Mayo Clinic Endocrinology and medical society leadership

April 16, 2021

Drs. Charles H. and William J. Mayo recognized the importance of learning from colleagues and the power of sharing scientific findings to advance medical care. Dr. Charles Mayo is quoted as saying, "The problem before us is so to exchange information and so to educate men through travel that there shall develop a final, cosmopolitan system of medicine which will combine the best elements to be found in all countries." Their belief that active involvement in professional associations is an essential component is underlined by Dr. William Mayo's succinct statement: "Attend your medical societies."

It is commonplace for consulting staff at Mayo Clinic to be active in medical societies, whether they be local, regional, national or international in nature. As can be expected, a majority, including consultants in Endocrinology, actively involve themselves in national academic societies to include such leadership positions as committee chairs, task force leaders as well as board directors and society officers serving on executive committees or councils.

Such service spans more general endocrinology societies, such as the Endocrine Society and the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologist, and more specialized organizations, including the American Diabetes Association, the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research, the American Thyroid Association, the American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition as well as the Obesity Society.

Following is a list of those Mayo Clinic consultants who have served in the role of president in one of these national academic societies:

Endocrine Society

  1. Leonard G. Rowntree, M.D. (1924-1925)
  2. Edward C. Kendall, Ph.D. (1930-1931)
  3. Edward H. Rynearson, M.D. (1950-1951)
  4. Harold L. Mason, Ph.D. (1963-1964)
  5. Alexander Albert, M.D. (1970-1971)
  6. William F. Young Jr., M.D. (2012-2013)

American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists

  1. Stephen F. Hodgson, M.D. (1995-1996)
  2. Hossein Gharib, M.D. (2002-2003)
  3. Daniel L. Hurley, M.D. (2018-2019)

American Diabetes Association

  1. Russell M. Wilder, M.D. (1946-1947)
  2. Randall G. Sprague, M.D. (1953-1954)
  3. Bruce R. Zimmerman, M.D. (1999-2000)
  4. Robert A. Rizza, M.D. (2005-2006)

American Thyroid Association

  1. Henry S. Plummer, M.D. (1933-1934)
  2. Samuel F. Haines, M.D. (1950-1951)
  3. Alexander Albert, M.D. (1961-1962)
  4. F. Raymond Keating, M.D. (1965-1966)
  5. William M. McConahey, M.D. (1976-1977)
  6. Alvin B. Hayles, M.D. (1979-1980)
  7. Colum A. Gorman, M.B., B.Ch. (1996-1997)
  8. Rebecca Bahn, M.D. (2007-2008)
  9. Hossein Gharib, M.D. (2013-2014)
  10. Robert C. Smallridge, M.D. (2014-2015)
  11. John C. Morris III, M.D. (2016-2017)
  12. Victor J. Bernet, M.D. (2020-2021)

American Society for Bone and Mineral Research

  1. B. Lawrence Riggs Jr., M.D. (1985-1986)
  2. Sundeep Khosla, M.D. (2010-2011)
  3. Bart L. Clarke, M.D. (2018-2019)

American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition

  1. W. Frederick (Fritz) Schwenck II, M.D. (2002-2003)
  2. M. Molly McMahon, M.D. (2017-2018)

Obesity Society

Michael D. Jensen, M.D. (2001-2002)

Drs. Albert and Gharib served as president of two of these societies during their careers. Also, out of 94 American Thyroid Association presidents, as of today 12 have been physicians from Mayo Clinic. This list, of course, is incomplete, as it does not acknowledge the many staff who have served in other important society leadership positions over these many years nor those who we expect will serve in the future.

Dr. Charles Mayo once stated, "All who are benefited by community of life, especially the physician, owe something to the community." As proved by the number of Mayo Clinic endocrinologists who have served in leadership positions for the various endocrine-related associations, the Mayo Clinic family continues to take the advice of Drs. Charles and William Mayo to heart.