التشخيص

الأسئلة المتكررة عن مرض الكلى

يجيب أندرو بنتال، طبيب أمراض الكلى والحاصل على درجة الدكتوراه في الطب، عن معظم الأسئلة المتكررة بشأن مرض الكلى.

التعايش مع داء السكري أمر صعب، وكذلك التفكير فيما تأكله. لكن التحكم في مستويات السكر أمر مهم حقًا للمساعدة في وظائف الكلى، وعلى وجه التحديد إبطاء أي ضرر قد يلحق بالكلى. من الممكن أن تساعد الأدوية الجديدة التي ظهرت في العامين الماضيين في هذا الأمر، بالإضافة إلى التعاون مع طبيب الرعاية الأولية أو اختصاصي الغدد الصماء في علاجاتك الحالية لتحسين التحكم في السكر.

نرغب حقًا في مساعدتك على تحسين صحتك، وبالتالي فإن فقدان الوزن يمكن أن يكون خطوة رئيسية تساعدك على تقليل خطر الإصابة بمرض الكلى. إن تقليل تناول السعرات الحرارية، سواءً عن طريق تناول كميات صغيرة أو تقليل الوجبات الخفيفة بين الوجبات الرئيسية، ثم التفكير في حرق السعرات الحرارية مع زيادة التمرين، هي خطوات رائعة إلى الأمام لبدء تلك الرحلة نحو فقدان الوزن.

نهدف إلى خفض ضغط الدم الانقباضي ليكون أقل من 130، وهذا هو الرقم العلوي. وأقل من 80 لضغط الدم الانبساطي، وهو الرقم السفلي، في قراءات ضغط الدم. وهناك عدد من الأدوية المختلفة التي يمكننا استخدامها للوصول لتلك الأرقام. وسيساعد ذلك في تحسين صحة القلب والأوعية الدموية، بالإضافة إلى إبطاء تقدم أي مرض في الكلى بمرور الوقت أيضًا.

يوجد نوعان مختلفان من غسيل الكلى: غسيل الكلى الدموي، والذي يكون عن طريق تنقية الدم عبر جهاز، وفيه تذهب إلى مركز غسيل الكلى ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع لمدة أربع ساعات تقريبًا في كل مرة. ويمكن الخضوع له في المنزل في ظروف معينة. أو غسيل الكلى الصفاقي، وفيه تُدخَل السوائل في بطنك لتخرج فيها السموم ثم تُصرَف. ويمكن الخضوع له إما أثناء النهار أو في الليل باستخدام جهاز. وتكون فوائد ومخاطر هذين النوعين فردية، إذ يتمكن البعض من الخضوع للعلاج في المنزل أو يحتاجون إلى الذهاب إلى مركز العلاج لهذا الغرض. ويعتمد الأمر أيضًا على موقعك ومدى قربك من أقرب مراكز غسيل الكلى.

الكلى المزروعة تعمل بنفس الطريقة التي تعمل بها كليتاك، إذ يتدفق الدم من خلال الكلية المزروعة فتعمل على تصفيته ثم يخرج منها البول. يكون الحفاظ على الكلية المزروعة عن طريق تناول الأدوية المضادة لرفض العضو المزروع، وذلك حتى لا يهاجمها جسمك. ونترك كليتيك بالداخل لأنهما تنكمشان في نهاية المطاف وتتوقفان عن العمل. فأنت لا تريد جراحة أكثر مما تحتاج.

بالنسبة لزرع الكلى في الوقت الحالي، يلزم تناول الأدوية المضادة لرفض العضو المزروع بصفة يومية مدى الحياة. وقد ينتج عن ذلك آثار جانبية. لكن الأبحاث الحالية تهدف إلى محاولة التقليل أو الاستغناء عن الأدوية المضادة لرفض الأعضاء المزروعة وذلك عبر بروتوكولات بحث محددة في الوقت الحالي.

نرغب حقًا في التعاون معك للوصول إلى أفضل النتائج لحالتك، حتى لا يؤثر مرض الكلى المزمن عليك قدر الإمكان. فالتحكم في ضغط الدم وبالتالي مراقبة ذلك في المنزل، وتناول الأدوية بانتظام، وإخبارنا عن الآثار الجانبية أمور مهمة حقًا لمشاركتك ومساعدتك على التمتع بجودة حياة مناسبة للتعايش مع مرض الكلى المزمن.

لإجراء أول خطوة لتشخيص داء الكلى، يناقش الطبيب التاريخ العائلي والشخصي. ومن بين الأمور الأخرى، قد يَطرح الطبيب أسئلة عما إذا كان قد سبق تشخيص إصابتك بارتفاع ضغط الدم، وإذا ما كنت قد تناولتَ دواءً قد يؤثر على وظائف الكلى، وإذا ما كنت قد لاحظت تغييرات في عاداتك البولية، وإذا ما كان أيٌ من أفراد عائلتك مصابًا بداء الكلى.

في الخطوة التالية يُجري الطبيب فحصًا بدنيًا للكشف عن وجود مؤشرات تدل على مشكلات في القلب أو الأوعية الدموية، ويُجري فحصًا عصبيًّا.

لتشخيص داء الكلى، قد يلزم أيضًا عمل بعض الاختبارات والإجراءات لتحديد مدى خطورة داء الكلى (مرحلته). ومن هذه الاختبارات ما يلي:

  • تحاليل الدم. تكشف تحاليل وظائف الكلى عن مستوى العناصر التي يجب التخلص منها، مثل الكرياتينين واليوريا، في الدم.
  • تحاليل البول. يمكن أن يَكشف تحليل عينة من البول الحالات غير الطبيعية التي تُشير إلى الإصابة بفشل كلوي مزمن، كما يُساعد في تحديد سبب الإصابة بداء الكلى المزمن.
  • الاختبارات التصويرية. قد يَستخدم الطبيب التصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية لتقييم بنية الكليتين وحجمهما. وتُستخدَم اختبارات تصويرية أخرى في بعض الحالات.
  • أخذ عينة من نسيج الكلى لاختبارها. قد يَطلب الطبيب إجراء خزعة على الكلى، تتضمن أخذ عينة من نسيج الكلى. وتُجرى خزعة الكلى عادةً بمخدر موضعي يُحقن بإبرة طويلة ورفيعة عبر الجلد وصولاً إلى الكلى. ثم تُرسل عينة الخزعة إلى أحد المختبرات لاختبارها للمساعدة في تحديد سبب المشكلة في الكلى.

العلاج

ابدأ تقييم تبرعك

ابدأ عملية التبرع بالكلى أو الكبد عن طريق الضغط هنا لإكمال استبيان التاريخ الصحي.

يمكن علاج بعض أمراض الكلى بناءً على أسبابها. إلا أنه لا يوجد علاج شافٍ لمرض الكلى المزمن رغم ذلك.

عادةً ما يتكون العلاج من تدابير للمساعدة في السيطرة على مؤشرات المرض وأعراضه، والحد من المضاعفات، وإبطاء تفاقم المرض. في حال تعرض الكلى لضرر حاد، فقد تحتاج إلى علاج المراحل النهائية لمرض الكلى.

علاج السبب

سيحاول الطبيب إبطاء مسببات مرض الكلى أو السيطرة عليها. وتعتمد الخيارات العلاجية على السبب. ولكن قد يستمر تفاقم تلف الكلى حتى بعد السيطرة على الحالة الكامنة المسببة له، مثل علاج داء السكري أو ارتفاع ضغط الدم.

علاج المضاعفات

يمكن السيطرة على مضاعفات أمراض الكلى لكي تشعر بقدر أكبر من الارتياح. قد تتضمن العلاجات ما يلي:

  • أدوية ضغط الدم المرتفع. من الممكن أن يتفاقم ارتفاع ضغط الدم لدى المصابين بأمراض الكلى. وقد يوصي طبيبك بأدوية لخفض ضغط الدم لديك -وأشهرها مثبِّطات الإنزيم المحوِل للأنجيوتنسين أو حاصرات مستقبلات الأنجيوتنسين 2- والحفاظ على وظيفة الكلى.

    يمكن أن تؤدي أدوية ضغط الدم العالي في بادئ الأمر إ إلى إضعاف وظيفة الكلى، وتغير مستوى الكهارل، ولذلك فقد تحتاج إلى إجراء فحوصات للدم لمراقبة حالتك. وقد يوصي الطبيب بتناول أقراص مُدرّة للبول واتباع حمية غذائية قليلة الملح.

  • أدوية لتخفيف التورُّم. غالبًا ما تحتفظ أجسام المصابين بأمراض الكلى المزمنة بالسوائل. وقد يؤدي ذلك إلى تورُّم الساقين، وكذلك إلى ارتفاع ضغط الدم. كما من الممكن أن تساعد الأدوية التي تُعرف باسم "مدرّات البول" على الحفاظ على توازن السوائل في جسمك.
  • أدوية لعلاج فقر الدم. تساعد مكملات هرمون الإريثروبويتين، التي يُضاف إليها الحديد أحيانًا، على إنتاج المزيد من خلايا الدم الحمراء. وقد يخفف ذلك الإحساس بالتعب والضعف المرتبطين بفقر الدم.
  • أدوية لخفض مستويات الكوليسترول. قد ينصحك الطبيب بتناول أدوية تُعرف باسم "الستاتينات" (الأدوية الخافضة للكوليسترول) لخفض مستوى الكوليسترول لديك. وغالبًا ما يعاني المصابون بأمراض الكلى المزمنة من مستويات عالية من الكوليسترول الضار التي يمكن أن تزيد خطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب.
  • أدوية لحماية العظام. يمكن أن تساعد مكملات الكالسيوم وفيتامين D على الوقاية من هشاشة العظام والحد من خطورة تعرضها للكسر. كما قد تتناول أدوية تعرف بالأدوية المانعة لامتصاص الفوسفات لتقليل كمية الفوسفات في الدم ولحماية الأوعية الدموية من التلف الناتج من ترسيبات الكالسيوم (التكلّس).
  • اتباع نظام غذائي منخفض البروتين لتقليل الفضلات في الدم. ولأن جسمك يمتص البروتين الناتج عن المواد الغذائية، فإنه ينتج فضلات يجب تنقية الدم منها عن طريق الكليتين. ولتقليل المهام التي يتعين على كليتيك القيام بها، قد يوصي الطبيب بتناول كميات أقل من البروتينات. ويمكن أن يقترح اختصاصي التغذية المُسجّل حلولاً لخفض كميات البروتين التي تتناولها واتباع نظام غذائي صحي في آنٍ واحد.

قد يوصي طبيبك بفحص المتابعة على فترات منتظمة ليعرف ما إذا كان مرض الكلى الذي لديك في حالة مستقرة أم يتفاقم.

علاج الداء الكلوي في المرحلة النهائية

إذا لم تستطع الكلى لديك تصريف الفضلات والسوائل من تلقاء نفسها، وأُصبتَ بالفشل الكلوي الكامل أو شبه الكامل، فهذا يعني أنك مصاب بالداء الكلوي في المرحلة النهائية. وعند الوصول إلى هذه المرحلة، ستحتاج إلى الغسيل الكلوي أو عملية زراعة الكلى.

  • الديلزة (غسيل الكلى). يعمل غسيل الكلى على إزالة الفضلات والسوائل الفائضة عن الحاجة من الدم عندما تفشل الكليتان في أداء هذه المهمة. وفي هذا الإجراء، يُستخدم جهاز للتخلص من الفضلات والسوائل الزائدة في الدم.

    أما في الغسيل الصفاقي، فيُدخَل أنبوب رفيع في البطن ويملأ تجويف البطن بمحلول غسيل الكلى الذي يمتص الفضلات والسوائل الزائدة عن الحاجة. وبعد فترة معينة، يجري تصريف محلول الغسيل الكلوي من الجسم، حاملاً الفضلات معه.

  • زراعة الكلى. تتمثل عملية زراعة الكلى في نقل كلية سليمة من متبرع وزراعتها في جسم المريض جراحيًا. ومن الممكن الحصول على الكلى من متبرعين موتى أو أحياء لزراعتها.

    وبعد عملية الزراعة، سيحتاج المريض إلى تناول أدوية طوال حياته للمساعدة على منع جسمه من رفض العضو الجديد. ولا يتعين على المريض أن يكون خاضعًا للعلاج بالغسيل الكلوى حتى تُجرى له عملية زراعة الكلى.

بالنسبة لبعض المرضى الذين لا يرغبون في الخضوع لإجراء غسيل الكلى أو لجراحة زراعة الكلى، فهناك خيار ثالث يتمثل في علاج الفشل الكلوي بتدابير علاجية تحفظية. وستشمل التدابير العلاجية التحفظية على الأرجح السيطرة على الأعراض والتخطيط المسبق للرعاية الصحية والرعاية المعنية براحة المريض (الرعاية المخففة).

مرض الكلى: كيفية عمل الكلى، وغسيل الدم، وغسيل الكلى الصفاقي

التجارب السريرية

استكشِف دراسات مايو كلينك حول التطورات الجديدة في مجال العلاجات والتدخلات الطبية والاختبارات المستخدمة للوقاية من هذه الحالة الصحية وعلاجها وإدارتها.

نمط الحياة والعلاجات المنزلية

كجزء من علاج الفشل الكلوي المزمن، قد ينصح الطبيب بنظام غذائي خاص لتحسين حالة الكلى، وتخفيف مهامها الوظيفية. فاستشر طبيبك بشأن إحالتك إلى اختصاصي تغذية لتحليل نظامك الغذائي واقتراح طرق لجعل نظامك الغذائي أكثر راحة بالنسبة لكليتيك.

حسب حالتك، ووظائف كليتيك، وصحتك بوجه عام، قد تشتمل توصيات النظام الغذائي على ما يلي:

  • تجنب الأطعمة المضاف إليها الملح. قلل كمية الصوديوم التي تتناولها يوميًّا بتجنب الأطعمة المُضاف إليها الملح، بما في ذلك الكثير من الأطعمة سابقة التحضير، كوجبات العشاء المجمدة والحساء المعلب والوجبات السريعة. ومن الأطعمة الأخرى المضاف إليها الملح الأطعمة الخفيفة المملحة والخضراوات المعلبة واللحوم المصنعة والأجبان.
  • اختر أطعمة قليلة البوتاسيوم. من الأطعمة الغنية بالبوتاسيوم الموز والبرتقال والبطاطس والسبانخ والطماطم. أما الأطعمة قليلة البوتاسيوم فتشمل التفاح والملفوف (الكرنب) والجزر والفاصوليا الخضراء والعنب والفراولة. وانتبه إلى أن العديد من بدائل الملح تحتوي على البوتاسيوم؛ لذا عليك تجنبها بصفة عامة في حال إصابتك بالفشل الكلوي.
  • قلِّل من كمية البروتين الذي تتناوله. يعمل اختصاصي التغذية المعتمد على تقدير كمية الغرامات اللازمة من البروتين يوميًا ويضع توصياته بناءً على تلك الكمية. وتشمل الأطعمة الغنية بالبروتين اللحوم قليلة الدهن والبيض والحليب والجبن والفاصوليا. أما الأطعمة قليلة البروتينات فتشمل الخضروات والفواكه والخبز وحبوب الإفطار.

التأقلم والدعم

قد يكون التشخيص بمرض الكلى المزمن أمرًا مقلقًا. ولمساعدتك على التكيف مع مشاعرك، جرّب التالي:

  • تواصل مع أشخاص آخرين مصابين بمرض الكلى. من الممكن أن يتفهموا مشاعرك ويقدموا لك دعمًا فريدًا لعلاج حالتك. فاسأل طبيبك عن مجموعات الدعم المتاحة في منطقتك. أو اتَّصِل بمنظمات مثل الجمعية الأمريكية لمرضى الكلى أو المؤسسة الوطنية للكلى أو صندوق الكلى الأمريكي لمعرفة مجموعات الدعم الموجودة في منطقتك.
  • حافظ على روتينك اليومي المعتاد متى أمكن ذلك. حاول أن تواصل مزاولة الأنشطة التي تستمتع بها، إلى جانب مواصلة عملك، إذا سمحت لكَ حالتك بذلك. فقد يساعدك ذلك على التأقلم مع مشاعر الحزن أو الفقد التي قد تكون مسيطرة عليك.
  • حافظ على نشاطك في معظم أيام الأسبوع. احرص على ممارسة الأنشطة البدنية المعتدلة لمدة 30 دقيقة على الأقل معظم أيام الأسبوع، وذلك بعد استشارة الطبيب. ويمكن أن يساعدك ذلك على التكيف مع الإرهاق الجسدي والتوتر النفسي.
  • تحدَّث مع شخص تثق به. قد يوجد بين أصدقائك أو عائلتك مستمع جيد تفضل الحديث إليه. أو قد تشعر أنه من المفيد التحدث مع شخص ذي مكانة دينية أو روحية أو شخص آخر تثق به. واطلب من طبيبك الإحالة إلى اخصائي أو استشاري اجتماعي.

التحضير من أجل موعدك الطبي

بادر بزيارة طبيبك المسؤول عن الرعاية الأولية. إذا كشفت الفحوصات المختبرية عن وجود ضرر في الكلية، فقد تُحال إلى طبيب متخصص في مشكلات الكلية (طبيب كلى).

ما يمكنك فعله

للاستعداد لزيارتك الطبية، استفسر عما إذا كان هناك أي شيء ينبغي لك فعله قبلها، مثل تقليل النظام الغذائي. ثم جهّز قائمة بما يلي:

  • الأعراض التي تشعر بها، حتى تلك التي قد تبدو غير مرتبطة بأداء الكلى أو الجهاز البولي، ومتى بدأت
  • جميع الأدوية، أو الفيتامينات أو المكملات الأخرى التي تأخذها مع ذكر جرعاتها
  • الحالات الطبية الأخرى ذات الصلة بأمراض الكلى لديك ولدى أقاربك
  • الأسئلة التي تريد طرحها حول حالتك

اصطحب معك أحد أقاربك أو أصدقائك إن أمكن لمساعدتك على تذكر المعلومات التي تتلقاها. أو استخدم مسجلاً أثناء زيارتك.

من ضمن الأسئلة الأساسية التي يمكن طرحها بشأن داء الكلى المزمن ما يلي:

  • إلى أي مدى تضررت كليتاي؟
  • هل تسوء وظائفي الكُلوية؟
  • هل أحتاج إلى مزيد من الفحوصات؟
  • ما سبب حالتي؟
  • هل يمكن التعافي من الضرر الذي أصاب كليتَي؟
  • ما الخيارات العلاجية المتاحة لديَّ؟
  • ما الآثار الجانبية المحتملة لكل علاج؟
  • لدي هذه الحالات المرضية الأخرى. فكيف يمكنني التعامل مع هذه المشكلات معًا على النحو الأفضل؟
  • هل يجدر بي اتباع حمِيَّة غذائية خاصة؟
  • هل يمكن إحالتي إلى اختصاصي نظم غذائية لمساعدتي في التخطيط لوجباتي؟
  • هل هناك أي منشورات أو مطبوعات أخرى يمكنني الحصول عليها؟ ما المواقع الإلكترونية التي تنصحني بتصفحها؟
  • كم مرة أحتاج إلى إجراء اختبار وظائف الكلى؟

لا تتردد في طرح أي أسئلة أخرى تطرأ على بالك.

ما تتوقعه من الطبيب

من المرجح أن يطرح عليك الطبيب أسئلة مثل:

  • منذ متى تشعر بالأعراض؟
  • هل سبق تشخيصك بارتفاع ضغط الدم أو علاجك منه؟
  • هل لاحظت تغيرات في عادات التبول؟

مرض الكُلَى المزمن - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

03/09/2021
  1. Goldman L, et al., eds. Chronic kidney disease. In: Goldman-Cecil Medicine. 26th ed. Elsevier; 2020. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed April 27, 2021.
  2. Chronic kidney disease (CKD). National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/kidney-disease/chronic-kidney-disease-ckd#:~:text=Chronic kidney disease (CKD) means,family history of kidney failure. Accessed April 26, 2021.
  3. Rosenberg M. Overview of the management of chronic kidney disease in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed April 26, 2021.
  4. Chronic kidney disease (CKD) symptoms and causes. National Kidney Foundation. https://www.kidney.org/atoz/content/about-chronic-kidney-disease. Accessed April 26, 2021.
  5. Chronic kidney disease. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/genitourinary-disorders/chronic-kidney-disease/chronic-kidney-disease?query=Chronic kidney disease. Accessed April 26, 2021.
  6. Ammirati AL. Chronic kidney disease. Revista da Associação Médica Brasileira. 2020; doi:10.1590/1806-9282.66.S1.3.
  7. Chronic kidney disease basics. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/kidneydisease/basics.html. Accessed April 26, 2021.
  8. Warner KJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic; April 21, 2021.
  9. Office of Patient Education. Chronic kidney disease treatment options. Mayo Clinic; 2020.

ذات صلة

Products & Services

Diagnosis

Kidney disease FAQs

Nephrologist Andrew Bentall, M.D., answers the most frequently asked questions about kidney disease.

Living with diabetes is difficult, thinking about what you eat. But controlling the sugar levels are really important for helping kidney function and specifically slowing down any damage to the kidneys. Newer drugs that have come out in the last couple years can help with this, as well as working with your primary care physician or endocrinologist with your current therapies to get better sugar control.

We really want to help your health and so losing weight can be a key component to reducing your risk of progressing with kidney disease. Reducing calorie intake, which is either smaller portions, less snacking in between meals, and then thinking about burning calories with increasing your exercise, are great steps forward in starting that journey towards weight loss.

We look to get blood pressure less than 130 systolic, that's the top number. And less than 80 diastolic, that's the bottom number, on blood pressure readings. There are a number of different drugs that we can use to do this. And this will help both with your cardiovascular health, but slowing down any kidney disease progression over time as well.

There are two different types of dialysis: hemodialysis, which is done through cleaning the blood through a machine, which you attend a dialysis center three times a week for about four hours each time. It can be done at home in certain circumstances. Or peritoneal dialysis, where fluid gets put into your tummy, takes out the toxins and is drained. And that can be done either during the day or overnight on a machine. The benefits and risks of these are individualized, as some people are able to do the treatment at home or need to go to a treatment center for this. It also depends on your location and how close the nearest dialysis centers are.

The kidney transplant works in the same way as your own kidneys do, with the blood coming through the transplant, filtering it and the urine coming out. The kidney transplant is protected by the anti-rejection medication, so your body doesn't attack it. And we leave your own kidneys in because they eventually shrivel down and don't function anymore. You don't want more surgery than you need.

For a kidney transplant at the moment, taking anti-rejection drugs is an everyday, lifelong occurrence. These can come with side effects. But current research is looking to try and minimize or come off anti-rejection drugs with specific research protocols at the moment.

We really want to partner with you to get the best outcomes for you, so that chronic kidney disease doesn't affect you as much as it can. Controlling your blood pressure and therefore monitoring that at home, taking your medications regularly, and letting us know about side effects is a really important part in partnering and helping you to have a good quality of life living with chronic kidney disease.

As a first step toward diagnosis of kidney disease, your doctor discusses your personal and family history with you. Among other things, your doctor might ask questions about whether you've been diagnosed with high blood pressure, if you've taken a medication that might affect kidney function, if you've noticed changes in your urinary habits and whether you have family members who have kidney disease.

Next, your doctor performs a physical exam, checking for signs of problems with your heart or blood vessels, and conducts a neurological exam.

For kidney disease diagnosis, you might also need certain tests and procedures to determine how severe your kidney disease is (stage). Tests might include:

  • Blood tests. Kidney function tests look for the level of waste products, such as creatinine and urea, in your blood.
  • Urine tests. Analyzing a sample of your urine can reveal abnormalities that point to chronic kidney failure and help identify the cause of chronic kidney disease.
  • Imaging tests. Your doctor might use ultrasound to assess your kidneys' structure and size. Other imaging tests might be used in some cases.
  • Removing a sample of kidney tissue for testing. Your doctor might recommend a kidney biopsy, which involves removing a sample of kidney tissue. Kidney biopsy is often done with local anesthesia using a long, thin needle that's inserted through your skin and into your kidney. The biopsy sample is sent to a lab for testing to help determine what's causing your kidney problem.

Treatment

Start Your Donor Evaluation

Begin the process of becoming a living kidney or liver donor by clicking here to complete a health history questionnaire.

Depending on the cause, some types of kidney disease can be treated. Often, though, chronic kidney disease has no cure.

Treatment usually consists of measures to help control signs and symptoms, reduce complications, and slow progression of the disease. If your kidneys become severely damaged, you might need treatment for end-stage kidney disease.

Treating the cause

Your doctor will work to slow or control the cause of your kidney disease. Treatment options vary depending on the cause. But kidney damage can continue to worsen even when an underlying condition, such as diabetes mellitus or high blood pressure, has been controlled.

Treating complications

Kidney disease complications can be controlled to make you more comfortable. Treatments might include:

  • High blood pressure medications. People with kidney disease can have worsening high blood pressure. Your doctor might recommend medications to lower your blood pressure — commonly angiotensin-converting enzyme (ACE) inhibitors or angiotensin II receptor blockers — and to preserve kidney function.

    High blood pressure medications can initially decrease kidney function and change electrolyte levels, so you might need frequent blood tests to monitor your condition. Your doctor may also recommend a water pill (diuretic) and a low-salt diet.

  • Medications to relieve swelling. People with chronic kidney disease often retain fluids. This can lead to swelling in the legs as well as high blood pressure. Medications called diuretics can help maintain the balance of fluids in your body.
  • Medications to treat anemia. Supplements of the hormone erythropoietin (uh-rith-roe-POI-uh-tin), sometimes with added iron, help produce more red blood cells. This might relieve fatigue and weakness associated with anemia.
  • Medications to lower cholesterol levels. Your doctor might recommend medications called statins to lower your cholesterol. People with chronic kidney disease often have high levels of bad cholesterol, which can increase the risk of heart disease.
  • Medications to protect your bones. Calcium and vitamin D supplements can help prevent weak bones and lower your risk of fracture. You might also take medication known as a phosphate binder to lower the amount of phosphate in your blood and protect your blood vessels from damage by calcium deposits (calcification).
  • A lower protein diet to minimize waste products in your blood. As your body processes protein from foods, it creates waste products that your kidneys must filter from your blood. To reduce the amount of work your kidneys must do, your doctor might recommend eating less protein. A registered dietitian can suggest ways to lower your protein intake while still eating a healthy diet.

Your doctor might recommend regular follow-up testing to see whether your kidney disease remains stable or progresses.

Treatment for end-stage kidney disease

If your kidneys can't keep up with waste and fluid clearance on their own and you develop complete or near-complete kidney failure, you have end-stage kidney disease. At that point, you need dialysis or a kidney transplant.

  • Dialysis. Dialysis artificially removes waste products and extra fluid from your blood when your kidneys can no longer do this. In hemodialysis, a machine filters waste and excess fluids from your blood.

    In peritoneal dialysis, a thin tube inserted into your abdomen fills your abdominal cavity with a dialysis solution that absorbs waste and excess fluids. After a time, the dialysis solution drains from your body, carrying the waste with it.

  • Kidney transplant. A kidney transplant involves surgically placing a healthy kidney from a donor into your body. Transplanted kidneys can come from deceased or living donors.

    After a transplant, you'll need to take medications for the rest of your life to keep your body from rejecting the new organ. You don't need to be on dialysis to have a kidney transplant.

For some who choose not to have dialysis or a kidney transplant, a third option is to treat your kidney failure with conservative measures. Conservative measures likely will include symptom management, advance care planning and care to keep you comfortable (palliative care).

Kidney Disease: How kidneys work, Hemodialysis, and Peritoneal dialysis

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free, and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips and current health topics, like COVID-19, plus expertise on managing health.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this condition.

Lifestyle and home remedies

As part of your treatment for chronic kidney disease, your doctor might recommend a special diet to help support your kidneys and limit the work they must do. Ask your doctor for a referral to a registered dietitian who can analyze your diet and suggest ways to make your diet easier on your kidneys.

Depending on your situation, kidney function and overall health, dietary recommendations might include the following:

  • Avoid products with added salt. Lower the amount of sodium you eat each day by avoiding products with added salt, including many convenience foods, such as frozen dinners, canned soups and fast foods. Other foods with added salt include salty snack foods, canned vegetables, and processed meats and cheeses.
  • Choose lower potassium foods. High-potassium foods include bananas, oranges, potatoes, spinach and tomatoes. Examples of low-potassium foods include apples, cabbage, carrots, green beans, grapes and strawberries. Be aware that many salt substitutes contain potassium, so you generally should avoid them if you have kidney failure.
  • Limit the amount of protein you eat. Your registered dietitian will estimate how many grams of protein you need each day and make recommendations based on that amount. High-protein foods include lean meats, eggs, milk, cheese and beans. Low-protein foods include vegetables, fruits, breads and cereals.

Coping and support

Receiving a diagnosis of chronic kidney disease can be worrisome. To help you cope with your feelings, consider:

  • Connecting with other people who have kidney disease. They can understand what you're feeling and offer unique support. Ask your doctor about support groups in your area. Or contact organizations such as the American Association of Kidney Patients, the National Kidney Foundation or the American Kidney Fund for groups in your area.
  • Maintaining your normal routine, when possible. Try to keep doing the activities you enjoy and continue working, if your condition allows. This can help you cope with feelings of sadness or loss that you might have.
  • Being active most days of the week. With your doctor's advice, aim for at least 30 minutes of physical activity most days of the week. This can help you cope with fatigue and stress.
  • Talking with someone you trust. You might have a friend or family member who is a good listener. Or you may find it helpful to talk with a faith leader or someone else you trust. Ask your doctor for a referral to a social worker or counselor.

Preparing for your appointment

You'll likely start by seeing your primary care doctor. If lab tests reveal that you have kidney damage, you might be referred to a doctor who specializes in kidney problems (nephrologist).

What you can do

To get ready for your appointment, ask if there's anything you need to do ahead of time, such as limit your diet. Then make a list of:

  • Your symptoms, including any that seem unrelated to your kidneys or urinary function, and when they began
  • All your medications, vitamins or other supplements you take, including doses
  • Other medical conditions you have and relatives with kidney disease
  • Questions to ask about your condition

Take a family member or friend along, if possible, to help you remember the information you receive. Or use a recorder during your visit.

For chronic kidney disease, some basic questions to ask include:

  • What's the level of damage to my kidneys?
  • Is my kidney function worsening?
  • Do I need more tests?
  • What's causing my condition?
  • Can the damage to my kidneys be reversed?
  • What are my treatment options?
  • What are the potential side effects of each treatment?
  • I have these other health conditions. How can I best manage them together?
  • Do I need to eat a special diet?
  • Can you refer me to a dietitian who can help me plan my meals?
  • Are there brochures or other printed material I can have? What websites do you recommend?
  • How often do I need to have my kidney function tested?

Don't hesitate to ask other questions as they occur to you.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you questions, such as:

  • How long have you had symptoms?
  • Have you been diagnosed or treated for high blood pressure?
  • Have you noticed changes in your urinary habits?

Chronic kidney disease care at Mayo Clinic

Sept. 03, 2021
  1. Goldman L, et al., eds. Chronic kidney disease. In: Goldman-Cecil Medicine. 26th ed. Elsevier; 2020. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed April 27, 2021.
  2. Chronic kidney disease (CKD). National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/kidney-disease/chronic-kidney-disease-ckd#:~:text=Chronic kidney disease (CKD) means,family history of kidney failure. Accessed April 26, 2021.
  3. Rosenberg M. Overview of the management of chronic kidney disease in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed April 26, 2021.
  4. Chronic kidney disease (CKD) symptoms and causes. National Kidney Foundation. https://www.kidney.org/atoz/content/about-chronic-kidney-disease. Accessed April 26, 2021.
  5. Chronic kidney disease. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/genitourinary-disorders/chronic-kidney-disease/chronic-kidney-disease?query=Chronic kidney disease. Accessed April 26, 2021.
  6. Ammirati AL. Chronic kidney disease. Revista da Associação Médica Brasileira. 2020; doi:10.1590/1806-9282.66.S1.3.
  7. Chronic kidney disease basics. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/kidneydisease/basics.html. Accessed April 26, 2021.
  8. Warner KJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic; April 21, 2021.
  9. Office of Patient Education. Chronic kidney disease treatment options. Mayo Clinic; 2020.