نظرة عامة

ويُسبِّب فيروس النطاقي الحماقي أو VZV عدوى الجُديري المائي. وهو يُسبِّب طفحًا جلديًّا وحُكَّة مع بثور صغيرة، مملوءة بسائل. وهو من الأمراض شديدة العدوى للأشخاص الذين لم يُصابُوا بالمرض من قبل، أو لم يُلقَّحوا ضدَّه. ولكن اليوم، أصبح اللقاح متاحًا لوقاية الأطفال من الجديري المائي. وتُوصِي مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC) بتَلَقِّي التطعيم بانتظام.

التطعيم ضد مرض الجديري المائي هو طريقة آمنة وفعَّالة للوقاية من المرض ومُضاعفاته المُحتَمَلة.

الأعراض

تَظهَر بثور الطفح الجلدي المثير للحُكَّة بسبب عدوى الجدري المائي من 10 إلى 21 يومًا بعد التعرُّض للفيروس، وعادةً يستمرُّ من 5 إلى 10 أيام. تتضمَّن العلامات والأعراض الأخرى التي قد تَظهَر في يوم أو اثنين قبل الطفح ما يلي:

  • الحُمّى
  • فقدان الشهية
  • الصداع
  • الإرهاق وإحساسًا عامًّا بعدم الصحة (التوعُّك)

يَمُرُّ طفح الجدري المائي حال ظهوره بثلاث مراحل:

  • تَظهَر فقاعات وردية أو حمراء (حطاطات)، وتحتفي بعد عدة أيام.
  • تتكوَّن بثور مملوءة بسائل بسيط (حويصلات) في غضون يوم من هذه الفقاعات، ثم تُفتَح وتُسرِّب السائل
  • قشور تُغَطِّي البثور المفتوحة، وتأخذ عدة أيام لتختفي.

تستمرُّ فقاعات جديدة في الظهور لعدة أيام؛ لذلك تَمُرُّ بالمراحل الثلاثة للطفح -الفقاعات والبثور والجلد المُقشر- في نفس الوقت. يُمكِنُكَ أن تَنشُر الفيروس في غضون 48 ساعة قبل ظهور الطفح، ويَظلُّ الفيروس غير مُعدٍ حتى تتقشَّر البثور المفتوحة.

يكون المرض خفيفًا في الأطفال الأصحاء. يُمكِن أن يُغَطِّي الطفح الجسم بأكمله في الحالات الشديدة، ويُمكِن أن تتكوَّن طبقات في الحلق والعين، وتُكوِّن غِشاءًا مخاطيًّا في مجرى البول والشَّرَج والمِهبل.

متى تزور الطبيب

إذا كنتِ تعتقدين أنكِ أو طفلكِ مصاب بالجدري المائي، فاستشيري طبيبكِ. عادةً ما يمكن تشخيص الجدري المائي من خلال فحص الطفح الجلدي مع الأخذ في الاعتبار الأعراض الأخرى. قد يصف طبيبكِ أيضًا الأدوية لتقليل شدة الجدري المائي وعلاج المضاعفات، إذا لزم الأمر. لتجنُّب إصابة الآخَرين في غرفة الانتظار، اتصلي مقدمًا لتحديد موعد طبي واذكري أنكِ تعتقدين أنكِ أو طفلكِ مصاب بالجدري.

أيضًا، أخبر طبيبكَ في حالة:

  • انتشر الطفح إلى إحدى العينين أو كلتيهما.
  • زاد احمرار الطفح أو أصبح دافئًا أو حساسًا للمس. قد يشير هذا إلى التهاب باكتيري ثانوي.
  • اقترن الطفح مع الدوخة والارتباك وتسارُع نبض القلب وضيق النفس والرعشة وفقدان التناسق العضلي وتفاقُم السعال والقيء وتصلُّب الرقبة أو حمًّى أعلى من 102 فهرنهايت (38.9 درجة مئوية).
  • إذا كان أي شخص في محيط الأسرة لديه مشكلة في جهاز المناعة أو أقل من 6 أشهر.

الأسباب

تحدث عدوى الجديري المائي (الحُماق) نتيجة فيروس. يمكن أن ينتشر عن طريق الملامسة المباشرة بظهور طفح جلدي. وقد ينتشر أيضًا بسعال أو عطس شخص مصاب بالحُماق ومن ثَمّ تستنشق رذاذ العدوى (قُطَيرَاته من الهواء).

عوامل الخطر

يرتفع خطر الإصابة بالفيروس النطاقي الحماقي الذي يسبب جُديري الماء إذا لم تسبق إصابتك بجُديري الماء أو لم تأخذ اللقاح المضاد له. ومن الأهمية بصفة خاصة إعطاء اللقاح للعاملين في مرافق رعاية الأطفال أو المدارس.

يكتسب معظم الأشخاص الذين سبقت إصابتهم بجُديري الماء أو تَلَقَّوُا اللقاح المضادَّ له مناعة ضد الإصابة بجُديري الماء. إذا أُصبتَ بجُديري الماء رغم تَلَقِّيك اللقاح، فغالبًا ما تكون الأعراض أخف، حيث تظهر بثور أقل وتُصاب بحُمى بسيطة أو لا تصاب بالحُمى على الإطلاق. قد تُصاب قلة قليلة من الأشخاص بجُديري الماء أكثر من مرة، ولكن في حالات نادرة.

المضاعفات

الجديري المائيُّ هو مرض بسيط عادةً. ولكنه قد يُصبِح خطيرًا ويُسبِّب مضاعفات مثل:

  • العدوى البكتيرية للجلد، والأنسجة الرِّخْوة، والعظام، والمفاصل أو مجرى الدم (يُسمَّى الإنتان)
  • الجفاف
  • التهاب الرئة
  • التهاب الدماغ (التهاب الدماغ)
  • متلازمة الصدمة السُّمِّيَّة
  • متلازمة راي التي تَحدُث في الأطفال والمراهقين الذين يتناولون الأسبرين خلال الإصابة بالجديري المائيِّ.
  • الوفاة

من المعرضون للإصابة بالمرض؟

تتضمن الفئات المعرضة بدرجة كبيرة لمخاطر مضاعفات جدري الماء:

  • حديثي الولادة والرضع الذين لم تُصب أمهاتهم من قبل بجدري الماء أو اللاتي لم يتلقين لقاحًا ضده
  • المراهقين والبالغين
  • السيدات الحوامل اللاتي لم يُصبن بجدري الماء من قبل
  • المدخنين
  • الأشخاص المصابين بقصورٍ في الجهاز المناعي بسبب تلقي علاجٍ ما مثل العلاج الكيميائي، أو بسبب مرض آخر مثل السرطان أو فيروس نقص المناعة البشري
  • الأشخاص الذين يتلقون أدوية ستيرويدية لعلاج مرض أو حالة أخرى مثل الربو

الجدري والحمل

انخفاض الوزن عند الولادة وتشوهات الأطراف أكثر شيوعًا بين الرُّضَّع المولودين لأمهات مصابات بالعدوى بالجديري المائي في بداية حملهن. عندما تصاب الأم بالجديري المائي في الأسبوع قبل الولادة أو في الأيام القليلة الأولى بعد الولادة، يكون طفلها أكثر عُرضَةً للإصابة بعدوى خطيرة مهدِّدة للحياة.

إذا كنتِ حاملًا ولم تكوني محصَّنة ضد الجديري المائي، فتحدثي إلى طبيبك حول المخاطر المعرضة لها أنتِ وجنينكِ.

جدري الماء والهربس النطاقي

إذا كنت مصابًا بعدوى جديري الماء، فأنت عرضة لخطر الإصابة بأحد المضاعفات الأخرى وهو يُسمى الهربس النطاقي. يظل فيروس النطاقي الحماقي في الخلايا العصبية، بعد شفاء الجلد من العدوى. بعد مرور سنوات، قد يستعيد الفيروس نشاطه ويظهر مرة أخرى في صورة الهربس النطاقي — مجموعة مؤلمة من البثور تظهر لوقت قصير. من المحتمل أن يظهر الفيروس مرة أخرى في كبار السن والأشخاص المصابين بضعف الجهاز المناعي.

قد يستمر ألم الهربس النطاقي بعد اختفاء البثور لفترة طويلة. وتُسمى هذه الحالة بالألم العصبي التالي للهربس، وقد يكون شديدًا.

ويُتاح لقاحان للهربس النطاقي (زوستافاكس وشينغريكس) للبالغين المصابين بجديري الماء. ويُعَدُّ لقاح شينغريكس معتمَدًا ومُوصًى به للأشخاص الذين يبلغون 50 عامًا أو أكثر، بما في ذلك من تَلَقَّوْا لقاح زوستافاكس من قبل. لا يُوصى بأخذ لقاح زوستافاكس قبل بلوغ 60 عامًا. ويفُضل استخدام لقاح شينغريكس عن لقاح زوستافاكس.

الوقاية

يعد لقاح الجديري المائي (فيروس النطاق الحماقي) أفضل طريقة للوقاية من الإصابة بالجديري المائي. تشير تقديرات خبراء مراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC) أن اللقاح يوفر حماية كاملة ضد الفيروس لنحو 98 بالمائة من الأشخاص الذين تلقَّوُا الجرعتين المُوصى بهما. وعندما لا يوفر اللِّقاح حماية كاملة، فإنه يخفِّف من شدة المرض بنسبة كبيرة.

يُوصى باستخدام لقاح الجديري المائي (فاريفاكس) في حالة:

  • الأطفال الصغار. في الولايات المتحدة، يتلقى الأطفال جرعتين من لقاح فيروس الحماق النطاقي — وتُؤخذ الجرعة الأولى في الفترة العمرية ما بين 12 و15 شهرًا، بينما تُؤخذ الجرعة الثانية في الفترة العمرية ما بين 4 و6 أعوام — باعتبارها جزء من الجدول الروتيني لتطعيم الأطفال.

    يمكن الجمع بين اللقاح مع لقاحات الحصبة والنكاف والحصبة الألمانية، ولكن بالنسبة لبعض الأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 12 و23 شهرًا، قد يزيد هذا الجمع من خطر الإصابة بالحمى ونوبات نتيجة أخذ للقاح. ناقش إيجابيات وسلبيات جمع اللقاحات مع طبيب طفلك.

  • الأطفال الأكبر سنًّا غير المحصنين. يجب أن يأخذ الأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 7 إلى 12 عامًا الذين لم يُحصِّنوا اثنين من الجرعات الاستدراكية للقاح فيروس الحماق النطاقي، بحيث تُعطى الجرعتان بفارق ثلاثة أشهر على الأقل. ويجب أيضًا أن يأخذ الأطفال الذين لم يُحصَّنوا ويبلغون من العمر 13 عامًا أو أكبر اثنين من الجرعات الاستدراكية من اللقاح، بحيث تُعطى الجرعتان بفارق أربعة أسابيع على الأقل.
  • البالغين غير المحصَّنين الذين لم تسبق إصابتهم بالجُديري المائي وأكثر عُرضةً للإصابة. يشمل ذلك العاملين في مجال الرعاية الصحية، والمعلِّمين، والعاملين في مجال رعاية الطفل، والمسافرين الدوليين، والموظفين العسكريين، والبالغين الذين يعيشون مع أطفال صغار، وجميع النساء في سِن الإنجاب.

    يتلقى عادة البالغون الذين لم تسبق إصابتهم بالجديري المائي أو لم يُطعَّموا ضده، جرعتين من اللقاح بفارق أربعة إلى ثمانية أسابيع. إذا لم تتذكر ما إذا كان سبق إصابتك بالجُديري المائي أو تلقيت اللقاح أم لا، فيمكن إجراء اختبار دمٍ لتحديد مناعتك.

لا يُصرح باستخدام لقاح الجُديري المائي في حالة:

  • النساء الحوامل
  • الأشخاص الذين لديهم ضعف المناعة مثل المصابين بفيروس نقص المناعة البشري، أو الأشخاص الذين يتناولون أدوية مثبطة للمناعة
  • الأشخاص الذين لديهم حساسية ضد الجيلاتين أو المضاد الحيوي نيوميسين

استشِرْ طبيبك إذا لم تكن متأكدًا بشأن احتياجك للقاح. إذا كنتِ تخططين للحمل، فاستشيري طبيبكِ للتأكد من اطِّلاعك على المستجدات بخصوص التطعيمات قبل إنجاب الطفل.

هل هو آمن وفعال؟

يتساءل الآباء عادة عما إذا كانت اللقاحات آمنة أم لا. وبما أن لقاح الجديري المائي بات متاحًا، فقد وجدت الدراسات باستمرار أنه آمن وفعال. كما أن آثاره الجانبية بوجه عام تكون خفيفة، وتشمل الاحمرار والألم والتورم وبشكل نادر وجود بثور صغيرة في موقع الحقنة.

20/06/2019
References
  1. Chickenpox (varicella). Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/chickenpox/about/index.html. Accessed Jan. 14, 2019.
  2. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Varicella (chickenpox). In: CDC Yellowbook 2018: Health Information for International Travel. New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press; 2018. http://global.oup.com/. Accessed Jan. 14, 2019.
  3. Papadakis MA, et al., eds. Viral and rickettsial infections. In: Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2019. 58th ed. New York, N.Y.: McGraw-Hill Education; 2019. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Jan. 14, 2019.
  4. Types of chickenpox vaccine. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/vpd/varicella/public/index.html. Accessed Jan. 14, 2019.
  5. Longo DL, et al., eds. Varicella-zoster virus infections. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 20th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2018. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Jan. 14, 2019.
  6. Chickenpox (varicella). Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/infectious-diseases/herpesviruses/chickenpox. Accessed Jan. 14, 2019.
  7. Stone K, et al. BET 2: NSAIs and chickenpox. Emergency Medicine Journal: EMJ. 2018;35:66.
  8. AskMayoExpert. Herpes zoster (shingles). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  9. Tosh PK (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Feb. 1, 2019.

Overview

Chickenpox is an infection caused by the varicella-zoster virus. It causes an itchy rash with small, fluid-filled blisters. Chickenpox is highly contagious to people who haven't had the disease or been vaccinated against it. Today, a vaccine is available that protects children against chickenpox. Routine vaccination is recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

The chickenpox vaccine is a safe, effective way to prevent chickenpox and its possible complications.

Symptoms

The itchy blister rash caused by chickenpox infection appears 10 to 21 days after exposure to the virus and usually lasts about five to 10 days. Other signs and symptoms, which may appear one to two days before the rash, include:

  • Fever
  • Loss of appetite
  • Headache
  • Tiredness and a general feeling of being unwell (malaise)

Once the chickenpox rash appears, it goes through three phases:

  • Raised pink or red bumps (papules), which break out over several days
  • Small fluid-filled blisters (vesicles), which form in about one day and then break and leak
  • Crusts and scabs, which cover the broken blisters and take several more days to heal

New bumps continue to appear for several days, so you may have all three stages of the rash — bumps, blisters and scabbed lesions — at the same time. You can spread the virus to other people for up to 48 hours before the rash appears, and the virus remains contagious until all broken blisters have crusted over.

The disease is generally mild in healthy children. In severe cases, the rash can cover the entire body, and lesions may form in the throat, eyes, and mucous membranes of the urethra, anus and vagina.

When to see a doctor

If you think you or your child might have chickenpox, consult your doctor. He or she usually can diagnose chickenpox by examining the rash and considering other symptoms. Your doctor can also prescribe medications to lessen the severity of chickenpox and treat complications, if necessary. To avoid infecting others in the waiting room, call ahead for an appointment and mention that you think you or your child may have chickenpox.

Also, let your doctor know if:

  • The rash spreads to one or both eyes.
  • The rash gets very red, warm or tender. This could indicate a secondary bacterial skin infection.
  • The rash is accompanied by dizziness, disorientation, rapid heartbeat, shortness of breath, tremors, loss of muscle coordination, worsening cough, vomiting, stiff neck or a fever higher than 102 F (38.9 C).
  • Anyone in the household has a problem with his or her immune system or is younger than 6 months.

Causes

Chickenpox infection is caused by a virus. It can spread through direct contact with the rash. It can also spread when a person with the chickenpox coughs or sneezes and you inhale the air droplets.

Risk factors

Your risk of becoming infected with the varicella-zoster virus that causes chickenpox is higher if you haven't already had chickenpox or if you haven't had the chickenpox vaccine. It's especially important for people who work in child care or school settings to be vaccinated.

Most people who have had chickenpox or have been vaccinated against chickenpox are immune to chickenpox. If you've been vaccinated and still get chickenpox, symptoms are often milder, with fewer blisters and mild or no fever. A few people can get chickenpox more than once, but this is rare.

Complications

Chickenpox is normally a mild disease. But it can be serious and can lead to complications including:

  • Bacterial infections of the skin, soft tissues, bones, joints or bloodstream (sepsis)
  • Dehydration
  • Pneumonia
  • Inflammation of the brain (encephalitis)
  • Toxic shock syndrome
  • Reye's syndrome in children and teenagers who take aspirin during chickenpox
  • Death

Who's at risk?

People who are at higher risk of chickenpox complications include:

  • Newborns and infants whose mothers never had chickenpox or the vaccine
  • Adolescents and adults
  • Pregnant women who haven't had chickenpox
  • People who smoke
  • People whose immune systems are weakened by medication, such as chemotherapy, or by a disease, such as cancer or HIV
  • People who are taking steroid medications for another disease or condition, such as asthma

Chickenpox and pregnancy

Low birth weight and limb abnormalities are more common among babies born to women who are infected with chickenpox early in their pregnancy. When a mother is infected with chickenpox in the week before birth or within a couple of days after giving birth, her baby has a higher risk of developing a serious, life-threatening infection.

If you're pregnant and not immune to chickenpox, talk to your doctor about the risks to you and your unborn child.

Chickenpox and shingles

If you've had chickenpox, you're at risk of a complication called shingles. The varicella-zoster virus remains in your nerve cells after the skin infection has healed. Many years later, the virus can reactivate and resurface as shingles — a painful cluster of short-lived blisters. The virus is more likely to reappear in older adults and people who have weakened immune systems.

The pain of shingles can persist long after the blisters disappear. This is called postherpetic neuralgia and can be severe.

Two shingles vaccines (Zostavax and Shingrix) are available for adults who have had chickenpox. Shingrix is approved and recommended for people age 50 and older, including those who've previously received Zostavax. Zostavax isn't recommended until age 60. Shingrix is preferred over Zostavax.

Prevention

The chickenpox (varicella) vaccine is the best way to prevent chickenpox. Experts from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) estimate that the vaccine provides complete protection from the virus for nearly 98 percent of people who receive both of the recommended doses. When the vaccine doesn't provide complete protection, it significantly lessens the severity of chickenpox.

The chickenpox vaccine (Varivax) is recommended for:

  • Young children. In the United States, children receive two doses of the varicella vaccine — the first between ages 12 and 15 months and the second between ages 4 and 6 years — as part of the routine childhood vaccination schedule.

    The vaccine can be combined with the measles, mumps and rubella vaccine, but for some children between the ages of 12 and 23 months, the combination may increase the risk of fever and seizure from the vaccine. Discuss the pros and cons of combining the vaccines with your child's doctor.

  • Unvaccinated older children. Children ages 7 to 12 years who haven't been vaccinated should receive two catch-up doses of the varicella vaccine, given at least three months apart. Children age 13 or older who haven't been vaccinated should also receive two catch-up doses of the vaccine, given at least four weeks apart.
  • Unvaccinated adults who've never had chickenpox and are at high risk of exposure. This includes health care workers, teachers, child care employees, international travelers, military personnel, adults who live with young children and all women of childbearing age.

    Adults who've never had chickenpox or been vaccinated usually receive two doses of the vaccine, four to eight weeks apart. If you don't remember whether you've had chickenpox or the vaccine, a blood test can determine your immunity.

The chickenpox vaccine isn't approved for:

  • Pregnant women
  • People who have weakened immune systems, such as those who are infected with HIV, or people who are taking immune-suppressing medications
  • People who are allergic to gelatin or the antibiotic neomycin

Talk to your doctor if you're unsure about your need for the vaccine. If you're planning on becoming pregnant, consult with your doctor to make sure you're up to date on your vaccinations before conceiving a child.

Is it safe and effective?

Parents typically wonder whether vaccines are safe. Since the chickenpox vaccine became available, studies have consistently found it safe and effective. Side effects are generally mild and include redness, soreness, swelling and, rarely, small bumps at the site of the shot.

Feb. 27, 2019
References
  1. Chickenpox (varicella). Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/chickenpox/about/index.html. Accessed Jan. 14, 2019.
  2. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Varicella (chickenpox). In: CDC Yellowbook 2018: Health Information for International Travel. New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press; 2018. http://global.oup.com/. Accessed Jan. 14, 2019.
  3. Papadakis MA, et al., eds. Viral and rickettsial infections. In: Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2019. 58th ed. New York, N.Y.: McGraw-Hill Education; 2019. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Jan. 14, 2019.
  4. Types of chickenpox vaccine. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/vpd/varicella/public/index.html. Accessed Jan. 14, 2019.
  5. Longo DL, et al., eds. Varicella-zoster virus infections. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 20th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2018. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Jan. 14, 2019.
  6. Chickenpox (varicella). Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/infectious-diseases/herpesviruses/chickenpox. Accessed Jan. 14, 2019.
  7. Stone K, et al. BET 2: NSAIs and chickenpox. Emergency Medicine Journal: EMJ. 2018;35:66.
  8. AskMayoExpert. Herpes zoster (shingles). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  9. Tosh PK (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Feb. 1, 2019.

Related

News from Mayo Clinic