نظرة عامة

التهاب السحايا هو نوع من العدوى والالتهاب، يصيبان السائل والأغشية المحيطة بالمخ والحبل النخاغي، والمسماة بالسحايا.

ويحفِّز التهاب السحايا عادةً أعراضًا ظاهريةً مثل الصداع والحمى وتيبس الرقبة.

تحدث أغلب حالات الإصابة بالتهاب السحايا في الولايات المتحدة نتيجة عدوى فيروسية، لكنها يمكن أن تحدث أيضًا نتيجة البكتيريا والفطريات. تتحسن بعض حالات التهاب السحايا دون علاج في غضون بضعة أسابيع. وثمة حالات أخرى مهددة للحياة وتتطلب علاجًا طارئًا بالمضادات الحيوية.

اطلب المساعدة الطبية الطارئة إذا اشتبهت في إصابتك أو إصابة أحد أفراد عائلتك بالتهاب السحايا. من الممكن أن يساعد علاج التهاب السحايا البكتيري المبكر على الوقاية من المضاعفات الخطيرة.

الأعراض

قد تتشابه الأعراض المبكرة لالتهاب السحايا مع أعراض الإنفلونزا. ومن الممكن أن تظهر الأعراض خلال ساعات عديدة أو خلال بضعة أيام.

وتتضمن الأعراض المحتملة لدى أي شخص أكبر من عامين ما يأتي:

  • حمى شديدة مفاجئة.
  • تيبس الرقبة.
  • الصداع الشديد.
  • الغثيان أو القيء.
  • التشوش أو صعوبة التركيز.
  • نوبات الصرع.
  • النعاس أو صعوبة الاستيقاظ.
  • حساسية تجاه الضوء.
  • فقدان الشهية أو العطش.
  • طفح جلدي في بعض الحالات، كما هو الحال في التهاب السحايا بالمكورات السحائية.

العلامات لدى حديثي الولادة

قد تظهر العلامات التالية على حديثي الولادة والرضع:

  • الحمى الشديدة.
  • البكاء المتواصل.
  • النعاس الشديد أو العصبية.
  • صعوبة الاستيقاظ.
  • الخمول أو الكسل.
  • عدم الاستيقاظ لتناول الطعام.
  • قلة تناول الطعام.
  • القيء.
  • تكوّن انتفاخ في الجزء الرخو أعلى رأس الطفل.
  • حدوث تيبس في الجسم والرقبة.

قد تصعب تهدئة الرضع المصابين بالتهاب السحايا. وقد يزداد صراخهم عند حملهم.

متى تزور الطبيب

اطلب المساعدة الطبية الطارئة إذا ظهرت عليك أو على أحد أفراد عائلتك أعراض التهاب السحايا، مثل:

  • الحمى
  • الصداع الحاد الذي لا يتوقف.
  • التشوش الذهني
  • القيء
  • تيبُّس الرقبة.

التهاب السحايا البكتيري مرض خطير، ويمكن أن يسبب الوفاة في غضون أيام إذا لم يُعالَج سريعًا بالمضادات الحيوية. ويزيد تأخر العلاج أيضًا من خطر تلف الدماغ الدائم.

من المهم أيضًا التحدث إلى الطبيب إذا خالطت شخصًا مصابًا بالتهاب السحايا سواء كان هذا الشخص أحد أفراد أسرتك أو أي شخص تعيش أو تعمل معه. فقد تحتاج إلى تناول الأدوية لمنع الإصابة بالعدوى.

الأسباب

العدوى الفيروسية هي السبب الأكثر شيوعًا للإصابة بالتهاب السحايا. وتليها العدوى البكتيرية، ثم العدوى الفطرية والطفيلية في حالات نادرة. ونظرًا إلى أن العدوى البكتيرية يمكن أن تؤدي إلى الوفاة، فمن المهم معرفة سببها.

التهاب السحايا البكتيري

تسبب البكتيريا التي تدخل مجرى الدم وتنتقل إلى المخ والحبل النخاعي التهاب السحايا البكتيري الحاد. ولكن من الممكن أن تحدث الإصابة بالتهاب السحايا البكتيري أيضًا عندما تهاجم البكتيريا السحايا مباشرةً. وربما يكون هذا بسبب الإصابة بعدوى في الأذن أو الجيوب الأنفية أو كسر في الجمجمة، أو -نادرًا- بسبب إجراء بعض العمليات الجراحية.

قد تسبب بعض سلالات البكتيريا التهاب السحايا البكتيري الحاد، وأشهرها:

  • المكورة العقدية الرئوية. هذه البكتيريا هي السبب الأكثر شيوعًا لالتهاب السحايا البكتيري لدى الرُّضع والأطفال الصغار والبالغين في الولايات المتحدة. وتسبب عادةً الالتهاب الرئوي أو عدوى الأذن والجيوب الأنفية. ويمكن أن يساعد اللقاح في الوقاية من هذه العدوى.
  • النيسرية السحائية. تسبب هذه البكتيريا التهاب السحايا البكتيري الذي يُسمى التهاب السحايا بالمكورات السحائية. وعادةً ما تسبب هذه البكتيريا عدوى الجهاز التنفسي العلوي، ولكنها قد تسبب أيضًا الإصابة بالتهاب السحايا بالمكورات السحائية عند دخولها إلى مجرى الدم. وتكون مُعدِية بشدة وتصيب غالبًا المراهقين واليافعين. وقد تسبب وباءً محليًّا في السكن الجامعي والمدارس الداخلية والقواعد العسكرية.

    وقد يساعد اللقاح على الوقاية من العدوى. يجب أن يتلقى أي شخص كان مخالطًا لشخص مصاب بالتهاب السحايا بالمكورات السحائية مخالطة لصيقة مضادًا حيويًا عن طريق الفم للوقاية من المرض، حتى إذا كان قد حصل على اللقاح.

  • المستدمية النزلية. كانت المستدمية النزلية من النوع ب في السابق السبب الرئيسي لالتهاب السحايا البكتيري لدى الأطفال. لكن اللقاحات الحديثة ضد المستدمية النَّزليَّة من النوع (ب) خفضت كثيرًا عدد حالات هذا النوع من التهاب السحايا.
  • الليسترية المستوحدة. يمكن أن توجد هذه البكتيريا في الجبن غير المبستر والهوت دوغ واللانشون. ومن الفئات الأكثر عرضة للإصابة بها النساء الحوامل وحديثو الولادة والبالغون الأكبر سنًا والأشخاص المصابين بضعف الجهاز المناعي. يمكن أن تعبر الليسترية المَشيمة أثناء الحمل. وقد تؤدي الإصابة بالعدوى في مراحل الحمل المتأخرة إلى وفاة الجنين.

التهاب السحايا الفيروسي

عادةً ما تكون أعراض التهاب السحايا الفيروسي بسيطة وتشفى من تلقاء نفسها. تحدث معظم حالات الإصابة في الولايات المتحدة بسبب مجموعة من الفيروسات المعروفة باسم الفيروسات المعوية، والتي تكون أكثر شيوعًا في أواخر فصل الصيف وأوائل فصل الخريف. كما يمكن أن تُسبب فيروسات مثل فيروس الهربس البسيط وفيروس نقص المناعة البشري وفيروس النكاف وفيروس غرب النيل وغيرها الإصابة بالتهاب السحايا الفيروسي.

التهاب السحايا المزمن

يمكن أن يحدث التهاب السحايا المزمن، وهو التهاب طويل الأمد، بسبب كائنات دقيقة بطيئة النمو مثل الفطريات والمتفطرة السليّة. وتغزو هذه الكائنات الأغشية والسوائل المحيطة بالدماغ. وتحدث الإصابة بالتهاب السحايا المزمن خلال أسبوعين أو أكثر. وتتشابه أعراضه مع أعراض التهاب السحايا الحاد، وهو حالة جديدة مفاجئة. وتشمل الصداع والحمى والقيء والتشوش الذهني.

التهاب السحايا الفطري

التهاب السحايا الفطري غير شائع في الولايات المتحدة. وقد يتشابه مع التهاب السحايا البكتيري الحاد. وتحدث الإصابة به غالبًا بسبب استنشاق الغبار الفطري الذي قد يكون موجودًا في التربة والخشب القديم المتحلل وفضلات الطيور.

ولا ينتقل التهاب السحايا الفطري من شخص إلى آخر. أما التهاب السحايا بالمستخفيات فهو نوع فطري شائع من المرض. ويصيب الأشخاص المصابين بضعف المناعة، مثل مرضى الإيدز. ويمكن أن يسبب الوفاة إن لم يُعالج بدواء مضاد للفطريات. حتى مع العلاج، قد تتكرر الإصابة بالتهاب السحايا الفطري.

التهاب السحايا الطفيلي

قد تسبب الطفيليات الإصابة بنوع نادر من التهاب السحايا يُسمى بالتهاب السحايا اليوزيني. وتسبب عدوى الدودة الشريطية في الدماغ أو الملاريا الدماغية الإصابة بالتهاب السحايا الطفيلي. أما التهاب السحايا الأميبي فهو نوع نادر من الالتهابات ينتقل أحيانًا عن طريق السباحة في المياه العذبة، وقد يتحول سريعًا إلى مرض يهدد حياة الشخص المُصاب به.

في العادة، تُصيب الطفيليات الرئيسية المُسببة لالتهاب السحايا الحيوانات. ويُصاب الأشخاص بهذا المرض عادةً عن طريق تناول الأطعمة الملوثة بهذه الطفيليات. لكن لا ينتشر التهاب السحايا الطفيلي بين البشر وبعضهم.

أسباب التهاب السحايا الأخرى

قد تؤدي الأسباب غير المُعدية أيضًا إلى الإصابة بالتهاب السحايا. وتتضمن التفاعلات الكيميائية والحساسية الدوائية وبعض أنواع السرطان والأمراض الالتهابية مثل الساركويد.

عوامل الخطر

تشمل عوامل خطر الإصابة بالتهاب السحايا ما يأتي:

  • تفويت جرعات من اللقاحات. يزداد خطر الإصابة إذا لم تكمل جدول اللقاحات المُوصى به للأطفال أو البالغين.
  • العمر. تحدث معظم حالات التهاب السحايا الفيروسي بين الأطفال الأقل من 5 سنوات. في حين يشيع التهاب السحايا البكتيري بين الأشخاص الذين تقل أعمارهم عن 20 عامًا.
  • الإقامة في بيئة مجتمعية. يكون طلاب الجامعات المقيمون في المدن الجامعية، والعاملون في القواعد العسكرية، والأطفال في المدارس الداخلية ومرافق رعاية الأطفال أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالتهاب السحايا بالمكورات السحائية. قد يرجع ذلك إلى انتشار الجرثومة عن طريق التنفس ثم انتشارها سريعًا بين التجمعات الكبيرة.
  • الحمل. يزيد الحمل من خطر الإصابة بالعدوى التي تحدث بسبب بكتيريا الليستيريا، والتي قد تسبب أيضًا الإصابة بالتهاب السحايا. وتزيد العدوى من خطر حدوث الإجهاض التلقائي وولادة جنين ميت والولادة المبكرة.
  • ضعف الجهاز المناعي. يزيد مرض الإيدز وإدمان المشروبات الكحولية ومرض السكري واستخدام الأدوية المثبطة للمناعة وغير ذلك من العوامل التي تؤثر في جهازك المناعي من خطر الإصابة بالتهاب السحايا. ويزيد استئصال الطحال أيضًا من الخطر. لذا ينبغي للأشخاص الذين استأصلوا الطحال تلقي اللقاح لتقليل الخطر.

المضاعفات

يمكن أن تكون مضاعفات التهاب السحايا شديدة الخطورة. وكلما طالت مدة إصابتك أنت أو طفلك بالمرض دون تلقي علاج، زاد خطر تعرّضك لنوبات مرَضية وإصابتك بتضرر الأعصاب الدائم، ويشمل ذلك الضرر ما يلي:

  • فقدان السمع
  • مشكلات في الذاكرة
  • صعوبات التعلم
  • تضرر الدماغ
  • صعوبة في المشي
  • نوبات الصرع
  • الفشل الكلوي
  • الإصابة بصدمة
  • الوفاة

لكن، مع العلاج الفوري، يمكن حتى للمصابين بالتهاب السحايا الحاد التعافي جيدًا.

الوقاية

يمكن أن تنتشر الفيروسات أو البكتيريا الشائعة المُسببة لالتهاب السحايا عبر السعال أو العطاس أو التقبيل أو تشارك أواني الطعام وفرش الأسنان أو السجائر.

يمكن أن تساعدك الخطوات التالية على الوقاية من التهاب السحايا:

  • غسل اليدين. يساعد غسل اليدين بعناية على منع انتشار الجراثيم. فعلِّم أطفالك أن يغسلوا أيديهم باستمرار خاصة قبل الأكل وعند دخول دورة المياه أو قضاء وقت في مكان عام مزدحم أو التربيت على الحيوانات. واشرح لهم الطريقة الصحيحة لغسل اليدين وشطفها بعناية.
  • الالتزام بعادات النظافة الصحيحة. لا تتشارك المشروبات والأطعمة والشفاطات وأواني الطعام ومرطبات الشفاه أو فرش الأسنان مع أي شخص آخر. ونبّه على الأطفال والمراهقين تجنب تشارك هذه الأغراض أيضًا.
  • المحافظة على الصحة. حافظ على صحة جهازك المناعي عن طريق الحصول على قسط كافِ من الراحة والتمرين بانتظام واتباع نظام غذائي صحي يحتوي على الكثير من الفواكه والخضروات الطازجة والحبوب الكاملة.
  • تغطية الفم. عندما تحتاج إلى السعال أو العطاس تأكد من تغطية فمك وأنفك.
  • الانتباه إلى نوعية الطعام خاصة إذا كنتِ امرأة حاملاً. يمكنكِ تقليل خطر الإصابة بعدوى الليستيريا عن طريق طهي اللحوم، بما في ذلك اللحوم المصنّعة واللحوم الباردة على درجة حرارة لا تقل عن 165 فهرنهايت (74 درجة مئوية). وتجنبي تناول الأجبان المصنوعة من الحليب غير المبستر، واختاري الأجبان المكتوب عليها صراحة أنها مصنوعة من الحليب المُبستر.

التطعيمات

يمكن الوقاية من بعض أنواع التهاب السحايا البكتيرية باللقاحات الآتية:

  • لقاح المستدمية النزلية من النوع ب. توصي منظمة الصحة العالمية ومراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها بتطعيم الأطفال بهذا اللقاح من عمر شهرين. ويُوصى باللقاح أيضًا لبعض البالغين، مثل المصابين بمرض الخلايا المنجلية أو المصابين بالإيدز ولمن أجروا جراحة استئصال الطحال.
  • لقاح المكورات الرئوية الاقترانية (PCV13 أو PCV15). هذه اللقاحات أيضًا جزء من جدول التطعيمات الدورية الذي يوصي به مركز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها للأطفال الأصغر من عامين. ويُوصى بجرعات إضافية للأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين عامين وخمسة أعوام، المعرضين لمخاطر عالية للإصابة بمرض المكورات الرئوية، ويشمل ذلك الأطفال المصابين بأمراض مزمنة أو بسرطانات بالقلب أو الرئة.
  • لقاح المكورات الرئوية متعددة السكريد (PPSV23). من الممكن أيضًا أن يحصل على هذا اللقاح الأطفال الأكبر سنًّا والبالغون المحتاجون إلى الوقاية من بكتيريا المكورات الرئوية. تُوصِي مراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC) بإعطاء لقاح المكورات الرئوية متعددة السكريد (PPSV23) لكل البالغين ممن تجاوزوا عُمر 65 عامًا، وللبالغين الأصغر سناً والأطفال في عمر عامين أو أكبر من المصابين بضعف في الجهاز المناعي، أو بمرض مزمن مثل أمراض القلب، أو السكري، أو أنيميا الخلايا المنجلية، ولمن استأصلوا الطحال.
  • لقاح المكورات السحائية المتقارن. يوصي مركز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها بإعطاء جرعة واحدة للأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 11 و12 عامًا، مع حقنة معززة عند بلوغ 16 عامًا. وإذا أُعطي اللقاح لأول مرة ما بين 13 و15 عامًا، فيُوصى بالجرعة المحفزة فيما بين 16 و18 عامًا. أما إذا أُعطيت الجرعة الأولى عند بلوغ الطفل سن 16 عامًا، فلا حاجةَ إلى جرعة محفزة.

    يمكن إعطاء هذا اللقاح أيضًا للأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين شهرين و10 أعوام المعرضين لعوامل خطورة عالية للإصابة بالتهاب السحايا البكتيرية أو الذين احتكوا بأحد الأفراد المصابين بالمرض. يُستخدم اللقاح أيضًا للأشخاص الأصحاء غير المطعّمين من قبل الذين تعرضوا للمرض في فترة تفشيه.

  • لقاح المكورات السحائية الناجم عن المجموعة المصلية ب. يوصي مركز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها بهذا اللقاح للبالغين وللأطفال من عمر 10 أعوام فأكثر المعرضين بشكل أكبر لخطر مرض المكورات السحائية. ويشمل هذا البالغين والأطفال المصابين بمرض الخلايا المنجلية الذين لديهم طحال متضرر أو أجروا جراحة استئصال الطحال. ويشمل أيضًا الأشخاص المصابين باضطراب المناعة النادر الذي يُسمى عوز المتممة أو الذين يتناولون أدوية معينة. وقد يُوصى بهذا اللقاح أيضًا إذا كنت تعيش وسط مجموعة يتفشى بينها مرض المكورات السحائية الناجم عن المجموعة المصلية ب.

27/01/2023
  1. Meningitis and encephalitis fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Fact-Sheets/Meningitis-and-Encephalitis-Fact-Sheet. Accessed Oct. 10, 2022.
  2. Bacterial meningitis. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/meningitis/bacterial.html. Accessed Oct. 20, 2022.
  3. Ferri FF. Meningitis, bacterial. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2023. Elsevier; 2023. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 21, 2022.
  4. Viral meningitis. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/meningitis/viral.html. Accessed Oct. 10, 2022.
  5. Fungal meningitis. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/meningitis/fungal.html. Accessed Oct. 20, 2022.
  6. Ferri FF. Meningitis, viral. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2023. Elsevier; 2023. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 21, 2022.
  7. Loscalzo J, et al., eds. Acute meningitis. In: Harrison's Principals of Internal Medicine. 21st ed. McGraw Hill; 2022. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Oct. 10, 2022.
  8. Acute bacterial meningitis. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/neurologic-disorders/meningitis/acute-bacterial-meningitis. Accessed Oct. 25, 2022.
  9. Prevention — Listeria (listeriosis). Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/listeria/prevention.html. Accessed Oct. 20, 2022.
  10. Subacute and chronic meningitis. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/neurologic-disorders/meningitis/subacute-and-chronic-meningitis. Accessed Oct. 20, 2022.
  11. Ferri FF. Meningitis, fungal. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2023. Elsevier; 2023. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 25, 2022.
  12. Recommended immunization schedules for children and adolescents aged 18 years or younger, United States, 2020. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/imz/child-adolescent.html. Accessed Oct. 20, 2022.
  13. Recommended adult immunization schedule for adults aged 19 or older, United States, 2020. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/imz/adult.html. Accessed Oct. 20, 2022.
  14. Meningococcal vaccination: What everyone should know. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/vpd/mening/public/index.html. Accessed Oct. 26, 2022.
  15. Sexton D, et al. Approach to the patient with chronic meningitis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 25, 2022.
  16. Tunkel A. Aseptic meningitis in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 25, 2022.
  17. Di Pentima C. Viral meningitis: Management, prognosis, and prevention in children. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 25, 2022.
  18. Parasitic meningitis. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/meningitis/parasitic.html. Accessed Oct. 26, 2022.
  19. Kobayashi M, et al. Use of 15-valent pneumococcal conjugate vaccine among U.S. Children: Updated recommendations of the advirosry- committee on immunization practices – United States, 2022. MMWR Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report. 2022; doi:10.15585/mmwr.mm7137a3.
  20. Summary of WHO position papers — Recommendations for routine immunization. World Health Organization. https://www.who.int/immunization/policy/immunization_tables/en/. Accessed Oct. 26, 2022.

Overview

Meningitis is an infection and inflammation of the fluid and membranes surrounding the brain and spinal cord. These membranes are called meninges.

The inflammation from meningitis typically triggers symptoms such as headache, fever and a stiff neck.

Most cases of meningitis in the United States are caused by a viral infection. But bacteria, parasites and fungi also can cause it. Some cases of meningitis improve without treatment in a few weeks. Others can cause death and require emergency antibiotic treatment.

Seek immediate medical care if you suspect that you or someone in your family has meningitis. Early treatment of bacterial meningitis can prevent serious complications.

Symptoms

Early meningitis symptoms may be similar to the flu. Symptoms may develop over several hours or over a few days.

Possible symptoms in anyone older than the age of 2 years include:

  • Sudden high fever.
  • Stiff neck.
  • Severe headache.
  • Nausea or vomiting.
  • Confusion or trouble concentrating.
  • Seizures.
  • Sleepiness or trouble waking.
  • Sensitivity to light.
  • No appetite or thirst.
  • Skin rash in some cases, such as in meningococcal meningitis.

Signs in newborns

Newborns and infants may show these signs:

  • High fever.
  • Constant crying.
  • Being very sleepy or irritable.
  • Trouble waking from sleep.
  • Being inactive or sluggish.
  • Not waking to eat.
  • Poor feeding.
  • Vomiting.
  • A bulge in the soft spot on top of the baby's head.
  • Stiffness in the body and neck.

Infants with meningitis may be hard to comfort. They may even cry harder when held.

When to see a doctor

Seek immediate medical care if you or someone in your family has meningitis symptoms, such as:

  • Fever.
  • Severe headache that doesn't go away.
  • Confusion.
  • Vomiting.
  • Stiff neck.

Bacterial meningitis is serious and can cause death within days without prompt antibiotic treatment. Delayed treatment also increases the risk of permanent brain damage.

It's also important to talk to your health care provider if you've been exposed to someone with meningitis. That may include a family member or someone you live or work with. You may need to take medicines to prevent getting an infection.

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free, and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips and current health topics, like COVID-19, plus expertise on managing health.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Causes

Viral infections are the most common cause of meningitis. That's followed by bacterial infections and, rarely, fungal and parasitic infections. Because bacterial infections can lead to death, learning the cause is essential.

Bacterial meningitis

Bacteria that enter the bloodstream and travel to the brain and spinal cord cause bacterial meningitis. But bacterial meningitis also can occur when bacteria directly invade the meninges. This may be caused by an ear or sinus infection, a skull fracture, or — rarely — some surgeries.

Several strains of bacteria can cause bacterial meningitis, most commonly:

  • Streptococcus pneumoniae. This bacterium is the most common cause of bacterial meningitis in infants, young children and adults in the United States. It more commonly causes pneumonia or ear or sinus infections. A vaccine can help prevent this infection.
  • Neisseria meningitidis. This bacterium causes a bacterial meningitis called meningococcal meningitis. These bacteria commonly cause an upper respiratory infection but can cause meningococcal meningitis when they enter the bloodstream. This is a highly contagious infection that affects mainly teenagers and young adults. It may cause local epidemics in college dormitories, boarding schools and military bases.

    A vaccine can help prevent infection. Even if vaccinated, anybody who has been in close contact with a person with meningococcal meningitis should receive an oral antibiotic to prevent the disease.

  • Haemophilus influenzae. Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib) bacterium was once the leading cause of bacterial meningitis in children. But new Hib vaccines have greatly reduced the number of cases of this type of meningitis.
  • Listeria monocytogenes. These bacteria can be found in unpasteurized cheeses, hot dogs and lunchmeats. People who are pregnant, newborns, older adults and people with weakened immune systems are most susceptible. During pregnancy, listeria can cross the placenta. Infections in late pregnancy may be fatal to the baby.

Viral meningitis

Viral meningitis is usually mild and often clears on its own. Most cases in the United States are caused by a group of viruses known as enteroviruses. They're most common in late summer and early fall. Viruses such as herpes simplex virus, HIV, mumps virus, West Nile virus and others also can cause viral meningitis.

Chronic meningitis

Chronic meningitis — one that's long-lasting — can be caused by slow-growing organisms such as fungi and Mycobacterium tuberculosis. They invade the membranes and fluid surrounding the brain. Chronic meningitis develops over two weeks or more. Symptoms are similar to acute meningitis, which is a sudden, new case. They include headache, fever, vomiting and mental cloudiness.

Fungal meningitis

Fungal meningitis isn't common in the United States. It may mimic acute bacterial meningitis. It's often contracted by breathing in fungal spores that may be found in soil, decaying wood and bird droppings.

Fungal meningitis isn't spread from person to person. Cryptococcal meningitis is a common fungal form of the disease. It affects people with weakened immune systems, such as from AIDS. It can cause death if not treated with an antifungal medicine. Even with treatment, fungal meningitis may come back.

Parasitic meningitis

Parasites can cause a rare type of meningitis called eosinophilic meningitis. Parasitic meningitis also can be caused by a tapeworm infection in the brain or cerebral malaria. Amoebic meningitis is a rare type that is sometimes contracted through swimming in fresh water and can quickly become life-threatening.

The main parasites that cause meningitis typically infect animals. People are usually infected by eating foods contaminated with these parasites. Parasitic meningitis isn't spread between people.

Other meningitis causes

Meningitis also can result from noninfectious causes. They include chemical reactions, drug allergies, some types of cancer and inflammatory diseases such as sarcoidosis.

Risk factors

Risk factors for meningitis include:

  • Skipping vaccinations. Risk rises for anyone who hasn't completed the recommended childhood or adult vaccination schedule.
  • Age. Most cases of viral meningitis occur in children younger than age 5 years. Bacterial meningitis is common in those under age 20.
  • Living in a community setting. College students living in dormitories, personnel on military bases, and children in boarding schools and child care facilities are at greater risk of meningococcal meningitis. This is probably because the bacterium is spread through the respiratory route, and spreads quickly through large groups.
  • Pregnancy. Pregnancy increases the risk of an infection caused by listeria bacteria, which also may cause meningitis. The infection increases the risk of miscarriage, stillbirth and premature delivery.
  • Weakened immune system. AIDS, alcohol use disorder, diabetes, use of immunosuppressant drugs and other factors that affect your immune system increase the risk of meningitis. Having a spleen removed also increases risk. People without a spleen should get vaccinated to lower the risk.

Complications

Meningitis complications can be severe. The longer you or your child has the disease without treatment, the greater the risk of seizures and permanent neurological damage, including:

  • Hearing loss.
  • Memory problems.
  • Learning disabilities.
  • Brain damage.
  • Trouble walking.
  • Seizures.
  • Kidney failure.
  • Shock.
  • Death.

With prompt treatment, even people with severe meningitis can have good recovery.

Prevention

Common bacteria or viruses that can cause meningitis can spread through coughing, sneezing, kissing, or sharing eating utensils, a toothbrush or a cigarette.

These steps can help prevent meningitis:

  • Wash your hands. Careful hand-washing helps prevent the spread of germs. Teach children to wash their hands often, especially before eating and after using the toilet, spending time in a crowded public place or petting animals. Show them how to thoroughly wash and rinse their hands.
  • Practice good hygiene. Don't share drinks, foods, straws, eating utensils, lip balms or toothbrushes with anyone else. Teach children and teens to avoid sharing these items too.
  • Stay healthy. Maintain your immune system by getting enough rest, exercising regularly, and eating a healthy diet with plenty of fresh fruits, vegetables and whole grains.
  • Cover your mouth. When you need to cough or sneeze, be sure to cover your mouth and nose.
  • If you're pregnant, take care with food. Reduce your risk of a listeria infection by cooking meat, including hot dogs and deli meat, to 165 degrees Fahrenheit (74 degrees Celsius). Avoid cheeses made from unpasteurized milk. Choose cheeses that are clearly labeled as being made with pasteurized milk.

Vaccinations

Some forms of bacterial meningitis are preventable with the following vaccinations:

  • Haemophilus influenzae type b vaccine (Hib). The World Health Organization (WHO) and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommend this vaccine for children starting at about 2 months of age. The vaccine also is recommended for some adults, including those who have sickle cell disease or AIDS and those who don't have a spleen.
  • Pneumococcal conjugate vaccine (PCV13 or PCV15). These vaccines also are part of the CDC recommended routine vaccination schedule for children younger than 2 years. Additional doses are recommended for children between the ages of 2 and 5 who are at high risk of pneumococcal disease, including children who have chronic heart or lung disease or cancer.
  • Pneumococcal polysaccharide vaccine (PPSV23). Older children and adults who need protection from pneumococcal bacteria may receive this vaccine. The CDC recommends the PPSV23 vaccine for all adults older than 65; for younger adults and children age 2 and older who have weak immune systems or chronic illnesses such as heart disease, diabetes or sickle cell anemia; and for anyone who doesn't have a spleen.
  • Meningococcal conjugate vaccine (MenACWY). The CDC recommends that a single dose be given to children ages 11 to 12, with a booster shot given at age 16. If the vaccine is first given between ages 13 and 15, the booster is recommended between ages 16 and 18. If the first shot is given at age 16 or older, no booster is necessary.

    This vaccine also can be given to children between the ages of 2 months and 10 years who are at high risk of bacterial meningitis or who have been exposed to someone with the disease. It's also used to vaccinate healthy but previously unvaccinated people who have been exposed in outbreaks.

  • Serogroup B meningococcal vaccine (MenB). The CDC recommends this vaccine for adults and children 10 years and older who are at increased risk of meningococcal disease. They include adults and children with sickle cell disease, who have a damaged spleen or who have had their spleen removed. They also include people with the rare immune disorder called complement component deficiency or who take certain medicines. This vaccine may be recommended if you're in a population that's having an outbreak of serogroup B meningococcal disease.

Nov. 16, 2022
  1. Meningitis and encephalitis fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Fact-Sheets/Meningitis-and-Encephalitis-Fact-Sheet. Accessed Oct. 10, 2022.
  2. Bacterial meningitis. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/meningitis/bacterial.html. Accessed Oct. 20, 2022.
  3. Ferri FF. Meningitis, bacterial. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2023. Elsevier; 2023. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 21, 2022.
  4. Viral meningitis. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/meningitis/viral.html. Accessed Oct. 10, 2022.
  5. Fungal meningitis. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/meningitis/fungal.html. Accessed Oct. 20, 2022.
  6. Ferri FF. Meningitis, viral. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2023. Elsevier; 2023. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 21, 2022.
  7. Loscalzo J, et al., eds. Acute meningitis. In: Harrison's Principals of Internal Medicine. 21st ed. McGraw Hill; 2022. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Oct. 10, 2022.
  8. Acute bacterial meningitis. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/neurologic-disorders/meningitis/acute-bacterial-meningitis. Accessed Oct. 25, 2022.
  9. Prevention — Listeria (listeriosis). Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/listeria/prevention.html. Accessed Oct. 20, 2022.
  10. Subacute and chronic meningitis. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/neurologic-disorders/meningitis/subacute-and-chronic-meningitis. Accessed Oct. 20, 2022.
  11. Ferri FF. Meningitis, fungal. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2023. Elsevier; 2023. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 25, 2022.
  12. Recommended immunization schedules for children and adolescents aged 18 years or younger, United States, 2020. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/imz/child-adolescent.html. Accessed Oct. 20, 2022.
  13. Recommended adult immunization schedule for adults aged 19 or older, United States, 2020. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/imz/adult.html. Accessed Oct. 20, 2022.
  14. Meningococcal vaccination: What everyone should know. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/vpd/mening/public/index.html. Accessed Oct. 26, 2022.
  15. Sexton D, et al. Approach to the patient with chronic meningitis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 25, 2022.
  16. Tunkel A. Aseptic meningitis in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 25, 2022.
  17. Di Pentima C. Viral meningitis: Management, prognosis, and prevention in children. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 25, 2022.
  18. Parasitic meningitis. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/meningitis/parasitic.html. Accessed Oct. 26, 2022.
  19. Kobayashi M, et al. Use of 15-valent pneumococcal conjugate vaccine among U.S. Children: Updated recommendations of the advirosry- committee on immunization practices – United States, 2022. MMWR Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report. 2022; doi:10.15585/mmwr.mm7137a3.
  20. Summary of WHO position papers — Recommendations for routine immunization. World Health Organization. https://www.who.int/immunization/policy/immunization_tables/en/. Accessed Oct. 26, 2022.