نظرة عامة

إذا واجه طفلك صعوبات في الاستمتاع بقسط وافر من النوم أثناء الليل، فستجد المساعدة التي تحتاجها بفضل الخبراء في المجموعة المتخصصة في طب نوم الأطفال. وهذه المجموعة جزء من مركز طب النوم في مقر مايو كلينك في مدينة روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا، والمعتمد من جانب الأكاديمية الأمريكية لطب النوم. كما يشكّل اختصاصيو نوم الأطفال هؤلاء جزءًا مهمًا من مركز مايو كلينك للأطفال.

يفحص أطباء مايو كلينك أكثر من 800 طفل مصابين بانقطاع النفس الانسدادي النومي كل سنة. وفي كل عام، يُجري مركز طب النوم ما يقرب من 900 دراسة عن النوم للمساعدة في تشخيص حالات اضطرابات النوم وعلاجها.

ما الذي تتوقعه في مركز النوم

ستلتقي أولاً باختصاصي نوم الأطفال، سواء بصورة شخصية أو من خلال زيارة افتراضية، والذي يستمع فيها إلى تساؤلاتك واستفساراتك ويناقش العلامات والأعراض التي يعاني منها طفلك. وقد يُحدَّد موعد لطفلك لدراسة حالة نومه ليلاً (مخطط النوم) في مركز طب النوم. علمًا بأنه تُجرى دراسات النوم الليلي للأطفال، ومن ضمنهم الرضع، من الأحد إلى الخميس. وأثناء تقييم حالة طفلك، فستحتاج إلى المكوث ليلاً في مركز النوم أيضًا.

وعند وصولك، سترى أنت وطفلك غرفة دراسة النوم المجهزة بمعدات مراقبة خاصة وستتاح لك الفرصة لارتداء ملابس النوم الخاصة بك. سيضع تقني مركز النوم أقطاب كهربائية على رأس طفلك وذراعه. بعدها ستمارس روتينك المعتاد للتجهيز للنوم، مثل تناول وجبة خفيفة وتنظيف أسنانك والقراءة. أثناء الليل، سيراقب فريق مركز النوم تنفس طفلك، ومستويات الأكسجين، ومعدل نبضات القلب، ونشاط الدماغ، وحركات الجسم والشخير. علمًا بأن الاختبارات غير جراحية وليست مؤلمة. وفي الصباح، ستذهب إلى المنزل.

سيراجع طبيبك نتائج الاختبار ويلتقي بك وبطفلك - بصورة شخصية أو افتراضية - لمناقشة النتائج وخيارات العلاج الممكنة لطفلك.

فريق يركز على الاهتمام بأمر طفلك

يتمتع أطباؤنا الذين يعالجون الأطفال الذين يعانون من اضطرابات النوم بخبرة في طب الأطفال والرئة وأمراض التنفس (أطباء رئة الأطفال) وأمراض الدماغ والجهاز العصبي (أطباء أعصاب الأطفال). كما يضم فريق رعاية طفلك أيضًا ممرضًا ممارسًا للأطفال واختصاصيًا في حياة الطفل.

ويتحدث أطباء طب النوم معك حول استفساراتك وأهدافك، ويعملون عن كثب مع المتخصصين الآخرين لوضع أفضل خطة علاج لطفلك. وقد يشتمل هذا الفريق متعدد التخصصات على أطباء الأطفال المدربين على علاج الأطفال، أو أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية (أطباء قلب الأطفال) أو أمراض الصحة العقلية (الأطباء النفسيين وعلماء النفس للأطفال)، أو أطباء الأنف والأذن والحنجرة للأطفال. وقد يضم الفريق أيضًا اختصاصيي طب الأسنان وجراحي الفم والوجه والفكين للأطفال.

صنَّفت شبكة U.S. News & World Report مايو كلينك في مدينة روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا ضمن أفضل المستشفيات لعلاج أمراض الأنف والحنجرة وأمراض الأعصاب وجراحاتها واضطرابات الجهاز التنفسي والطب النفسي.

01/07/2021

طب نوم الأطفال في ولاية مينيسوتا

Overview

When a child has difficulties getting a good night's sleep, many families find the help they need from the experts at the pediatric sleep medicine specialty group. This group is part of the Center for Sleep Medicine on Mayo Clinic's campus in Rochester, Minnesota, which is accredited by the American Academy of Sleep Medicine. These pediatric sleep specialists are also part of the Mayo Clinic Children's Center.

Mayo Clinic doctors see more than 800 children with pediatric obstructive sleep apnea each year. And each year the Center for Sleep Medicine performs nearly 900 sleep studies to aid in the diagnosis and treatment of sleep related disorders.

What to expect at the sleep center

You will first meet with a pediatric sleep specialist, either in person or with a virtual visit, who listens to your concerns and discusses your child's signs and symptoms. Your child may then be scheduled for an overnight sleep study (polysomnogram) at the Center for Sleep Medicine. Overnight sleep studies for children, including infants, are offered Sunday through Thursday. If your child is being evaluated, you'll stay overnight at the sleep center, too.

When you arrive, you and your child will be shown to a sleep study room equipped with special monitoring equipment and given a chance to change into your pajamas. The sleep center technician will apply electrodes to your child's head and arm. Then you'll go through your normal bedtime routine, such as having a snack, brushing your teeth and reading. During the night, the sleep center team monitors your child's breathing, oxygen levels, heartbeat, brain activity, body movements and snoring. The tests are noninvasive and not painful. In the morning, you'll go home.

Your doctor will review the test results and meet with you and your child — in person or virtually — to discuss the results and possible treatment options for your child.

A team focused on your child

Our doctors who treat children with sleep disorders have expertise in pediatrics, lung and breathing conditions (pediatric pulmonologists) and brain and nervous system conditions (pediatric neurologists). Your child's care team also includes a pediatric nurse practitioner and a child-life specialist.

Our sleep medicine doctors talk with you about your concerns and goals, and they work closely with other specialists to develop the best treatment plan for your child. This multispecialty team might include doctors trained in treating children (pediatricians), heart and blood vessel conditions (pediatric cardiologists), mental health conditions (pediatric psychiatrists and psychologists), or ear, nose and throat conditions (pediatric otolaryngologists). The team also might include dental specialists and pediatric oral and maxillofacial surgeons.

Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn., is ranked among the Best Hospitals for ear, nose and throat, for neurology and neurosurgery, for respiratory disorders, and for psychiatry by U.S. News & World Report.

July 01, 2021

Pediatric Sleep Medicine in Minnesota