诊断

医生会结合您的症状和检测结果来诊断嗜酸细胞性食管炎。其中包括确定您是否患有胃食管反流病(GERD)。

用于诊断嗜酸细胞性食管炎的检查包括:

  • 上消化道内镜检查。医生会使用一根装有灯和微型摄像头的细长软管(内镜),经您的嘴插入到食管。医生会检查您的食管内膜是否有炎症和肿胀、水平环、垂直沟、缩窄(狭窄)和白斑。部分嗜酸细胞性食管炎患者的食管看起来会显得很正常。
  • 活检。使用内镜检查时,医生会对您的食管进行活检。活检需要采集一小块组织。医生可能会从您的食管中采集多份样本,然后在显微镜下检查这些组织中是否有嗜酸性粒细胞。
  • 血液检测。如果医生怀疑您患有嗜酸细胞性食管炎,可能会让您接受一些额外的检查以确诊,并开始寻找过敏反应的来源(过敏原)。您可能需要接受血液检测,以寻找高于正常水平的嗜酸性粒细胞数或免疫球蛋白 E 总数,如果数值超标即表示存在过敏。
  • 食管海绵。这项检查是在医生诊所进行,您需要吞下一个连接在绳子上的胶囊。胶囊会在您的胃里溶解,释放出一块海绵,医生会通过绳子将海绵从您的嘴里拉出来。在拉出的过程中,海绵将对食管组织取样。这样一来,医生无需使用内镜即可确定食管发炎的程度。

治疗

嗜酸细胞性食管炎被认为是一种慢性复发性疾病,这意味着大多数患者将需要通过持续治疗来控制症状。治疗可能包括以下一项或多项:

饮食疗法

根据您对食物过敏测试的反应,医生可能会建议您停止食用某些食物,例如奶制品或小麦制品,以缓解您的症状和减轻炎症。有时还会有更多的饮食限制。

用药

  • 质子泵抑制剂(PPI)。医生可能先开出酸阻滞剂处方,如质子泵抑制剂。这种疗法最容易使用,但大多数人的症状并没有改善。
  • 局部类固醇。如果您对PPI没有反应,医生可能开局部类固醇药物,如氟替卡松或布地奈德,这种液体形式的药物可吞服治疗嗜酸细胞性食管炎。这种类型的类固醇不会被血液吸收,所以可能不会出现通常与类固醇相关的典型副作用。

扩张术

如果您的食管严重变窄(狭窄),医生可能会建议进行扩张术(伸展),这样让可以让吞咽更轻松。如果类固醇没有效果,可能会使用扩张术。或者如果要避免持续使用药物,也可以选择采用扩张术。

Get the latest health information from Mayo Clinic delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe for free and receive your in-depth guide to digestive health, plus the latest on health innovations and news. You can unsubscribe at any time.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

生活方式与家庭疗法

如果您经常发生胃灼热,这些生活方式的改变可能有助于减少症状的发生频率或严重程度:

  • 保持健康体重。过重会给腹部造成压力,使胃部向上倾斜,并使酸倒流到食管中。如果您的体重处于健康水平,请努力保持这种状态。如果您超重或肥胖,请慢慢减重,每周不要超过 1 或 2 磅(0.5 到 1 千克)。向您的医生寻求帮助,以制定适合您的减重策略。
  • 避开引起胃灼热的食物和饮料。常见的诱因包括脂肪或油炸食品、番茄酱、酒精、巧克力、薄荷、大蒜、洋葱和咖啡因,这些食品可能会使胃灼热恶化。避免食用引发您胃灼热的食物。
  • 升高床头。如果您经常在晚上或试图入睡时感到胃灼热,请利用重力减轻症状。可以在床脚下放置木头或水泥块,使床头提高 6 到 9 英寸(152 至 228 毫米)。如果无法抬高床头,就在床垫和弹簧盒之间插入一个楔形物,从而从腰部抬起您的身体。

准备您的预约

如果您认为自己患上了嗜酸细胞性食管炎,可能会先去看家庭医生或全科医生。医生可能会建议您去看治疗消化疾病的专家(胃肠科医生)或过敏症专科医生。

由于就诊时间可能很短,而且通常会涉及很多方面,因此最好为就诊做好准备。以下信息可以帮助您做好准备,并了解医生可能会做什么。

您可以做什么

  • 了解就诊前是否有任何限制规定。约诊时,请务必询问是否需要提前做好准备,例如限制饮食。
  • 携带检查结果。如果您在别的医生那里做了内镜检查之后,要去新的专家那里就诊,请带上检查结果。
  • 列出您出现的任何症状,包括看似与您的约诊原因无关的任何症状。
  • 写下关键的个人信息,包括主要压力或近期的生活变化。
  • 列出您正在使用的所有药物、维生素或补充剂。
  • 考虑让家人或朋友陪同就诊。有时很难记住就诊期间提供给您的所有信息。陪同者可能会记住您所遗漏或忘记的一些事项。
  • 写下要向医生咨询的问题

您的就诊时间有限,因此提前准备好问题清单有助于充分利用就诊时间。请按照重要性从高到低的顺序列出问题,以免时间不够。关于嗜酸细胞性食管炎,要向医生咨询的一些基本问题包括:

  • 哪些原因可能导致了我的症状?
  • 我需要做哪些检查?
  • 我需要做内镜检查吗?
  • 我的病症是暂时问题还是长期病症?
  • 最佳治疗方案是什么?
  • 除了您推荐的主要治疗方法以外,还有什么替代疗法?
  • 我还有其他健康问题。我怎样才能最好地同时管理它们?
  • 我需要遵守哪些限制规定?
  • 我应该去看专科医生吗?治疗费用是多少?
  • 是否有仿制药可以替代您开的药物?
  • 是否有我可以带走的手册或其他印刷材料?您建议哪些网站?
  • 我是否应该安排复诊?

除了您准备咨询的问题外,就诊期间还可以随时提出其他问题。

医生可能做些什么

医生可能会问您一些问题。准备好回答这些问题,可以让您有更多的时间讨论您想解决的其他问题。

  • 您有哪些症状?
  • 您是从什么时候开始注意到这些问题的?
  • 症状是持续存在还是偶尔出现?
  • 您的症状有多严重?
  • 什么情况(如有)似乎会缓解您的症状?
  • 什么情况(如有)似乎会加重您的症状?
  • 您的症状是否会让您在半夜醒来?
  • 您的症状是否会在餐后或躺下后加重?
  • 您是否出现吞咽困难?
  • 吞咽时是否有食物卡住?
  • 食物或酸味物质是否曾涌上您的咽喉后部?
  • 您是否有胸部疼痛或胃疼?
  • 您是否曾患过食管扩张?
  • 您是否曾接受过外用类固醇或排除饮食治疗?
  • 您的体重是增加了还是减轻了?
  • 您是否出现过恶心或呕吐的症状?
  • 您的症状是否在一年中的某些时候加重?
  • 您是否患有哮喘或任何慢性呼吸道疾病?
  • 您是否对任何食物或环境中的任何物质(如花粉)过敏?
  • 您家中是否有人患过敏症?
  • 您是否尝试过服用抗酸剂或抗反流药物?结果如何?

如果您是幼儿的父母,医生可能还会询问您的孩子是否有喂养问题或诊断为发育停滞。

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

Sept. 23, 2020
  1. Surdea-Blaga T, et al. Eosinophilic esophagitis: Diagnosis and current management. Journal of Gastrointestinal and Liver Diseases. 2020;doi:10.15403/jgld-768.
  2. Spechler SJ. Eosinophilic esophagitis: Novel concepts regarding pathogenesis and clinical manifestations. Journal of Gastroenterology. 2019; doi:10.1007/s00535-019-01604-7.
  3. Eosinophilic esophagitis. American Partnership for Eosinophilic Disorders. https://apfed.org/about-ead/egids/eoe/#:~:text=Eosinophilic%20esophagitis%20(EoE)%20is%20a,and%20inflammation%20to%20the%20esophagus. Accessed Aug. 22, 2020.
  4. Eosinophilic esophagitis in pediatric and adolescent patients. American College of Gastroenterology. https://gi.org/topics/eosinophilic-esophagitis-in-pediatric-and-adolescent-patients/#:~:text=Infants%20and%20toddlers%20with%20EoE,)%2C%20especially%20with%20solid%20meals. Accessed Aug. 22, 2020.
  5. Gómez-Aldana A, et al. Eosinophilic esophagitis: Current concepts in diagnosis and treatment. World Journal of Gastroenterology. 2019; doi:10.3748/wjg.v25.i32.4598.
  6. Acid reflux. American College of Gastroenterology. https://gi.org/topics/acid-reflux/. Accessed Aug. 22, 2020.
  7. Brown AY. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. June 24, 2020.
  8. Alexander JA (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Aug. 27, 2020.

Diagnosis

Your doctor will consider both your symptoms and test results to diagnose eosinophilic esophagitis. This will include determining whether you have gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD).

Tests to diagnose eosinophilic esophagitis include:

  • Upper endoscopy. Your doctor will use a long narrow tube (endoscope) containing a light and tiny camera and insert it through your mouth down the esophagus. The doctor will inspect the lining of your esophagus for inflammation and swelling, horizontal rings, vertical furrows, narrowing (strictures), and white spots. Some people with eosinophilic esophagitis will have an esophagus that looks normal.
  • Biopsy. During an endoscopy, your doctor will perform a biopsy of your esophagus. A biopsy involves taking a small bit of tissue. Your doctor will likely take multiple samples from your esophagus and then examine the tissue under a microscope for eosinophils.
  • Blood tests. If doctors suspect eosinophilic esophagitis, you may undergo some additional tests to confirm the diagnosis and to begin to look for the sources of your allergic reaction (allergens). You may be given blood tests to look for higher than normal eosinophil counts or total immunoglobulin E levels, suggesting an allergy.
  • Esophageal sponge. This test is performed in the doctor's office and involves swallowing a capsule attached to a string. The capsule will dissolve in your stomach and release a sponge that the doctor will pull out your mouth with the string. As the sponge is pulled out, it will sample the esophageal tissues and allow the doctor to determine the degree of inflammation in your esophagus without having to undergo endoscopy.

Treatment

Eosinophilic esophagitis is considered a chronic relapsing disease, meaning that most people will require ongoing treatment to control their symptoms. Treatment will involve one or more of the following:

Dietary therapy

Depending on your response to tests for food allergies, your doctor may recommend that you stop eating certain foods, such as dairy or wheat products, to relieve your symptoms and reduce inflammation. A more limited diet is sometimes required.

Medication

  • Proton pump inhibitor (PPI). Your doctor will likely first prescribe an acid blocker such as a PPI. This treatment is the easiest to use, but most people's symptoms don't improve.
  • Topical steroid. If you do not respond to the PPI, your doctor will then likely prescribe a topical steroid, such as fluticasone or budesonide, which is a liquid that is swallowed to treat eosinophilic esophagitis. This type of steroid is not absorbed into the bloodstream, so you are unlikely to have the typical side effects often associated with steroids.

Dilation

If you experience severe narrowing (strictures) of your esophagus, your doctor may recommend dilation (stretching) to help make swallowing easier. Dilation may be used if steroids are not helpful. Or dilation may be a choice to avoid ongoing use of medication.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Lifestyle and home remedies

If you often have heartburn, these lifestyle changes may help reduce the frequency or severity of symptoms:

  • Maintain a healthy weight. Excess pounds put pressure on your abdomen, pushing up your stomach and causing acid to back up into your esophagus. If your weight is at a healthy level, work to maintain it. If you are overweight or obese, work to slowly lose weight — no more than 1 or 2 pounds (0.5 to 1 kilogram) a week. Ask your doctor for help in devising a weight-loss strategy that will work for you.
  • Avoid foods and drinks that trigger heartburn. Common triggers, such as fatty or fried foods, tomato sauce, alcohol, chocolate, mint, garlic, onion, and caffeine, may make heartburn worse. Avoid foods that you know will trigger your heartburn.
  • Elevate the head of your bed. If you regularly experience heartburn at night or while trying to sleep, put gravity to work for you. Place wood or cement blocks under the feet of your bed so that the head end is raised by 6 to 9 inches (152 to 228 millimeters). If it's not possible to elevate your bed, insert a wedge between your mattress and box spring to elevate your body from the waist up.

Preparing for your appointment

If you think you have eosinophilic esophagitis, you're likely to start by seeing your family doctor or a general practitioner. Your doctor may recommend that you see a specialist in treating digestive diseases (gastroenterologist) or an allergist.

Because appointments can be brief, and because there's often a lot of ground to cover, it's a good idea to be well prepared. Here's some information to help you get ready, and what to expect from your doctor.

What you can do

  • Be aware of any pre-appointment restrictions. At the time you make the appointment, be sure to ask if there's anything you need to do in advance, such as restrict your diet.
  • Bring test results. If you are seeing a new specialist after you've had an endoscopy from another doctor, bring the results with you.
  • Write down any symptoms you're experiencing, including any that may seem unrelated to the reason for which you scheduled the appointment.
  • Write down key personal information, including any major stresses or recent life changes.
  • Make a list of all medications, vitamins or supplements that you're taking.
  • Consider taking a family member or friend along. Sometimes it can be difficult to absorb all the information provided during an appointment. Someone who accompanies you may remember something that you missed or forgot.
  • Write down questions to ask your doctor.

Your time with your doctor is limited, so preparing a list of questions can help you make the most of your time together. List your questions from most important to least important in case time runs out. For eosinophilic esophagitis, some basic questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What is likely causing my symptoms?
  • What kinds of tests do I need?
  • Do I need an endoscopy?
  • Is my condition likely temporary or chronic?
  • What is the best course of action?
  • What are the alternatives to the primary approach that you're suggesting?
  • I have other health conditions. How can I best manage them together?
  • Are there any restrictions I need to follow?
  • Should I see a specialist? What will it cost?
  • Is there a generic alternative to the medicine you're prescribing for me?
  • Are there brochures or other printed material I can take with me? What websites do you recommend?
  • Should I schedule a follow-up visit?

In addition to the questions you've prepared, don't hesitate to ask questions during your appointment.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions. Being ready to answer them may allow more time later to cover points you want to address.

  • What are your symptoms?
  • When did you first notice them?
  • Have they been continuous or occasional?
  • How severe are your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, seems to improve your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, appears to worsen your symptoms?
  • Do your symptoms wake you up at night?
  • Are your symptoms worse after meals or after lying down?
  • Do you have difficulty swallowing?
  • Have you ever had food get stuck while you are swallowing?
  • Does food or sour material ever come up in the back of your throat?
  • Do you have chest pain or stomach pain?
  • Have you had an esophageal dilation?
  • Have you been treated with a topical steroid or food elimination diet?
  • Have you gained or lost weight?
  • Do you experience nausea or vomiting?
  • Are your symptoms worse at certain times of the year?
  • Do you have asthma or any chronic respiratory disease?
  • Do you have any allergies to foods or to anything in the environment, such as pollen?
  • Does anyone in your family have allergies?
  • Have you tried taking antacid or anti-reflux medication? What was the result?

If you're a parent of a young child, the doctor may also ask if your child has trouble feeding or has been diagnosed with failure to thrive.

Eosinophilic esophagitis care at Mayo Clinic

Sept. 23, 2020
  1. Surdea-Blaga T, et al. Eosinophilic esophagitis: Diagnosis and current management. Journal of Gastrointestinal and Liver Diseases. 2020;doi:10.15403/jgld-768.
  2. Spechler SJ. Eosinophilic esophagitis: Novel concepts regarding pathogenesis and clinical manifestations. Journal of Gastroenterology. 2019; doi:10.1007/s00535-019-01604-7.
  3. Eosinophilic esophagitis. American Partnership for Eosinophilic Disorders. https://apfed.org/about-ead/egids/eoe/#:~:text=Eosinophilic%20esophagitis%20(EoE)%20is%20a,and%20inflammation%20to%20the%20esophagus. Accessed Aug. 22, 2020.
  4. Eosinophilic esophagitis in pediatric and adolescent patients. American College of Gastroenterology. https://gi.org/topics/eosinophilic-esophagitis-in-pediatric-and-adolescent-patients/#:~:text=Infants%20and%20toddlers%20with%20EoE,)%2C%20especially%20with%20solid%20meals. Accessed Aug. 22, 2020.
  5. Gómez-Aldana A, et al. Eosinophilic esophagitis: Current concepts in diagnosis and treatment. World Journal of Gastroenterology. 2019; doi:10.3748/wjg.v25.i32.4598.
  6. Acid reflux. American College of Gastroenterology. https://gi.org/topics/acid-reflux/. Accessed Aug. 22, 2020.
  7. Brown AY. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. June 24, 2020.
  8. Alexander JA (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Aug. 27, 2020.

Related

Associated Procedures

News from Mayo Clinic

Products & Services