概述

糖尿病性视网膜病变是一种影响到眼睛的糖尿病并发症。它是由眼睛后部感光组织(视网膜)的血管损伤而引起。

起初,糖尿病性视网膜病变可能不会引起症状,或是只造成轻微的视力问题。最终可能导致失明。

任何 1 型或 2 型糖尿病患者都可能出现这种情况。您患糖尿病的时间越长,血糖控制得就越差,您就越有可能患上这种眼部并发症。

症状

在糖尿病性视网膜病变的早期阶段,您可能不会出现症状。随着病情的发展,糖尿病性视网膜病变的症状可能包括:

  • 视野中出现漂浮的斑点或暗线(漂浮物)
  • 视力模糊
  • 视力波动
  • 色觉损伤
  • 视野中的黑暗或空白区域
  • 视力减退

糖尿病性视网膜病变通常会影响双眼。

何时就诊

悉心控制糖尿病是预防视力减退的最好方法。如果您患有糖尿病,即便您的视力看起来没什么问题,您也应该每年预约眼科医生做一次散瞳视力检查。怀孕可能会加重糖尿病性视网膜病变,所以如果您怀孕了,眼科医生可能会建议您在怀孕期间进行额外的眼科检查。

如果您的视力突然发生变化或变得模糊,出现斑点或变得朦胧,请立即联系您的眼科医生。

病因

血液中的糖分过多会逐渐导致为视网膜提供养分的毛细血管阻塞,从而切断了视网膜的血液供应。结果,眼睛会尝试长出新血管。但是这些新血管发育不正常,容易渗漏。

糖尿病性视网膜病变有两种类型:

  • 早期糖尿病性视网膜病变。这种形式更加常见,称为非增生性糖尿病性视网膜病变(简称 NPDR),此时新血管没有在增长(增生)。

    如果您患有 NPDR,视网膜血管壁会变弱。微小的凸起(微动脉瘤)从较小的血管的血管壁突出,有时会让液体和血液渗入视网膜。较大的视网膜血管也会开始扩张,直径也会变得不规则。随着更多血管阻塞,NPDR 可能从轻度发展为严重。

    视网膜中的神经纤维可能开始肿胀。有时视网膜中央部位(黄斑)开始肿胀(黄斑水肿),这种状况便需要治疗。

  • 晚期糖尿病性视网膜病变。糖尿病性视网膜病变可以发展为这种更严重的类型,称为增生性糖尿病性视网膜病变。在这种类型中,受损的血管会闭合,导致视网膜中生长出新的异常血管,并可能渗入眼中部充满的透明果冻状物质中(玻璃体)。

    最终,由于新血管生长而刺激的疤痕组织可能导致视网膜从眼后脱离。如果新血管干扰了眼液的正常流出,眼球中可能会积聚压力。这会损伤负责将图像从眼睛传送到大脑的神经(视神经),从而导致青光眼。

风险因素

任何糖尿病患者都可能发生糖尿病性视网膜病变。以下因素可增加患眼部疾病的风险:

  • 糖尿病病程(糖尿病病程越长,发生糖尿病性视网膜病变的风险越大)
  • 血糖水平控制不佳
  • 高血压
  • 高胆固醇
  • 怀孕
  • 烟草使用
  • 非裔美国人、西裔美国人或美洲原住民

并发症

糖尿病性视网膜病变涉及视网膜血管的异常生长。并发症会导致以下严重视力问题:

  • 玻璃体积血。新血管的血液可能会流入填充眼球中心的透明胶状物质。如果出血量很小,您可能只会看到一些黑点(漂浮物)。在较严重的情况下,血液会填满玻璃体腔,完全遮挡视线。

    玻璃体积血本身通常不会导致永久性视力减退。血液通常可在几周或几个月内从眼睛中排出。视力可恢复至原来的清晰度,除非视网膜受损。

  • 视网膜脱离。与糖尿病性视网膜病变有关的异常血管会刺激疤痕组织生长,从而将视网膜拉离眼后部。这可能会导致视线中出现漂浮斑点、闪光或严重的视力减退。
  • 青光眼。新血管可能会在眼睛前部生长,干扰液体正常流出眼睛,从而导致眼内压力增加(青光眼)。这种压力会损伤将图像从眼睛传到大脑的神经(视神经)。
  • 失明。糖尿病性视网膜病变、青光眼或二者一起最终可能导致视力完全丧失。

预防

糖尿病性视网膜病变防不胜防。然而,定期的眼科检查、良好的血糖和血压控制,以及对视力问题的早期干预可以帮助防止严重的视力丧失。

如果您患有糖尿病,可通过以下方法降低患糖尿病性视网膜病变的风险:

  • 控制糖尿病。将健康饮食和身体活动融入日常生活。尽量每周进行至少 150 分钟的适度有氧运动,例如走步。按照指示口服糖尿病药物或胰岛素。
  • 监测您的血糖水平。可能需要每天检查和记录几次您的血糖水平 — 如果您生病或有压力,可能需要更频繁的测量。咨询您的医生需要多久测一次血糖。
  • 向医生咨询糖化血红蛋白测试。糖化血红蛋白测试,或血红蛋白 A1C 检测,反映您在测试前 2 至 3 个月的平均血糖水平。对大多数人来说,A1C 的控制目标应低于 7%。
  • 控制好血压和胆固醇。健康饮食、有规律的锻炼和减重都有帮助。有时也需要药物治疗。
  • 如果您抽烟或使用其他类型的烟草制品,可以咨询医生帮您戒烟。抽烟会增加多种糖尿病并发症的发生风险,包括糖尿病性视网膜病变。
  • 注意视力变化。如果您的视力突然改变,或者您的视力变得模糊,出现斑点或有朦胧感,请立即联系您的眼科医生。

记住,糖尿病不一定会导致视力下降。积极管理糖尿病对预防并发症有很大的帮助。

June 24, 2021
  1. Diabetic retinopathy. National Eye Institute. https://www.nei.nih.gov/learn-about-eye-health/eye-conditions-and-diseases/diabetic-retinopathy. Accessed Feb. 19, 2021.
  2. AskMayoExpert. Diabetic retinopathy. Mayo Clinic, 2020.
  3. Fraser CE, et al. Diabetic retinopathy: Classification and clinical features. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 22, 2021.
  4. Diabetic retinopathy. American Optometrics Association. https://www.aoa.org/healthy-eyes/eye-and-vision-conditions/diabetic-retinopathy?sso=y. Accessed Feb. 19, 2021.
  5. Fraser CE, et al. Diabetic retinopathy: Prevention and treatment. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 22, 2021.
  6. The diabetes advisor: Eye exams for people with diabetes. American Diabetes Association. https://professional.diabetes.org/sites/professional.diabetes.org/files/media/Eyes_-_Eye_Tests_for_People_with_Diabetes.pdf. Accessed Feb. 25, 2021.
  7. Zhang HW, et al. Single herbal medicine for diabetic retinopathy (review). Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 2018; doi:10.1002/14651858.CD007939.pub2.

Overview

Diabetic retinopathy (die-uh-BET-ik ret-ih-NOP-uh-thee) is a diabetes complication that affects eyes. It's caused by damage to the blood vessels of the light-sensitive tissue at the back of the eye (retina).

At first, diabetic retinopathy might cause no symptoms or only mild vision problems. But it can lead to blindness.

The condition can develop in anyone who has type 1 or type 2 diabetes. The longer you have diabetes and the less controlled your blood sugar is, the more likely you are to develop this eye complication.

Products & Services

Symptoms

You might not have symptoms in the early stages of diabetic retinopathy. As the condition progresses, you might develop:

  • Spots or dark strings floating in your vision (floaters)
  • Blurred vision
  • Fluctuating vision
  • Dark or empty areas in your vision
  • Vision loss

When to see an eye doctor

Careful management of your diabetes is the best way to prevent vision loss. If you have diabetes, see your eye doctor for a yearly eye exam with dilation — even if your vision seems fine.

Developing diabetes when pregnant (gestational diabetes) or having diabetes before becoming pregnant can increase your risk of diabetic retinopathy. If you're pregnant, your eye doctor might recommend additional eye exams throughout your pregnancy.

Contact your eye doctor right away if your vision changes suddenly or becomes blurry, spotty or hazy.

Causes

Over time, too much sugar in your blood can lead to the blockage of the tiny blood vessels that nourish the retina, cutting off its blood supply. As a result, the eye attempts to grow new blood vessels. But these new blood vessels don't develop properly and can leak easily.

There are two types of diabetic retinopathy:

  • Early diabetic retinopathy. In this more common form — called nonproliferative diabetic retinopathy (NPDR) — new blood vessels aren't growing (proliferating).

    When you have NPDR, the walls of the blood vessels in your retina weaken. Tiny bulges protrude from the walls of the smaller vessels, sometimes leaking fluid and blood into the retina. Larger retinal vessels can begin to dilate and become irregular in diameter as well. NPDR can progress from mild to severe as more blood vessels become blocked.

    Sometimes retinal blood vessel damage leads to a buildup of fluid (edema) in the center portion (macula) of the retina. If macular edema decreases vision, treatment is required to prevent permanent vision loss.

  • Advanced diabetic retinopathy. Diabetic retinopathy can progress to this more severe type, known as proliferative diabetic retinopathy. In this type, damaged blood vessels close off, causing the growth of new, abnormal blood vessels in the retina. These new blood vessels are fragile and can leak into the clear, jellylike substance that fills the center of your eye (vitreous).

    Eventually, scar tissue from the growth of new blood vessels can cause the retina to detach from the back of your eye. If the new blood vessels interfere with the normal flow of fluid out of the eye, pressure can build in the eyeball. This buildup can damage the nerve that carries images from your eye to your brain (optic nerve), resulting in glaucoma.

Risk factors

Anyone who has diabetes can develop diabetic retinopathy. The risk of developing the eye condition can increase as a result of:

  • Having diabetes for a long time
  • Poor control of your blood sugar level
  • High blood pressure
  • High cholesterol
  • Pregnancy
  • Tobacco use
  • Being Black, Hispanic or Native American

Complications

Diabetic retinopathy involves the growth of abnormal blood vessels in the retina. Complications can lead to serious vision problems:

  • Vitreous hemorrhage. The new blood vessels may bleed into the clear, jellylike substance that fills the center of your eye. If the amount of bleeding is small, you might see only a few dark spots (floaters). In more-severe cases, blood can fill the vitreous cavity and completely block your vision.

    Vitreous hemorrhage by itself usually doesn't cause permanent vision loss. The blood often clears from the eye within a few weeks or months. Unless your retina is damaged, your vision will likely return to its previous clarity.

  • Retinal detachment. The abnormal blood vessels associated with diabetic retinopathy stimulate the growth of scar tissue, which can pull the retina away from the back of the eye. This can cause spots floating in your vision, flashes of light or severe vision loss.
  • Glaucoma. New blood vessels can grow in the front part of your eye (iris) and interfere with the normal flow of fluid out of the eye, causing pressure in the eye to build. This pressure can damage the nerve that carries images from your eye to your brain (optic nerve).
  • Blindness. Diabetic retinopathy, macular edema, glaucoma or a combination of these conditions can lead to complete vision loss, especially if the conditions are poorly managed.

Prevention

You can't always prevent diabetic retinopathy. However, regular eye exams, good control of your blood sugar and blood pressure, and early intervention for vision problems can help prevent severe vision loss.

If you have diabetes, reduce your risk of getting diabetic retinopathy by doing the following:

  • Manage your diabetes. Make healthy eating and physical activity part of your daily routine. Try to get at least 150 minutes of moderate aerobic activity, such as walking, each week. Take oral diabetes medications or insulin as directed.
  • Monitor your blood sugar level. You might need to check and record your blood sugar level several times a day — or more frequently if you're ill or under stress. Ask your doctor how often you need to test your blood sugar.
  • Ask your doctor about a glycosylated hemoglobin test. The glycosylated hemoglobin test, or hemoglobin A1C test, reflects your average blood sugar level for the two- to three-month period before the test. For most people with diabetes, the A1C goal is to be under 7%.
  • Keep your blood pressure and cholesterol under control. Eating healthy foods, exercising regularly and losing excess weight can help. Sometimes medication is needed, too.
  • If you smoke or use other types of tobacco, ask your doctor to help you quit. Smoking increases your risk of various diabetes complications, including diabetic retinopathy.
  • Pay attention to vision changes. Contact your eye doctor right away if your vision suddenly changes or becomes blurry, spotty or hazy.

Remember, diabetes doesn't necessarily lead to vision loss. Taking an active role in diabetes management can go a long way toward preventing complications.

June 24, 2021
  1. Diabetic retinopathy. National Eye Institute. https://www.nei.nih.gov/learn-about-eye-health/eye-conditions-and-diseases/diabetic-retinopathy. Accessed Feb. 19, 2021.
  2. AskMayoExpert. Diabetic retinopathy. Mayo Clinic, 2020.
  3. Fraser CE, et al. Diabetic retinopathy: Classification and clinical features. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 22, 2021.
  4. Diabetic retinopathy. American Optometrics Association. https://www.aoa.org/healthy-eyes/eye-and-vision-conditions/diabetic-retinopathy?sso=y. Accessed Feb. 19, 2021.
  5. Fraser CE, et al. Diabetic retinopathy: Prevention and treatment. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 22, 2021.
  6. The diabetes advisor: Eye exams for people with diabetes. American Diabetes Association. https://professional.diabetes.org/sites/professional.diabetes.org/files/media/Eyes_-_Eye_Tests_for_People_with_Diabetes.pdf. Accessed Feb. 25, 2021.
  7. Zhang HW, et al. Single herbal medicine for diabetic retinopathy (review). Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 2018; doi:10.1002/14651858.CD007939.pub2.