نظرة عامة

ترسل الأعصاب المحيطية رسائل من دماغك وحبلك النخاعي إلى باقي أجزاء جسمك، ما يساعدك مثلاً على الإحساس ببرودة قدميك وتحريك عضلاتك حتى تتمكن من المشي. وتتكون الأعصاب المحيطية من ألياف تسمى المحاور المعزولة بالأنسجة المحيطة، لذا فهي تتسم بالهشاشة وسرعة التلف.

ويمكن أن تؤثر إصابة الأعصاب في قدرة دماغك على التواصل مع عضلاتك وبقية أعضاء جسمك. ويُسمى الضرر الذي يصيب الأعصاب المحيطية بالاعتلال العصبي المحيطي.

فمن المهم الحصول على رعاية طبية لعلاج إصابة العصب المحيطي في أسرع وقتٍ ممكن. وقد يمنع تشخيصه ومعالجته مبكرًا حدوث مضاعفات وأضرار مستديمة.

الأعراض

قد تواجه عند وجود إصابة في الأعصاب الطرفية أعراضًا تتراوح بين الخفة والشدة وتعوق أداءك أنشطة حياتك اليومية. وغالبًا ما تعتمد الأعراض التي تشعر بها على نوعية الألياف العصبية المصابة:

  • الأعصاب الحركية. تنظم هذه الأعصاب جميع العضلات الخاضعة لتحكّمك إراديًا؛ مثل المشي والتحدث والإمساك بالأشياء. وعادة ما يصاحب تلف هذه الأعصاب ضعف العضلات والتقلصات المؤلمة وارتعاش العضلات بشكل لا يمكن السيطرة عليه.
  • الأعصاب الحسية. نظرًا لأن هذه الأعصاب تنقل المعلومات الخاصة اللمس ودرجة الحرارة والألم، فقد تواجه مجموعة متنوعة من الأعراض. وتشمل الشعور بالخَدَر أو الوخز في يديك أو قدميك. ربما تواجه مشكلات في الشعور بالألم، أو تواجه تغيرات في درجة الحرارة، أو تجد صعوبة في المشي أو الحفاظ على توازنك أثناء غلق عينيك أو إغلاق أزرار الملابس.
  • الأعصاب المستقلة. تنظم هذه المجموعة من الأعصاب الأنشطة التي لا تخضع لتحكمك إراديًا، مثل التنفس ووظائف القلب والغدة الدرقية وهضم الطعام. ومن الأعراض المصاحبة لإصابتها فرط التعرق، وتغيرات ضغط الدم، وعدم القدرة على تحمل الحرارة، وأعراضًا مَعدية مَعوية.

قد تواجه أعراضًا مختلفة نظرًا لأن الكثير من إصابات الأعصاب المحيطية تؤثر على أكثر من نوع من الألياف العصبية.

متى تجب زيارة الطبيب

إذا كنت تعاني من ضعف أو وخز أو خدر أو فقدان كامل للإحساس في أحد أطرافك، فاستشر طبيبك لتحديد السبب. من المهم علاج إصابات العصب المحيطي مبكرًا.

الأسباب

يمكن أن تتلف الأعصاب المحيطية بعدة طرق:

  • يمكن للإصابة الناتجة عن حادث أو سقوط أو ممارسة الرياضة أن تؤدي إلى تمدد الأعصاب أو الضغط عليها أو هرسها أو قطعها.
  • الحالات الطبية، مثل مرض السكري ومتلازمة غيلان باريه ومتلازمة النفق الرسغي.
  • أمراض المناعة الذاتية بما في ذلك الذئبة والتهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي ومتلازمة شوغرِن.

تتضمن الأسباب الأخرى تضيُّق الشرايين واختلال التوازن الهرموني والأورام.

إصابات عصبية محيطية - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

29/07/2021
  1. Peripheral neuropathy fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Fact-Sheets/Peripheral-Neuropathy-Fact-Sheet. Accessed Jan. 5, 2020.
  2. Nerve injuries. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/topic.cfm?topic=A00016. Accessed Jan. 5, 2020.
  3. Rutkove SB. Overview of upper extremity peripheral nerve syndromes. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 12, 2020.
  4. Rutkove SB. Overview of lower extremity peripheral nerve syndromes. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 12, 2020.
  5. NINDS pinched nerve information page. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/All-Disorders/Pinched-Nerve-Information-Page#disorders-r1. Accessed Jan. 5, 2020.
  6. Azar FM, et al. Peripheral nerve injuries. In: Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics. 13th ed. Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 12, 2020.
  7. Daroff RB, et al. Trauma of the nervous system: Peripheral nerve trauma. In: Bradley's Neurology in Clinical Practice. 7th ed. Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 12, 2020.
  8. Neurological diagnostic tests and procedures fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/patient-caregiver-education/fact-sheets/neurological-diagnostic-tests-and-procedures-fact. Accessed Jan. 6, 2020.
  9. Neligan PC. Peripheral nerve injuries of the upper extremity. In: Plastic Surgery: Volume 6: Hand and Upper Extremity. Elsevier Saunders; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 12, 2020.
  10. Pain: Hope through research. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Hope-Through-Research/Pain-Hope-Through-Research. Accessed Jan. 6, 2020.
  11. AskMayoExpert. Brachial plexus injury. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  12. Brachial plexus injuries information page. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/All-Disorders/Brachial-Plexus-Injuries-Information-Page. Accessed Jan. 6, 2020.

ذات صلة

Products & Services

Overview

Peripheral nerves send messages from your brain and spinal cord to the rest of your body, helping you do things such as sensing that your feet are cold and moving your muscles so that you can walk. Made of fibers called axons that are insulated by surrounding tissues, peripheral nerves are fragile and easily damaged.

A nerve injury can affect your brain's ability to communicate with your muscles and organs. Damage to the peripheral nerves is called peripheral neuropathy.

It's important to get medical care for a peripheral nerve injury as soon as possible. Early diagnosis and treatment may prevent complications and permanent damage.

Symptoms

With a peripheral nerve injury, you may experience symptoms that range from mild to seriously limiting your daily activities. Your symptoms often depend on which nerve fibers are affected:

  • Motor nerves. These nerves regulate all the muscles under your conscious control, such as walking, talking, and holding objects. Damage to these nerves is typically associated with muscle weakness, painful cramps and uncontrollable muscle twitching.
  • Sensory nerves. Because these nerves relay information about touch, temperature and pain, you may experience a variety of symptoms. These include numbness or tingling in your hands or feet. You may have trouble sensing pain or changes in temperature, walking, keeping your balance with your eyes closed or fastening buttons.
  • Autonomic (aw-tu-NOM-ik) nerves. This group of nerves regulates activities that are not controlled consciously, such as breathing, heart and thyroid function, and digesting food. Symptoms may include excessive sweating, changes in blood pressure, the inability to tolerate heat and gastrointestinal symptoms.

You may experience a range of symptoms because many peripheral nerve injuries affect more than one type of nerve fibers.

When to see a doctor

If you experience weakness, tingling, numbness or a total loss of feeling in a limb, see your doctor to determine the cause. It's important to treat peripheral nerve injuries early.

Causes

Peripheral nerves can be damaged in several ways:

  • Injury from an accident, a fall or sports can stretch, compress, crush or cut nerves.
  • Medical conditions, such as diabetes, Guillain-Barre syndrome and carpal tunnel syndrome.
  • Autoimmune diseases including lupus, rheumatoid arthritis and Sjogren's syndrome.

Other causes include narrowing of the arteries, hormonal imbalances and tumors.

Peripheral nerve injuries care at Mayo Clinic

April 17, 2020
  1. Peripheral neuropathy fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Fact-Sheets/Peripheral-Neuropathy-Fact-Sheet. Accessed Jan. 5, 2020.
  2. Nerve injuries. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/topic.cfm?topic=A00016. Accessed Jan. 5, 2020.
  3. Rutkove SB. Overview of upper extremity peripheral nerve syndromes. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 12, 2020.
  4. Rutkove SB. Overview of lower extremity peripheral nerve syndromes. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 12, 2020.
  5. NINDS pinched nerve information page. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/All-Disorders/Pinched-Nerve-Information-Page#disorders-r1. Accessed Jan. 5, 2020.
  6. Azar FM, et al. Peripheral nerve injuries. In: Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics. 13th ed. Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 12, 2020.
  7. Daroff RB, et al. Trauma of the nervous system: Peripheral nerve trauma. In: Bradley's Neurology in Clinical Practice. 7th ed. Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 12, 2020.
  8. Neurological diagnostic tests and procedures fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/patient-caregiver-education/fact-sheets/neurological-diagnostic-tests-and-procedures-fact. Accessed Jan. 6, 2020.
  9. Neligan PC. Peripheral nerve injuries of the upper extremity. In: Plastic Surgery: Volume 6: Hand and Upper Extremity. Elsevier Saunders; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 12, 2020.
  10. Pain: Hope through research. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Hope-Through-Research/Pain-Hope-Through-Research. Accessed Jan. 6, 2020.
  11. AskMayoExpert. Brachial plexus injury. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  12. Brachial plexus injuries information page. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/All-Disorders/Brachial-Plexus-Injuries-Information-Page. Accessed Jan. 6, 2020.