诊断

医生通常可以根据该病的特征性皮疹以及脸颊内膜周边亮红的蓝白色小斑点(科普利克斑)来诊断麻疹。然而,许多医生从未见过麻疹,而且皮疹可能与其他一些疾病相混淆。如有必要,血液检测可以确认所患皮疹是否确为麻疹。麻疹病毒通常也可以通过使用咽喉拭子或尿样的检测来确诊。

治疗

尚没有专门针对已确定麻疹感染的治疗方法。但是,可以采取一些措施来保护一直接触病毒的易感人群。

  • 接触病毒后的疫苗接种。未接种过麻疹疫苗的人,包括婴儿,可在接触麻疹病毒 72 小时内接种麻疹疫苗,以提供预防保护。如果麻疹仍发生,症状通常会较轻,持续时间较短。
  • 免疫血清球蛋白。接触到病毒的孕妇、婴儿和免疫系统弱的人可以注射一种叫做免疫血清球蛋白的蛋白质(抗体)。如果在接触病毒 6 天内注射,这些抗体可以预防麻疹或减轻症状。

药物

  • 退烧药。您或您的孩子也可以服用非处方药,例如对乙酰氨基酚(Tylenol 等)、布洛芬(Advil、Children's Motrin 等)或萘普生钠(Aleve)以减轻麻疹引起的发热。

    对于出现麻疹症状的儿童或青少年,禁止服用阿司匹林。尽管阿司匹林已获批用于 3 岁以上的儿童,但千万不要给处于水痘或流感样症状恢复期的儿童和青少年使用阿司匹林。这是因为这类儿童使用阿司匹林可能引发瑞氏综合征,瑞氏综合征是一种罕见但可能危及生命的疾病。

  • 抗生素。如果您或您的孩子在患麻疹期间发生细菌感染,例如感染性肺炎或耳部感染,医生可能会开出抗生素进行治疗。
  • 维生素 A。缺乏维生素 A 的儿童更容易患更严重的麻疹。服用维生素 A 可以减轻麻疹的严重程度。对于年满一岁的儿童,通常服用 200,000 国际单位(IU)剂量。

生活方式与家庭疗法

如果您或您的孩子患有麻疹,在监测疾病进展和观察并发症时,请与您的医生保持联系。您还可尝试以下安慰措施:

  • 放轻松。休息,避免进行繁忙的活动。
  • 喝点东西。饮用大量的水、果汁和花草茶,以补充因发热和出汗而损失的液体。
  • 缓解呼吸道的不适。使用加湿器缓解咳嗽和咽喉疼痛。
  • 让您的眼睛休息。如果您或您的孩子像许多麻疹患者一样感觉明亮的光线令人烦恼,请保持较暗的光线或佩戴太阳镜。如果阅读灯或电视的光线令人烦恼,也要避免阅读或看电视。

准备您的预约

如果您怀疑您或您的孩子患有麻疹,请去看您孩子的医生。

您可以做什么

  • 写下您孩子目前出现的任何症状,包括看似与约诊原因无关的任何症状。
  • 写下关键的个人信息,包括近期的任何旅行。
  • 列出您或您的孩子正在服用的任何药物、维生素或补充剂。
  • 写下要向医生咨询的问题

关于麻疹,要向医生咨询的一些基本问题包括:

  • 最有可能引起我和我的孩子出现症状的原因是什么?
  • 还有其他可能的原因吗?
  • 可提供哪些治疗方法,您建议哪种?
  • 我能做什么让我的孩子更舒服?
  • 是否有我可以带回家的手册或其他印刷材料?您建议访问哪些网站?

医生可能做些什么

医生可能会要求您在办公时间之前或之后来就诊,以减少将麻疹传染给他人的风险。此外,如果医生认为您或您的孩子患有麻疹,他或她必须向当地卫生部门报告这些症状。

医生可能会问您一些问题,例如:

  • 您或您的孩子是否接种过麻疹疫苗?如果是,您是否还记得是什么时间接种的?
  • 您最近是否去过其他国家?
  • 您家里还有其他人住吗?如果有,他们是否接种过麻疹疫苗?

在此期间您可以做什么

在等待就诊期间:

  • 确保让您或孩子多喝水。供儿童饮用的电解质溶液(例如 Pedialyte)或者 Gatorade 和 Powerade 等运动饮料,可以帮助您保持身体水分和维持电解质平衡。
  • 安全地退烧。当发热导致您或孩子感到不适时,有些药物可以帮助退烧,例如对乙酰氨基酚(Tylenol 等)或布洛芬(Advil、儿童专用 Motrin 等)。

    对于出现麻疹症状的儿童或青少年,不要让他们服用阿司匹林。尽管阿司匹林已获批用于 3 岁以上的儿童,但千万不要给处于水痘或流感样症状恢复期的儿童和青少年使用阿司匹林。这是因为阿司匹林与瑞氏综合征有关。对于这类儿童,瑞氏综合征是一种罕见但可能危及生命的疾病。

June 23, 2022
  1. Goodson JL, et al. Measles 50 years after use of measles vaccine. Infectious Disease Clinics of North America. 2015;29:725.
  2. Goldman L, et al., eds. Measles. In: Goldman-Cecil Medicine. 25th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 2, 2018.
  3. Gans H, et al. Measles: Epidemiology and transmission. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed March 2, 2018.
  4. AskMayoExpert. Measles. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  5. Kliegman RM, et al. Measles. In: Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics. 20th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 2, 2018.
  6. Reye's syndrome information page. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/All-Disorders/Reyes-Syndrome-Information-Page. Accessed March 2, 2018.
  7. Gans H, et al. Measles: Clinical manifestations, diagnosis, treatment, and prevention. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed March 2, 2018.
  8. Tannous LK, et al. A short clinical review of vaccination against measles. Journal of the Royal Society of Medicine Open. 2014;5:1. http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/full/10.1177/2054270414523408. Accessed March 2, 2018.
  9. AskMayoExpert. Measles. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  10. Measles (rubeola). For healthcare professionals. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/measles/hcp/index.html. Accessed May 17, 2019.
  11. Questions about measles. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/measles/about/faqs.html. Accessed Jan. 13, 2020.
  12. Tosh PK (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Jan. 14, 2020.

Diagnosis

Your doctor can usually diagnose measles based on the disease's characteristic rash as well as a small, bluish-white spot on a bright red background — Koplik's spot — on the inside lining of the cheek. However, many doctors have never seen measles, and the rash can be confused with a number of other illnesses. If necessary, a blood test can confirm whether the rash is truly measles.

Treatment

There's no specific treatment for an established measles infection. However, some measures can be taken to protect vulnerable individuals who have been exposed to the virus.

  • Post-exposure vaccination. Nonimmunized people, including infants, may be given the measles vaccination within 72 hours of exposure to the measles virus to provide protection against the disease. If measles still develops, the illness usually has milder symptoms and lasts for a shorter time.
  • Immune serum globulin. Pregnant women, infants and people with weakened immune systems who are exposed to the virus may receive an injection of proteins (antibodies) called immune serum globulin. When given within six days of exposure to the virus, these antibodies can prevent measles or make symptoms less severe.

Medications

  • Fever reducers. You or your child may also take over-the-counter medications such as acetaminophen (Tylenol, others), ibuprofen (Advil, Children's Motrin, others) or naproxen (Aleve) to help relieve the fever that accompanies measles.

    Don't give aspirin to children or teenagers who have measles symptoms. Though aspirin is approved for use in children older than age 3, children and teenagers recovering from chickenpox or flu-like symptoms should never take aspirin. This is because aspirin has been linked to Reye's syndrome, a rare but potentially life-threatening condition, in such children.

  • Antibiotics. If a bacterial infection, such as pneumonia or an ear infection, develops while you or your child has measles, your doctor may prescribe an antibiotic.
  • Vitamin A. Children with low levels of vitamin A are more likely to have a more severe case of measles. Giving vitamin A may lessen the severity of the measles. It's generally given as a large dose of 200,000 international units (IU) for children older than a year.

Lifestyle and home remedies

If you or your child has measles, keep in touch with your doctor as you monitor the progress of the disease and watch for complications. Also try these comfort measures:

  • Take it easy. Get rest and avoid busy activities.
  • Sip something. Drink plenty of water, fruit juice and herbal tea to replace fluids lost by fever and sweating.
  • Seek respiratory relief. Use a humidifier to relieve a cough and sore throat.
  • Rest your eyes. If you or your child finds bright light bothersome, as do many people with measles, keep the lights low or wear sunglasses. Also avoid reading or watching television if light from a reading lamp or from the television is bothersome.

Preparing for your appointment

If you suspect that you or your child has measles, you need to see your child's doctor.

What you can do

  • Write down any symptoms you or your child is experiencing, including any that may seem unrelated to the reason for which you scheduled the appointment.
  • Write down key personal information, including any recent travel.
  • Make a list of all medications, vitamins or supplements that you or your child is taking.
  • Write down questions to ask your doctor.

For measles, some basic questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What's the most likely cause of my or my child's symptoms?
  • Are there other possible causes?
  • What treatments are available, and which do you recommend?
  • Is there anything I can do to make my child more comfortable?
  • Are there any brochures or other printed material that I can take home with me? What websites do you recommend visiting?

What to expect from your doctor

The doctor may ask that you come in before or after office hours to reduce the risk of exposing others to the measles. In addition, if the doctor believes that you or your child has the measles, he or she must report those findings to the local health department.

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions, such as:

  • Have you or your child been vaccinated for the measles? If so, do you know when?
  • Have you traveled out of the country recently?
  • Does anyone else live in your household? If yes, have they been vaccinated for measles?

What you can do in the meantime

While you're waiting to see the doctor:

  • Be sure you or your child stays well-hydrated. Pediatric electrolyte solutions, such as Pedialyte, or sports drinks, such as Gatorade or Powerade, can help you stay hydrated and maintain your electrolyte balance.
  • Bring a fever down safely. If a fever is making you or your child uncomfortable, medications such as acetaminophen (Tylenol, others) or ibuprofen (Advil, Children's Motrin, others) can help bring the fever down.

    Don't give aspirin to children or teenagers who have symptoms of measles. Though aspirin is approved for use in children older than age 3, children and teenagers recovering from chickenpox or flu-like symptoms should never take aspirin. This is because aspirin has been linked to Reye's syndrome, a rare but potentially life-threatening condition, in such children.

May 11, 2018
References
  1. Goodson JL, et al. Measles 50 years after use of measles vaccine. Infectious Disease Clinics of North America. 2015;29:725.
  2. Goldman L, et al., eds. Measles. In: Goldman-Cecil Medicine. 25th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 2, 2018.
  3. Gans H, et al. Measles: Epidemiology and transmission. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed March 2, 2018.
  4. AskMayoExpert. Measles. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  5. Kliegman RM, et al. Measles. In: Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics. 20th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 2, 2018.
  6. Reye's syndrome information page. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/All-Disorders/Reyes-Syndrome-Information-Page. Accessed March 2, 2018.
  7. Gans H, et al. Measles: Clinical manifestations, diagnosis, treatment, and prevention. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed March 2, 2018.
  8. Tannous LK, et al. A short clinical review of vaccination against measles. Journal of the Royal Society of Medicine Open. 2014;5:1. http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/full/10.1177/2054270414523408. Accessed March 2, 2018.