诊断

用于诊断软骨肉瘤的检查和医疗程序包括:

  • 体检。医生可能会询问您的体征和症状,并检查您的身体以收集更多诊断线索。
  • 影像学检查。影像学检查可能包括 X 线、骨扫描、磁共振成像计算机断层成像扫描。
  • 取出检验用组织样本(活检)。活检是一种采集可疑组织的程序。该组织将被送往实验室,以便医生分析并确定其是否为癌症。

    如何采集活检样本取决于可疑组织的位置。活检这一医疗程序需要精心规划,确保不会干扰未来癌症切除手术的进行。因此,请让医生将您转诊给一个在治疗软骨肉瘤方面有经验的专家团队。

治疗

软骨肉瘤治疗通常需要通过手术切除癌症病灶。在某些情况下,可能建议接受其他治疗。哪种方案最适合您取决于癌症病灶的位置、其生长速度、是否已生长至累及其他结构、您的整体健康状况和您的偏好。

外科手术

进行软骨肉瘤手术的目的是切除癌变组织及其周围健康组织的边缘。您所接受的手术类型将取决于软骨肉瘤的位置。治疗方案可能包括:

  • 刮除骨上的癌细胞。对于手臂或腿部生长缓慢的小软骨肉瘤,有时可通过刮除骨上的癌细胞来进行治疗。外科医生可能会使用冷气或化学物质杀死任何残留的癌细胞。如有需要,医生可能会使用骨移植物或骨水泥修复骨骼。
  • 切除癌变组织及其周围部分健康组织。大多数软骨肉瘤需要手术切除更多骨骼才能切除所有癌变组织。对于手臂或腿部的软骨肉瘤,可能需要切除整个肢体。外科医生会尽量在保全肢体的情况下切除癌变组织。例如,外科医生可能会切除受影响的骨骼并进行替换或重建(保肢手术)。

放射疗法

放射疗法利用 X 线和质子等放射源发出的高功率能量束来杀死癌细胞。在放射疗法中,您需要躺在治疗台上,同时有一台大型机器在您周围移动,发出能量束对身体的特定部位进行精准照射。

如果软骨肉瘤的位置导致手术难度较大,或者癌症病变部分在手术过程中无法完全切除,则可能建议进行放射治疗。放射治疗也可用于控制扩散到身体其他部位的癌症。

化疗

化疗使用药物杀死癌细胞。软骨肉瘤通常不采用化疗来治疗,因为这种癌症对化疗往往没有反应。但一些快速生长的软骨肉瘤可能对化疗有反应。

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

妥善处理与支持

癌症诊断可能永远改变您的生活。每个人都可以找到自己的方式,来应对癌症所带来的情感和身体变化。但当第一次被诊断出患有癌症时,有时很难知道下一步该怎么做。

这里有一些建议可以帮助您应对:

  • 尽可能多了解癌症知识,以便做出有关治疗的决定。询问医生您所患癌症的信息,包括您的治疗选择以及预后(如果您想知道)。您对癌症了解得越全面,越能自信地作出治疗决策。
  • 与家人朋友保持亲密关系。与他人保持牢固的密切关系将有助于您应对癌症。家人朋友能够提供您切实需要的支持,例如当您住院时帮助照顾家里。在您因癌症而崩溃时,他们可以给您精神支持。
  • 找人倾诉。找一个愿意听您诉说希望和恐惧的倾听者。这个倾听者可以是您的朋友或家人。咨询师、医务社工、神职人员或者癌症互助团体的关心和理解,可能也会对您有所帮助。

准备您的预约

如有任何令您担心的体征或症状,请先看家庭医生。如果您的医生确定您得了癌症,可能会将您转诊给一名或多名专科医生,如治疗癌症的医生(肿瘤科医生)和外科医生。

您可以做什么

  • 了解就诊前的全部限制规定。约诊时,请务必询问是否需要提前做好准备,例如限制饮食。
  • 写下您目前出现的所有症状,包括看似与您的约诊原因无关的任何症状。
  • 写下关键的个人信息,包括任何主要压力或近期的生活变化。
  • 写下您的家族癌症史。如果您的其他家庭成员被诊断出患有癌症,请记下癌症的类型、患者与您的关系及其确诊癌症的年龄。
  • 列出您正在服用的所有药物、维生素或补充剂。
  • 考虑让家人或朋友陪同。有时,您可能很难记住就诊时医务人员告知的所有信息。陪同人可能记住您遗漏或忘记的信息。
  • 写下要向医生咨询的问题

提前列出问题有助于充分利用就诊时间。请按照从最重要至最不重要的顺序列出问题,以免时间不够。关于癌症,要向医生咨询的一些基本问题包括:

  • 我患的是哪种类型的癌症?
  • 我是否需要接受其他检查?
  • 我可以选择哪些治疗方法?
  • 用这些治疗方法能否治愈我的癌症?
  • 如果我的癌症无法治愈,我能从治疗中得到什么?
  • 每种治疗方法有哪些潜在的副作用?
  • 您觉得是否有最适合我的治疗方法?
  • 我什么时候能开始治疗?
  • 治疗对我的日常生活有什么影响?
  • 治疗期间我可以继续工作吗?
  • 我是否可以参加任何临床试验或实验性治疗?
  • 我还有其他健康状况。我怎样才能在癌症治疗期间控制这些疾病?
  • 有没有我需要遵守的任何限制?
  • 我是否应该看专科医生?治疗费用是多少,我的保险能报销吗?
  • 是否有仿制药可以替代您开的药物?
  • 是否有我可以带走的手册或其他印刷材料?您推荐哪些网站?
  • 哪些因素会决定我是否应该计划随诊?

除准备要问的问题外,您还可以随时询问其他问题。

医生会做些什么

医生可能会询问一些问题。准备好回答这些问题,或许可以给您留出时间,以便讨论您想解决的其他问题。医生可能问:

  • 您第一次出现症状是在什么时候?
  • 您的症状是持续存在,还是偶尔出现?
  • 您的症状有多严重?
  • 有没有什么因素似乎会改善您的症状?
  • 哪些因素(如有)看似会加重您的症状?
  • 您家中是否有人患有癌症?
  • 您以前患过癌症吗?如果有,是哪种癌症以及如何治疗的?

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

Dec. 07, 2022

Living with 软骨肉瘤?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Cancer support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Cancer Discussions

Colleen Young, Connect Director
Diagnosed with sarcoma? Let's share

731 Replies Sun, Feb 25, 2024

chaser77
Retroperitoneal Sarcoma options, sugery-radiation

9 Replies Sun, Feb 25, 2024

kkhersh
Leiomyosarcoma: What can I expect now?

55 Replies Sun, Feb 25, 2024

See more discussions
  1. Azar FM, et al. Malignant tumors of bone. In: Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics. 14th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 18, 2021.
  2. Winn RH, ed. Chordomas and chondrosarcomas. In: Youmans and Winn Neurological Surgery. 7th ed. Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 18, 2021.
  3. Bone cancer. National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/guidelines/guidelines-detail?category=1&id=1418. Accessed March 18, 2021.
  4. Dierselhuis EF, et al. Intralesional treatment versus wide resection for central low-grade chondrosarcoma of the long bones. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 2019; doi:10.1002/14651858.CD010778.pub2.
  5. Unni KK, et al. Chondrosarcoma (primary, secondary, dedifferentiated and clear cell). In: Dahlin's Bone Tumors. 6th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2010.

Diagnosis

Tests and procedures used to diagnose chondrosarcoma include:

  • Physical exam. Your doctor may ask about your signs and symptoms and examine your body to gather more clues about your diagnosis.
  • Imaging tests. Imaging tests may include X-ray, bone scan, MRI and CT scan.
  • Removing a sample of tissue for testing (biopsy). Biopsy is a procedure to collect suspicious tissue. The tissue is sent to a lab where doctors analyze it to determine whether it's cancer.

    How the biopsy sample is collected depends on where the suspicious tissue is located. The procedure requires careful planning so that the biopsy is done in a way that won't interfere with future surgery to remove the cancer. For this reason, ask your doctor for a referral to a team of experts with experience in treating chondrosarcoma.

Treatment

Chondrosarcoma treatment often involves surgery to remove the cancer. Other treatments might be recommended in certain situations. Which options are best for you depends on where your cancer is located, how quickly it's growing, whether it has grown to involve other structures, your overall health and your preferences.

Surgery

The goal of surgery for chondrosarcoma is to remove the cancer and a margin of healthy tissue around it. The type of surgery you undergo will depend on the location of your chondrosarcoma. Options might include:

  • Scraping the cancer away from the bone. Small and slow-growing chondrosarcomas in the arms and legs are sometimes treated with a procedure to scrape the cancer cells from the bone. The surgeon might apply cold gas or a chemical to kill any cancer cells that remain. The bone can be repaired with a bone graft or bone cement, if needed.
  • Cutting away the cancer and some healthy tissue around it. Most chondrosarcomas require a procedure to cut away more of the bone in order to remove all of the cancer. For chondrosarcoma in an arm or a leg, it might be necessary to remove the entire limb. When possible, surgeons remove the cancer in a way that preserves the limb. For example, the surgeon might remove the affected bone and replace it or reconstruct it (limb salvage surgery).

Radiation therapy

Radiation therapy uses high-powered energy beams from sources such as X-rays and protons to kill cancer cells. During radiation therapy, you lie on a table while a machine moves around you, directing radiation to precise points on your body.

Radiation might be recommended for chondrosarcomas located in places that make surgery tricky or if the cancer can't be removed completely during surgery. Radiation may also be used to control cancer that spreads to other areas of the body.

Chemotherapy

Chemotherapy uses drugs to kill cancer cells. It's not often used for chondrosarcoma because this type of cancer often doesn't respond to chemotherapy. But some fast-growing types of chondrosarcoma may respond to this treatment.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this condition.

Coping and support

Share your experience

A cancer diagnosis can change your life forever. Each person finds his or her own way of coping with the emotional and physical changes cancer brings. But when you're first diagnosed with cancer, sometimes it's difficult to know what to do next.

Here are some ideas to help you cope:

  • Learn enough about cancer to make decisions about your care. Ask your doctor about your cancer, including your treatment options and, if you like, your prognosis. As you learn more about cancer, you may become more confident in making treatment decisions.
  • Keep friends and family close. Keeping your close relationships strong will help you deal with your cancer. Friends and family can provide the practical support you'll need, such as helping take care of your home if you're in the hospital. And they can serve as emotional support when you feel overwhelmed by cancer.
  • Find someone to talk with. Find a good listener who is willing to listen to you talk about your hopes and fears. This may be a friend or family member. The concern and understanding of a counselor, medical social worker, clergy member or cancer support group also may be helpful.

Preparing for your appointment

Start by seeing your family doctor if you have any signs or symptoms that worry you. If your doctor determines you have cancer, you'll likely be referred to one or more specialists, such as doctors who treat cancer (oncologists) and surgeons.

What you can do

  • Be aware of any pre-appointment restrictions. At the time you make the appointment, be sure to ask if there's anything you need to do in advance, such as restrict your diet.
  • Write down any symptoms you're experiencing, including any that may seem unrelated to the reason for which you scheduled the appointment.
  • Write down key personal information, including any major stresses or recent life changes.
  • Write down your family's history of cancer. If other members of your family have been diagnosed with cancer, make a note of the types of cancer, how each person is related to you and how old each person was when diagnosed.
  • Make a list of all medications, vitamins or supplements that you're taking.
  • Consider taking a family member or friend along. Sometimes it can be difficult to remember all the information provided during an appointment. Someone who accompanies you may remember something that you missed or forgot.
  • Write down questions to ask your doctor.

Preparing a list of questions in advance can help you make the most of your time with your doctor. List your questions from most important to least important in case time runs out. For cancer, some basic questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What type of cancer do I have?
  • Will I need additional tests?
  • What are my treatment options?
  • Can treatments cure my cancer?
  • If my cancer can't be cured, what can I expect from treatment?
  • What are the potential side effects of each treatment?
  • Is there one treatment you feel is best for me?
  • How soon do I need to begin treatment?
  • How will treatment affect my daily life?
  • Can I continue working during treatment?
  • Are there any clinical trials or experimental treatments available to me?
  • I have these other health conditions. How can I manage them during my cancer treatment?
  • Are there any restrictions that I need to follow?
  • Should I see a specialist? What will that cost, and will my insurance cover it?
  • Is there a generic alternative to the medicine you're prescribing?
  • Are there brochures or other printed material that I can take with me? What websites do you recommend?
  • What will determine whether I should plan for follow-up visits?

In addition to the questions that you've prepared to ask your doctor, don't hesitate to ask other questions that occur to you.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions. Being ready to answer them may allow time later to cover other points you want to address. Your doctor may ask:

  • When did you first begin experiencing symptoms?
  • Have your symptoms been continuous or occasional?
  • How severe are your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, seems to improve your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, appears to worsen your symptoms?
  • Does anyone in your family have cancer?
  • Have you ever had cancer before? If so, what kind and how was it treated?

Get the latest health information from Mayo Clinic delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe for free and receive an in-depth guide to coping with cancer, plus helpful advice on how to get a second opinion. You can unsubscribe at any time.

I would like to learn more about

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Chondrosarcoma care at Mayo Clinic

July 17, 2021
  1. Azar FM, et al. Malignant tumors of bone. In: Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics. 14th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 18, 2021.
  2. Winn RH, ed. Chordomas and chondrosarcomas. In: Youmans and Winn Neurological Surgery. 7th ed. Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 18, 2021.
  3. Bone cancer. National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/guidelines/guidelines-detail?category=1&id=1418. Accessed March 18, 2021.
  4. Dierselhuis EF, et al. Intralesional treatment versus wide resection for central low-grade chondrosarcoma of the long bones. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 2019; doi:10.1002/14651858.CD010778.pub2.
  5. Unni KK, et al. Chondrosarcoma (primary, secondary, dedifferentiated and clear cell). In: Dahlin's Bone Tumors. 6th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2010.