المجموعات المختصة بعلاج ورم المتوسطة نظرة عامة

ورم المتوسطة الخبيث (الظهارة المتوسطة) هو ورم خبيث نادر، ومع وجود أقل من 2500 حالة في السنة في الولايات المتحدة، فلدى Mayo Clinic واحدة من أكبر ممارسَات ورم المتوسطة في الولايات المتحدة، حيث تفحص من 100 إلى 150 شخصًا في السنة تم تشخيصهم حديثًا بورم المتوسطة.

يقدم خبراء ورم المتوسطة في Mayo Clinic رعاية متطورة للأشخاص المصابين بالنوعين الرئيسيين من ورم المتوسطة – الجنبي والبريتوني. يقيِّم فريق مخصَّص متعدد التخصصات جميع الأشخاص المصابين بورم المتوسطة والذين يطلبون الحصول على الرعاية في Mayo Clinic ويناقش كل حالة في مجلس الأورام المكوَّن من خبراء من مجموعة واسعة من التخصصات، ويشمل ذلك:

  • اختصاصيي طب الأورام
  • اختصاصيي علاج الأورام بالإشعاع
  • اختصاصيي أمراض الرئة
  • جرَّاحِي الصدر
  • اختصاصيي الأشعة
  • اختصاصيي الباثولوجيا (خبراء الأمراض)
  • أطباء الرعاية التلطيفية

ما يقرب من 15 ٪ من جميع الأشخاص المصابين بورم المتوسطة الجنبي مرشَّحون لخطط الرعاية التي تستخدم العديد من العلاجات المختلفة (متعددة الوسائل)، مثل الجراحة والإشعاع والعلاج الكيميائي. تشمل هذه العلاجات المتعددة الوسائل طرقًا جديدة مثل بروتوكول جراحة إزالة ورم المتوسطة بعد العلاج الإشعاعي (SMART) أو استئصال الجنبة بالكشط يليه العلاج الإشعاعي المعدل الشدة، وكلاهما مع العلاج الكيميائي.

تقدِّم Mayo Clinic أيضًا للأشخاص المصابين بورم المتوسطة إمكانية الوصول إلى تجارب سريرية متعددة لتقييم العلاجات الجديدة.

بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين ليسوا مرشَّحين للعلاج المتعدد الوسائل، تقدِّم Mayo Clinic علاجًا مجموعيًّا قياسي الرعاية. تقدِّم Mayo Clinic لهؤلاء الأشخاص أيضًا فرصة المشاركة في مجموعة متنوعة من التجارب السريرية، ويشمل ذلك العلاج المناعي والعلاج الفيروسي والعلاجات الاستهدافية وغيرها.

بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين يعانون من ورم المتوسطة البريتوني، تقدِّم Mayo Clinic أيضًا الاستئصال الجراحي والعلاج الكيميائي داخل الصفاق والعلاج المجموعي والوصول إلى التجارب السريرية.

لدى Mayo Clinic برنامج نَشِط متعدد التخصصات لإدارة الأعراض والرعاية التلطيفية لمنح الأشخاص المصابين بورم المتوسطة أفضل جودة ممكنة للحياة.

14/07/2020

Mesothelioma Specialty Group Overview

Malignant mesothelioma is a rare malignancy with fewer than 2,500 cases a year in the U.S. Mayo Clinic has one of the largest mesothelioma practices in the country, seeing between 100 and 150 people a year with newly diagnosed mesothelioma.

Mayo Clinic mesothelioma experts provide cutting-edge care to people with the two main types of mesothelioma — pleural and peritoneal. A dedicated multidisciplinary team evaluates all people with mesothelioma seeking care at Mayo Clinic and discusses each one at a Tumor Board made up experts from a wide variety of disciplines, including:

  • Medical oncologists
  • Radiation oncologists
  • Pulmonologists
  • Thoracic surgeons
  • Radiologists
  • Pathologists
  • Palliative care physicians

Approximately 15% of all people with pleural mesothelioma are candidates for care plans that use many different therapies (multimodality), such as surgery, radiation and chemotherapy. These multimodality therapies include novel approaches such as the surgery for mesothelioma after radiation therapy (SMART) protocol or pleurectomy decortication followed by intensity-modified radiation therapy, both in combination with chemotherapy.

Mayo Clinic also offers people with mesothelioma access to multiple clinical trials evaluating new therapies.

For people who are not candidates for multimodality therapy, Mayo Clinic offers standard-of-care systemic therapy. Mayo Clinic offers to these people, as well, the opportunity to participate in a variety of clinical trials, including immunotherapy, viral therapy, targeted therapies and others.

For people with peritoneal mesothelioma, Mayo Clinic also provides surgical resection, intraperitoneal chemotherapy, systemic therapy and access to clinical trials.

Mayo Clinic has an active multidisciplinary program for symptom management and palliative care to give people with mesothelioma the best quality of life possible.

Nov. 20, 2020