التشخيص

إذا اشتبه الطبيب في وجود حصى الكلى، فقد تحتاج إلى الخضوع لبعض الفحوصات والإجراءات التشخيصية، مثل:

  • فحص الدم. قد تبين اختبارات الدم أن لديك الكثير من الكالسيوم أو حمض اليوريك في الدم. تساعد نتائج اختبارات الدم على مراقبة صحة الكلى لديك، وقد تدفع طبيبك إلى الفحص عن الحالات الطبية الأخرى.
  • فحوص البول. قد يبين الفحص عن طريق جمع البول لمدة 24 ساعة أنك تستخرج الكثير من المعادن التي تشكل الحصوات أو القليل من المواد التي تمنع تكوّن الحصوات. لهذا الفحص، قد يطلب منك الطبيب أن تجري اختبارين جمع البول ليومين متتاليين.
  • التصوير. قد توضح اختبارات التصوير الطبي وجود حصوات الكلى في الجهاز البولي. تتراوح الخيارات بدءًا من التصوير البسيط للبطن بالأشعة السينية، وهو نوع يمكن أن يتعذر عليه إيجاد حصوات الكلى الصغيرة، وصولاً إلى التصوير المقطعي المحوسب (CT) السريع أو ذي الطاقة الثنائية، والمحتمل له أن يُظهر الحصوات الصغيرة.

    كما تشمل خيارات التصوير الأخرى الفحص بالموجات الصوتية والاختبارات غير الباضعة والتصوير الوريدي للجهاز البولي، والذي يتضمن حقن وريد الذراع بصبغة والتصوير بالأشعة السينية (صورة الحويضة الوريدية) أو التصوير المقطعي المحوسب (التصوير المقطعي المحوسب للجهاز البولي) بينما تنتقل الصبغة عبر الكلى والمثانة.

  • تحليل إخراج الحصوات. قد يطلب منك أن تتبول عبر مصفاة لالتقاط الحصوات التي تخرجها. ستكشف التحليلات المختبرية عن تكوين حصوات الكلى لديك. يستخدم طبيبك هذه المعلومات لتحديد السبب في حصوات الكلى ومن أجل وضع خطة لمنع تكوين المزيد منها.

العلاج

يختلف علاج حصوات الكلى تبعًا لنوع الحصوة وسببها.

حصى صغيرة بأعراض ذات حد أدنى

لا تتطلب معظم حصوات الكلى الصغيرة علاجات توغل. قد تكون قادرًا على التخلص من حصوة صغيرة عن طريق:

  • شرب الماء. قد يساعدك شرب كميات تصل من 2 إلى 3 كوارتات (ما يعادل من 1.9 إلى 2.8 لتر) في طرد الحصوة من الجهاز البولي. ما لم يبلغك الطبيب بخلاف ذلك، اشرب كميات كافية من السوائل — معظمها من الماء — لإنتاج بول نقي تقريبًا أو تمامًا.
  • مسكنات الألم. يمكن أن يسبب التخلص من الحصى الصغيرة الشعور ببعض الألم. لتلطيف الألم الخفيف، قد يوصي طبيبك بتناول مسكنات الألم التي تُصرف دون وصفة طبية، مثل إيبوبروفين (أدفيل، وموترين آي بي، وغيرهما)، أو أسيتامينوفين (تايلينول، وغيره)، أو الصوديوم نابروكسين (أليف).
  • العلاج الطبي. قد يصف لك الطبيب دواءً لمساعدتك في التخلص من حصى الكلى. يقوم هذا النوع من الدواء، المعروف بحاصرات مستقبلات ألفا، بإرخاء العضلات في الحالب وتساعدك بذلك في التخلص من حصى الكلى بشكل أسرع وبألم أقل.

الحصوات الكبيرة والحصوات المصحوبة بأعراض

حصوات الكلى التي لا يمكن علاجها عن طريق الإجراءات التحفظية — إما لأنها كبيرة جدًا لتخرج من الجسم وحدها أو لأنها تتسبب في نزيف أو تلف في الكلى أو عدوى مستمرة في المسالك البولية — قد تستدعي تدخلاً جراحيًا بدرجة أكبر. قد يشمل الإجراء الآتي:

  • استخدام موجات صوتية لتفتيت الحصوات. بالنسبة لأنواع معينة من حصوات الكلى — حسب حجم وموقع الحصوات — قد يوصي الطبيب بإجراء يسمى تقنية تفتيت الحصى بالموجات الصادمة من خارج الجسم (ESWL).

    تستخدم هذه التقنية الموجات الصوتية لإحداث ذبذبات قوية (موجات صادمة) تؤدي إلى تفتيت الحصوات التي تخرج مع البول إلى أجزاء صغيرة جدًا. ويستمر الإجراء حوالي 45 إلى 60 دقيقة ويمكن أن يؤدي إلى الشعور بألم متوسط، لذا قد يعطيك الطبيب مهدئًا أو مخدرًا خفيفًا حتى تشعر بالراحة.

    يمكن أن يتسبب إجراء تفتيت الحصى بالموجات الصادمة من خارج الجسم في نزول دم في البول وظهور كدمات على الظهر أو البطن ونزيف حول الكلى والأعضاء المجاورة الأخرى والشعور بعدم الراحة أثناء مرور أجزاء الحصوة عبر المسلك البولي.

  • عملية جراحية لإزالة الحصوات الكبيرة جدًا من الكلى. يسمى الإجراء استخراج حصوات الكلى عن طريق الجلد، ويتضمن إزالة الحصوات جراحيًا باستخدام مناظير صغيرة وأدوات يتم إدخالها عبر شق صغير في الظهر

    وتخضع للجراحة تحت تأثير مخدر عام ويستلزم المكوث في المستشفى يوم أو يومين حتى تتعافى. وقد يوصي الطبيب بهذه الجراحة في حال فشل إجراء تفتيت الحصى بالموجات الصادمة من خارج الجسم.

  • استخدام المنظار لإزالة الحصوات. لإزالة حصوة صغيرة في الحالب أو الكلى، يمكن أن يمرر الطبيب أنبوبًا رفيعًا مضيئًا (منظار الحالب) مزودًا بكاميرا عبر الإحليل والمثانة إلى الحالب.

    وبمجرد تحديد مكان الحصوة، يمكن استخدام أدوات خاصة للإمساك بالحصوة أو تفتيتها إلى أجزاء تخرج في البول. وبعد ذلك، يضع الطبيب أنبوبًا صغيرًا (دعامة) في الحالب لتخفيف التورم وتعزيز عملية الشفاء. وقد تحتاج إلى تخدير عام أو موضعي أثناء هذا الإجراء.

  • جراحة الغدة الجار درقية. تتشكل بعض حصوات فوسفات الكالسيوم نتيجة فرط نشاط الغدد الجار درقية، وهي الغدد الموجودة على الجوانب الأربعة للغدة الدرقية، تحت تفاحة آدم مباشرةً. وعندما تفرز هذه الغدد هرمون الغدة الجار درقية (فرط النشاط الجار درقي) بكميات كبيرة، يمكن أن ترتفع مستويات الكالسيوم في الجسم بدرجة كبيرة وتتشكل حصوات الكلى نتيجة لذلك.

    في بعض الأحيان، يحدث فرط النشاط الجار درقي عندما يتشكل ورم حميد صغير في إحدى الغدد الجار درقية أو تصاب بحالة صحية أخرى تؤدي إلى فرط إفراز هذه الغدد لهرمون الغدة الجار درقية. ويتوقف تشكل حصوات الكلى عند إزالة الورم من الغدة. أو ربما يوصي الطبيب بعلاج الحالة الصحية المتسببة في فرط إفراز الغدة الجار درقية للهرمون.

الوقاية

قد تشمل الوقاية من حصوات الكلى الجمع بين تغييرات أسلوب الحياة والأدوية.

تغييرات في نمط الحياة

قد تُقلِّل من خطر إصابتكَ بحَصَوات الكُلى إذا قمتَ بما يلي:

  • شُرْب الكثير من المياه طوال اليوم. بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين لديهم تاريخ إصابة بحصوات الكُلى، يُوصِي الأطباء عادةً بإخراج حوالي 2.6 ربع جالون (2.5 لتر) من البول في اليوم. قد يَطلُب منكَ طبيبكَ قياس إخراج البول؛ للتأكُّد من أنكَ تشرب كمِّيَّة كافية من الماء.

    إذا كنتَ تعيش في مناخ جافٍّ وحارٍّ، أو كنتَ تُمارِس الرياضة بشكل متكرِّر، فقد تحتاج إلى شُرْب مياه أكثر؛ لإنتاج كمِّيَّة كافية من البول. إذا كان البول فاتح اللون وصافيًا، فمِنَ المحتَمَل أنكَ تشرب قدرًا كافيًا من الماء.

  • تَناوَلْ كمِّيَّة أقل من الأطعمة الغنية بالأوكساليت. إذا كنتَ تميل إلى تكوين حصوات أوكسالات الكالسيوم، فقد ينصحكَ طبيبكَ بالحدِّ من تَناوُل الأطعمة الغنية بالأوكسالات. وتشتمل هذه الأطعمة على الراوند، والبنجر، والبامية، والسبانخ، والسلق، والبطاطا الحلوة، والمكسّرات، والشاي، والشوكولاتة، ومنتجات الصويا.
  • اختَرْ نظامًا غذائيًّا يتَّسِم بانخفاض المِلح والبروتينات الحيوانية. قَلِّل من كمِّيَّة المِلح الذي تتناوله، واختَرْ مصادر بروتين غير حيواني مثل البقوليات. فَكِّر في استخدام بدائل المِلح مثل داش.
  • استمِرَّ في تَناوُل الأطعمة الغنية بالكالسيوم، ولكن تَوَخَّ الحذر مع مكمِّلات الكالسيوم. لا يكون للكالسيوم في الطعام تأثير على خطر الإصابة بحصوات الكُلى. استمرَّ في تَناوُل الأطعمة الغنية بالكالسيوم إلا إذا نصحكَ طبيبكَ بخلاف ذلك.

    استشِرْ طبيبكَ قبل تَناوُل مكمِّلات الكالسيوم، حيث إنها ترتبط بزيادة خطر الإصابة بحصى الكُلى. يُمكِنك تقليل خطر الإصابة عن طريق تَناوُل المكمِّلات الغذائية مع الوجبات. يُمكِن أن يَزيد النظام الغذائي منخفِض الكالسيوم من تكوين حصوات الكُلى لدى بعض الأشخاص.

اطلبْ من طبيبكَ الإحالة إلى اختصاصي التغذية، الذي يُمكِن أن يُساعِدكَ في وضع نظام غذائي يُقلِّل من خطر الإصابة بحصوات الكُلى.

الأدوية

يمكن للأدوية أن تتحكم في كمية المعادن والأملاح في البول، ويمكن أن تفيد الاشخاص الذين يعانون تكوّن أنواع معينة من الحصوات. سيعتمد نوع الدواء الذي يصفه لك طبيبك على نوع حصوات الكلى التي تعانيها. إليكِ بعض الأمثلة:

  • حصوات الكالسيوم. للمساعدة في منع تكوّن حصوات الكالسيوم، ربما يصف طبيبك مدرات البول التي تحتوي على الثيازايد، أو تركيبة دوائية تحتوي على الفوسفات.
  • حصوات حمض اليوريك. ربما يصف طبيبك الألوبيورينول (زيلوبريم، ألوبريم) للحد من مستويات حمض اليوريك في الدم والبول، ودواءًا للحفاظ على قلوية البول. في بعض الحالات، قد يذيب الألوبيورينول والعامل القلوي حصوات حمض اليوريك.
  • حصوات الستروفايت. للوقاية من الحصوات الستروفيتية، ربما يوصي طبيبك بإستراتيجيات للحفاظ على خلو البول من البكتيريا التي تسبب العدوى. قد يساعد استخدام طويل المدى للمضادات الحيوية بجرعات صغيرة في تحقيق هذا الهدف. على سبيل المثال، يمكن أن يوصي طبيبك بتناول مضاد حيوي قبل الجراحة وبعدها بمدة؛ لعلاج حصوات الكلى.
  • حصوات السيستين. يمكن أن يكون علاج الحصوات السيستينية أمرًا صعبًا. ربما يوصي طبيبك بشرب المزيد من السوائل حتى تنتج المزيد من البول. إذا لم يجد ذلك وحده نفعًا، فربما يصف طبيبك أيضًا دواءًا يقلل كمية السيستين في البول.

التجارب السريرية

اطلع على الدراسات التي تجريها Mayo Clinic لاختبار العلاجات والتدخلات الطبية والفحوصات الجديدة كوسائل للوقاية من هذا المرض أو تشخيصه أو علاجه أو السيطرة عليه.

الاستعداد لموعدك

يستطيع طبيب العائلة علاج حصوات الكلى الصغيرة التي لا تسد الكلية ولا تسبب مشكلات أخرى. لكن إذا كنت مصابًا بحصوات كبيرة في الكلى، وتعاني ألمًا شديدًا أو مشكلات بها، فقد يحيلك طبيبك إلى طبيب يعالج مشكلات المسالك البولية (اختصاصي المسالك البولية أو اختصاصي الكلى).

ما يمكنك فعله

للاستعداد لموعدك:

  • أسأل عما إذا كانت هناك أمور يلزم إجراؤها قبل الموعد، مثل تحديد نظامك الغذائي.
  • دوِّن الأعراض التي تعانيها، بما في ذلك أي أعراض قد لا تبدو ذات صلة بحصوات الكلى.
  • سجّل مقدار الشرب والتبول خلال فترة مقدارها 24 ساعة.
  • أعد قائمة بجميع الأدوية أو الفيتامينات أو المكملات الغذائية الأخرى التي تتناولها.
  • اصطحب معك أحد أفراد العائلة أو أحد الأصدقاء، إن أمكن، لمساعدتك في تذكر ما ستناقشه مع طبيبك.
  • دوِّن أسئلتك لطرحها على الطبيب.

بالنسبة لحصوات الكلى، تتضمن بعض الأسئلة الأساسية ما يلي:

  • هل لديّ حصاة في الكلى؟
  • ما هو حجم حصاة الكلى؟
  • أين تقع الحصاة في الكلى؟
  • ما نوع حصاة الكلى التي لديّ؟
  • هل أحتاج إلى دواء لعلاج الحالة؟
  • هل سأحتاج إلى جراحة أو إجراء آخر؟
  • ما هي فرصة أن أصاب بحصاة أخرى في الكلى؟
  • كيف يمكنني تجنب الإصابة بحصوات الكلى في المستقبل؟
  • أعاني حالات صحية أخرى. كيف يمكنني إدارتها معًا بشكل أفضل؟
  • هل توجد أي قيود يجب عليَّ اتباعها؟
  • هل يجب عليَّ زيارة أخصائي؟ إذا كان الأمر كذلك، فهل يغطي التأمين عادة خدمات الأخصائي؟
  • هل هناك دواء بديل جنيس للدواء الذي تصفه؟
  • هل هناك أي مواد تعليمية يمكنني أخذها معي؟ ما المواقع الإلكترونية التي توصي بها؟
  • هل أحتاج إلى إجراء زيارة متابعة؟

إلى جانب الأسئلة التي أعددتها مسبقًا، لا تتردد في طرح أي أسئلة أخرى تتبادر إلى ذهنك خلال موعدك.

ما الذي تتوقعه من طبيبك

قد يطرح طبيبك عليك عددًا من الأسئلة، مثل:

  • متى بدأت أعراضك؟
  • هل أعراضك مستمرة أم عرضية؟
  • ما مدى شدة الأعراض التي تعانيها؟
  • ما الذي قد يحسن من أعراضك، إن وُجد؟
  • ما الذي يجعل أعراضك تزداد سوءًا، إن وُجد؟
  • هل أصيب أي فرد آخر من عائلتك بحصوات الكلى؟

حصوات في الكلى - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

08/02/2019
  1. Goldman L, et al., eds. Nephrolithiasis. In: Goldman-Cecil Medicine. 25th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 21, 2017.
  2. Kidney stones. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/urologic-diseases/kidney-stones. Accessed Jan. 21, 2017.
  3. McKean SC, et al. Kidney stones. In: Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine. New York, N.Y: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2012. http://www.accessmedicine.com. Accessed Jan. 21, 2017.
  4. What are kidney stones? American Urological Association. http://www.urologyhealth.org/urologic-conditions/kidney-stones. Accessed Jan. 21, 2017.
  5. Kidney stone treatment: Shock wave lithotripsy. https://www.kidney.org/atoz/content/kidneystones_shockwave. Accessed Jan. 21, 2017.
  6. Pearle MS, et al. Medical management of kidney stones: AUA guideline. The Journal of Urology. 2014;192:316.
  7. Melmed S, et al. Kidney stones. In: Williams Textbook of Endocrinology. 12th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2011. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 21, 2017.
  8. Brown A. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Oct. 13, 2016.
  9. Humphries MR (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Jan. 25, 2017.

Diagnosis

If your doctor suspects you have a kidney stone, you may have diagnostic tests and procedures, such as:

  • Blood testing. Blood tests may reveal too much calcium or uric acid in your blood. Blood test results help monitor the health of your kidneys and may lead your doctor to check for other medical conditions.
  • Urine testing. The 24-hour urine collection test may show that you're excreting too many stone-forming minerals or too few stone-preventing substances. For this test, your doctor may request that you perform two urine collections over two consecutive days.
  • Imaging. Imaging tests may show kidney stones in your urinary tract. Options range from simple abdominal X-rays, which can miss small kidney stones, to high-speed or dual energy computerized tomography (CT) that may reveal even tiny stones.

    Other imaging options include an ultrasound, a noninvasive test, and intravenous urography, which involves injecting dye into an arm vein and taking X-rays (intravenous pyelogram) or obtaining CT images (CT urogram) as the dye travels through your kidneys and bladder.

  • Analysis of passed stones. You may be asked to urinate through a strainer to catch stones that you pass. Lab analysis will reveal the makeup of your kidney stones. Your doctor uses this information to determine what's causing your kidney stones and to form a plan to prevent more kidney stones.

Treatment

Treatment for kidney stones varies, depending on the type of stone and the cause.

Small stones with minimal symptoms

Most small kidney stones won't require invasive treatment. You may be able to pass a small stone by:

  • Drinking water. Drinking as much as 2 to 3 quarts (1.9 to 2.8 liters) a day may help flush out your urinary system. Unless your doctor tells you otherwise, drink enough fluid — mostly water — to produce clear or nearly clear urine.
  • Pain relievers. Passing a small stone can cause some discomfort. To relieve mild pain, your doctor may recommend pain relievers such as ibuprofen (Advil, Motrin IB, others), acetaminophen (Tylenol, others) or naproxen sodium (Aleve).
  • Medical therapy. Your doctor may give you a medication to help pass your kidney stone. This type of medication, known as an alpha blocker, relaxes the muscles in your ureter, helping you pass the kidney stone more quickly and with less pain.

Large stones and those that cause symptoms

Kidney stones that can't be treated with conservative measures — either because they're too large to pass on their own or because they cause bleeding, kidney damage or ongoing urinary tract infections — may require more-extensive treatment. Procedures may include:

  • Using sound waves to break up stones. For certain kidney stones — depending on size and location — your doctor may recommend a procedure called extracorporeal shock wave lithotripsy (ESWL).

    ESWL uses sound waves to create strong vibrations (shock waves) that break the stones into tiny pieces that can be passed in your urine. The procedure lasts about 45 to 60 minutes and can cause moderate pain, so you may be under sedation or light anesthesia to make you comfortable.

    ESWL can cause blood in the urine, bruising on the back or abdomen, bleeding around the kidney and other adjacent organs, and discomfort as the stone fragments pass through the urinary tract.

  • Surgery to remove very large stones in the kidney. A procedure called percutaneous nephrolithotomy (nef-row-lih-THOT-uh-me) involves surgically removing a kidney stone using small telescopes and instruments inserted through a small incision in your back.

    You will receive general anesthesia during the surgery and be in the hospital for one to two days while you recover. Your doctor may recommend this surgery if ESWL was unsuccessful.

  • Using a scope to remove stones. To remove a smaller stone in your ureter or kidney, your doctor may pass a thin lighted tube (ureteroscope) equipped with a camera through your urethra and bladder to your ureter.

    Once the stone is located, special tools can snare the stone or break it into pieces that will pass in your urine. Your doctor may then place a small tube (stent) in the ureter to relieve swelling and promote healing. You may need general or local anesthesia during this procedure.

  • Parathyroid gland surgery. Some calcium phosphate stones are caused by overactive parathyroid glands, which are located on the four corners of your thyroid gland, just below your Adam's apple. When these glands produce too much parathyroid hormone (hyperparathyroidism), your calcium levels can become too high and kidney stones may form as a result.

    Hyperparathyroidism sometimes occurs when a small, benign tumor forms in one of your parathyroid glands or you develop another condition that leads these glands to produce more parathyroid hormone. Removing the growth from the gland stops the formation of kidney stones. Or your doctor may recommend treatment of the condition that's causing your parathyroid gland to overproduce the hormone.

Prevention

Prevention of kidney stones may include a combination of lifestyle changes and medications.

Lifestyle changes

You may reduce your risk of kidney stones if you:

  • Drink water throughout the day. For people with a history of kidney stones, doctors usually recommend passing about 2.6 quarts (2.5 liters) of urine a day. Your doctor may ask that you measure your urine output to make sure that you're drinking enough water.

    If you live in a hot, dry climate or you exercise frequently, you may need to drink even more water to produce enough urine. If your urine is light and clear, you're likely drinking enough water.

  • Eat fewer oxalate-rich foods. If you tend to form calcium oxalate stones, your doctor may recommend restricting foods rich in oxalates. These include rhubarb, beets, okra, spinach, Swiss chard, sweet potatoes, nuts, tea, chocolate, black pepper and soy products.
  • Choose a diet low in salt and animal protein. Reduce the amount of salt you eat and choose nonanimal protein sources, such as legumes. Consider using a salt substitute, such as Mrs. Dash.
  • Continue eating calcium-rich foods, but use caution with calcium supplements. Calcium in food doesn't have an effect on your risk of kidney stones. Continue eating calcium-rich foods unless your doctor advises otherwise.

    Ask your doctor before taking calcium supplements, as these have been linked to increased risk of kidney stones. You may reduce the risk by taking supplements with meals. Diets low in calcium can increase kidney stone formation in some people.

Ask your doctor for a referral to a dietitian who can help you develop an eating plan that reduces your risk of kidney stones.

Medications

Medications can control the amount of minerals and salts in your urine and may be helpful in people who form certain kinds of stones. The type of medication your doctor prescribes will depend on the kind of kidney stones you have. Here are some examples:

  • Calcium stones. To help prevent calcium stones from forming, your doctor may prescribe a thiazide diuretic or a phosphate-containing preparation.
  • Uric acid stones. Your doctor may prescribe allopurinol (Zyloprim, Aloprim) to reduce uric acid levels in your blood and urine and a medicine to keep your urine alkaline. In some cases, allopurinol and an alkalizing agent may dissolve the uric acid stones.
  • Struvite stones. To prevent struvite stones, your doctor may recommend strategies to keep your urine free of bacteria that cause infection. Long-term use of antibiotics in small doses may help achieve this goal. For instance, your doctor may recommend an antibiotic before and for a while after surgery to treat your kidney stones.
  • Cystine stones. Cystine stones can be difficult to treat. Your doctor may recommend that you drink more fluids so that you produce a lot more urine. If that alone doesn't help, your doctor may also prescribe a medication that decreases the amount of cystine in your urine.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Preparing for your appointment

Small kidney stones that don't block your kidney or cause other problems can be treated by your family doctor. But if you have a large kidney stone and experience severe pain or kidney problems, your doctor may refer you to a doctor who treats problems in the urinary tract (urologist or nephrologist).

What you can do

To prepare for your appointment:

  • Ask if there's anything you need to do before your appointment, such as limit your diet.
  • Write down your symptoms, including any that seem unrelated to kidney stones.
  • Keep track of how much you drink and urinate during a 24-hour period.
  • Make a list of all medications, vitamins or other supplements that you take.
  • Take a family member or friend along, if possible, to help you remember what you discuss with your doctor.
  • Write down questions to ask your doctor.

For kidney stones, some basic questions include:

  • Do I have a kidney stone?
  • What size is the kidney stone?
  • Where is the kidney stone located?
  • What type of kidney stone do I have?
  • Will I need medication to treat my condition?
  • Will I need surgery or another procedure?
  • What's the chance that I'll develop another kidney stone?
  • How can I prevent kidney stones in the future?
  • I have other health conditions. How can I best manage them together?
  • Do I need to follow any restrictions?
  • Should I see a specialist? If so, does insurance typically cover the services of a specialist?
  • Is there a generic alternative to the medicine you're prescribing?
  • Do you have any educational material that I can take with me? What websites do you recommend?
  • Do I need a follow-up visit?

Besides the questions you prepare in advance, don't hesitate to ask any other questions during your appointment as they occur to you.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions, such as:

  • When did your symptoms begin?
  • Have your symptoms been continuous or occasional?
  • How severe are your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, seems to improve your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, appears to worsen your symptoms?
  • Has anyone else in your family had kidney stones?

Kidney stones care at Mayo Clinic

May 18, 2017
References
  1. Goldman L, et al., eds. Nephrolithiasis. In: Goldman-Cecil Medicine. 25th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 21, 2017.
  2. Kidney stones. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/urologic-diseases/kidney-stones. Accessed Jan. 21, 2017.
  3. McKean SC, et al. Kidney stones. In: Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine. New York, N.Y: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2012. http://www.accessmedicine.com. Accessed Jan. 21, 2017.
  4. What are kidney stones? American Urological Association. http://www.urologyhealth.org/urologic-conditions/kidney-stones. Accessed Jan. 21, 2017.
  5. Kidney stone treatment: Shock wave lithotripsy. https://www.kidney.org/atoz/content/kidneystones_shockwave. Accessed Jan. 21, 2017.
  6. Pearle MS, et al. Medical management of kidney stones: AUA guideline. The Journal of Urology. 2014;192:316.
  7. Melmed S, et al. Kidney stones. In: Williams Textbook of Endocrinology. 12th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2011. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 21, 2017.
  8. Brown A. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Oct. 13, 2016.
  9. Humphries MR (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Jan. 25, 2017.