الأبحاث

يعمل الباحثون معًا لتطوير علاجات أفضل

طوَّر باحثو مايو كلينك علاجات مناعية من خلال لعب دورٍ أساسي في اكتشاف الأدوية (مثبطات حواجز المناعة) التي تمكِّن الجهاز المناعي من محاربة الخلايا السرطانية. إن الأطباء والباحثين في الوقت الحالي يستكشفون تقنيات جراحية جديدة روبوتية وطفيفة التوغل، وأساليب معالجة إشعاعية مبتكرة ومتطورة (العلاج الإشعاعي بالبروتونات) وعلاجات جزيئية فردية استهدافية للأشخاص المصابين بأورام صدرية خبيثة.

  • تحسين التشخيص المبكر. يدرس أطباء مايو كلينك طرقًا لتعزيز فعالية برامج الكشف عن سرطان الرئة بتوسيع فهم مخاطر سرطان الرئة وابتكار فحوصات جديدة، ويشمل ذلك فحوصات الدم التي قد تُكمل فحوصات التصوير.
  • جَعْل الجراحات أقل توغلًا. يبتكر جرَّاحو الصدر في مايو كلينك أساليب أقل توغلًا تؤدي إلى شفاءٍ أسرع وتُسفر عن ألمٍ أقل، ويشمل ذلك جراحة استئصال الفص الصغرى والجراحة الروبوتية.
  • وَضْع أهداف جديدة للعلاج المَجموعي. يدرس أطباء مايو كلينك خلايا سرطان الرئة من أجل ابتكار أساليب جديدة للعلاجات الموجَّهة. توصَّل باحثو مايو كلينك إلى اكتشاف مهم قاد إلى علاجات مناعية يُطلَق عليها اسم مثبطات حواجز المناعة، والتي أحدثت ثورةً في الرعاية المُقدمة للأشخاص المصابين بسرطان الرئة النقيلي.

تُجرى أبحاث سرطان الرئة بالتنسيق مع مركز مايو كلينك الشامل للسرطان. يتلقى مركز مايو كلينك الشامل للسرطان تمويلاً من المعهد القومي للسرطان، ويُعرف بأنه مركز شامل لعلاج السرطان؛ تقديرًا لتميزه العلمي وموارده متعددة التخصصات التي تركز على الوقاية من السرطان وتشخيصه وعلاجه.

لمعرفة المزيد عن أبحاث سرطان الرئة:

تطابق التجارب السريرية في Mayo Clinic

تسمح التجارب السريرية للمرضى بالوصول إلى العلاجات الجديدة والناشئة، ومع ذلك فإن 5 في المئة فقط من مرضى السرطان يختارون المشاركة في التجارب السريرية على المستوى الوطني. إن أحد أسباب هذه المشاركة البحثية الهزيلة هو صعوبة أن يعثر المرضى والعاملون في الأبحاث على الدراسات المناسبة. لجعل هذه العملية أكثر فاعليةً، تعاوَنتْ Mayo Clinic مع شركة IBM لتطوير Watson Clinical Trial Matching (Watson لتطابق التجارب السريرية). يستطيع Watson استيعاب كميات كبيرة من المعلومات عن الدراسات، وعلاوةً على ذلك يمكنه البحث بسرعة في سجلات المرضى للعثور على أي تطابقات. ستساعد هذه الأداة الجديدة Mayo على المطابقة السريعة للمرضى المحتمل تأهلهم لبدء تجارب Mayo السريرية. سيساعد Watson في ضمان إمكانية دراسة حالات مرضى Mayo بدقة وثبات للحصول على فرص للتجارب السريرية الواعدة في Mayo Clinic.

المنشورات

اطَّلِعْ على قائمة المنشورات حول سرطان الرئة التي أعدَّها أطباء Mayo Clinic على منصة PubMed، وهي خدمة تابعة للمكتبة الوطنية للطب.

11/02/2022

Research

Researchers work together to develop better treatments

Mayo Clinic researchers advanced immunotherapies by playing an essential role in the discovery of drugs (immune checkpoint inhibitors) that enable the immune system to fight cancer cells. Doctors and researchers are now exploring new minimally invasive and robotic surgical techniques, cutting-edge radiation therapy approaches (proton beam therapy) and individualized molecular targeted therapies for people with thoracic malignancies.

  • Improving early diagnosis. Mayo Clinic doctors are investigating ways to make lung cancer screening programs more effective by expanding the understanding of lung cancer risk and developing new tests, including blood tests, that could supplement imaging tests.
  • Making surgery less invasive. Mayo Clinic thoracic surgeons are devising less-invasive techniques that lead to faster healing and less pain, including microlobectomy and robotic surgery.
  • Developing new targets for systemic therapy. Mayo Clinic doctors are studying lung cancer cells in order to develop new ways of targeting treatments. Mayo Clinic researchers made an important discovery that led to immunotherapy treatments called immune checkpoint inhibitors that have revolutionized care for people with metastatic lung cancer.

Lung cancer research is conducted in coordination with the Mayo Clinic Cancer Center. The Mayo Clinic Cancer Center receives funding from the National Cancer Institute and is designated as a comprehensive cancer center — recognition for an institution's scientific excellence and multidisciplinary resources focused on cancer prevention, diagnosis and treatment.

Learn more about lung cancer research:

Mayo Clinic Clinical Trial Matching

Clinical trials give patients access to new and emerging treatments, yet only 5 percent of patients with cancer choose to participate in trials nationwide. One reason for such low research participation is they difficulty for patients and research staff to find the appropriate studies. In order to make this process more efficient, Mayo Clinic has teamed up with IBM to develop Watson Clinical Trial Matching. Watson can take in large amounts of information about studies and then can quickly search patient records to find any matches. This new tool will help Mayo to quickly match potentially eligible patients to open Mayo clinical trials. Watson will help ensure that Mayo patients can be accurately and consistently considered for promising clinical trial opportunities at Mayo Clinic.

Publications

See a list of publications about lung cancer by Mayo Clinic doctors on PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine.

July 14, 2020