أُرضِّع رضاعة طبيعية. هل لا بأس من تناول الكحول؟

إجابة من إليزابيث لافليور، ممرضة مسجلة.

الرضاعة الطبيعية والكحول لا يصلحان معًا. لا يُعد أي مستوى من الكحول في حليب الثدي مقبولاً لسلامة رضيعكِ.

عندما تشربين الكحول، فإنها تمر عبر حليب الثدي بنسب تركيز مشابهة لتلك الموجودة في مجرى دمك. على الرغم من أن الطفل الذي يرضع طبيعيًا يتعرض لنسبة محدودة فقط من الكحول الذي تتناوله الأم، إلا أن الطفل حديث الولادة يتخلص من الكحول من جسمه فقط بنصف السرعة التي يستغرقها شخص بالغ.

تقترح الأبحاث أن الأطفال الذين يرضعون طبيعيًا والمعرضون لتناول مشروب واحد في اليوم قد يصابون بقصور في النمو الحركي، وأن الكحول من الممكن أن تسبب حدوث تغييرات في أنماط النوم. أيضًا، بينما تذكر الأقوال الشعبية أن تناول الكحول يحسِّن إدرار الحليب، إلا أن الدراسات تظهر أن الكحول في واقع الأمر تقلل من إدرار الحليب، وبأن وجود الكحول في حليب الثدي يؤدي بالطفل لتناول حليب الثدي بكمية أقل بـ 20%.

إذا اخترتِ شرب الكحول، فتجنبي الرضاعة الطبيعية حتى يُزال الكحول بالكامل من حليب الثدي. وحسب وزن الجسم، عادة ما يستغرق ذلك بين 2 إلى 3 ساعات لكمية مقدارها 12 أونصة سائلة (355 ملليلتر) من البيرة بنسبة كحول 5%، أو لكمية مقدارها 5 أونصات سائلة (148 ملليلتر) من النبيذ بنسبة كحول 11%، أو لكمية مقدارها 1.5 أونصة سائلة (44 ملليلتر) من الكحوليات المقطرة بنسبة كحول 40٪. إذا كنتِ تخططين لشرب الكحول، فاحرصي على أن يكون ذلك بعد الرضاعة الطبيعية مباشرةً، بحيث يبدأ خُلُو حليب الثدي من الكحول أثناء الفاصل الزمني الطبيعي بين جلسات الإرضاع.

لا يسرِّع شفط حليب الثدي وإفراغه من التخلص من الكحول في الجسم. لكن في حال تفويت إحدى جلسات الرضاعة الطبيعية، فمن الممكن أن يساعد الشفط والإفراغ في الحفاظ على كمية الحليب وتجنب الاحتقان.

تذكري أن الرضاعة الطبيعية هي الطريقة الأمثل لتغذية حديثي الولادة، ويوصى بها حتى يبلغ الطفل من العمر سنة على الأقل. إذا اخترتِ تناول الكحول، فخططي بعناية لتجنب تعريض طفلك له.

With

إليزابيث لافليور، ممرضة مسجلة.

25/09/2019 See more Expert Answers

I'm breastfeeding. Is it OK to drink alcohol?

Answer From Elizabeth LaFleur, R.N.

Breastfeeding and alcohol don't mix well. There's no level of alcohol in breast milk that's considered safe for a baby to drink.

When you drink alcohol, it passes into your breast milk at concentrations similar to those found in your bloodstream. Although a breastfed baby is exposed to just a fraction of the alcohol his or her mother drinks, a newborn eliminates alcohol from his or her body at only half the rate of an adult.

Research suggests that breastfed babies who are exposed to one drink a day might have impaired motor development and that alcohol can cause changes in sleep patterns. Also, while folklore says that drinking alcohol improves milk production, studies show that alcohol actually decreases milk production and that the presence of alcohol in breast milk causes babies to drink about 20% less breast milk.

If you choose to drink, avoid breastfeeding until alcohol has completely cleared your breast milk. This typically takes 2 to 3 hours for 12 ounces (355 milliliters) of 5% beer, 5 ounces (148 milliliters) of 11% wine or 1.5 ounces (44 milliliters) of 40% liquor, depending on your body weight. If you plan to drink alcohol, consider having a drink just after breastfeeding so that the alcohol begins to clear your breast milk during the natural interval between breastfeeding sessions.

Pumping and dumping breast milk doesn't speed the elimination of alcohol from your body. However, if you'll be missing a breastfeeding session, pumping and dumping will help you maintain your milk supply and avoid engorgement.

Remember, breastfeeding is the optimal way to feed a newborn and is recommended until a baby is at least age 1. If you choose to drink, plan carefully to avoid exposing your baby to alcohol.

With

Elizabeth LaFleur, R.N.

Children’s health information and parenting tips to your inbox.

Sign-up to get Mayo Clinic’s trusted health content sent to your email. Receive a bonus guide on ways to manage your child’s health just for subscribing.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Feb. 08, 2022 See more Expert Answers