概述

大脑和脊髓的周围神经向身体其他部位发出信号,帮助您进行一些活动,例如感知脚是冷的和运动肌肉以便您行走。周围神经由被周围组织隔开的纤维(称为轴突)组成,不仅脆弱,而且容易受到损伤。

神经损伤可影响您的大脑与肌肉和器官沟通的能力。对周围神经的损伤称为周围神经病变。

尽快对周围神经损伤进行医学治疗很重要。早期诊断和治疗可以预防并发症和永久性损伤。

症状

周围神经损伤时,您可能出现从轻度至严重限制日常活动的症状。症状还取决于哪些神经纤维受累:

  • 运动神经。这些神经在您的意识控制下调节所有肌肉,例如行走、交谈或者握住物品。损伤这些神经一般伴随肌无力、痛性痉挛和不可控制的肌肉抽搐。
  • 感觉神经。因为这些神经传递触觉、温度和疼痛信息,所以您可能会出现各种症状。包括手或足麻木或刺痛。您可能难以感觉到疼痛或温度变化、难以步行、难以闭上眼睛时保持自身平衡或者难以扣上扣子。
  • 自主神经。这组神经可调节不受意识控制的活动,例如呼吸系统、心脏和甲状腺功能及消化食物。症状可能包括出汗过多、血压变化、不能耐热和胃肠道症状。

您可能出现各种症状,原因是许多周围神经损伤影响不止一个类型的神经纤维。

何时就诊

如果您感到四肢无力、刺痛、麻木或完全失去知觉,请咨询医生以确定原因。周围神经损伤务必及早治疗。

病因

周围神经可由于多种方式受损:

  • 事故、跌倒或运动造成的受伤会拉伸、压迫、挤压或割伤神经。
  • 疾病,比如糖尿病、吉兰 - 巴雷综合征和腕管综合征。
  • 自身免疫病,包括狼疮、类风湿关节炎和干燥综合征。

其他病因包括动脉狭窄、激素失衡和肿瘤。

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

June 23, 2022
  1. Peripheral neuropathy fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Fact-Sheets/Peripheral-Neuropathy-Fact-Sheet. Accessed Jan. 5, 2020.
  2. Nerve injuries. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/topic.cfm?topic=A00016. Accessed Jan. 5, 2020.
  3. Rutkove SB. Overview of upper extremity peripheral nerve syndromes. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 12, 2020.
  4. Rutkove SB. Overview of lower extremity peripheral nerve syndromes. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 12, 2020.
  5. NINDS pinched nerve information page. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/All-Disorders/Pinched-Nerve-Information-Page#disorders-r1. Accessed Jan. 5, 2020.
  6. Azar FM, et al. Peripheral nerve injuries. In: Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics. 13th ed. Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 12, 2020.
  7. Daroff RB, et al. Trauma of the nervous system: Peripheral nerve trauma. In: Bradley's Neurology in Clinical Practice. 7th ed. Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 12, 2020.
  8. Neurological diagnostic tests and procedures fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/patient-caregiver-education/fact-sheets/neurological-diagnostic-tests-and-procedures-fact. Accessed Jan. 6, 2020.
  9. Neligan PC. Peripheral nerve injuries of the upper extremity. In: Plastic Surgery: Volume 6: Hand and Upper Extremity. Elsevier Saunders; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 12, 2020.
  10. Pain: Hope through research. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Hope-Through-Research/Pain-Hope-Through-Research. Accessed Jan. 6, 2020.
  11. AskMayoExpert. Brachial plexus injury. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  12. Brachial plexus injuries information page. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/All-Disorders/Brachial-Plexus-Injuries-Information-Page. Accessed Jan. 6, 2020.

Overview

Peripheral nerves send messages from your brain and spinal cord to the rest of your body, helping you do things such as sensing that your feet are cold and moving your muscles so that you can walk. Made of fibers called axons that are insulated by surrounding tissues, peripheral nerves are fragile and easily damaged.

A nerve injury can affect your brain's ability to communicate with your muscles and organs. Damage to the peripheral nerves is called peripheral neuropathy.

It's important to get medical care for a peripheral nerve injury as soon as possible. Early diagnosis and treatment may prevent complications and permanent damage.

Symptoms

With a peripheral nerve injury, you may experience symptoms that range from mild to seriously limiting your daily activities. Your symptoms often depend on which nerve fibers are affected:

  • Motor nerves. These nerves regulate all the muscles under your conscious control, such as walking, talking, and holding objects. Damage to these nerves is typically associated with muscle weakness, painful cramps and uncontrollable muscle twitching.
  • Sensory nerves. Because these nerves relay information about touch, temperature and pain, you may experience a variety of symptoms. These include numbness or tingling in your hands or feet. You may have trouble sensing pain or changes in temperature, walking, keeping your balance with your eyes closed or fastening buttons.
  • Autonomic (aw-tu-NOM-ik) nerves. This group of nerves regulates activities that are not controlled consciously, such as breathing, heart and thyroid function, and digesting food. Symptoms may include excessive sweating, changes in blood pressure, the inability to tolerate heat and gastrointestinal symptoms.

You may experience a range of symptoms because many peripheral nerve injuries affect more than one type of nerve fibers.

When to see a doctor

If you experience weakness, tingling, numbness or a total loss of feeling in a limb, see your doctor to determine the cause. It's important to treat peripheral nerve injuries early.

Causes

Peripheral nerves can be damaged in several ways:

  • Injury from an accident, a fall or sports can stretch, compress, crush or cut nerves.
  • Medical conditions, such as diabetes, Guillain-Barre syndrome and carpal tunnel syndrome.
  • Autoimmune diseases including lupus, rheumatoid arthritis and Sjogren's syndrome.

Other causes include narrowing of the arteries, hormonal imbalances and tumors.

Peripheral nerve injuries care at Mayo Clinic

April 17, 2020
  1. Peripheral neuropathy fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Fact-Sheets/Peripheral-Neuropathy-Fact-Sheet. Accessed Jan. 5, 2020.
  2. Nerve injuries. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/topic.cfm?topic=A00016. Accessed Jan. 5, 2020.
  3. Rutkove SB. Overview of upper extremity peripheral nerve syndromes. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 12, 2020.
  4. Rutkove SB. Overview of lower extremity peripheral nerve syndromes. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 12, 2020.
  5. NINDS pinched nerve information page. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/All-Disorders/Pinched-Nerve-Information-Page#disorders-r1. Accessed Jan. 5, 2020.
  6. Azar FM, et al. Peripheral nerve injuries. In: Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics. 13th ed. Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 12, 2020.
  7. Daroff RB, et al. Trauma of the nervous system: Peripheral nerve trauma. In: Bradley's Neurology in Clinical Practice. 7th ed. Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 12, 2020.
  8. Neurological diagnostic tests and procedures fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/patient-caregiver-education/fact-sheets/neurological-diagnostic-tests-and-procedures-fact. Accessed Jan. 6, 2020.
  9. Neligan PC. Peripheral nerve injuries of the upper extremity. In: Plastic Surgery: Volume 6: Hand and Upper Extremity. Elsevier Saunders; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 12, 2020.
  10. Pain: Hope through research. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Hope-Through-Research/Pain-Hope-Through-Research. Accessed Jan. 6, 2020.
  11. AskMayoExpert. Brachial plexus injury. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  12. Brachial plexus injuries information page. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/All-Disorders/Brachial-Plexus-Injuries-Information-Page. Accessed Jan. 6, 2020.