠期糖尿病无关的症状。您可能没有明显的症状,但最好记录下您发现的任何异常情况。
  • 写下关键的个人信息,包括主要压力或近期的生活变化。
  • 列出您正在服用的所有药物, 包括非处方药物和维生素或补充剂。
  • 尽可能让家人或朋友陪同就诊。陪同者可能会记住您所遗漏或忘记的一些事项。

医生可能会做什么

医生可能也有问题要问您,特别是您们初次见面的时候。医生可能会问:

  • 您有没有感到口渴增加或过度排尿?如有,这些症状是什么时候开始的?您的症状出现频率如何?
  • 您注意到其他异常症状了吗?
  • 您是否有父母或兄弟姐妹被诊断患有糖尿病?
  • 您以前是否怀过孕?您以前怀孕时有妊娠期糖尿病吗?
  • 您怀孕早期还有其他问题吗?
  • 如果您有其他孩子,每个孩子出生时的体重是多少?
June 23, 2022
  1. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. Practice Bulletin No.190: Gestational diabetes mellitus. Obstetrics & Gynecology. 2018; doi:10.1097/AOG.0000000000002501.
  2. Diabetes and pregnancy — Gestational diabetes. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/pregnancy/diabetes-gestational.html. Accessed Dec. 31, 2019.
  3. Gestational diabetes. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/diabetes/overview/what-is-diabetes/gestational/all-content. Accessed Dec. 31, 2019.
  4. AskMayoExpert. Gestational diabetes. Mayo Clinic; 2018.
  5. Durnwald C. Diabetes mellitus in pregnancy: Screening and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 8, 2020.
  6. American Diabetes Association. Standards of medical care in diabetes — 2020. Diabetes Care. 2020; doi:10.2337/dc20-SINT.
  7. Mack LR, et al. Gestational diabetes — Diagnosis, classification, and clinical care. Obstetrics and Gynecology Clinics of North America. 2017; doi:10.1016/j.ogc.2017.02.002.
  8. Assaf-Balut C, et al. Medical nutrition therapy for gestational diabetes mellitus based on Mediterranean Diet principles: A subanalysis of the St. Carlos GDM Prevention Study. BMJ Open Diabetes Research and Care 2018; doi:10.1136/bmjdrc-2018-000550.

相关

Associated Procedures

Diagnosis

If you're at average risk of gestational diabetes, you'll likely have a screening test during your second trimester — between 24 and 28 weeks of pregnancy.

If you're at high risk of diabetes — for example, if you're overweight or obese before pregnancy or you have a mother, father, sibling or child with diabetes — your doctor may test for diabetes early in pregnancy, likely at your first prenatal visit.

Routine screening for gestational diabetes

Screening tests may vary slightly depending on your health care provider, but generally include:

  • Initial glucose challenge test. You'll drink a syrupy glucose solution. One hour later, you'll have a blood test to measure your blood sugar level. A blood sugar level of 190 milligrams per deciliter (mg/dL), or 10.6 millimoles per liter (mmol/L) indicates gestational diabetes.

    A blood sugar below 140 mg/dL (7.8 mmol/L) is usually considered normal on a glucose challenge test, although this may vary by clinic or lab. If your blood sugar level is higher than normal, you'll need another glucose tolerance test to determine if you have the condition.

  • Follow-up glucose tolerance testing. This test is similar to the initial test — except the sweet solution will have even more sugar and your blood sugar will be checked every hour for three hours. If at least two of the blood sugar readings are higher than expected, you'll be diagnosed with gestational diabetes.

Treatment

Treatment for gestational diabetes includes:

  • Lifestyle changes
  • Blood sugar monitoring
  • Medication, if necessary

Managing your blood sugar levels helps keep you and your baby healthy. Close management can also help you avoid complications during pregnancy and delivery.

Lifestyle changes

Your lifestyle — how you eat and move — is an important part of keeping your blood sugar levels in a healthy range. Doctors don't advise losing weight during pregnancy — your body is working hard to support your growing baby. But your doctor can help you set weight gain goals based on your weight before pregnancy.

Healthy diet

A healthy diet focuses on fruits, vegetables, whole grains and lean protein — foods that are high in nutrition and fiber and low in fat and calories — and limits highly refined carbohydrates, including sweets. A registered dietitian or a diabetes educator can help you create a meal plan based on your current weight, pregnancy weight gain goals, blood sugar level, exercise habits, food preferences and budget.

Stay active

Regular physical activity plays a key role in every woman's wellness plan before, during and after pregnancy. Exercise lowers your blood sugar, and as an added bonus, regular exercise can help relieve some common discomforts of pregnancy, including back pain, muscle cramps, swelling, constipation and trouble sleeping.

With your doctor's OK, aim for 30 minutes of moderate exercise on most days of the week. If you haven't been active for a while, start slowly and build up gradually. Walking, cycling and swimming are good choices during pregnancy. Everyday activities such as housework and gardening also count.

Monitor your blood sugar

While you're pregnant, your health care team may ask you to check your blood sugar four or more times a day — first thing in the morning and after meals — to make sure your level stays within a healthy range.

Medication

If diet and exercise aren't enough, you may need insulin injections to lower your blood sugar. Between 10% and 20% of women with gestational diabetes need insulin to reach their blood sugar goals. Some doctors prescribe an oral medication to control blood sugar, while others believe more research is needed to confirm that oral drugs are as safe and as effective as injectable insulin to control gestational diabetes.

Close monitoring of your baby

An important part of your treatment plan is close observation of your baby. Your doctor may check your baby's growth and development with repeated ultrasounds or other tests. If you don't go into labor by your due date — or sometimes earlier — your doctor may induce labor. Delivering after your due date may increase the risk of complications for you and your baby.

Follow-up after delivery

Your doctor will check your blood sugar after delivery and again in six to 12 weeks to make sure that your level has returned to normal. If your tests are normal — and most are — you'll need to have your diabetes risk assessed at least every three years.

If future tests indicate type 2 diabetes or prediabetes, talk with your doctor about increasing your prevention efforts or starting a diabetes management plan.

More Information

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Coping and support

It's stressful to know you have a condition that can affect your unborn baby's health. But the steps that will help control your blood sugar level — such as eating healthy foods and exercising regularly — can help relieve stress, nourish your baby and help prevent type 2 diabetes in the future.

You may feel better if you learn as much as you can about gestational diabetes. Talk to your health care team, or read books and articles about gestational diabetes. Some women find a support group for women with gestational diabetes helpful.

Preparing for your appointment

You'll likely find out you have gestational diabetes from routine screening during your pregnancy. Your doctor may refer you to additional health professionals who specialize in diabetes, such as an endocrinologist, a registered dietitian or a diabetes educator. They can help you learn to manage your blood sugar level during your pregnancy.

Here's some information to help you get ready for your appointment and know what to expect from your doctor or other health professional.

What you can do

  • Be aware of pre-appointment restrictions. When you make your appointment, ask if you need to fast for lab tests or do anything else to prepare for diagnostic tests.
  • Write down symptoms you're having, including those that may seem unrelated to gestational diabetes. You may not have noticeable symptoms, but it's good to keep a log of anything unusual you notice.
  • Write down key personal information, including major stresses or recent life changes.
  • Make a list of all medications, including over-the-counter drugs and vitamins or supplements you're taking.
  • Take a family member or friend along, if possible. Someone who accompanies you may remember something that you missed or forgot.

Questions to ask your doctor

Make a list of questions to help make the most of your time with your doctor. For gestational diabetes, some basic questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What can I do to help control my condition?
  • Can you recommend a dietitian or diabetes educator who can help me plan meals, an exercise program and coping strategies?
  • Will I need medication to control my blood sugar?
  • What symptoms should prompt me to seek medical attention?
  • Are there brochures or other printed materials I can take? What websites do you recommend?

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is also likely to have questions for you, especially if you're seeing him or her for the first time. Your doctor may ask:

  • Have you experienced increased thirst or excessive urination? If so, when did these symptoms start? How often do you have them?
  • Have you noticed other unusual symptoms?
  • Do you have a parent or sibling who's ever been diagnosed with diabetes?
  • Have you been pregnant before? Did you have gestational diabetes during your previous pregnancies?
  • Did you have other problems in earlier pregnancies?
  • If you have other children, how much did each weigh at birth?
Aug. 26, 2020
  1. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. Practice Bulletin No.190: Gestational diabetes mellitus. Obstetrics & Gynecology. 2018; doi:10.1097/AOG.0000000000002501.
  2. Diabetes and pregnancy — Gestational diabetes. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/pregnancy/diabetes-gestational.html. Accessed Dec. 31, 2019.
  3. Gestational diabetes. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/diabetes/overview/what-is-diabetes/gestational/all-content. Accessed Dec. 31, 2019.
  4. AskMayoExpert. Gestational diabetes. Mayo Clinic; 2018.
  5. Durnwald C. Diabetes mellitus in pregnancy: Screening and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 8, 2020.
  6. American Diabetes Association. Standards of medical care in diabetes — 2020. Diabetes Care. 2020; doi:10.2337/dc20-SINT.
  7. Mack LR, et al. Gestational diabetes — Diagnosis, classification, and clinical care. Obstetrics and Gynecology Clinics of North America. 2017; doi:10.1016/j.ogc.2017.02.002.
  8. Assaf-Balut C, et al. Medical nutrition therapy for gestational diabetes mellitus based on Mediterranean Diet principles: A subanalysis of the St. Carlos GDM Prevention Study. BMJ Open Diabetes Research and Care 2018; doi:10.1136/bmjdrc-2018-000550.