概述

藏毛囊肿是皮肤上的异常囊袋,通常包含毛发和皮肤碎屑。藏毛囊肿几乎总是发生在股沟顶部尾椎骨附近。

当毛发刺穿皮肤然后嵌入囊肿中时,通常会发生藏毛囊肿。如果藏毛囊肿发生感染,所产生的脓肿往往会剧烈疼痛。这种囊肿可通过小切口排脓或手术切除。

藏毛囊肿多发于青年男性,且有复发的趋势。卡车司机等久坐者患藏毛囊肿的风险较高。

症状

受到感染时,藏毛囊肿会变成肿块(脓肿)。受感染藏毛囊肿的体征和症状包括:

  • 疼痛
  • 皮肤发红
  • 皮肤的开口处排出脓液或血液
  • 排出的脓液散发恶臭

何时就诊

如果您注意到藏毛囊肿的体征和症状,请就医。医生可以通过检查病变来诊断该疾病。

病因

藏毛囊肿的确切病因尚不清楚。但是大多数藏毛囊肿似乎是由渗透到皮肤中的松散毛发引起的。摩擦和压力(皮肤相互摩擦、紧身衣服、骑自行车、久坐或类似因素)迫使毛发向下进入皮肤。人体认为毛发是异物,作为一种反应,身体会在毛发周围形成一个囊肿。

这就解释了为什么在极少的情况下有藏毛囊肿病例发生在除尾骨附近的身体其他部位。例如,理发师、狗美容师和剪羊毛的人已经在手指之间的皮肤中形成了藏毛囊肿。

风险因素

某些因素可能使您更容易患藏毛囊肿,例如:

  • 男性
  • 青少年(藏毛囊肿在 20 岁左右的人群中最常见)
  • 肥胖症
  • 缺乏运动的生活方式
  • 需要久坐的职业
  • 体毛过多
  • 毛发粗硬

并发症

如果慢性感染的藏毛囊肿未得到适当治疗,您患上一种名为鳞状细胞癌的皮肤癌的风险可能略有升高。

预防

为了帮助预防藏毛囊肿,请尝试:

  • 保持伤口清洁
  • 减轻体重(如果需要)
  • 避免久坐

如果您曾患藏毛囊肿,您可能需要定期刮毛或使用脱毛产品,以减少复发风险。

Nov. 19, 2020
  1. Cameron JL, et al., eds. The management of pilonidal disease. In: Current Surgical Therapy. 11th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2014. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 15, 2015.
  2. Pfenninger JL, et al., eds. Pilonidal cyst and abscess: Current management. In: Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care. 3rd ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2011. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 15, 2015.
  3. Marx JA, et al., eds. Disorders of the anorectum. In: Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice. 8th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2014. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 15, 2015.
  4. Sullivan DJ, et al. Intergluteal pilonidal disease: Clinical manifestations and diagnosis. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Aug. 14, 2015.
  5. Pilonidal disease. American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons. https://www.fascrs.org/patients/disease-condition/pilonidal-disease. Accessed Aug. 16, 2015.

Overview

A pilonidal (pie-low-NIE-dul) cyst is an abnormal pocket in the skin that usually contains hair and skin debris. A pilonidal cyst is almost always located near the tailbone at the top of the cleft of the buttocks.

Pilonidal cysts usually occur when hair punctures the skin and then becomes embedded. If a pilonidal cyst becomes infected, the resulting abscess is often extremely painful. The cyst can be drained through a small incision or removed surgically.

Pilonidal cysts most commonly occur in young men, and the problem has a tendency to recur. People who sit for prolonged periods of time, such as truck drivers, are at higher risk of developing a pilonidal cyst.

Symptoms

When it's infected, a pilonidal cyst becomes a swollen mass (abscess). Signs and symptoms of an infected pilonidal cyst include:

  • Pain
  • Reddening of the skin
  • Drainage of pus or blood from an opening in the skin
  • Foul smell from draining pus

When to see a doctor

If you notice any signs or symptoms of a pilonidal cyst, see your doctor. He or she can diagnose the condition by examining the lesion.

Causes

The exact cause of pilonidal cysts isn't clear. But most pilonidal cysts appear to be caused by loose hairs that penetrate the skin. Friction and pressure — skin rubbing against skin, tight clothing, bicycling, long periods of sitting or similar factors — force the hair down into skin. Responding to the hair as a foreign substance, the body creates a cyst around the hair.

This explanation accounts for rare cases of pilonidal cysts that occur in parts of the body other than near the tailbone. For example, barbers, dog groomers and sheep shearers have developed pilonidal cysts in the skin between fingers.

Risk factors

Certain factors can make you more susceptible to developing pilonidal cysts, such as:

  • Male sex
  • Younger age (pilonidal cysts are most common in people in their 20s)
  • Obesity
  • Inactive lifestyle
  • Occupation requiring prolonged sitting
  • Excess body hair
  • Stiff or coarse hair

Complications

If a chronically infected pilonidal cyst isn't treated properly, you may be at slightly increased risk of developing a type of skin cancer called squamous cell carcinoma.

Prevention

To help prevent pilonidal cysts, try to:

  • Keep the area clean
  • Lose weight if needed
  • Avoid prolonged sitting

If you've had pilonidal cysts in the past, you might want to regularly shave the area or use hair removal products to reduce the risk of recurrence.

Sept. 05, 2015
References
  1. Cameron JL, et al., eds. The management of pilonidal disease. In: Current Surgical Therapy. 11th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2014. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 15, 2015.
  2. Pfenninger JL, et al., eds. Pilonidal cyst and abscess: Current management. In: Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care. 3rd ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2011. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 15, 2015.
  3. Marx JA, et al., eds. Disorders of the anorectum. In: Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice. 8th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2014. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 15, 2015.
  4. Sullivan DJ, et al. Intergluteal pilonidal disease: Clinical manifestations and diagnosis. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Aug. 14, 2015.
  5. Pilonidal disease. American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons. https://www.fascrs.org/patients/disease-condition/pilonidal-disease. Accessed Aug. 16, 2015.