概述

小肠癌这种癌症最开始是小肠中的细胞生长物。小肠是将消化的食物从胃部带入大肠的一个长管。

小肠消化和吸收食物营养。小肠产生帮助消化的激素。小肠也是人体对抗细菌的免疫系统的一部分。小肠内有对抗通过口腔进入人体的细菌和病毒的细胞。

小肠癌的治疗通常包括手术切除患癌部位。其他治疗方法包括化疗和靶向治疗,这些方法采用厌恶杀死癌细胞。手术前,可能需要放射疗法缩小癌症病灶。

Types

症状

小肠癌的症状包括:

  • 腹痛。
  • 皮肤和眼白发黄(黄疸)。
  • 感觉虚弱或疲惫。
  • 恶心。
  • 呕吐。
  • 体重意外下降。
  • 大便带血,可能呈红色或黑色。
  • 水样腹泻。
  • 皮肤潮红。

病因

小肠癌的病因尚不清楚。目前已知的是小肠中的细胞发生了某种变化,使它们发生癌变。

小肠细胞的 DNA 发生变化时,就会引起小肠癌。细胞的 DNA 含有指示细胞工作的指令。这种 DNA 变化则指示细胞快速增殖。当健康细胞按照其自然生命周期正常死亡时,癌细胞会继续存活。这会导致细胞过多。这些细胞可能会形成一个肿块,称为肿瘤。此类细胞可以侵入并破坏健康的身体组织。随着时间的推移,这些细胞可能脱离原来位置并扩散至身体其他部位。

小肠癌的类型

癌症起源细胞的类型决定了您所患小肠癌的类型。小肠癌类型的示例包括:

  • 腺癌。腺癌是最常见的小肠癌。腺癌起源于产生黏液的腺细胞。
  • 神经内分泌肿瘤。神经内分泌肿瘤是起源于神经内分泌细胞的癌症。神经内分泌细胞分布于身体的诸多部位。这些细胞会发挥一些神经细胞功能,也能产生激素。
  • 淋巴瘤。淋巴瘤是一种始发于免疫系统细胞的癌症。人体的免疫系统将病菌作为攻击目标。小肠内的免疫系统细胞对抗通过口腔进入人体的细菌和病毒。大多数小肠淋巴瘤属于非霍奇金淋巴瘤。
  • 软组织肉瘤。软组织肉瘤是始于身体结缔组织的癌症。一种软组织肉瘤是胃肠道间质瘤(GIST)。GIST 始发于小肠壁中发现的特殊神经细胞。

医疗护理团队在制定治疗计划时还会考虑您的小肠癌的类型。

风险因素

可能增加小肠癌风险的因素包括:

  • 家族遗传的 DNA 变化。父母遗传的某些 DNA 变化会增加罹患小肠癌和其他癌症的风险。例如林奇综合征、家族性腺瘤性息肉病(又称 FAP)和波伊茨 - 耶格综合征。
  • 其他小肠疾病。影响肠道的其他疾病和状况可能会增加罹患小肠癌的风险。其中可能包括克罗恩病、炎性肠病和乳糜泻。
  • 免疫系统功能低下。如果人体的抗菌免疫系统功能减弱,就会增加罹患小肠癌的风险。例如 HIV 感染者和在器官移植后服药控制免疫系统的患者。
  • 您吃喝的所有东西。有研究发现,吃喝某些东西的人群患小肠癌的风险更高。例如,这种风险似乎与饮酒和纤维含量低而红肉、糖、盐腌及烟熏食品含量高的饮食有关。

并发症

小肠癌可能导致很多并发症,包括:

  • 其他癌症风险增加。小肠癌患者患其他类型癌症的风险更高。其中可能包括影响结肠、直肠、卵巢和子宫的内膜(称为子宫内膜)的癌症。
  • 扩散至身体的其他部位的癌症。晚期小肠癌可扩散到身体其他部位。扩散的癌症,称为转移癌。小肠癌最常扩散到肝脏。

预防

目前还不清楚哪些因素有助于降低罹患小肠癌的风险。如果想降低患癌症的风险,以下方法可能会有所帮助:

  • 多吃水果、蔬菜和全谷物食品。水果、蔬菜和全谷物食品含有维生素、矿物质、纤维和抗氧化剂,可能有助于降低罹患癌症和其他疾病的风险。多吃各种水果和蔬菜,摄取各种维生素和营养物。
  • 适度饮酒,如果无法彻底戒酒。如果您决定喝酒,请注意适量。对于健康成人来说,适度饮酒是指女性每天最多一杯,男性每天最多两杯。
  • 戒烟。向医疗护理专业人员咨询适合您的戒烟方法。
  • 每周大多数日子都运动。大多时候尽量至少运动 30 分钟。如果长期没运动,可以慢慢开始,时间逐渐增加到 30 分钟。此外,在开始任何运动项目前,请先咨询医疗护理团队。
  • 保持健康体重。如果您的体重处于健康水平,请通过健康饮食结合日常运动来保持体重。如果需要减重,请向医疗护理团队咨询实现目标的健康方法。争取通过增加运动量和减少摄入热量来缓慢减轻体重。

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

Dec. 13, 2023

Living with 小肠癌?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Cancer support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Cancer Discussions

Colleen Young, Connect Director
Diagnosed with sarcoma? Let's share

730 Replies Fri, Feb 23, 2024

redneckchic501
Merkel Cell Carcinoma: I'd like to hear from others

74 Replies Thu, Feb 22, 2024

See more discussions
  1. Overman MJ, et al. Epidemiology, clinical features, and types of small bowel neoplasms. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed March 13, 2023.
  2. Cusack JC, et al. Treatment of small bowel neoplasms. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed March 13, 2023.
  3. Overman MJ, et al. Diagnosis and staging of small bowel neoplasms. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed March 13, 2023.
  4. Niederhuber JE, et al., eds. Cancer of the small bowel. In: Abeloff's Clinical Oncology. 6th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 13, 2023.
  5. Cameron JL, et al., eds. Management of small bowel tumors. In: Current Surgical Therapy. 14th ed. Elsevier; 2023. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 13, 2023.
  6. Cancer prevention overview (PDQ) — Patient version. National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/causes-prevention/patient-prevention-overview-pdq. Accessed March 13, 2023.
  7. Townsend CM Jr, et al. Small intestine. In: Sabiston Textbook of Surgery: The Biological Basis of Modern Surgical Practice. 21st ed. Elsevier; 2022. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 13, 2023.
  8. Small bowel adenocarcinoma. National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/guidelines/guidelines-detail?category=1&id=1495. Accessed March 13, 2023.
  9. Rethinking drinking: How much is too much? National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism. https://www.rethinkingdrinking.niaaa.nih.gov/How-much-is-too-much/Whats-the-harm/What-Are-The-Risks.aspx. Accessed March 13, 2023.
  10. 2020-2025 Dietary Guidelines for Americans. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and U.S. Department of Agriculture. https://www.dietaryguidelines.gov/. Accessed March 13, 2023.
  11. Small bowel cancer. Cancer.Net. https://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/small-bowel-cancer/view-all. March 13, 2023.
  12. Small intestine cancer treatment (PDQ) — Patient version. National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/small-intestine/patient/small-intestine-treatment-pdq. Accessed March 13, 2023.
  13. Kita H. Overview of deep small bowel enteroscopy. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed March 22, 2023.

Overview

Small bowel cancer is an uncommon type of cancer that occurs in the small intestine. Your small intestine, which is also called the small bowel, is a long tube that carries digested food between your stomach and your large intestine (colon).

The small intestine is responsible for digesting and absorbing nutrients from the foods you eat. It produces hormones that help with digestion. The small intestine also plays a role in your body's germ-fighting immune system, as it contains cells that fight bacteria and viruses that enter your body through your mouth.

Types of small bowel cancer include:

  • Adenocarcinoma
  • Neuroendocrine tumors, including carcinoid tumors and paraganglioma
  • Lymphoma
  • Sarcoma, including gastrointestinal stromal tumor (GIST)

What treatment options are best for you depend on the type of small bowel cancer you have and its stage.

Types

Symptoms

Signs and symptoms of small bowel cancer include:

  • Abdominal pain
  • Yellowing of the skin and the whites of the eyes (jaundice)
  • Feeling unusually weak or tired
  • Nausea
  • Vomiting
  • Losing weight without trying
  • Blood in the stool, which might appear red or black
  • Watery diarrhea
  • Skin flushing

Causes

Doctors aren't certain what causes most small bowel cancers.

In general, small bowel cancer begins when healthy cells in the small bowel develop changes (mutations) in their DNA. A cell's DNA contains a set of instructions that tell a cell what to do.

Healthy cells grow and divide in an orderly way to keep your body functioning normally. But when a cell's DNA is damaged and becomes cancerous, cells continue to divide — even when new cells aren't needed. As these cells accumulate, they form a tumor.

With time, the cancer cells can grow to invade and destroy normal tissue nearby. And cancerous cells can spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body.

Risk factors

Factors that may increase the risk of small bowel cancer include:

  • Gene mutations passed through families. Some gene mutations that are inherited from your parents can increase your risk of small bowel cancer and other cancers. Examples include Lynch syndrome, familial adenomatous polyposis (FAP) and Peutz-Jeghers syndrome.
  • Other bowel diseases. Other diseases and conditions that affect the intestines may increase the risk of small bowel cancer, including Crohn's disease, inflammatory bowel disease and celiac disease.
  • Weakened immune system. If your body's germ-fighting immune system is weakened, you may have an increased risk of small bowel cancer. Examples include people with HIV infection and those who take anti-rejection medicine after an organ transplant.

Complications

Small bowel cancer can cause complications, including:

  • An increased risk of other cancers. People who have small bowel cancer run a higher risk of having other types of cancers, including those that affect the colon, rectum, ovaries and the lining of the uterus (endometrium).
  • Cancer that spreads to other parts of the body. Advanced small bowel cancer can spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body, most often the liver.

Prevention

It's not clear what may help to reduce the risk of small bowel cancer, since it's very uncommon. If you're interested in reducing your risk of cancer in general, it may help to:

  • Eat a variety of fruits, vegetables and whole grains. Fruits, vegetables and whole grains contain vitamins, minerals, fiber and antioxidants, which may help reduce your risk of cancer and other diseases. Choose a variety of fruits and vegetables so that you get an array of vitamins and nutrients.
  • Drink alcohol in moderation, if at all. If you choose to drink alcohol, limit the amount of alcohol you drink to no more than one drink a day for women of all ages and men older than age 65, and up to two drinks a day for men age 65 and younger.
  • Stop smoking. Talk to your doctor about ways to quit that may work for you.
  • Exercise most days of the week. Try to get at least 30 minutes of exercise on most days. If you've been inactive, start slowly and build up gradually to 30 minutes. Also, talk to your doctor before starting any exercise program.
  • Maintain a healthy weight. If you are at a healthy weight, work to maintain your weight by combining a healthy diet with daily exercise. If you need to lose weight, ask your doctor about healthy ways to achieve your goal. Aim to lose weight slowly by increasing the amount of exercise you get and reducing the number of calories you eat.

Small bowel cancer care at Mayo Clinic

July 09, 2019
  1. Cusack JC, et al. Epidemiology, clinical features, and types of small bowel neoplasms. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed March 31, 2019.
  2. Cusack JC, et al. Treatment of small bowel neoplasms. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed March 31, 2019.
  3. Cusack JC, et al. Diagnosis and staging of small bowel neoplasms. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed March 31, 2019.
  4. Niederhuber JE, et al., eds. Cancer of the small bowel. In: Abeloff's Clinical Oncology. 6th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed April 28, 2019.
  5. Cameron JL, et al. The management of small bowel tumors. In: Current Surgical Therapy. 12th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 13, 2018.
  6. Cancer prevention overview (PDQ) — Health professional version. National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/causes-prevention/hp-prevention-overview-pdq. Accessed April 28, 2019.
  7. Townsend CM Jr, et al. Small intestine. In: Sabiston Textbook of Surgery: The Biological Basis of Modern Surgical Practice. 20th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 30, 2019.