نظرة عامة

الورم العصبي الليفي هو اضطراب وراثي يتسبب في تكون الأورام على الأنسجة العصبية. ويمكن أن تتطور الإصابة بهذه الأورام في أي مكان في جهازك العصبي، بما في ذلك الدماغ، والحبل الشوكي والأعصاب. عادةً ما يتم تشخيص الإصابة بالورم الليفي العصبي في مرحلة الطفولة أو في بداية مرحلة البلوغ.

وغالبًا ما تكون الأورام غير سرطانية (حميدة)، ولكنها أحيانًا يمكن أن تصبح سرطانية (خبيثة). وغالبًا ما تكون الأعراضه خفيفة. ومع ذلك، يمكن أن تشمل مضاعفات الإصابة بالورم العصبي الليفي فقدان السمع، وضعفًا في التعلم، ومشاكل في القلب والأوعية الدموية (القلب والأوعية الدموية)، وفقدان الرؤية، والشعور بألم شديد.

يهدف علاج الورم العصبي الليفي إلى الوصول إلى أقصى درجة من النمو الصحي والنمو السليم والسيطرة على المضاعفات بمجرد ظهورها. عندما يؤدي الورم العصبي الليفي إلى الإصابة بأورام كبيرة أو الأورام التي تضغط على العصب، يمكن أن يساعد إجراء الجراحة في تخفيف الأعراض. وقد يستفيد بعض الأشخاص من العلاجات الأخرى، مثل الجراحة الإشعاعية التجسيمية أو تناول الأدوية للسيطرة على الشعور بالألم.

علاج الأورام الليفية العصبية في Mayo Clinic

الأنواع

الأعراض

هناك ثلاثة أنواع من الورم الليفي العصبي، ولكل منها علاماته وأعراضه المختلفة.

الوُرام اللِيفِي العَصَبِي من النمط 1

في العادة يظهر الورم الليفي العصبي النمط 1 (NF1) في الطفولة. وكثيرًا ما تكون العلامات واضحة عند الولادة أو بعد ذلك بوقت قصير، وغالبًا ما تكون في سن العاشرة. العلامات والأعراض غالبًا ما تكون خفيفة إلى معتدلة، ولكن يمكن أن تختلف في شدتها.

تتضمن العلامات والأعراض ما يلي:

  • بقعًا مسطحة ذات لون بني فاتح على الجلد (بقع بلون القهوة باللبن). هذه البقع غير الضارة شائعة في كثير من الأشخاص. وجود أكثر من ستة بقع بنية فاتحة اللون هو مؤشر قوي على الإصابة بالورم الليفي العصبي النمط 1 (NF1). عادةً ما تكون موجودة عند الولادة أو تظهر خلال السنوات الأولى من الحياة ثم تستقر.
  • نمش في الإبطين أو منطقة الأربية. عادةً ما يظهر النمش من سن 3 إلى 5 سنوات. يعد النمش أصغر من البقع البنية فاتحة اللون ويميل إلى الظهور في مجموعات في طيات الجلد.
  • بثور دقيقة على قزحية العين (عقيدات ليش). هذه العقيدات غير المؤذية لا يمكن رؤيتها بسهولة ولا تؤثر على بصرك.
  • البثور اللينة على الجلد أو تحته (أورام ليفية عصبية). هذه الأورام الحميدة تتطور عادةً في الجلد أو تحته، ولكن يمكن أن تنمو داخل الجسم أيضًا. في بعض الأحيان، سينطوي النمو على أعصاب متعددة (ورم ليفي عصبي ضفيري الشكل).
  • تشوهات العظام. يمكن أن يسبب نمو العظام غير الطبيعي والنقص في كثافة المعادن في العظم حدوث تشوهات في العظام مثل العمود الفقري المنحني (الحدب) أو انحناء أسفل الساق.
  • ورم على العصب البصري (الورم البصري). تظهر هذه الأورام عادةً في عمر 3 سنوات، نادرًا في مرحلة الطفولة المتأخرة والمراهقة، وتقريبًا لا تحدث على الإطلاق في حالات البالغين.
  • صعوبات في التعلم. تشيع الإعاقة في مهارات التفكير في الأطفال المصابين بالورم الليفي العصبي النمط 1، لكنها تكون طفيفة في المعتاد. غالبًا ما تكون هناك صعوبة محددة في التعلم، مثل مشكلة في القراءة أو الرياضيات. يعد اضطراب نقص الانتباه/فرط النشاط (ADHD) شائعًا أيضًا.
  • حجم رأس أكبر من المتوسط. يتعرض الأطفال الذين يعانون الورم الليفي العصبي النمط 1 إلى الحصول على حجم رأس أكبر من المتوسط بسبب زيادة حجم الدماغ.
  • قصر القامة. عادةً ما يكون الأطفال الذين يعانون الورم الليفي العصبي النمط 1 أقل من المتوسط في الطول.

الوُرام اللِيفِي العَصَبِي من النمط 2

يقل شيوع الورم الليفي العصبي النمط 2 (NF2) كثيرًا عن الورم الليفي العصبي النمط 1. عادةً ما تنتج علامات الوُرام اللِيفِي العَصَبِي وأعراضه عن تطور الأورام الحميدة بطيئة النمو (أورام العصب السمعي) في كلا الأذنين. تنمو هذه الأورام، التي تعرف أيضًا باسم الأورام الشفانية الدهليزية، على العصب الذي يحمل معلومات سليمة ومتوازنة من الأذن الداخلية إلى الدماغ.

تظهر العلامات والأعراض عمومًا في سن أواخر سن المراهقة وأوائل مرحلة البلوغ، ويمكن أن تختلف في شدتها. قد تتضمن العلامات والأعراض ما يلي:

  • فقدان السمع التدريجي
  • رنين بالأذنين
  • اختلال التوازن
  • الصداع

يمكن أن يؤدي الوُرام اللِيفِي العَصَبِي من النمط 2 إلى الورم الشفاني في الأعصاب الأخرى من الجسم، بما في ذلك الجمجمة والعمود الفقري وأعصاب العين (الأعصاب البصرية) والأعصاب الطرفية. يمكن أن تشمل علامات الورم الشفاني وأعراضه ما يلي:

  • تخدّر وضعف في الذراعين أو الساقين
  • الألم
  • صعوبات في التوازن
  • تدلي الوجه
  • مشاكل في الرؤية أو تطور إعتام عدسة العين

الورم الشفاني

يؤثر عادةً هذا النوع النادر من الورم العصبي الليفي على الأشخاص بعد عمر الـ 20. يسبب الورم الشفاني الإصابة بالأورام في الجمجمة (العصب القحفي) والأعصاب النخاعية والمحيطية — ولكن ليس في العصب الذي ينقل معلومات السمع والتوازن من الأذن الداخلية إلى المخ. ولأن الأورام لا تنمو عادةً في كلا عصبي السمع، لا يسبب الورم الشفاني فقدان السمع الذي يعاني منه الأشخاص المصابون بالنوع الثاني من الورم العصبي الليفي.

يسبب الورم الشفاني الألم المزمن، والذي يمكن أن يحدث في أي مكان بجسدك. تشمل الأعراض الأخرى ما يلي:

  • الشعور بالتنميل أو الضعف في مناطق عديدة في جسدك
  • ضعف العضلات

متى تزور الطبيب

اذهب إلى طبيبك إذا أصبت أنت أو طفلك بعلامات أو أعراض الورم العصبي الليفي. كثيرًا ما تكون الأورام المصاحبة للورم العصبي الليفي حميدة، كما أنها بطيئة النمو. لذا، على الرغم من أهمية التشخيص في الوقت المناسب، فإن الحالة ليست طارئة.

الأسباب

تنتج الإصابة بالورم العصبي الليفي بسبب عيوب جينية (طفرات) يتم تمريرها عبر أحد الوالدين أو تحدث تلقائيًا عند حدوث الحمل. تعتمد الجينات المحددة المعنية على نوع الورم العصبي الليفي:

  • NF1. يوجد جين NF1 في كروموسوم 17. عادةً ما ينتج هذا الجين بروتينًا يطلق عليه نيوروفيبرومين ويساعد في تنظيم نمو الخلايا. يسبب الجين المحور فقدان بروتين النيوروفيبرومين، مما يؤدي إلى نمو الخلايا بشكل خارج عن السيطرة.
  • NF2. يوجد جين NF2 في كروموسوم 22 وينتج بروتينًا يطلق عليه ميرلين. يسبب الجين المحور فقدان بروتين ميرلين، مما يؤدي إلى نمو الخلايا بشكل خارج عن السيطرة.
  • الورم الشفاني. تم التعرف على جينين مسببين للورم الشفاني، حتى الآن.

عوامل الخطر

إن أكبر عامل خطورة للورم العصبي الليفي هو التاريخ العائلي من الاضطراب. ورِث حوالي نصف الأشخاص المصابين بالورم العصبي الليفي من النوع الأول (NF1) والنوع الثاني (NF2) المرض. ينتج الورم العصبي الليفي من النوع الأول والنوع الثاني عن طفرات جينية جديدة.

يعد كل من الورم العصبي الليفي من النوع الأول والنوع الثاني اضطرابات صبغية جسدية سائدة، الأمر الذي يعني أن كل طفل والده/والدته يعاني الاضطراب لديهم فرصة بنسبة 50% لوراثة الطفرة الجينية.

النمط الوراثي للورم الشفاني هو أقل وضوحًا. يقدر الباحثون في الوقت الراهن أن خطر وراثة الورم الشفاني من الوالدين يبلغ حوالي 15%.

المضاعفات

تتفاوت مضاعفات الورم الليفي العصبي، حتى داخل نفس العائلة. وبشكلٍ عام، تنتج المضاعفات عن نمو ورم يشوه النسيج العصبي أو يضغط على الأعضاء الداخلية.

مضاعفات الورم الليفي العصبي من النوع 1

تتضمن مضاعفات الورم العصبي الليفي من النوع 1 ما يلي:

  • مشاكل عصبية. صعوبات التعلم والتفكير هي المشاكل العصبية الأكثر شيوعًا المرتبطة بالورم العصبي الليفي من النوع 1. تتضمن المضاعفات غير الشائعة الصرع أو تراكم السوائل الزائدة في المخ.
  • المخاوف التي تتعلق بالمظهر. يمكن أن تتسبب العلامات الواضحة للورم العصبي الليفي —مثل البقع الواسعة ذات اللون البني الفاتح أو العديد من الأورام العصبية الليفية في منطقة الوجه أو الأورام العصبية الليفية الكبيرة — في الشعور بالقلق أو الضغط العاطفي حتى إذا لم تكن خطيرة من الناحية الطبية.
  • مشاكل الهيكل العظمي. يعاني بعض الأطفال عظامًا متشكلة بصورة غير طبيعية، مما قد ينتج عنه انحناء الساقين وكسور لا تُشفى في بعض الأحيان. يمكن أن يسبب الورم العصبي الليفي من النوع 1 انحناء العمود الفقري (جنف العمود الفقري) الذي قد يحتاج إلى كِتاف أو جراحة. يرتبط أيضًا الورم العصبي الليفي من النوع 1 بانخفاض الكثافة المعدنية للعظام مما يزيد من خطر إصابتك بضعف العظام (هشاشة العظام).
  • مشاكل في الرؤية. يمكن أن تتطور أحيانًا إصابة الأطفال بالورم الدبقي البصري مما يؤثر على الرؤية.
  • المشاكل في أثناء فترات التغيرات الهرمونية. قد تسبب التغيرات الهرمونية المرتبطة بالبلوغ أو الحمل أو انقطاع الطمث زيادة خطر الإصابة بالورم العصبي الليفي. تحظى معظم النساء اللاتي تعانين من الورم العصبي الليفي من النوع 1 بحالات حمل صحية ولكن سوف يحتاجن على الأرجح إلى المراقبة من قبل أخصائي توليد على دراية بهذا الاضطراب.
  • مشكلات في القلب والأوعية الدموية. يعاني الأشخاص الذين لديهم الورم العصبي الليفي من النوع 1 زيادة خطر الإصابة بارتفاع ضغط الدم وتشوهات الأوعية الدموية ولكن بصورة نادرة.
  • صعوبات التنفس. نادرًا ما يمكن أن يضع الورم العصبي الليفي الضفيري الشكل الضغط على المجرى الهوائي الخاص بك.
  • السرطان يعاني ما يقرب من 3 إلى 5 أشخاص لديهم الورم العصبي الليفي النوع 1 من خطر الإصابة بالأورام المسرطنة. تنشأ هذه الأورام عادةً من الورم العصبي الليفي المتواجد تحت الجلد أو من الورم العصبي الليفي الضفيري الشكل. يعاني أيضًا الأشخاص الذين لديهم الورم العصبي الليفي من النوع 1 من خطورة أكبر للإصابة بأشكال أخرى من السرطان مثل سرطان الثدي وسرطان الدم وأورام المخ وبعض الأنواع من سرطان الأنسجة الرخوة.
  • ورم الغدة الكظرية الحميد (أورام القواتم). يفرز هذا الورم غير السرطاني الهرمونات التي تزيد من ضغط دمك. تتم إزالة أورام القواتم جراحيًا بصورة عامة.

مضاعفات الورم الليفي العصبي من النوع 2

تتضمن مضاعفات الورم العصبي الليفي من النوع 2 ما يلي:

  • الفقدان التام أو الجزئي لحاسة السمع
  • تلف العصب الوجهي
  • مشاكل في الرؤية
  • أورام جلدية صغيرة حميدة (ورم شوان في الجلد)
  • ضعف الأطرافأو خدرها
  • نمو العديد من الأورام الحميدة في الدماغ أو الحبل الشوكي والتي تستدعي الجراحة بشكلٍ مستمر (الأورام السحائية)

مُضاعفات الورام الشوانومي.

يمكن لآلام الوُرام الشوانومي أن تكون مدمرة وقد تحتاج إلى العلاج الجراحي أو إلى استشارة متخصص في هذه الآلام.

الورم العصبي الليفي - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

16/05/2018
References
  1. Ferri FF. Neurofibromatosis. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2016. Philadelphia, Pa.: Mosby Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 11, 2015.
  2. Neurofibromatosis fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. http://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/neurofibromatosis/detail_neurofibromatosis.htm. Accessed Nov. 11, 2015.
  3. Korf BR. Neurofibromatosis type 1 (NF1): Pathogenesis, clinical features, and diagnosis. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Nov. 10, 2015.
  4. Evans DG. Neurofibromatosis type 2. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Nov. 10, 2015.
  5. Yohay K, et al. Schwannomatosis. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Nov. 10, 2015.
  6. Korf BR. Neurofibromatosis type 1 (NF1): Management and prognosis. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Nov. 10, 2015.
  7. Woodrow C, et al. Neurofibromatosis. Orthopaedics and Trauma. 2015;29:206.
  8. Goldblum JR, et al., eds. Benign tumors of peripheral nerves. In: Enzinger and Weiss's Soft Tissue Tumors. 6th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2014. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 10, 2015.
  9. AskMayoExpert. Neurofibromatoses. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2015.
  10. Slattery WH. Neurofibromatosis type 2. Otolaryngologic Clinics of North America. 2015;48:443.
  11. Hirbe AC, et al. Neurofibromatosis type 1: A multidisciplinary approach to care. The Lancet Neurology. 2014;13:834.
  12. Flint PW, et al., eds. Stereotactic radiation treatment of benign tumors of the cranial base. In: Cummings Otolaryngology. 6th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 20154. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 10, 2015.
  13. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Sept. 18, 2015.

Overview

Neurofibromatosis is a genetic disorder that causes tumors to form on nerve tissue. These tumors can develop anywhere in your nervous system, including your brain, spinal cord and nerves. Neurofibromatosis is usually diagnosed in childhood or early adulthood.

The tumors are usually noncancerous (benign), but sometimes can become cancerous (malignant). Symptoms are often mild. However, complications of neurofibromatosis can include hearing loss, learning impairment, heart and blood vessel (cardiovascular) problems, loss of vision, and severe pain.

Neurofibromatosis treatment focuses on encouraging healthy growth and development in children affected with the disorder and early management of complications. When neurofibromatosis causes large tumors or tumors that press on a nerve, surgery can reduce symptoms. Some people may benefit from other therapies, such as stereotactic radiosurgery or medications to control pain.

Neurofibromatosis care at Mayo Clinic

Types

Symptoms

There are three types of neurofibromatosis, each with different signs and symptoms.

Neurofibromatosis 1

Neurofibromatosis 1 (NF1) usually appears in childhood. Signs are often noticeable at birth or shortly afterward, and almost always by age 10. Signs and symptoms are often mild to moderate, but can vary in severity.

Signs and symptoms include:

  • Flat, light brown spots on the skin (cafe au lait spots). These harmless spots are common in many people. Having more than six cafe au lait spots is a strong indication of NF1. They are usually present at birth or appear during the first years of life. After early childhood, new spots stop appearing.
  • Freckling in the armpits or groin area. Freckling usually appears by ages 3 to 5. Freckles are smaller than cafe au lait spots and tend to occur in clusters in skin folds.
  • Tiny bumps on the iris of the eye (Lisch nodules). These harmless nodules can't easily be seen and don't affect vision.
  • Soft, pea-sized bumps on or under the skin (neurofibromas). These benign tumors usually develop in or under the skin, but can also grow inside the body. Sometimes, a growth will involve multiple nerves (plexiform neurofibroma). Plexiform neurofibromas, when located on the face, can cause disfigurement. Neurofibromas may increase with age.
  • Bone deformities. Abnormal bone growth and a deficiency in bone mineral density can cause bone deformities such as a curved spine (scoliosis) or bowed lower leg.
  • Tumor on the optic nerve (optic glioma). These tumors usually appear by age 3, rarely in late childhood and adolescence, and almost never in adults.
  • Learning disabilities. Impaired thinking skills are common in children with NF1 but are usually mild. Often there is a specific learning disability, such as a problem with reading or mathematics. Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) also is common.
  • Larger than average head size. Children with NF1 tend to have a larger than average head size due to increased brain volume.
  • Short stature. Children with NF1 often are below average in height.

Neurofibromatosis 2

Neurofibromatosis 2 (NF2) is much less common than NF1. Signs and symptoms of NF2 usually result from the development of benign, slow-growing tumors in both ears (acoustic neuromas), which can cause hearing loss. Also known as vestibular schwannomas, these tumors grow on the nerve that carries sound and balance information from the inner ear to the brain.

Signs and symptoms generally appear in the late teen and early adult years, and can vary in severity. Signs and symptoms can include:

  • Gradual hearing loss
  • Ringing in the ears
  • Poor balance
  • Headaches

Sometimes NF2 can lead to the growth of schwannomas in other nerves of the body, including the cranial, spinal, visual (optic) and peripheral nerves. Signs and symptoms of these schwannomas can include:

  • Numbness and weakness in the arms or legs
  • Pain
  • Balance difficulties
  • Facial drop
  • Vision problems or the development of cataracts

Schwannomatosis

This rare type of neurofibromatosis usually affects people after age 20. On average, symptoms appear between ages 25 and 30. Schwannomatosis causes tumors to develop on the cranial, spinal and peripheral nerves — but rarely on the nerve that carries sound and balance information from the inner ear to the brain. Because tumors don't usually grow on both hearing nerves, schwannomatosis doesn't cause the hearing loss experienced by people with NF2.

Symptoms of schwannomatosis include:

  • Chronic pain, which can occur anywhere in your body and can be disabling
  • Numbness or weakness in various parts of your body
  • Loss of muscle

When to see a doctor

See your doctor if you or your child develops signs or symptoms of neurofibromatosis. The tumors associated with neurofibromatosis are often benign and slow growing. So although it's important to obtain a timely diagnosis, the situation isn't an emergency.

Causes

Neurofibromatosis is caused by genetic defects (mutations) that either are passed on by a parent or occur spontaneously at conception. The specific genes involved depend on the type of neurofibromatosis:

  • NF1. The NF1 gene is located on chromosome 17. This gene produces a protein called neurofibromin that helps regulate cell growth. The mutated gene causes a loss of neurofibromin, which allows cells to grow uncontrolled.
  • NF2. The NF2 gene is located on chromosome 22, and produces a protein called merlin (also called schwannomin), which suppresses tumors. The mutated gene causes a loss of merlin, leading to uncontrolled cell growth.
  • Schwannomatosis. So far, two genes are known to cause schwannomatosis. Mutations of the genes SMARCB1 and LZTR1, which suppress tumors, are associated with this type of neurofibromatosis.

Risk factors

The biggest risk factor for neurofibromatosis is a family history of the disorder. About half of people with NF1 and NF2 inherited the disease from the affected parent. People with NF1 and NF2 that don't have affected relatives likely have a new gene mutation.

NF1 and NF2 are both autosomal dominant disorders, which means that any child of a parent with the disorder has a 50 percent chance of inheriting the genetic mutation.

The inheritance pattern for schwannomatosis is less clear. Researchers currently estimate that the risk of inheriting schwannomatosis from an affected parent is about 15 percent.

Complications

Complications of neurofibromatosis vary, even within the same family. Generally, complications result from tumor growth distorting nerve tissue or pressing on internal organs.

NF1 complications

Complications of NF1 include:

  • Neurological problems. Learning and thinking difficulties are the most common neurological problems associated with NF1. Uncommon complications include epilepsy and the buildup of excess fluid in the brain.
  • Concerns with appearance. Visible signs of neurofibromatosis — such as extensive cafe au lait spots, many neurofibromas in the facial area or large neurofibromas — can cause anxiety and emotional distress, even if they're not medically serious.
  • Skeletal problems. Some children have abnormally formed bones, which can result in bowing of the legs and fractures that sometimes don't heal. NF1 can cause curvature of the spine (scoliosis) that may need bracing or surgery. NF1 is also associated with decreased bone mineral density, which increases the risk of weak bones (osteoporosis).
  • Vision problems. Sometimes a tumor develops in children on the optic nerve (optic glioma), which can affect vision.
  • Problems during times of hormonal change. Hormonal changes associated with puberty or pregnancy might cause an increase in neurofibromas. Most women with NF1 have healthy pregnancies but will likely need monitoring by an obstetrician familiar with the disorder.
  • Cardiovascular problems. People with NF1 have an increased risk of high blood pressure and may develop blood vessel abnormalities.
  • Breathing problems. Rarely, plexiform neurofibromas can put pressure on the airway.
  • Cancer. An estimated 3 to 5 percent of people with NF1 develop cancerous tumors. These usually arise from neurofibromas under the skin or from plexiform neurofibromas. People with NF1 also have a higher risk of other forms of cancer, such as breast cancer, leukemia, colorectal cancer, brain tumors and some types of soft tissue cancer. Women with NF1 should start screening for breast cancer at an earlier age than the general population.
  • Benign adrenal gland tumor (pheochromocytoma). This noncancerous tumor secretes hormones that raise your blood pressure. Surgery is usually needed to remove the pheochromocytoma.

NF2 complications

Complications of NF2 include:

  • Partial or total deafness
  • Facial nerve damage
  • Vision problems
  • Small benign skin tumors (skin schwannomas)
  • Weakness or numbness in the extremities
  • Multiple benign brain tumors or spinal tumors (meningiomas) requiring frequent surgeries

Schwannomatosis complications

The pain caused by schwannomatosis can be debilitating and may require surgical treatment or management by a pain specialist.

Neurofibromatosis care at Mayo Clinic

Dec. 04, 2018
References
  1. Ferri FF. Neurofibromatosis. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2019. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 17, 2018.
  2. Neurofibromatosis fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Fact-Sheets/Neurofibromatosis-Fact-Sheet. Accessed Sept. 17, 2018.
  3. Korf BR. Neurofibromatosis type 1 (NF1): Pathogenesis, clinical features, and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 17, 2018.
  4. Evans DG. Neurofibromatosis type 2. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 17, 2018.
  5. Yohay K, et al. Schwannomatosis. https://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Sept. 17, 2018.
  6. Korf BR. Neurofibromatosis type 1 (NF1): Management and prognosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 17, 2018.
  7. Kinori M, et al. Ophthalmic manifestations in neurofibromatosis type 1. Survey of Ophthalmology. 2018;63:518.
  8. Chung LK, et al. A systemic review of radiosurgery versus surgery for neurofibromatosis type 2 vestibular schwannomas. World Neurosurgery. 2018;109:47.
  9. AskMayoExpert. Neurofibromatoses. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  10. Neurofibromatosis. American Association of Neurological Surgeons. https://www.aans.org/en/Patients/Neurosurgical-Conditions-and-Treatments/Neurofibromatosis. Accessed Sept. 21, 2018.
  11. What is acoustic neuroma? Acoustic Neuroma Association. https://www.anausa.org/learn-about-acoustic-neuroma/what-is-acoustic-neuroma#anatomy-of-an-acoustic-neuroma. Accessed Sept. 24, 2018.
  12. Flint PW, et al., eds. Stereotactic radiation treatment of benign tumors of the cranial base. In: Cummings Otolaryngology: Head & Neck Surgery. 6th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2015. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 17, 2018.
  13. Daroff RB, et al. Neurocutaneous syndromes. In: Bradley's Neurology in Clinical Practice. 7th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 24, 2018.
  14. Bope ET, et al. Pheochromocytoma. In: Conn's Current Therapy 2018. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 24, 2018.
  15. Walker JA, et al. Emerging therapeutic targets for neurofibromatosis type 1. Expert Opinion on Therapeutic Targets. 2018;22:419.
  16. Brown AY. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Sept. 25, 2018.
  17. Furman JM, et al. Evaluation of the patient with vertigo. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 28, 2018.
  18. National Cancer Institute. Brain stem auditory evoked response test. NCI Dictionary of Cancer Terms. https://www.cancer.gov/publications/dictionaries/cancer-terms/def/brain-stem-auditory-evoked-response-test. Accessed Sept. 28, 2018.
  19. Howell SJ, et al. Increased risk of breast cancer in neurofibromatosis type 1: Current insights. Breast Cancer. 2017;9:531.
  20. Babovic-Vuksanovic D (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Oct. 8, 2018.