概述

跛行是由于运动过程中流经肌肉的血流太少引起的疼痛。这种疼痛通常是在以一定速度行走一段时间后出现在腿部,具体取决于病情的严重程度。

因为疼痛通常不是持续的,所以这种疾病也被称为间歇性跛行。通常在运动中开始,在休息时结束。但是随着跛行加重,休息时可能也会疼痛。

严格来讲,跛行是疾病的一种症状,最常见于外周动脉疾病,即四肢的血管变窄,限制了血液流动。

治疗的重点是降低患血管疾病的风险、减轻疼痛、增加活动性和防止组织损伤。

症状

跛行是指由于缺乏氧而引起的肌痛,这种疼痛是由于活动所诱发,并可通过休息来缓解。症状包括:

  • 每次使用肌肉时,肌肉会感觉疼痛、隐痛、不适或疲劳
  • 小腿、大腿、臀部、髋关节或脚部疼痛
  • 肩膀、肱二头肌和前臂疼痛较为少见
  • 休息后疼痛很快就会好起来

随着时间的推移,疼痛可能会加重。您甚至可能在休息时开始感到疼痛。

外周动脉疾病的体征或症状(通常在更晚期)包括:

  • 皮肤发凉
  • 持续剧烈的疼痛,发展为麻木
  • 皮肤变色
  • 伤口无法愈合

何时就诊

如果您在运动时腿或手臂疼痛,请与医生联系。跛行会导致心血管健康恶化的循环。疼痛可能使运动难以忍受,而缺乏运动会导致健康状况恶化。

外周动脉疾病是心血管健康状况不佳、心脏病发作和卒中风险增加的标志。

运动过程中涉及血液、神经和骨的其他疾病也会导致腿和手臂疼痛。重要的是进行全面检查和适当检测,以诊断潜在的疼痛原因。

病因

跛行通常是外周动脉疾病的症状。外周动脉是大血管,负责将血液输送到腿部和手臂的血管网络。

外周动脉疾病会损害动脉,限制手臂或腿部(肢体)中的血液流动。在休息状态下,虽然血流有限,但通常还算够用。但在运动状态下,肌肉无法获得足够的氧气和营养来维持正常的工作和健康状况。

外周动脉受损通常由动脉粥样硬化引起。该病症会在动脉内膜上积聚胆固醇和其他脂肪、血细胞以及其他细胞碎片,形成异常结构(斑块)。

斑块导致动脉变窄和变硬,限制血液流动。如果斑块破裂,会形成血栓,进一步减少血流。

风险因素

导致外周动脉疾病和跛行的风险因素包括:

  • 吸烟
  • 高胆固醇
  • 高血压
  • 肥胖症(体重指数或 BMI 超过 30)
  • 糖尿病
  • 慢性肾病
  • 年龄超过 70 岁
  • 如果您也吸烟或有糖尿病且年龄超过 50 岁
  • 有动脉粥样硬化、外周动脉疾病或跛行家族史

并发症

通常认为跛行是对循环系统中出现严重动脉粥样硬化的一种警告,表明出现心脏病发作或卒中的风险增加。动脉粥样硬化引起的外周动脉疾病的其他并发症包括:

  • 无法愈合的皮肤损伤
  • 肌肉和皮肤组织死亡(坏疽)
  • 截肢

预防

预防跛行的最好方法是保持健康的生活方式和控制某些疾病。这意味着:

  • 如果您是吸烟者,请戒烟;
  • 定期运动;
  • 饮食健康、均衡;
  • 保持健康体重;
  • 如果您患有糖尿病,请控制好血糖;
  • 保持胆固醇和血压在正常范围内。

June 23, 2022
  1. Cameron AM, et al. Treatment of claudication. In: Current Surgical Therapy. 13th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 6, 2019.
  2. Bonow RO, et al. Peripheral artery diseases. In: Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine. 11th ed. Saunders Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 6, 2019.
  3. Neschis DG, et al. Clinical features and diagnosis of lower extremity peripheral artery disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 6, 2019.
  4. Sidawy AN, et al. Lower extremity arterial disease: Medical management and decision making. In: Rutherford's Vascular Surgery and Endovascular Therapy. 9th ed. Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 6, 2019.
  5. Atherosclerosis. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/cardiovascular-disorders/arteriosclerosis/atherosclerosis?query=atherosclerosis. Accessed Dec. 9, 2019.
  6. Harris L, et al. Epidemiology, risk factors, and natural history of lower extremity peripheral artery disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 6, 2019.
  7. Gerhard-Herman MD, et al. 2016 AHA/ACC guideline on the management of patients with lower extremity peripheral artery disease: A report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Task Force on Clinical Practice Guidelines. Circulation. 2017; doi:10.1161/CIR.0000000000000471.
  8. Falconer D, et al. Nitric oxide donors for peripheral artery disease. Current Opinion in Pharmacology. 2018; doi:10.1016/j.coph.2018.02.009.
  9. Davies MG. Management of claudication due to peripheral artery disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 6, 2019.

相关

Associated Procedures

Overview

Claudication is pain caused by too little blood flow to muscles during exercise. Most often this pain occurs in the legs after walking at a certain pace and for a certain amount of time — depending on the severity of the condition.

The condition is also called intermittent claudication because the pain usually isn't constant. It begins during exercise and ends with rest. As claudication worsens, however, the pain may occur during rest.

Claudication is technically a symptom of disease, most often peripheral artery disease, a narrowing of arteries in the limbs that restricts blood flow.

Treatments focus on lowering the risks of vascular disease, reducing pain, increasing mobility and preventing damage to tissues.

Symptoms

Claudication refers to muscle pain due to lack of oxygen that's triggered by activity and relieved by rest. Symptoms include the following:

  • Pain, ache, discomfort or fatigue in muscles every time those muscles are used
  • Pain in the calves, thighs, buttocks, hips or feet
  • Less often, pain in shoulders, biceps and forearms
  • Pain that gets better soon after resting

The pain may become more severe over time. You may even start to have pain at rest.

Signs or symptoms of peripheral artery disease, usually in more-advanced stages, include:

  • Cool skin
  • Severe, constant pain that progresses to numbness
  • Skin discoloration
  • Wounds that don't heal

When to see a doctor

Talk to your health care provider if you have pain in your legs or arms when you exercise. Claudication can lead to a cycle that results in worsening cardiovascular health. Pain may make exercise intolerable, and a lack of exercise results in poorer health.

Peripheral artery disease is a sign of poor cardiovascular health and an increased risk of heart attack and stroke.

Other conditions involving the blood, nerves and bones can contribute to leg and arm pain during exercise. It's important to have a complete exam and appropriate tests to diagnose potential causes of pain.

Causes

Claudication is most often a symptom of peripheral artery disease. The peripheral arteries are the large vessels that deliver blood to the legs and arms.

Peripheral artery disease is damage to an artery that restricts the flow of blood in an arm or leg (a limb). When you're at rest, the limited blood flow is generally enough. When you're active, however, the muscles aren't getting enough oxygen and nutrients to work well and remain healthy.

Damage to peripheral arteries is usually caused by atherosclerosis. Atherosclerosis is the buildup of fats, cholesterol and other substances in and on the artery walls. This buildup is called plaque. The plaque can cause the arteries to narrow, blocking blood flow. The plaque can also burst, leading to a blood clot.

Risk factors

Potential risk factors for peripheral artery disease and claudication include:

  • A family history of atherosclerosis, peripheral artery disease or claudication
  • Age older than 50 years if you also smoke or have diabetes
  • Age older than 70 years
  • Chronic kidney disease
  • Diabetes
  • High blood pressure
  • High cholesterol
  • Obesity (a body mass index, or BMI, over 30)
  • Smoking

Complications

Claudication is generally considered a warning of significant atherosclerosis, indicating an increased risk of heart attack or stroke. Other complications of peripheral artery disease due to atherosclerosis include:

  • Skin lesions that don't heal
  • Death of muscle and skin tissues (gangrene)
  • Amputation of a limb

Prevention

The best way to prevent claudication is to maintain a healthy lifestyle and control certain medical conditions. That means:

  • Eat a healthy, well-balanced diet
  • Exercise regularly
  • If you have diabetes, keep your blood sugar in good control
  • Maintain a healthy weight
  • Manage cholesterol and blood pressure
  • Quit smoking if you're a smoker

March 02, 2022
  1. Cameron AM, et al. Treatment of claudication. In: Current Surgical Therapy. 13th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 6, 2019.
  2. Bonow RO, et al. Peripheral artery diseases. In: Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine. 11th ed. Saunders Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 6, 2019.
  3. Neschis DG, et al. Clinical features and diagnosis of lower extremity peripheral artery disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 30, 2021.
  4. Sidawy AN, et al. Lower extremity arterial disease: Medical management and decision making. In: Rutherford's Vascular Surgery and Endovascular Therapy. 9th ed. Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 6, 2019.
  5. Atherosclerosis. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/cardiovascular-disorders/arteriosclerosis/atherosclerosis?query=atherosclerosis. Accessed Dec. 9, 2019.
  6. Harris L, et al. Epidemiology, risk factors, and natural history of lower extremity peripheral artery disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 30, 2021.
  7. Gerhard-Herman MD, et al. 2016 AHA/ACC guideline on the management of patients with lower extremity peripheral artery disease: A report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Task Force on Clinical Practice Guidelines. Circulation. 2017; doi:10.1161/CIR.0000000000000471.
  8. Harwood AE, et al. Exercise training for intermittent claudication: A narrative review and summary of guidelines for practitioners. BMJ Open Sport & Exercise Medicine. 2020; doi:10.1136/bmjsem-2020-000897.
  9. Davies MG. Management of claudication due to peripheral artery disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 30, 2021.
  10. Kithcart AP, et al. ACC/AHA versus ESC guidelines for diagnosis and management of peripheral artery disease. Journal of the American College of Cardiology. 2018; doi: 10.1016/j.jacc.2018.09.041.
  11. Afridi A, et al. What are the effects of different modes of exercise training for intermittent claudication — A Cochrane review summary with commentary. Journal of Rehabilitation Medicine. 2021; doi:10.2340/16501977-2820.

Related

Associated Procedures

Products & Services