概述

什么是胃癌?妙佑医疗国际专家为您解答

肿瘤科医生 Mohamad(Bassam)Sonbol(医学博士)向您介绍胃癌的更多信息。

我是妙佑医疗国际的肿瘤科专家 Bassam Sonbol 医生。在本视频中,我们将介绍胃癌的基础知识:什么是胃癌?谁会患这种病?它的症状、诊断和治疗情况如何?无论您是为自己还是为亲友寻找答案,都能在这里找到最可靠的信息。胃癌可能发生在胃的任何部分。不过美国的胃癌病例大多发生在胃食管连接部,即食管与胃的交界处。食管是输送咀嚼后食物的通道。胃癌有几种不同的类型,但只要及早发现,大多数都可治愈。得益于技术和科学研究的进步,曾经是癌症死亡主要原因的胃癌现已排名靠后。事实上,在过去 10 年里,新增胃癌病例每年减少约 1.5%。

胃癌更常见于老年人。胃癌确诊患者的平均年龄为 68 岁。约 60% 的病例为年龄在 65 岁以上的患者,男性一生中患胃癌的风险略高于女性。但所有人都有可能患这种癌症。胃癌往往随时间的推移缓慢发展,此过程通常持续多年。在此过程中,胃细胞的 DNA 发生微小变化,指示胃细胞过度增殖,然后不断积聚,形成名为肿瘤的异常生长物。有几个已知可能会增加患胃癌风险的风险因素,例如抽烟会使患胃癌的风险增加一倍。风险因素还包括胃癌家族史、幽门螺杆菌感染、长期胃部炎症、胃食管反流病或胃息肉。平时大量摄入高盐和烟熏食物,或很少吃水果蔬菜,也可能是风险因素。体重较高与患胃癌的风险之间也存在一定的相关性。

胃癌可能有多种不同的表现形式,例如吞咽困难、饭后腹胀、少量进食后即产生饱腹感、胃灼热、消化不良、恶心、胃疼、意外的体重减轻和呕吐。如果您对任何体征和症状感到担心,请与医生约诊。医生可能先探察这些症状的较为常见原因,也可能将您转诊给专科医生,例如胃肠科医生或像我这样的肿瘤科医生。

为确定您是否患有胃癌,医生可能先进行上消化道内镜检查,这个检查需要将一个微型摄像头经由咽喉穿入胃部。如果医生发现可疑迹象,会切除一些组织进行活检,将细胞送到实验室进行进一步分析。医生也可能会进行一些影像学检查,例如 CT 扫描或名为钡餐的特殊 X 线检查。识别癌症的进展程度有助于医生确定最佳治疗方案。为确定分期,医生将进行更多检查,如血液检测、内镜超声检查、CT 扫描或 PET 扫描。在某些情况下,医生可能建议进行腹腔镜手术,将一个特殊的摄像头直接插入腹部。

制定胃癌治疗计划需要不同专科的医生通力合作。我们的目标是从患者整体健康状况和个人福祉出发,制定最佳治疗计划。目前,胃癌主要有五种治疗方案:手术切除所有癌变组织,可能需要切除周围部分健康组织。化疗,使用作用于全身的药物破坏其途中遇到的所有癌细胞。放射疗法,使用高能能量束靶向癌细胞。靶向药物治疗,侧重于阻断癌细胞内的特定弱点。免疫疗法,一种帮助免疫系统识别危险细胞并对其发起攻击的药物治疗。

发现自己患有癌症可能让人感到崩溃和难以接受。找到有其他人能理解自己处境的地方可能会有帮助。不妨尝试与网上或自己社区里的癌症幸存者联系。了解自己的医疗状况可能有助于作出自信的治疗决策。如欲了解更多关于胃癌的信息,请观看我们的其他相关视频或访问 mayoclinic.org。祝您健康!

胃癌是从胃部开始的一种细胞生长物。胃位于腹部的中上部,肋骨正下方。胃可以帮助分解和消化食物。

胃癌可能发生在胃的任何部分。在世界大多数地方,胃的主体部分是胃癌的高发处。该部位叫做胃体部。

在美国,胃癌始于胃与食管连接部的可能性更高。这是吞咽食物的长管与胃连接的部分。将食物运送到胃的管道称为食管。

癌症在胃部的初发位置是医务人员制定治疗计划时的一个考虑因素。其他因素可能包括癌症分期和涉及的细胞类型。常见治疗包括手术切除胃癌。术前和术后可能会使用其他治疗方法。

如果癌症局限在胃部,胃癌治疗最有可能成功。胃癌较小患者的预后相当好。许多患者预期可以治愈。大多数胃癌是在晚期时发现,治愈可能性小。穿过胃壁生长或扩散到身体其他部位的胃癌很难治愈。

症状

胃癌的体征和症状可能包括:

  • 吞咽困难
  • 腹部疼痛
  • 进食后腹胀
  • 只吃少量食物就有饱腹感
  • 在该饿的时候感觉不到饿
  • 胃灼热
  • 消化不良
  • 恶心
  • 呕吐
  • 非刻意的体重下降
  • 感觉非常疲惫
  • 大便变黑

胃癌在早期阶段并不一定会出现症状。出现症状后,可能包括消化不良和上腹部疼痛。症状可能要到癌症晚期才会出现。胃癌晚期可能会出现异常疲劳、非刻意的体重下降、吐血和黑便等症状。

扩散到身体其他部位的胃癌称为转移性胃癌,会引起转移部位特定的症状。例如,癌症扩散到淋巴结后,可能会出现可透过皮肤感觉到的肿块。如果癌症扩散到肝脏,可能会出现皮肤和眼白发黄。如果癌症扩散到腹腔,可能会引起腹部积液,导致腹部肿胀。

何时就诊

如果出现让您担忧的体征和症状,请与医务人员约诊。许多状况会导致类似胃癌的症状。医务人员可能在检查胃癌之前先检查其他原因。

病因

目前尚不清楚导致胃癌的原因。专家认为,大多数胃癌都始于胃黏膜出现损伤。例如,胃部感染、长期胃酸反流和摄入大量咸味食物。但是,并非每个有这些风险因素的人都会患胃癌。因此,需要开展更多研究来找出确切病因。

当胃黏膜细胞受到损伤时,就会发展成癌症。胃黏膜损伤会导致细胞中的 DNA 发生变化。细胞的 DNA 包含指示细胞该如何做的指令。这种 DNA 变化则指示细胞快速增殖。当健康细胞按照其自然生命周期正常死亡时,这些细胞会继续存活,导致胃部产生大量额外细胞。这些细胞形成肿块,即肿瘤。

胃部的癌细胞可以侵入并破坏健康的身体组织,可能开始向胃壁深处生长。随着时间的推移,癌细胞可能脱离原位并扩散到身体的其他部位。癌细胞扩散到身体其他部位的情况称为转移。

胃癌类型

癌症起源细胞的类型决定了您所患胃癌的类型。胃癌类型的示例包括:

  • 腺癌。胃腺癌起源于产生黏液的细胞。这是胃癌中最常见的类型。几乎所有始发于胃部的癌症都是胃腺癌。
  • 胃肠道间质瘤(GIST)。GIST 始发于胃壁和其他消化器官中发现的特殊神经细胞。GIST 是一种软组织肉瘤。
  • 类癌瘤。类癌瘤是起源于神经内分泌细胞的癌症。神经内分泌细胞分布于身体的诸多部位。这些细胞会发挥一些神经细胞功能,也能产生激素。类癌瘤是神经内分泌肿瘤的一种。
  • 淋巴瘤。淋巴瘤是一种始发于免疫系统细胞的癌症。人体的免疫系统将病菌作为攻击目标。如果身体将免疫系统细胞送到胃中,那么淋巴瘤有时会起源于胃部。如果身体试图抵抗感染,可能会发生这种情况。大多数源于胃部的淋巴瘤属于非霍奇金淋巴瘤。

风险因素

增加患胃癌风险的因素包括:

  • 持续存在胃酸反流进入食管的问题,称为胃食管反流病
  • 进食大量咸味和烟熏食物
  • 蔬果摄入不足
  • 幽门螺杆菌引起的胃部感染
  • 胃内部肿胀、刺激,称为胃炎
  • 抽烟
  • 胃中有非癌细胞生长物,称为息肉
  • 胃癌家族史
  • 增加患胃癌和其他癌症风险的遗传综合征家族史,如遗传性弥漫性胃癌、林奇综合征、青少年息肉病综合征、波伊茨-耶格综合征和家族性腺瘤性息肉病

预防

为了降低患胃癌的风险,您可以:

  • 多吃水果和蔬菜。每天尽量多吃水果和蔬菜。选择各类颜色鲜艳的果蔬。
  • 减少咸味和烟熏食品的摄入量。通过限制这些食物来保护您的胃。
  • 戒烟。如果您吸烟,请戒烟。如果您不吸烟,继续保持。吸烟会增加您患胃癌和其他癌症的风险。戒烟可能非常困难,因此不妨向医务人员求助。
  • 如果您家族中有人患胃癌,请告知医务人员。有明显胃癌家族史的人可能会做胃癌筛查。胃癌筛查可以在胃癌症状发作之前发现病灶。

April 26, 2023

Living with 胃癌?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Cancer support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Cancer Discussions

pgf
Anyone diagnosed with Gallbladder cancer?

70 Replies Sun, Jul 14, 2024

See more discussions
  1. AskMayoExpert. Gastric cancer (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2020.
  2. Gastric cancer. National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/guidelines/guidelines-detail?category=1&id=1434. Accessed July 22, 2022.
  3. Niederhuber JE, et al., eds. Cancer of the stomach. In: Abeloff's Clinical Oncology. 6th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed July 22, 2022.
  4. Gastric cancer treatment (PDQ). National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/stomach/patient/stomach-treatment-pdq. Accessed July 22, 2022.
  5. Gastric (stomach) cancer prevention (PDQ). National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/stomach/patient/stomach-prevention-pdq. Accessed July 22, 2022.
  6. Palliative care. National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/guidelines/guidelines-detail?category=3&id=1454. Accessed July 22, 2022.
  7. Odze RD, et al., eds. Epithelial neoplasms of the stomach. In: Surgical Pathology of the GI Tract, Liver, Biliary Tract and Pancreas. 4th ed. Elsevier; 2023. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 5, 2022.
  8. Mansfield PF. Clinical features, diagnosis and staging of gastric cancer. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Aug. 5, 2022.
  9. Andreas A, et al., eds. The stomach. In: Grainger & Allison's Diagnostic Radiology: A Textbook of Medical Imaging. 7th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 5, 2022.
  10. Xia JY, et al. Advances in screening and detection of gastric cancer. Journal of Surgical Oncology. 2022; doi:10.1002/jso.26844.
  11. Best hospitals for gastroenterology and GI surgery. U.S. News & World Report. https://health.usnews.com/best-hospitals/rankings/gastroenterology-and-gi-surgery. Accessed Aug. 2, 2022.
  12. Best hospitals for cancer. U.S. News & World Report. https://health.usnews.com/best-hospitals/rankings/cancer. Accessed Sept. 9, 2022.
  13. Warner KJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Feb. 12, 2020.

Overview

What is stomach cancer? A Mayo Clinic expert explains

Learn more about stomach cancer from oncologist Mohamad (Bassam) Sonbol, M.D.

I'm Dr. Bassam Sonbol, an oncologist at Mayo Clinic. In this video we'll cover the basics of stomach cancer: What is it? Who gets it? The symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment. Whether you're looking for answers for yourself or someone you love, we're here to give you the best information available. Stomach cancer, also called gastric cancer, can happen in any part of the stomach. However, in the U.S., most stomach cancers occur in the gastroesophageal junction, which is where the esophagus - the tube that carries chewed up food - meets the stomach. There are several different types of stomach cancers, but most are curable if detected at an early stage. What once was the leading cause of cancer death is now well down on the list thanks to the advancement in technology and scientific research. In fact, new cases of stomach cancers have dropped by about 1.5% every year for the last 10 years.

Stomach cancer more commonly affects older people. The average age of those diagnosed with stomach cancer is 68. Around 60% of cases occur in patients older than 65, and there is a slightly higher lifetime risk of stomach cancer in men. However, it can affect anyone. Stomach cancer tends to develop slowly over time, usually over many years. What happens is small changes occur in the DNA of the stomach cells, telling them to over multiply and then they accumulate, forming abnormal growth called tumors. There are several known risk factors that could increase your risk of developing stomach cancer, for instance, smoking doubles your risk of stomach cancer, family history of stomach cancer, infection with H. pylori, long-term stomach inflammation, gastroesophageal reflux disease, or stomach polyps. Eating a diet high in salty and smoked foods or low in fruits and vegetables can be also a risk. And there is some correlation between higher weight and risk, as well.

Stomach cancer can present itself in several different ways, such as difficulty swallowing, feeling bloated after eating, feeling full after only eating a small amount of food, heartburn, indigestion, nausea, stomach pain, unintentional weight loss, and vomiting. If you have any signs and symptoms that worry you, make an appointment with your doctor. Your doctor may investigate the more common causes of these symptoms first or refer you to a specialist, like a gastroenterologist or an oncologist, like me.

To determine if you have stomach cancer, your doctor may start with an upper endoscopy, where a tiny camera is passed through the throat and into the stomach. If your doctor finds something suspicious, they remove some tissue for a biopsy, where the cells gets sent to a lab for further analysis. Your doctor may also run some imaging tests, like CT scan or a special x-ray called a barium swallow. Identifying the extent of the cancer helps your doctor determine the best treatment. To determine the stage, they will run more tests, like blood tests, endoscopic ultrasound, CT scan, or a PET scan. In some cases, your doctor may recommend laparoscopic surgery, where the doctor inserts a special camera directly into the abdomen.

Creating a treatment plan for stomach cancer is a collaborative effort between doctors from different specialties. Our goal is to make the best treatment plan for your overall health and personal well-being. There are five main treatment options for stomach cancer: Surgery to remove all of the cancerous tissue and probably some of the healthy tissue around it. Chemotherapy, which uses drugs that journey throughout the body, destroying any cancer cells in its path. Radiation therapy, which uses high-powered beams of energy to target cancer cells. Targeted drug therapy, focusing on blocking specific weaknesses present within cancer cells. And immunotherapy, a drug treatment that helps your immune system recognize which cells are dangerous and attack them.

Finding out you have cancer can be really overwhelming and difficult. It can help to find spaces where other people understand what you're going through. Try connecting with cancer survivors online or in your community. Learning about your condition can help you make confident decisions about your care. If you'd like to learn more about stomach cancer, watch our other related videos or visit mayoclinic.org. We wish you well.

Stomach cancer, which is also called gastric cancer, is a growth of cells that starts in the stomach. The stomach is in the upper middle part of the belly, just below the ribs. The stomach helps to break down and digest food.

Stomach cancer can happen in any part of the stomach. In most of the world, stomach cancers happen in the main part of the stomach. This part is called the stomach body.

In the United States, stomach cancer is more likely to start by the gastroesophageal junction. This is the part where the long tube that carries food you swallow meets the stomach. The tube that carries food to the stomach is called the esophagus.

Where the cancer starts in the stomach is one factor health care providers think about when making a treatment plan. Other factors might include the cancer's stage and the type of cells involved. Treatment often includes surgery to remove the stomach cancer. Other treatments may be used before and after surgery.

Stomach cancer treatment is most likely to be successful if the cancer is only in the stomach. The prognosis for people with small stomach cancers is quite good. Many can expect to be cured. Most stomach cancers are found when the disease is advanced and a cure is less likely. Stomach cancer that grows through the stomach wall or spreads to other parts of the body is harder to cure.

Symptoms

Signs and symptoms of stomach cancer may include:

  • Trouble swallowing
  • Belly pain
  • Feeling bloated after eating
  • Feeling full after eating small amounts of food
  • Not feeling hungry when you would expect to be hungry
  • Heartburn
  • Indigestion
  • Nausea
  • Vomiting
  • Losing weight without trying
  • Feeling very tired
  • Stools that look black

Stomach cancer doesn't always cause symptoms in its early stages. When they happen, symptoms might include indigestion and pain in the upper part of the belly. Symptoms might not happen until the cancer is advanced. Later stages of stomach cancer might cause symptoms such as feeling very tired, losing weight without trying, vomiting blood and having black stools.

Stomach cancer that spreads to other parts of the body is called metastatic stomach cancer. It causes symptoms specific to where it spreads. For example, when cancer spreads to the lymph nodes it might cause lumps you can feel through the skin. Cancer that spreads to the liver might cause yellowing of the skin and whites of the eyes. If cancer spreads within the belly, it might cause fluid to fill the belly. The belly might look swollen.

When to see a doctor

If you have signs and symptoms that worry you, make an appointment with your health care provider. Many conditions can cause symptoms that are like the ones caused by stomach cancer. Your provider might test for those other causes first before testing for stomach cancer.

Get Mayo Clinic cancer expertise delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe for free and receive an in-depth guide to coping with cancer, plus helpful information on how to get a second opinion. You can unsubscribe at any time.

I would like to learn more about

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Causes

It's not clear what causes stomach cancer. Experts believe most stomach cancers start when something hurts the inside lining of the stomach. Examples include having an infection in the stomach, having long-standing acid reflux and eating a lot of salty foods. Not everyone with these risk factors gets stomach cancer, though. So more research is needed to find out exactly what causes it.

Stomach cancer begins when something hurts cells in the inner lining of the stomach. It causes the cells to develop changes in their DNA. A cell's DNA holds the instructions that tell a cell what to do. The changes tell the cells to multiply quickly. The cells can go on living when healthy cells would die as part of their natural lifecycle. This causes a lot of extra cells in the stomach. The cells can form a mass called a tumor.

Cancer cells in the stomach can invade and destroy healthy body tissue. They might start to grow deeper into the wall of the stomach. In time, cancer cells can break away and spread to other parts of the body. When cancer cells spread to another part of the body it's called metastasis.

Types of stomach cancer

The type of stomach cancer you have is based on the type of cell where your cancer began. Examples of stomach cancer types include:

  • Adenocarcinoma. Adenocarcinoma stomach cancer starts in cells that produce mucous. This is the most common type of stomach cancer. Nearly all cancers that start in the stomach are adenocarcinoma stomach cancers.
  • Gastrointestinal stromal tumors (GIST). GIST starts in special nerve cells that are found in the wall of the stomach and other digestive organs. GIST is a type of soft tissue sarcoma.
  • Carcinoid tumors. Carcinoid tumors are cancers that start in the neuroendocrine cells. Neuroendocrine cells are found in many places in the body. They do some nerve cell functions and some of the work of cells that make hormones. Carcinoid tumors are a type of neuroendocrine tumor.
  • Lymphoma. Lymphoma is a cancer that starts in immune system cells. The body's immune system fights germs. Lymphoma can sometimes start in the stomach if the body sends immune system cells to the stomach. This might happen if the body is trying to fight off an infection. Most lymphomas that start in the stomach are a type of non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.

Risk factors

Factors that increase the risk of stomach cancer include:

  • Ongoing problems with stomach acid backing up into the esophagus, which is called gastroesophageal reflux disease
  • A diet high in salty and smoked foods
  • A diet low in fruits and vegetables
  • Infection in the stomach caused by a germ called Helicobacter pylori
  • Swelling and irritation of the inside of the stomach, which is called gastritis
  • Smoking
  • Growths of noncancerous cells in the stomach, called polyps
  • Family history of stomach cancer
  • Family history of genetic syndromes that increase the risk of stomach cancer and other cancers, such as hereditary diffuse gastric cancer, Lynch syndrome, juvenile polyposis syndrome, Peutz-Jeghers syndrome and familial adenomatous polyposis

Prevention

To lower the risk of stomach cancer, you can:

  • Eat plenty of fruits and vegetables. Try to include fruits and vegetables in your diet each day. Choose a variety of colorful fruits and vegetables.
  • Reduce the amount of salty and smoked foods you eat. Protect your stomach by limiting these foods.
  • Stop smoking. If you smoke, quit. If you don't smoke, don't start. Smoking increases your risk of stomach cancer and many other types of cancer. Quitting smoking can be very hard, so ask your health care provider for help.
  • Tell your health care provider if stomach cancer runs in your family. People with a strong family history of stomach cancer might have stomach cancer screening. Screening tests can detect stomach cancer before it causes symptoms.

Stomach cancer care at Mayo Clinic

Sept. 14, 2022

Living with stomach cancer?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Proton Beam Therapy support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Proton Beam Therapy Discussions

upnort
What's the difference between proton vs traditional radiation?

17 Replies Sat, Feb 12, 2022

desertrat
Starting Proton Treatments for Prostate Cancer: Any experiences?

12 Replies Sat, Feb 05, 2022

tomm1951
What's your experience: proton SBRT non small cell lung cancer?

5 Replies Thu, Sep 23, 2021

See more discussions
  1. AskMayoExpert. Gastric cancer (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2020.
  2. Gastric cancer. National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/guidelines/guidelines-detail?category=1&id=1434. Accessed July 22, 2022.
  3. Niederhuber JE, et al., eds. Cancer of the stomach. In: Abeloff's Clinical Oncology. 6th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed July 22, 2022.
  4. Gastric cancer treatment (PDQ). National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/stomach/patient/stomach-treatment-pdq. Accessed July 22, 2022.
  5. Gastric (stomach) cancer prevention (PDQ). National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/stomach/patient/stomach-prevention-pdq. Accessed July 22, 2022.
  6. Palliative care. National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/guidelines/guidelines-detail?category=3&id=1454. Accessed July 22, 2022.
  7. Odze RD, et al., eds. Epithelial neoplasms of the stomach. In: Surgical Pathology of the GI Tract, Liver, Biliary Tract and Pancreas. 4th ed. Elsevier; 2023. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 5, 2022.
  8. Mansfield PF. Clinical features, diagnosis and staging of gastric cancer. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Aug. 5, 2022.
  9. Andreas A, et al., eds. The stomach. In: Grainger & Allison's Diagnostic Radiology: A Textbook of Medical Imaging. 7th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 5, 2022.
  10. Xia JY, et al. Advances in screening and detection of gastric cancer. Journal of Surgical Oncology. 2022; doi:10.1002/jso.26844.
  11. Best hospitals for gastroenterology and GI surgery. U.S. News & World Report. https://health.usnews.com/best-hospitals/rankings/gastroenterology-and-gi-surgery. Accessed Aug. 2, 2022.
  12. Best hospitals for cancer. U.S. News & World Report. https://health.usnews.com/best-hospitals/rankings/cancer. Accessed Sept. 9, 2022.
  13. Warner KJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Feb. 12, 2020.