诊断

血压升高通过测血压诊断。一般需要在您的手臂上放充气袖带,使用测压计测量您的血压。

血压读数包括两个数值,以毫米汞柱(mm Hg)为单位。第一个数值也就是高压值,测量心脏跳动时动脉的压力(收缩压)。第二个数值也就是低压值,测量心跳之间动脉的压力(舒张压)。

如果您的血压低于 120/80 毫米汞柱,则视为正常。其他血压测量分类如下:

  • 血压升高。收缩压介于 120 至 129 mm Hg 之间,舒张压低于 80 mm Hg 即为血压升高。除非采取措施控制血压,否则血压升高往往会随着时间的推移逐渐恶化。
  • 1 级高血压。1 级高血压是指收缩压介于 130 至 139 mm Hg 之间,舒张压介于 80 至 89 mm Hg 之间。
  • 2 级高血压。更严重的高血压(2 级高血压)指收缩压达到 140 毫米汞柱及以上,舒张压达到 90 毫米汞柱及以上。

由于血压往往会波动,因此基于在不同情况下以相同方式获取的两个或两个以上血压读数的平均值确诊血压升高。当您第一次测量血压时,通常应通过测量双臂来确定双臂间血压是否有差异。之后,应通过读数较高的手臂确诊。

您的医生可能会建议进行一种叫做动态血压监测的 24 小时血压监测测试。用于该项测试的设备会在 24 小时内定期测量您的血压,并提供平均昼夜血压变化的更准确图像。但并非所有医疗中心都能买到这些设备,保险也很少对其进行承保。

您的医生可能还会建议您最好使用能将血压读数储存在记忆中的家用血压监测仪来定期检查您的血压。如果您使用的是家用血压监测仪,他或她应该告诉您它的正确使用方式。

更多信息

治疗

如果您患有血压升高并伴有糖尿病、肾脏疾病或心血管疾病,除了改变生活方式以外,医生还可能建议使用降压药。

如果您已被诊断为血压升高,药物的好处不会那么明显。如果您有 1 期或 2 期高血压,医生很可能会给您开药。有助于控制血压升高的生活方式变化包括:

  • 实现并维持健康体重
  • 饮食健康、少盐
  • 经常锻炼
  • 限制您的饮酒量
  • 戒烟

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

生活方式与家庭疗法

随着血压的升高,患心血管疾病的风险也随之增加。这就是为什么控制血压升高如此重要。关键在于努力向健康的生活方式进行改变。

  • 健康饮食。健康饮食。尝试用饮食疗法来停止高血压(DASH)饮食。选择水果、蔬菜、全谷物、家禽、鱼类和低脂奶制品。获得足够的钾,可以帮助降低血压。少吃饱和脂肪和反式脂肪。
  • 保持健康的体重。保持健康的体重或减重(如果您超重或肥胖)可以帮助您控制血压,降低相关健康问题的风险。一般来说,每减少一千克体重(约 2.2 磅),您的血压就会降低约 1 毫米汞柱。
  • 少量用盐。旨在限制每天的钠摄入量至少 1000 毫克。较低的钠摄入量(每天 1500 毫克或更少)是大多数成年人的理想选择。

    除了少放盐,还要阅读标签并注意所吃的加工食品中的盐含量(例如罐装汤或速冻晚餐)。

  • 加强身体活动。定期进行身体活动可以帮助您降低血压、控制压力、减少其他健康问题的风险并控制体重。

    卫生与公共服务部建议,大多数健康成人应每周进行至少 150 分钟的中等强度有氧运动或 75 分钟的剧烈有氧运动,或中等强度和剧烈运动组合。旨在每周至少有两天进行肌肉力量训练。

  • 限制饮酒。如果您饮酒,请做到适量饮酒。对于健康成人,这意味着所有年龄段的女性和 65 岁以上的男性每天最多喝一杯,而 65 岁及以下的男性每天最多喝两杯。一杯酒的定义为 355毫升(12 盎司)啤酒、148 毫升(5 盎司)葡萄酒或 44 毫升(1.5 盎司)80 度蒸馏酒。
  • 请勿吸烟。烟草会损伤血管壁并加速动脉硬化。如果您吸烟,请咨询医生帮您戒烟。
  • 管理压力。尽可能减轻压力。练习健康的应对技巧,如肌肉放松、深呼吸或冥想。定期进行身体活动和充足的睡眠也会有所帮助。

准备您的预约

如果您认为您可能血压升高或有高血压,请预约家庭医生测量血压。

不需要做特殊准备。为了得到准确的读数,请在测量前至少 30 钟避免摄入含咖啡因的食物和饮料、使用烟草和运动。在测量血压之前,最好先上厕所。

因为有些药物,比如非处方感冒药、止痛药、抗抑郁药、避孕药等会使您血压升高,所以在面诊时,要带一份您所服用的所有药物、维生素和其他补剂及其剂量的清单。不要在没有医生建议的情况下,停用您认为可能会影响血压的药物。

以下信息可以帮助您做好就诊准备。

您可以做什么

请列出以下内容:

  • 您的症状(如有),即使它们看似与您的约诊原因无关,以及开始时间
  • 关键个人信息,包括高血压、高胆固醇、心脏病、卒中或糖尿病的家族史,以及任何重大压力或近期生活变化
  • 写下要向医生咨询的问题

关于血压升高,要问医生的问题包括:

  • 我需要做哪些检查?
  • 我需要吃药吗?
  • 我应该吃什么,忌食什么?
  • 适合什么程度的身体活动?
  • 我需要多久检查一次血压?
  • 我需要在家里监测血压吗?
  • 我还有一些其他的健康问题。我怎样才能最好地同时管理它们?
  • 是否有我可以带走的手册或其他印刷材料?您建议哪些网站?

如果还有其他问题,请随时提出。

医生可能做些什么

医生可能会问您一些问题,包括:

  • 您的饮食和运动习惯是怎样的?
  • 您是否饮酒?您一周喝多少酒?
  • 您抽烟吗?
  • 您上一次检查血压是在什么时候?当时测量的血压是多少?
July 13, 2022
  1. High blood pressure. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/high-blood-pressure. Accessed Sept. 17, 2018.
  2. Whelton PK, et al. 2017 ACC/AHA/AAPA/ABC/ACPM/AGS/APhA/ASH/ASPC/NMA/PCNA Guideline for the prevention, detection, evaluation and management of high blood pressure in adults. Hypertension: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Task Force on Clinical Practice Guidelines. 2018;71:E13.
  3. Flynn JT, et al. Clinical practice guideline for screening and management of high blood pressure in children and adults. Pediatrics. 2017;140:e20171904.

相关

Associated Procedures

Diagnosis

A blood pressure test diagnoses elevated blood pressure. This often involves an inflatable arm cuff placed around your arm and a pressure-measuring gauge.

A blood pressure reading, given in millimeters of mercury (mm Hg), has two numbers. The first, or upper, number measures the pressure in your arteries when your heart beats (systolic pressure). The second, or lower, number measures the pressure in your arteries between beats (diastolic pressure).

Your blood pressure is considered normal if it's below 120/80 mm Hg. Other blood pressure measurements are categorized as:

  • Elevated blood pressure. Elevated blood pressure is a systolic pressure ranging from 120 to 129 mm Hg and a diastolic pressure below 80 mm Hg. Elevated blood pressure tends to get worse over time unless steps are taken to control blood pressure.
  • Stage 1 hypertension. Stage 1 hypertension is a systolic pressure ranging from 130 to 139 mm Hg or a diastolic pressure ranging from 80 to 89 mm Hg.
  • Stage 2 hypertension. More-severe hypertension, stage 2 hypertension, is a systolic pressure of 140 mm Hg or higher or a diastolic pressure of 90 mm Hg or higher.

Because blood pressure tends to fluctuate, a diagnosis of elevated blood pressure is based on the average of two or more blood pressure readings taken on separate occasions in a consistent manner. The first time, your blood pressure generally should be measured in both arms to determine if there's a difference. After that, the arm with the higher reading should be used.

Your doctor might suggest a 24-hour blood pressure monitoring test called ambulatory blood pressure monitoring. The device used for this test measures your blood pressure at regular intervals over 24 hours and provides a more accurate picture of blood pressure changes over an average day and night. However, these devices aren't available in all medical centers, and insurance rarely covers them.

Your doctor might also recommend that you use a home blood pressure monitor, preferably one that can store your readings in its memory, to check your blood pressure regularly. If so, he or she should show you how to use it properly.

Treatment

If you have elevated blood pressure accompanied by diabetes, kidney disease or cardiovascular disease, your doctor might recommend blood pressure medication in addition to lifestyle changes.

If you've been diagnosed with elevated blood pressure, the benefits of medication are less clear. If you have stage 1 or stage 2 hypertension, your doctor will likely prescribe medications. Lifestyle changes to help control your elevated blood pressure include:

  • Getting to and maintaining a healthy weight
  • Eating a healthy, low-salt diet
  • Exercising regularly
  • Limiting the amount of alcohol you drink
  • Quitting smoking

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Lifestyle and home remedies

As your blood pressure increases, so does your risk of cardiovascular disease. That's why it's so important to control elevated blood pressure. The key is a commitment to healthy lifestyle changes.

  • Eat healthy foods. Eat a healthy diet. Try the Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension (DASH) diet. Choose fruits, vegetables, whole grains, poultry, fish and low-fat dairy foods. Get plenty of potassium, which can help lower blood pressure. Eat less saturated fat and trans fat.
  • Maintain a healthy weight. Keeping a healthy weight, or losing weight if you're overweight or obese, can help you control your blood pressure and lower your risk of related health problems. In general, you may reduce your blood pressure by about 1 mm Hg with each kilogram (about 2.2 pounds) of weight you lose.
  • Use less salt. Aim to limit sodium by at least 1,000 mg a day. A lower sodium intake — 1,500 mg a day or less — is ideal for most adults.

    Besides putting down the saltshaker, read labels and pay attention to the amount of salt that's in the processed foods you eat, such as canned soups or frozen dinners.

  • Increase physical activity. Regular physical activity can help lower your blood pressure, manage stress, reduce your risk of other health problems and keep your weight under control.

    For most healthy adults, the Department of Health and Human Services recommends that you get at least 150 minutes a week of moderate aerobic activity or 75 minutes a week of vigorous aerobic activity, or a combination of moderate and vigorous activity. Aim to do muscle-strengthening exercises at least two days a week.

  • Limit alcohol. If you drink alcohol, do so in moderation. For healthy adults, that means up to one drink a day for women of all ages and men older than age 65, and up to two drinks a day for men age 65 and younger. One drink equals 12 ounces (355 milliliters) of beer, 5 ounces (148 milliliters) of wine or 1.5 ounces (44 milliliters) of 80-proof liquor.
  • Don't smoke. Tobacco injures blood vessel walls and speeds up the process of hardening of the arteries. If you smoke, ask your doctor to help you quit.
  • Manage stress. Reduce stress as much as possible. Practice healthy coping techniques, such as muscle relaxation, deep breathing or meditation. Getting regular physical activity and plenty of sleep can help, too.

Preparing for your appointment

If you think you may have elevated blood pressure or high blood pressure, make an appointment with your family doctor to have your blood pressure checked.

No special preparations are necessary. To get an accurate reading, avoid caffeinated food and drinks, exercise and tobacco for at least 30 minutes before your test. You might want to use the toilet before having your blood pressure measured.

Because some medications — such as over-the-counter cold medicines, pain medications, antidepressants, birth control pills and others — can raise your blood pressure, bring a list of all medications, vitamins and other supplements you take and their doses to your doctor's appointment. Don't stop taking any prescription medications that you think might affect your blood pressure without your doctor's advice.

Here's some information to help you get ready for your appointment.

What you can do

Make a list of:

  • Your symptoms, if you have any, even if they seem unrelated to the reason you scheduled the appointment, and when they began
  • Key personal information, including a family history of high blood pressure, high cholesterol, heart disease, stroke or diabetes, and any major stresses or recent life changes
  • Write down questions to ask your doctor.

For elevated blood pressure, questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What tests do I need?
  • Do I need to take medication?
  • What foods should I eat or avoid?
  • What's an appropriate level of physical activity?
  • How often do I need to have my blood pressure checked?
  • Should I monitor my blood pressure at home?
  • I have these other health conditions. How can I best manage them together?
  • Are there brochures or other printed material that I can have? What websites do you recommend?

Don't hesitate to ask other questions.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions, including:

  • What are your diet and exercise habits like?
  • Do you drink alcohol? How many drinks do you have in a week?
  • Do you smoke?
  • When did you last have your blood pressure checked? What was your blood pressure measurement then?
Oct. 05, 2018
References
  1. High blood pressure. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/high-blood-pressure. Accessed Sept. 17, 2018.
  2. Whelton PK, et al. 2017 ACC/AHA/AAPA/ABC/ACPM/AGS/APhA/ASH/ASPC/NMA/PCNA Guideline for the prevention, detection, evaluation and management of high blood pressure in adults. Hypertension: A Report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Task Force on Clinical Practice Guidelines. 2018;71:E13.
  3. Flynn JT, et al. Clinical practice guideline for screening and management of high blood pressure in children and adults. Pediatrics. 2017;140:e20171904.