أورام الغدة النكفية

الأورام النكفية عبارة عن نمو غير طبيعي للخلايا (الأورام) يتكوّن في الغدد النكفية. والغدد النكفية غدتان لعابيّتان تقعان أمام أذنيك مباشرة على جانبي وجهك. تفرز الغدد اللعابية اللعاب للمساعدة في مضغ الطعام وهضمه.

تحتوي الشفتان والخدّان والفم والحلق على العديد من الغدد اللعابية. ومن الوارد أن تتكون الأورام في أي من هذه الغدد، لكن الغدد النكفية هي المكان الأكثر شيوعًا لحدوث أورام الغدة اللعابية. معظم أورام الغدة النكفية أورام غير سرطانية (حميدة)، إلا أن بعضها قد يكون سرطانيًا.

غالبًا ما تسبب الأورام النكفية تورمًا في الوجه أو الفك لا يكون مؤلمًا في العادة. ومن الأعراض الأخرى لها الشعور بالخدَر أو الحرقان أو الشعور بالوخز في الوجه أو فقدان الحركة في الوجه.

عادة ما يعالج ورم الغدة النكفية بجراحة لاستئصال الورم. وقد يوصي الطبيب بعلاجات إضافية إذا كان الورم يحتوي على خلايا سرطانية.

التشخيص

تشمل الفحوصات والإجراءات المستخدمة في تشخيص الورم النكفي ما يلي

  • الفحص البدني. سيتحسس طبيبك فكك وعنقك وحلقك بحثًا عن كتل أو تورم.
  • أخذ عينة من النسيج لفحصها (الخزعة). قد يوصي طبيبك بإجراء خزعة بالإبرة، مثل السحب بإبرة رفيعة أو خزعة الإبرة الداخلية، لأخذ عينة من الأنسجة لفحصها. وأثناء الخزعة بالإبرة، يقوم الطبيب بإدخال إبرة رفيعة عبر الجلد وداخل الغدة النكفية المصابة. تُستخدم الإبرة لسحب عينة من الخلايا أو السوائل.

    في المختبر، يمكن للأطباء تحديد أنواع الخلايا المتضمنة وما إذا كانت سرطانية. يستخدم طبيبك هذه المعلومات لتحديد تشخيصك والعلاجات الأفضل لك.

  • فحوصات التصوير. قد يُوصي طبيبك بإجراء فحوصات تصويرية للغدة النكفية للمساعدة على فهم حجم الورم لديك. فإذا كان الورم النكفي لديك سرطانيًا، فقد تحتاج إلى إجراء فحوصات للبحث عن مؤشرات انتشار السرطان. وقد يشمل ذلك الفحوصات بالموجات فوق الصوتية والتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي والتصوير المقطعي المحوسب.

العلاج

وعادة ما يتضمن علاج الورم النكفي جراحة لإزالة الورم. إذا كان الورم يحتوي على خلايا سرطانية، فقد يُوصى طبيبك بعلاجات إضافية مثل المعالجة الإشعاعية والمعالجة الكيميائية.

الجراحة

تشمل العمليات المستخدمة لاستئصال أورام الغدة النكفية ما يلي:

  • استئصال جزء من الغدة النكفية. في حالة معظم أورام الغدة النكفية، قد يقطع الجرَّاحون الورم وبعض أنسجة الغدة النكفية السليمة المحيطة به (استئصال الغدة النكفية السطحي).
  • استئصال الغدة النكفية بالكامل. قد يُوصى بإجراء جراحة لاستئصال الغدة النكفية بالكامل (الاستئصال الكلي للغدة النكفية) في حالة الأورام الأكبر حجمًا وتلك التي تؤثر على الأجزاء العميقة من الغدة النكفية.
  • جراحة أوسع نطاقًا للسرطانات الأكبر حجمًا. إذا انتشر سرطان الغدة النكفية ليصل إلى العظام والعضلات القريبة، فقد يكون من الضروري إجراء عملية جراحية أوسع نطاقًا. ويحاول الجرَّاحون استئصال السرطان بالكامل بالإضافة إلى مقدار صغير من الأنسجة السليمة التي تحيط به. ثم يعملون على ترميم موضع الاستئصال حتى تتمكن من الاستمرار في المضغ والبلع والتحدث والتنفس وتحريك وجهك. وقد يتضمن ذلك نقل الجلد أو الأنسجة أو العظام أو الأعصاب من أجزاء أخرى من جسمك لإجراء ترميمات.

وللوصول إلى الغدة النكفية، يقوم الجراحون بعمل شق بالقرب من الأذن. كما تُولى عناية خاصة أثناء العملية لتجنب تلف الهياكل المجاورة، مثل العصب الوَجهي الذي يمر عبر الغدة النكفية. ويتحكم العصب الوَجهي في حركة الوجه، لذلك فإن تمدد العصب أو قطعه يمكن أن يسبب شللًا جزئيًا أو كليًا في الوجه يمكن أن يكون مؤقتًا أو دائمًا.

وإذا كان لا بد من قطع العصب الوَجهي لاستئصال الورم بالكامل، فيمكن للجراحين ترميمه باستخدام أعصاب من مناطق أخرى من جسمك أو الطعوم العصبية المعالجة من المتبرعين.

العلاج الإشعاعي

يستخدم العلاج الإشعاعي حزمًا قوية من الطاقة، مثل الأشعة السينية أو البروتونات أو النيوترونات، لقتل الخلايا السرطانية. إذا كان الورم النكفي لديك سرطانيًّا، فقد يُوصى بالعلاج الإشعاعي بعد الجراحة لقتل أي خلايا سرطانية باقية. يُستخدم العلاج الإشعاعي أحيانًا كعلاج أولي عندما لا تكون الجراحة خيارًا.

العلاج الكيميائي

العلاج الكيميائي هو علاج دوائي يستخدم أدوية لقتل الخلايا السرطانية. ولا يتم استخدامه بشكل روتيني لعلاج أورام الغدة النكفية. ولكن في بعض الأحيان يتم استخدامه مع العلاج الإشعاعي لعلاج السرطانات النكفية التي تنطوي على مخاطر عالية للانتشار أو السرطانات التي لا يمكن إزالتها بالكامل بالجراحة. قد يكون العلاج الكيميائي أيضًا خيارًا للأشخاص المصابين بسرطانات الغدة النكفية المتقدمة التي انتشرت إلى أجزاء أخرى من الجسم.

30/07/2020
  1. Flint PW, et al. Cummings Otolaryngology: Head & Neck Surgery. 6th ed. Saunders Elsevier; 2015. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed April 30, 2020.
  2. Smith RV. Parotidectomy. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed April 30, 2020.
  3. Head and neck cancers. National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/default.aspx. Accessed April 30, 2020.

Parotid tumors

Parotid tumors are abnormal growths of cells (tumors) that form in the parotid glands. The parotid glands are two salivary glands that sit just in front of the ears on each side of the face. Salivary glands produce saliva to aid in chewing and digesting food.

There are many salivary glands in the lips, cheeks, mouth and throat. Tumors can occur in any of these glands, but the parotid glands are the most common location for salivary gland tumors. Most parotid tumors are noncancerous (benign), though some tumors can become cancerous.

Parotid tumors often cause swelling in the face or jaw that usually isn't painful. Other symptoms include numbness, burning or prickling sensations in the face, or a loss of facial movement.

Parotid tumor treatment is usually with surgery to remove the tumor. If the tumor contains cancer cells, additional treatments might be recommended.

Diagnosis

Tests and procedures used to diagnose a parotid tumor may include:

  • A physical exam. Your doctor will feel your jaw, neck and throat for lumps or swelling.
  • Collecting a sample of tissue for testing (biopsy). Your doctor may recommend a needle biopsy procedure, such as fine-needle aspiration or core needle biopsy, to collect a sample of tissue for testing. During a needle biopsy, the doctor inserts a thin needle through your skin and into the affected parotid gland. The needle is used to draw out a sample of cells or fluid.

    In the lab, doctors can determine what types of cells are involved and whether they're cancerous. Your doctor uses this information to determine your prognosis and which treatments are best for you.

  • Imaging tests. Your doctor may recommend imaging tests of your parotid gland to help understand the size of your tumor. If your parotid tumor is cancerous, you may need tests to look for signs that the cancer has spread. Tests may include ultrasound, MRI and CT.

Treatment

Parotid tumor treatment usually involves surgery to remove the tumor. If the tumor contains cancer cells, your doctor may recommend additional treatments, such as radiation therapy and chemotherapy.

Surgery

Operations used to remove parotid tumors include:

  • Removing part of the parotid gland. For most parotid tumors, surgeons may cut away the tumor and some of the healthy parotid gland tissue around it (superficial parotidectomy).
  • Removing all of the parotid gland. Surgery to remove all of the parotid gland (total parotidectomy) might be recommended for larger tumors and those that affect the deeper parts of the parotid gland.
  • More extensive surgery for larger cancers. If parotid cancer has grown into nearby bone and muscles, a more extensive operation may be necessary. Surgeons try to remove all of the cancer and a small amount of the healthy tissue that surrounds it. Then they work to repair the area so you can continue to chew, swallow, speak, breathe and move your face. This may involve transferring skin, tissue, bone or nerves from other parts of your body to make repairs.

To access the parotid gland, surgeons make an incision near the ear. During the operation, special care is taken to avoid damage to nearby structures, such as the facial nerve that runs through the parotid gland. The facial nerve controls facial movement, so stretching or cutting the nerve can cause partial or complete paralysis of the face that can be temporary or permanent.

If the facial nerve must be cut in order to remove all of the tumor, surgeons can repair it using nerves from other areas of your body or processed nerve grafts from donors.

Radiation therapy

Radiation therapy uses powerful beams of energy, such as X-rays, protons or neutrons, to kill cancer cells. If your parotid tumor is cancerous, radiation therapy might be recommended after surgery to kill any cancer cells that remain. Radiation therapy is sometimes used as an initial treatment when surgery isn't an option.

Chemotherapy

Chemotherapy is a drug treatment that uses medications to kill cancer cells. It's not routinely used to treat parotid tumors. But sometimes it's combined with radiation therapy to treat parotid cancers that have a high risk of spreading or cancers that can't be removed completely with surgery. Chemotherapy might also be an option for people with advanced parotid cancers that have spread to other parts of the body.

July 30, 2020
  1. Flint PW, et al. Cummings Otolaryngology: Head & Neck Surgery. 6th ed. Saunders Elsevier; 2015. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed April 30, 2020.
  2. Smith RV. Parotidectomy. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed April 30, 2020.
  3. Head and neck cancers. National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/default.aspx. Accessed April 30, 2020.

Related

Associated Procedures

Products & Services