诊断

根据体格检查结果以及您的体征和症状历史,医生或许能够诊断出胃食管反流病

为确诊胃食管反流病或者检查是否出现并发症,医生可能会建议您以下检查:

  • 上消化道内镜检查。医生会在您的咽喉中插入一根装有灯和摄像头的柔软细管(内镜),以检查食管和胃的内部。存在反流时也经常有可能得到正常的检查结果,但内镜检查可能检测到食管发炎(食管炎)或其他并发症。内镜检查还可以用于采集组织样本(活检),以检测是否出现并发症,例如巴雷特食管。
  • 动态酸碱度(pH 值)探针检测。将监测器置入食管中,以确定胃酸何时反流以及持续时间。此监测器连接到一台戴在腰部或绑在肩部的小型计算机。此监测器可能是一根穿过鼻子并伸到食管中的柔软细管(导管),也可能是一个在内镜检查期间放入食管中并约在两天后随粪便排出的夹子。
  • 食管测压。这项检查能够测量食管在吞咽时的有规律肌肉收缩。食管测压还会测量食管肌肉的协调性和用力情况。
  • 上消化系统 X 射线检查。进行 X 射线检查前,您需要先喝下一种乳白色液体,这些液体会覆盖并填充消化道内膜。该涂层能够让医生看到您的食管、胃和小肠上段的轮廓。医生还可能要求您吞下一个钡片,这有助于诊断可能干扰吞咽的食管狭窄。

治疗

医生可能建议您先尝试改变生活方式和非处方用药。如果您在数周内没有缓解,那么医生可能建议处方用药或外科手术。

非处方药

选择包括:

  • 中和胃酸的抗酸药。抗酸药如麦兰塔 (Mylanta)、罗莱兹 (Rolaids) 和图姆斯 (Tums) 可以提供快速缓解。但是抗酸药单用并不能治愈遭胃酸破坏的发炎食管。过度使用某些抗酸药会引起副作用,比如腹泻,或有时甚至引起肾脏问题。
  • 减少产酸的药物。这些称作 H-2 受体阻滞剂的药物包括西咪替丁 (Tagamet HB)、法莫替丁 (Pepcid AC) 和尼扎替丁(Axid AR)。H-2 受体阻滞剂起效不如抗酸药快,但它们提供更长久的缓解,并可减少胃产酸长达 12 小时。依据处方可提供更强力的药物。
  • 阻止胃酸分泌和治愈食管的药物。这些称作质子泵抑制剂的药物是比 H-2 受体阻滞剂更强力的酸阻滞剂,让受损的食管组织有时间愈合。非处方质子泵抑制剂包括兰索拉唑 (Prevacid 24 HR) 和奥美拉唑(Prilosec OTC、Zegerid OTC)。

处方药

针对胃食管反流病 (GERD) 的处方规格治疗方案包括:

  • 处方规格的 H-2 受体阻滞剂。这些阻滞剂包括处方规格的法莫替丁 (Pepcid) 和尼扎替丁。这些药物通常具有良好耐受性,但如果长期使用,可能会略微增加维生素 B-12 缺乏和骨折的风险。
  • 处方规格的质子泵抑制剂。这些质子泵抑制剂包括埃索美拉唑 (Nexium)、兰索拉唑 (Prevacid)、奥美拉唑(Prilosec、Zegerid)、泮托拉唑 (Protonix)、雷贝拉唑 (Aciphex) 和右兰索拉唑 (Dexilant)。尽管这些药物通常具有良好耐受性,但也可能引起腹泻、头痛、恶心和维生素 B-12 缺乏。长期使用可能会增加髋部骨折的风险。
  • 增强食管下括约肌的药物。巴氯芬通过降低食管下括约肌的松弛频率来缓解胃食管反流病 (GERD)。副作用可能包括疲劳或恶心。

外科手术及其他手术

胃食管反流病通常可以通过药物控制。但如果药物没有帮助或您不希望长期用药,医生可能会建议:

  • 胃底折叠术。外科医生会将胃顶部包裹在食管下括约肌周围,以收紧肌肉,防止反流。胃底折叠术通常以微创(腹腔镜)手术的方式进行。胃上部可以部分或完全包裹。
  • LINX 装置。在胃和食管的接合处包裹一圈微小的磁珠。磁珠之间的磁力很强,可使接合处不受回流酸的影响,但又足以使食物通过。LINX 装置可以通过微创手术植入。
  • 经口无切口胃底折叠术(TIF)。这项新手术通过使用聚丙烯紧固件部分包裹下食管来收紧食管下括约肌。经口无切口胃底折叠术使用内镜这种仪器通过口腔进行,无需手术切口。其优点是恢复时间短,耐受性强。

    如果您的食管裂孔疝很大,则无法单独进行经口无切口胃底折叠术。但经口无切口胃底折叠术联合腹腔镜食管裂孔疝修补术可能可行。

在您的收件箱中查看来自妙佑医疗国际的最新健康信息。

免费订阅获取关于消化健康的详细指南以及最新的健康创新和新闻消息。您可以随时取消订阅。

为了向您提供最相关和最有用的信息,并帮助您理解有益的信息,我们可能会将您的电子邮件和网站使用信息与我们所掌握的有关您的其他信息相结合。如果您是妙佑医疗国际的患者,这些其他信息中可能包括受保护的健康信息。在结合使用这些信息与您的受保护健康信息时,我们将把所有这些信息视为受保护健康信息,并且仅使用或披露隐私惯例通知中规定的信息。您可随时单击电子邮件中的“取消订阅”链接,选择退订电子邮件通信。

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

生活方式与家庭疗法

改变生活方式可能有助于减少胃酸反流的频率。尝试:

  • 保持健康的体重。过重会给腹部造成压力,使胃部向上倾斜,并使酸反流到食管中。
  • 戒烟。抽烟会降低食管下括约肌正常作用的能力。
  • 升高床头。如果您在睡觉时经常感到胃灼热,可以在床脚下放置木头或水泥块,使床头升高 6 到 9 英寸。如果无法升高床头,可以在床垫和弹簧床垫之间插入一个楔子,从而抬起腰部以上的身体。通过叠加多个枕头抬起头部没什么用。
  • 饭后不要躺下。饭后至少要等三小时才能躺下或睡觉。
  • 吃东西要细嚼慢咽。每吃一口都要放下叉子,当咀嚼并咽下这一口后再拿起来。
  • 避免引起反流的食物和饮料。常见的诱因包括脂肪或油炸食品、番茄酱、酒精、巧克力、薄荷、大蒜、洋葱和咖啡因。
  • 避免穿紧身衣服。紧裹腰部的衣服会压迫腹部和食管下括约肌。

替代医学

没有替代药物疗法被证明可以治疗胃食管反流病(GERD)或食管反流损伤。一些补充疗法和替代疗法配合医生的护理可能会缓解病情。

和您的医生讨论对您来说安全的胃食管反流病替代治疗。方案可能有:

  • 草药疗法。有时会用干草和洋甘菊缓解胃食管反流病。草药疗法可能有严重的副作用,并可能和用药相冲。开始任何草药疗法前向您的医生咨询安全剂量。
  • 松弛疗法。缓解压力和焦虑的技巧可能会减轻胃食管反流病的体征和症状。向您的医生咨询松弛技巧,例如渐进式肌肉松弛或引导性想象。

准备您的预约

您可能会被转诊给消化系统的专科医生(肠胃科医生)。

您可以做什么

  • 了解就诊前是否有任何限制规定,例如在就诊前限制饮食。
  • 写下您的症状,包括看似与约诊原因无关的任何症状。
  • 写下引发症状的因素,例如特定食物。
  • 列出您使用的所有药物、维生素和补充剂。
  • 写下您的关键医疗信息,包括其他状况。
  • 写下关键的个人信息,包括您生活中的任何近期变化或压力。
  • 写下需要向医生咨询的问题。
  • 请亲属或朋友陪同,以便帮您记住医生提供的信息。

要向医生咨询的问题

  • 我的症状最可能的原因是什么?
  • 我需要做哪些检查?要做任何特殊准备吗?
  • 我的病症可能是暂时的还是长期的?
  • 有哪些治疗方法?
  • 我是否需要遵循什么限制?
  • 我还有其他健康问题。我怎样才能同时管理好这些疾病?

除了已经准备好的要问医生的问题外,在就诊过程中,有什么不明白的地方,可以随时提问。

医生可能做些什么

医生可能会问一些问题。请做好回答这些问题的准备,这样有利于更好地安排时间,去详细了解您所关注的任何方面。医生可能会问:

  • 您何时开始出现症状?这些症状有多严重?
  • 您的症状是持续存在还是偶尔出现?
  • 有没有什么因素似乎会改善或加重您的症状?
  • 您的症状是否会让您在半夜醒来?
  • 您的症状否会在餐后或躺下后加重?
  • 食物或酸性物质是否曾回到您的喉咙后部?
  • 您吞咽食物有困难吗?还是为了避免吞咽困难而不得不改变饮食习惯?
  • 您的体重是增加了还是减轻了?

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

July 26, 2022
  1. Maret-Ouda J, et al. Gastroesophageal reflux disease: A review. JAMA. 2020; doi:10.1001/jama.2020.21360.
  2. Katz PO, et al. ACG clinical guideline for the diagnosis and management of gastroesophageal reflux disease. American Journal of Gastroenterology. 2022; doi:10.14309/ajg.0000000000001538.
  3. Acid reflux (GER and GERD) in adults. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/digestive-diseases/acid-reflux-ger-gerd-adults. Accessed April 13, 2022.
  4. Kahrilas PJ. Clinical manifestations and diagnosis of gastroesophageal reflux in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed April 13, 2022.
  5. AskMayoExpert. Gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD) (adult). Mayo Clinic. 2021.
  6. Townsend CM Jr, et al. Gastroesophageal reflux disease and hiatal hernia. In: Sabiston Textbook of Surgery: The Biological Basis of Modern Surgical Practice. 21st ed. Elsevier; 2022. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed April 13, 2022.
  7. Feldman M, et al., eds. Gastroesophageal reflux disease. In: Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 11th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed April 13, 2022.
  8. Kahrilas PJ. Medical management of gastroesophageal reflux in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed April 13, 2022.
  9. Winter HS. Management of gastroesophageal reflux disease in children and adolescents. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed April 13, 2022.
  10. Ami TR. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. April 7, 2022.
  11. Khanna S (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. May 1, 2022.

Diagnosis

Your health care provider might be able to diagnose GERD based on a history of your signs and symptoms and a physical examination.

To confirm a diagnosis of GERD, or to check for complications, your doctor might recommend:

  • Upper endoscopy. Your doctor inserts a thin, flexible tube equipped with a light and camera (endoscope) down your throat. The endoscope helps your provider see inside your esophagus and stomach. Test results may not show problems when reflux is present, but an endoscopy may detect inflammation of the esophagus (esophagitis) or other complications.

    An endoscopy can also be used to collect a sample of tissue (biopsy) to be tested for complications such as Barrett esophagus. In some instances, if a narrowing is seen in the esophagus, it can be stretched or dilated during this procedure. This is done to improve trouble swallowing (dysphagia).

  • Ambulatory acid (pH) probe test. A monitor is placed in your esophagus to identify when, and for how long, stomach acid regurgitates there. The monitor connects to a small computer that you wear around your waist or with a strap over your shoulder.

    The monitor might be a thin, flexible tube (catheter) that's threaded through your nose into your esophagus. Or it might be a clip that's placed in your esophagus during an endoscopy. The clip passes into your stool after about two days.

  • X-ray of the upper digestive system. X-rays are taken after you drink a chalky liquid that coats and fills the inside lining of your digestive tract. The coating allows your doctor to see a silhouette of your esophagus and stomach. This is particularly useful for people who are having trouble swallowing.

    You may also be asked to swallow a barium pill that can help diagnose a narrowing of the esophagus that may interfere with swallowing.

  • Esophageal manometry. This test measures the rhythmic muscle contractions in your esophagus when you swallow. Esophageal manometry also measures the coordination and force exerted by the muscles of your esophagus. This is typically done in people who have trouble swallowing.
  • Transnasal esophagoscopy. This test is done to look for any damage in your esophagus. A thin, flexible tube with a video camera is put through your nose and moved down your throat into the esophagus. The camera sends pictures to a video screen.

Treatment

Your doctor is likely to recommend that you first try lifestyle changes and nonprescription medications. If you don't experience relief within a few weeks, your doctor might recommend prescription medication and additional testing.

Nonprescription medications

Options include:

  • Antacids that neutralize stomach acid. Antacids containing calcium carbonate, such as Mylanta, Rolaids and Tums, may provide quick relief. But antacids alone won't heal an inflamed esophagus damaged by stomach acid. Overuse of some antacids can cause side effects, such as diarrhea or sometimes kidney problems.
  • Medications to reduce acid production. These medications — known as histamine (H-2) blockers — include cimetidine (Tagamet HB), famotidine (Pepcid AC) and nizatidine (Axid AR). H-2 blockers don't act as quickly as antacids, but they provide longer relief and may decrease acid production from the stomach for up to 12 hours. Stronger versions are available by prescription.
  • Medications that block acid production and heal the esophagus. These medications — known as proton pump inhibitors — are stronger acid blockers than H-2 blockers and allow time for damaged esophageal tissue to heal. Nonprescription proton pump inhibitors include lansoprazole (Prevacid 24 HR), omeprazole (Prilosec OTC) and esomeprazole (Nexium 24 HR).

If you start taking a nonprescription medication for GERD, be sure to inform your doctor.

Prescription medications

Prescription-strength treatments for GERD include:

  • Prescription-strength proton pump inhibitors. These include esomeprazole (Nexium), lansoprazole (Prevacid), omeprazole (Prilosec), pantoprazole (Protonix), rabeprazole (Aciphex) and dexlansoprazole (Dexilant).

    Although generally well tolerated, these medications might cause diarrhea, headaches, nausea, or in rare instances, low vitamin B-12 or magnesium levels.

  • Prescription-strength H-2 blockers. These include prescription-strength famotidine and nizatidine. Side effects from these medications are generally mild and well tolerated.

Surgery and other procedures

GERD can usually be controlled with medication. But if medications don't help or you wish to avoid long-term medication use, your doctor might recommend:

  • Fundoplication. The surgeon wraps the top of your stomach around the lower esophageal sphincter, to tighten the muscle and prevent reflux. Fundoplication is usually done with a minimally invasive (laparoscopic) procedure. The wrapping of the top part of the stomach can be complete (Nissen fundoplication) or partial. The most common partial procedure is the Toupet fundoplication. Your surgeon will recommend the type that is best for you.
  • LINX device. A ring of tiny magnetic beads is wrapped around the junction of the stomach and esophagus. The magnetic attraction between the beads is strong enough to keep the junction closed to refluxing acid, but weak enough to allow food to pass through. The LINX device can be implanted using minimally invasive surgery. The magnetic beads do not have an effect on airport security or magnetic resonance imaging.
  • Transoral incisionless fundoplication (TIF). This new procedure involves tightening the lower esophageal sphincter by creating a partial wrap around the lower esophagus using polypropylene fasteners. TIF is performed through the mouth by using an endoscope and requires no surgical incision. Its advantages include quick recovery time and high tolerance.

    If you have a large hiatal hernia, TIF alone is not an option. However, TIF may be possible if it is combined with laparoscopic hiatal hernia repair.

Because obesity can be a risk factor for GERD, your health care provider could suggest weight-loss surgery as an option for treatment. Talk with your provider to find out if you're a candidate for this type of surgery.

Get the latest health information from Mayo Clinic delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe for free and receive your in-depth guide to digestive health, plus the latest on health innovations and news. You can unsubscribe at any time.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this condition.

Lifestyle and home remedies

Lifestyle changes may help reduce the frequency of acid reflux. Try to:

  • Maintain a healthy weight. Excess pounds put pressure on your abdomen, pushing up your stomach and causing acid to reflux into your esophagus.
  • Stop smoking. Smoking decreases the lower esophageal sphincter's ability to function properly.
  • Elevate the head of your bed. If you regularly experience heartburn while trying to sleep, place wood or cement blocks under the feet of your bed so that the head end is raised by 6 to 9 inches. If you can't elevate your bed, you can insert a wedge between your mattress and box spring to elevate your body from the waist up. Raising your head with additional pillows isn't effective.
  • Start on your left side. When you go to bed, start by lying on your left side to help make it less likely that you will have reflux.
  • Don't lie down after a meal. Wait at least three hours after eating before lying down or going to bed.
  • Eat food slowly and chew thoroughly. Put down your fork after every bite and pick it up again once you have chewed and swallowed that bite.
  • Avoid foods and drinks that trigger reflux. Common triggers include alcohol, chocolate, caffeine, fatty foods or peppermint.
  • Avoid tight-fitting clothing. Clothes that fit tightly around your waist put pressure on your abdomen and the lower esophageal sphincter.

Alternative medicine

Some complementary and alternative therapies, such as ginger, chamomile and slippery elm, may be recommended to treat GERD. However, none have been proved to treat GERD or reverse damage to the esophagus. Talk to your health care provider if you're considering taking alternative therapies to treat GERD.

Preparing for your appointment

You may be referred to a doctor who specializes in the digestive system (gastroenterologist).

What you can do

  • Be aware of any pre-appointment restrictions, such as restricting your diet before your appointment.
  • Write down your symptoms, including any that may seem unrelated to the reason why you scheduled the appointment.
  • Write down any triggers to your symptoms, such as specific foods.
  • Make a list of all your medications, vitamins and supplements.
  • Write down your key medical information, including other conditions.
  • Write down key personal information, including any recent changes or stressors in your life.
  • Write down questions to ask your doctor.
  • Ask a relative or friend to accompany you, to help you remember what the doctor says.

Questions to ask your doctor

  • What's the most likely cause of my symptoms?
  • What tests do I need? Is there any special preparation for them?
  • Is my condition likely temporary or chronic?
  • What treatments are available?
  • Are there any restrictions I need to follow?
  • I have other health problems. How can I best manage these conditions together?

In addition to the questions that you've prepared to ask your doctor, don't hesitate to ask questions during your appointment anytime you don't understand something.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions. Being ready to answer them may leave time to go over points you want to spend more time on. You may be asked:

  • When did you begin experiencing symptoms? How severe are they?
  • Have your symptoms been continuous or occasional?
  • What, if anything, seems to improve or worsen your symptoms?
  • Do your symptoms wake you up at night?
  • Are your symptoms worse after meals or lying down?
  • Does food or sour material ever come up in the back of your throat?
  • Do you have trouble swallowing food, or have you had to change your diet to avoid difficulty swallowing?
  • Have you gained or lost weight?

Gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD) care at Mayo Clinic

July 26, 2022
  1. Maret-Ouda J, et al. Gastroesophageal reflux disease: A review. JAMA. 2020; doi:10.1001/jama.2020.21360.
  2. Katz PO, et al. ACG clinical guideline for the diagnosis and management of gastroesophageal reflux disease. American Journal of Gastroenterology. 2022; doi:10.14309/ajg.0000000000001538.
  3. Acid reflux (GER and GERD) in adults. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/digestive-diseases/acid-reflux-ger-gerd-adults. Accessed April 13, 2022.
  4. Kahrilas PJ. Clinical manifestations and diagnosis of gastroesophageal reflux in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed April 13, 2022.
  5. AskMayoExpert. Gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD) (adult). Mayo Clinic. 2021.
  6. Townsend CM Jr, et al. Gastroesophageal reflux disease and hiatal hernia. In: Sabiston Textbook of Surgery: The Biological Basis of Modern Surgical Practice. 21st ed. Elsevier; 2022. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed April 13, 2022.
  7. Feldman M, et al., eds. Gastroesophageal reflux disease. In: Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 11th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed April 13, 2022.
  8. Kahrilas PJ. Medical management of gastroesophageal reflux in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed April 13, 2022.
  9. Winter HS. Management of gastroesophageal reflux disease in children and adolescents. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed April 13, 2022.
  10. Ami TR. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. April 7, 2022.
  11. Khanna S (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. May 1, 2022.