概述

抗生素相关性腹泻是指服用治疗细菌感染的药物(抗生素)后,每天排泄三次或更多次稀便、水样便。

大多数情况下,抗生素相关性腹泻并不严重,无需治疗。腹泻一般在停止服用抗生素后几天内就会痊愈。较为严重的抗生素相关性腹泻则可能需要停止或更换抗生素药物。

症状

大部分抗生素相关性腹泻患者可能出现轻微的体征和症状,例如:

  • 便溏
  • 排便更频繁

抗生素相关性腹泻可能在开始接受抗生素治疗大约一周后开始出现。但有时也可能在您完成抗生素治疗几天或几周后才出现腹泻和其他症状。

艰难梭菌感染

艰难梭菌是一种会产生毒素的细菌,可引起更严重的抗生素相关腹泻。艰难梭菌感染除了会导致稀便和排便频繁外,还会引起:

  • 下腹痛和痉挛
  • 低热
  • 恶心
  • 食欲不振

何时应就诊

如果您有严重的抗生素相关腹泻体征和症状,请立即致电医生。这些体征和症状常见于多种病症,因此医生可能会建议您进行检查以确定病因。

病因

尚不完全清楚抗生素相关性腹泻的原因。通常认为,当抗菌药物(抗生素)破坏了胃肠道中有益细菌和有害细菌的平衡时,就会出现腹泻。

最容易引起腹泻的抗生素

几乎所有抗生素都会导致抗生素相关性腹泻。最常见的抗生素包括:

  • 头孢菌素类,如头孢地尼和头孢泊肟
  • 青霉素,如阿莫西林和氨苄西林

艰难梭菌感染

当抗生素破坏了消化系统中的细菌平衡时,艰难梭菌会失去控制地快速生长。艰难梭菌产生攻击肠膜的毒素。最常与艰难梭菌感染有关联的抗生素包括氟喹诺酮类、头孢菌素类、青霉素类和克林霉素。

风险因素

任何服用抗生素的人都有可能发生抗生素相关性腹泻。如果符合以下情况,则更有可能发生抗生素相关性腹泻:

  • 过去出现过抗生素相关性腹泻
  • 长时间服用抗生素药物
  • 同时服用多种抗生素

并发症

体液和电解质的极度流失(脱水)是最常见的腹泻并发症之一。严重脱水可能危及生命。体征和症状包括极度口干、烦渴、排尿少或不排尿以及虚弱。

预防

为了帮助预防抗生素相关性腹泻,请尝试:

  • 只在必要时服用抗生素。除非医生认为有必要,否则不要使用抗生素。抗生素可以治疗细菌性感染,但对感冒和流感等病毒感染没有帮助。
  • 要求护理人员洗手。如果您住院了,请让每个人在接触您之前洗手或使用含酒精的洗手液。
  • 如果您以前有过抗生素相关性腹泻,请告诉您的医生。一旦出现抗生素相关性腹泻,抗生素再次引起同样反应的几率就会增加。您的医生可能会为您选择不同的抗生素。

Aug. 11, 2021
  1. Ramirez J, et al. Antibiotics as major disruptors of gut microbiota. Frontiers in Cellular and Infection Microbiology. 2020; doi:10.3389/fcimb.2020.572912.
  2. AskMayoExpert. Clostridioides (Clostridium) difficile infection (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2021.
  3. Zhou H, et al. Risk factors, incidence, and morbidity associated with antibiotic associated diarrhea in intensive care unit patients receiving antibiotic monotherapy. World Journal of Clinical Cases. 2020; doi:10.12998/wjcc.v8.i10.1908.
  4. Lamont JT, et al. Clostridioides (formerly Clostridium) difficile infection in adults: Clinical manifestations and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 28, 2021.
  5. Takedani Y, et al. Clinical characteristics and factors related to antibiotic-associated diarrhea in elderly patients with pneumonia: A retrospective cohort study. BMC Geriatrics. 2021; doi:10.1186/s12877-021-02267.
  6. Diarrhea. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/digestive-diseases/diarrhea. Accessed May 10, 2021.
  7. Kelly CP, et al. Clostridioides (formerly Clostridium) difficile infection in adults: Treatment and prevention. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 28, 2021.
  8. Stavropoulou E, et al. Probiotics in medicine: A long debate. 2020; doi:10.3389/fimmu.2020.02192.
  9. Khanna S (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. May 29, 2021.

抗生素相关性腹泻

Overview

Antibiotic-associated diarrhea refers to passing loose, watery stools three or more times a day after taking medications used to treat bacterial infections (antibiotics).

About 1 in 5 people who take antibiotics develop antibiotic-associated diarrhea. Most often, antibiotic-associated diarrhea is mild and requires no treatment. The diarrhea typically clears up within a few days after you stop taking the antibiotic. More-serious antibiotic-associated diarrhea requires stopping or sometimes switching antibiotics.

Symptoms

For most people, antibiotic-associated diarrhea causes mild signs and symptoms, such as:

  • Loose stools
  • More-frequent bowel movements

Antibiotic-associated diarrhea is likely to begin about a week after you start taking an antibiotic. Sometimes, however, diarrhea and other symptoms don't appear until days or even weeks after you've finished antibiotic treatment.

Clostridioides difficile (formerly Clostridium difficile) infection

C. difficile is a toxin-producing bacterium that can cause a more serious antibiotic-associated diarrhea. In addition to causing loose stools and more-frequent bowel movements, C. difficile infection can cause:

  • Severe diarrhea and dehydration
  • Lower abdominal pain and cramping
  • Low-grade fever
  • Nausea
  • Loss of appetite

When to see a doctor

Call your doctor right away if you have serious signs and symptoms of antibiotic-associated diarrhea. These signs and symptoms are common to a number of conditions, so your doctor might recommend tests — such as stool or blood tests — to determine the cause.

Causes

Why antibiotic-associated diarrhea occurs isn't completely understood. It's commonly thought to develop when antibacterial medications (antibiotics) upset the balance of good and bad bacteria in your gastrointestinal tract.

The antibiotics most likely to cause diarrhea

Nearly all antibiotics can cause antibiotic-associated diarrhea. Antibiotics most commonly involved include:

  • Macrolides, such as clarithromycin
  • Cephalosporins, such as cefdinir and cefpodoxime
  • Fluoroquinolones, such as ciprofloxacin and levofloxacin
  • Penicillins, such as amoxicillin and ampicillin

C. difficile infection

When antibiotics upset the balance of bacteria in your digestive system, the bacteria C. difficile can quickly grow out of control. C. difficile bacteria create toxins that attack the lining of the intestine. The antibiotics most commonly linked to C. difficile infection include clindamycin, fluoroquinolones, cephalosporins and penicillins — though taking virtually any antibiotic can put you at risk.

Risk factors

Antibiotic-associated diarrhea can occur in anyone who takes an antibiotic. But you're more likely to develop antibiotic-associated diarrhea if you:

  • Have had antibiotic-associated diarrhea in the past
  • Have taken antibiotic medications for an extended time
  • Are taking more than one antibiotic medication

Complications

One of the most common complications of any type of diarrhea is extreme loss of fluids and electrolytes (dehydration). Severe dehydration can be life-threatening. Signs and symptoms include a very dry mouth, intense thirst, little or no urination, dizziness, and weakness.

Prevention

To help prevent antibiotic-associated diarrhea, try to:

  • Take antibiotics only when necessary. Don't use antibiotics unless your doctor feels they're necessary. Antibiotics can treat bacterial infections, but they won't help viral infections, such as colds and flu.
  • Ask caregivers to wash their hands. If you're receiving care at home or the hospital, ask everyone to wash his or her hands or use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer before touching you.
  • Tell your doctor if you've had antibiotic-associated diarrhea or C. difficile before. Having antibiotic-associated diarrhea once or C. difficile in the past increases the chance that antibiotics will cause that same reaction again. Your doctor may be able to select a different antibiotic for you.

Aug. 11, 2021
  1. Ramirez J, et al. Antibiotics as major disruptors of gut microbiota. Frontiers in Cellular and Infection Microbiology. 2020; doi:10.3389/fcimb.2020.572912.
  2. AskMayoExpert. Clostridioides (Clostridium) difficile infection (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2021.
  3. Zhou H, et al. Risk factors, incidence, and morbidity associated with antibiotic associated diarrhea in intensive care unit patients receiving antibiotic monotherapy. World Journal of Clinical Cases. 2020; doi:10.12998/wjcc.v8.i10.1908.
  4. Lamont JT, et al. Clostridioides (formerly Clostridium) difficile infection in adults: Clinical manifestations and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 28, 2021.
  5. Takedani Y, et al. Clinical characteristics and factors related to antibiotic-associated diarrhea in elderly patients with pneumonia: A retrospective cohort study. BMC Geriatrics. 2021; doi:10.1186/s12877-021-02267.
  6. Diarrhea. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/digestive-diseases/diarrhea. Accessed May 10, 2021.
  7. Kelly CP, et al. Clostridioides (formerly Clostridium) difficile infection in adults: Treatment and prevention. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 28, 2021.
  8. Stavropoulou E, et al. Probiotics in medicine: A long debate. 2020; doi:10.3389/fimmu.2020.02192.
  9. Khanna S (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. May 29, 2021.

Related

Antibiotic-associated diarrhea