التشخيص

تشمل الاختبارات والإجراءات المستخدَمة لتشخيص سرطان الشفة ما يلي:

  • الفحص البدني. أثناء الفحص البدني، سيفحص الطبيب الشفة والفم والوجه والرقبة بحثًا عن مؤشرات السرطان. سيسألك الطبيب عن المؤشِّرات والأعراض لديك.
  • استئصال عيِّنة من الأنسجة للاختبار. أثناء الخزعة، سيستأصل الطبيب عينة صغيرة من النسيج لفحصها في المختبر. في المختبر، يمكن للطبيب الذي يحلل أنسجة الجسم (خبير الأمراض) تحديد ما إذا كان السرطان موجودًا أم لا ونوع السرطان ومستوى العدوانية الموجودة في الخلايا السرطانية.
  • فحوصات التصوير. يمكن استخدام اختبارات التصوير لتحديد ما إذا كان السرطان قد انتشر خارج الشفاه أم لا. قد تشمل الاختبارات التصويرية ما يلي: التصوير المقطعي المحوسب (CT) أو التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRI) أو التصوير المقطعي بالإصدار البوزيتروني (PET)‏.‎

العلاج

تشمل علاجات سرطان الشفاه ما يلي:

  • الجراحة. تُجرى الجراحة لاستئصال سرطان الشفاه وهامش من النسيج الصحي المحيط به. يقوم الجرَّاح بعد ذلك بترميم الشفاه للسماح بالأكل والشرب والتحدُّث بشكل طبيعي. تُستخدم أيضًا تقنيات جراحية للحد من التندُّب.

    بالنسبة إلى سرطانات الشفاه الصغيرة الحجم، قد يَسهُل ترميم الشفة بعد الإجراء الجراحي. لكن بالنسبة إلى سرطانات الشفاه الكبيرة الحجم، قد يتطلب الأمر وجود جرَّاحي التجميل والاستبناء الماهرين لترميم الشفة. قد تتضمَّن الجراحة الاستبنائية تطعيم أنسجة الوجه بالأنسجة والجلد المأخوذة من جزء آخر من الجسم.

    قد تتضمَّن جراحة سرطان الشفاه أيضًا إزالة العُقَد اللمفية السرطانية الموجودة في الرقبة.

  • المعالَجة الإشعاعية. تَستخدِم المُعالَجة الإشعاعية حُزَمًا مُرتفعة الطاقة، مثل الأشعة السينية والحزم البروتونية، للقضاء على الخلايا السرطانية. يمكن استخدام المُعالَجة الإشعاعية علاجًا وحيدًا لعلاج سرطان الشفاه، أو يمكن استخدامها بعد الجراحة. قد يُوَجَّه الإشعاع فقط إلى الشفاه، أو قد يَستهدف أيضًا العُقَد اللمفية الموجودة في الرقبة.

    تَصدر الأشعة المُستخدَمة في المُعالَجة الإشعاعية لسرطان الشفاه من جهاز كبير الحجم يركِّز حزم الطاقة الإشعاعية بدقة. لكن في بعض الحالات، يمكن تعريض الشفاه للإشعاع المباشر لفترة قصيرة. يسمح هذا الإجراء، المُسمَّى المُعالَجة الكَثَبية، للأطباء باستخدام جرعات أعلى من الإشعاع.

  • المُعالَجة الكيميائية. تَستخدم المُعالَجة الكيميائية الأدوية لقتل الخلايا السرطانية. بالنسبة إلى سرطان الشفاه، تُستخدم المُعالَجة الكيميائية في بعض الأحيان مع المُعالَجة الإشعاعية لزيادة فعالية العلاج. في حالات الإصابة المُتقدِّمة بسرطان الشفاه الذي انتقل إلى مناطق أخرى من الجسم، يمكن استخدام المُعالَجة الكيميائية لتقليل المؤشرات والأعراض وجعلك تشعر براحة أكثر.
  • العلاج الدَّوَائي الاستهدافيُّ. تُركِّز المعالجات الدوائية الاستهدافيّة على نقاط ضعف محدَّدة موجودة داخل الخلايا السرطانية. من خلال حصر نقاط الضعف تلك، يمكن أن تتسبَّب المعالجات الدوائية الاستهدافية في قتل الخلايا السرطانية. عادةً ما يُجمَع بين العلاج الدوائي الاستهدافي والمُعالَجة الكيميائية.
  • العلاج المناعي. العلاج المناعي هو علاج دوائي يساعد جهازكَ المناعي على محاربة السرطان. قد لا يُهاجِم الجهاز المناعي لجسمكَ المسئول عن مكافحة الأمراض مرضَ السرطان؛ وذلكَ لأن الخلايا السرطانية تُنتِج بروتينات تُخفيها عن خلايا الجهاز المناعي. يعمل العلاج المناعي عن طريق تعطيل تلك العملية. بالنسبة إلى سرطان الشفاه، يمكن النظر في استخدام العلاج المناعي عندما يكون السرطان في مرحلة متقدِّمة، والعلاجات الأخرى ليست خيارًا متاحًا.

التأقلم والدعم

قد يؤدي تشخيصك بمرض السرطان إلى تغيُّر حياتك للأبد. وعادة ما يجد كل شخص طريقته الخاصة في مسايرة التغيرات العاطفية والجسدية التي تصاحب السرطان، ورغم ذلك، فقد يصعب على البعض أحيانًا أن يحددوا خطوتهم التالية بعد سماعهم خبر إصابتهم بالسرطان للمرة الأولى؛

إليك بعض الأفكار التي قد تساعدك في التعامل مع الأمر:

  • تعلَمَ المزيد عن السرطان لاتخاذ القرارات بشأن الرعاية التي ستتلقاها. استشِر الطبيب عن إصابة السرطان لديك، بما في ذلك خيارات العلاج، والتنبؤات بخصوص سَيْر المرض إذا رغبت. كلما عرفت المزيد عن السرطان، أصبحت أكثر ثقة بشأن قرارات العلاج التي تتخذها.
  • تقرَّب من الأسرة والأصدقاء. إن إبقاء علاقاتكَ القريبة قوية قد يعينكَ على التعامل مع السرطان؛ يمكن أن يقدم لك أصدقاؤك وأقرباؤك الدعم العملي الذي ستحتاج إليه، مثل المساعدة في الاعتناء بمنزلك إذا كنت تُعالَج في المستشفى. ويمكنهم تقديم الدعم العاطفي أيضًا في حالة شعورك بأن السرطان قد أثقل كاهلك.
  • ابحثْ عن شخص تتحدث إليه. ابحثْ عن مستمع جيِّد يتقبل الاستماع إلى حديثك عن آمالكَ ومخاوفك. قد يكون هذا الشخص صديقًا أو فردًا من العائلة. وقد يُساعدكَ أيضًا الحصول على التَّفَهُّم والدعم من قِبَل استشاري، أو اختصاصي طبي اجتماعي، أو رجل دين، أو مجموعة دعم السرطان.

    اسأل طبيبك عن مجموعات الدعم المتاحة في منطقتك. لمزيد من مصادر المعلومات يمكنكَ الرجوع إلى المعهد الوطني الأمريكي للسرطان (National Cancer Institute) وجمعية السرطان الأمريكية (American Cancer Society).

الاستعداد لموعدك

ابدأْ بتحديد موعد لزيارة طبيب العائلة إذا لاحظتَ أية مؤشرات أو أعراض تُثير قلقك. إذا اشتبه طبيبك في احتمالية إصابتك بسرطان الشفاه، فقد تتم إحالتك إلى طبيب متخصص في الأمراض التي تصيب الجلد أو طبيب متخصِّص في الأمراض التي تصيب الأذن والأنف والحنجرة.

نظرًا إلى أن المواعيد الطبية يمكن أن تكون قصيرة، وغالبًا ما يكون هناك الكثير من الأمور الواجب توضيحها، فمن الجيد أن تكون مستعدًّا بشكل جيد للموعد الطبي. إليك بعض المعلومات لمساعدتك على الاستعداد، وما يمكن توقعه من طبيبك.

ما يمكنك فعله

  • كُنْ على علم بأي قيود ينبغي الالتزام بها قبل موعك الطبي. عند تحديد الموعد الطبي، اسأل عن أي تعليمات تحتاج إلى اتباعها قبل الزيارة؛ مثل اتباع نظام غذائي معيَّن.
  • دوِّنْ أي أعراض تَشعُر بها، بما في ذلك أي أعراض تبدو غير مرتبطة بسبب زيارتكَ للطبيب.
  • دوِّن معلوماتكَ الشخصية الأساسية، بما في ذلكَ أي ضغوطات شديدة تعرَّضتَ لها أو تغييرات حياتية حدثَت لكَ مؤخرًا.
  • أعدَّ قائمة بجميع الأدوية، أو الفيتامينات أو المُكمِّلات الغذائية التي تتناولها.
  • اطلبْ من أحد أفراد العائلة أو صديق المجيء معك. في بعض الأحيان قد يكون من الصعب استيعاب جميع المعلومات المُقدَّمة أثناء الموعد الطبي. قد يتذكَّر الشخص الذي يُرافقكَ شيئًا قد فاتكَ أو نسيتَه.
  • دَوِّنْ أسئلتكَ لطرحها على طبيبك.

قد يكون وقتكَ مع طبيبكَ محدودًا؛ لذا فإن إعداد قائمة من الأسئلة سيساعدكَ على تحقيق أقصى استفادة من وقتكما معًا. رَتِّبِ الأسئلة من الأكثر أهمية إلى الأقل أهمية لتكون مستعدًّا في حالة انتهاء الوقت. بالنسبة إلى سرطان الشفاه، تَشمل بعض الأسئلة الأساسية التي يَجب طرحها على طبيبك:

  • هل يُمكنكَ شرح ما تَعنيه نتائج الاختبار الخاصة بي؟
  • هل تُوصي بأي اختبارات أو إجراءات أخرى؟
  • ما مرحلة سرطان الشفاه لديَّ؟
  • ما الخيارات العلاجية المتاحة لديَّ؟
  • ما الآثار الجانبية المُحتمَلة لكل علاج؟
  • ما مدى تأثير العلاج على حياتي اليومية؟
  • ما خيارات العلاج التي تَعتقد أنها الأفضل بالنسبة لي؟
  • ما مدى احتمالية وصولي لمرحلة التعافي مع العلاجات المُوصَى بها؟
  • كم أحتاج من الوقت لاتخاذ قرار بشأن العلاج؟
  • هل يجب أن أحصل على رأي آخر من اختصاصي؟ ما تَكلُفة ذلك، وهل سيُغَطِّيه التأمين الخاص بي؟
  • هل هناك منشورات أو موادُّ مطبوعة أخرى يُمكنني أَخْذها معي؟ ما المواقع الإلكترونية التي تُوصِي بالاطلاع عليها؟

بالإضافة إلى الأسئلة التي أعددْتَها لطرحها على طبيبكَ، لا تتردَّدْ في طرح المزيد من الأسئلة التي تخطُر لك.

ما الذي تتوقعه من طبيبك

من المرجَّح أن يطرح عليكَ طبيبكَ عددًا من الأسئلة. ويمكن أن يوفر الاستعداد للرد عليها وقتًا أكثر لاحقًا لمناقشة النقاط الأخرى التي تريد تناولها. قد يطرَح عليك الطبيب الأسئلة التالية:

  • متى شعرت بهذه الأعراض لأول مرة؟
  • هل أعراضُك مُستمرَّة أم عَرَضِية؟
  • ما مدى حِدَّة الأعراض لديك؟
  • مالذي يحسن أعراضك، إن وُجِد؟
  • ما الذي يجعَل أعراضَكَ تتفاقم، إن وُجِد؟

سرطان الشفاه - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

10/12/2019
  1. AskMayoExpert. Oral cavity carcinoma, stages I to IV: Diagnosis to first treatment (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2017.
  2. Head and neck cancers. National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/default.aspx. Accessed June 14, 2019.
  3. Niederhuber JE, et al., eds. Cancer of the head and neck. In: Abeloff's Clinical Oncology. 6th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 14, 2019.
  4. Warner KJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. July 10, 2019.
  5. Flint PW, et al. Malignant neoplasms of the oral cavity. In: Cummings Otolaryngology: Head & Neck Surgery. 6th ed. Saunders Elsevier; 2015. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 14, 2019.
  6. Sunscreen: How to protect your skin from the sun. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/drugs/understanding-over-counter-medicines/sunscreen-how-help-protect-your-skin-sun. Accessed Sept 15, 2019.

ذات صلة

Products & Services

Diagnosis

Tests and procedures used to diagnose lip cancer include:

  • Physical exam. During a physical exam, your doctor will examine your lip, mouth, face and neck to look for signs of cancer. Your doctor will ask you about your signs and symptoms.
  • Removing a sample of tissue for testing. During a biopsy, your doctor will remove a small sample of tissue for laboratory testing. In the laboratory, a doctor who analyzes body tissue (pathologist) can determine whether cancer is present, the type of cancer and the level of aggressiveness that's present in the cancer cells.
  • Imaging tests. Imaging tests may be used to determine whether cancer has spread beyond the lip. Imaging tests may include computerized tomography (CT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) or positron emission tomography (PET).

Treatment

Lip cancer treatments include:

  • Surgery. Surgery is used to remove the lip cancer and a margin of healthy tissue that surrounds it. The surgeon then repairs the lip to allow for normal eating, drinking and speaking. Techniques to reduce scarring also are used.

    For small lip cancers, repairing the lip after surgery may be a simple procedure. But for larger lip cancers, skilled plastic and reconstructive surgeons may be needed to repair the lip. Reconstructive surgery may involve moving tissue and skin to the face from another part of the body.

    Surgery for lip cancer may also involve removing cancerous lymph nodes in the neck.

  • Radiation therapy. Radiation therapy uses powerful energy beams, such as X-rays and protons, to kill cancer cells. Radiation therapy for lip cancer may be used on its own or it may be used after surgery. The radiation may be aimed only at your lip, or it may also be aimed at the lymph nodes in your neck.

    Radiation therapy for lip cancer most often comes from a large machine that precisely focuses the energy beams. But in some cases, the radiation can be placed directly on your lip and left in place for a short time. This procedure, called brachytherapy, allows doctors to use higher doses of radiation.

  • Chemotherapy. Chemotherapy uses powerful drugs to kill cancer cells. For lip cancer, chemotherapy is sometimes used in combination with radiation therapy to increase the effectiveness of treatment. In cases of advanced lip cancer that has spread to other areas of the body, chemotherapy may be used to reduce signs and symptoms and make you more comfortable.
  • Targeted drug therapy. Targeted drug treatments focus on specific weaknesses present within cancer cells. By blocking these weaknesses, targeted drug treatments can cause cancer cells to die. Targeted drug therapy is usually combined with chemotherapy.
  • Immunotherapy. Immunotherapy is a drug treatment that helps your immune system to fight cancer. Your body's disease-fighting immune system might not attack cancer because the cancer cells produce proteins that help them hide from the immune system cells. Immunotherapy works by interfering with that process. For cancer of the lip, immunotherapy might be considered when the cancer is advanced and other treatments aren't an option.

Coping and support

A cancer diagnosis can change your life forever. Each person finds his or her own way of coping with the emotional and physical changes cancer brings. But when you're first diagnosed with cancer, sometimes it's difficult to know what to do next.

Here are some ideas to help you cope:

  • Learn enough about cancer to make decisions about your care. Ask your doctor about your cancer, including your treatment options and, if you like, your prognosis. As you learn more about cancer, you may become more confident in making treatment decisions.
  • Keep friends and family close. Keeping your close relationships strong will help you deal with your cancer. Friends and family can provide the practical support you'll need, such as helping take care of your house if you're in the hospital. And they can serve as emotional support when you feel overwhelmed by cancer.
  • Find someone to talk with. Find a good listener who is willing to listen to you talk about your hopes and fears. This may be a friend or family member. The concern and understanding of a counselor, medical social worker, clergy member or cancer support group also may be helpful.

    Ask your doctor about support groups in your area. Other sources of information include the National Cancer Institute and the American Cancer Society.

Preparing for your appointment

Start by making an appointment with your family doctor if you have any signs or symptoms that worry you. If your doctor suspects you might have lip cancer, you might be referred to a doctor who specializes in diseases that affect the skin (dermatologist) or a doctor who specializes in conditions that affect the ears, nose and throat (otorhinolaryngologist).

Because appointments can be brief, and because there's often a lot of ground to cover, it's a good idea to be well prepared. Here's some information to help you get ready, and what to expect from your doctor.

What you can do

  • Be aware of any pre-appointment restrictions. At the time you make the appointment, be sure to ask if there's anything you need to do in advance, such as restrict your diet.
  • Write down any symptoms you're experiencing, including any that may seem unrelated to the reason for which you scheduled the appointment.
  • Write down key personal information, including any major stresses or recent life changes.
  • Make a list of all medications, vitamins or supplements that you're taking.
  • Consider taking a family member or friend along. Sometimes it can be difficult to take in all the information provided during an appointment. Someone who accompanies you may remember something that you missed or forgot.
  • Write down questions to ask your doctor.

Your time with your doctor is limited, so preparing a list of questions will help make the most of your time together. List questions from most important to least important in case time runs out. For lip cancer, some basic questions to ask your doctor include:

  • Can you explain what my test results mean?
  • Do you recommend any other tests or procedures?
  • What is the stage of my lip cancer?
  • What are my treatment options?
  • What side effects are likely with each treatment?
  • How will treatment affect my daily life?
  • Which treatment options do you think are best for me?
  • How likely is it that I'll achieve remission with the treatments you recommend?
  • How quickly must I make a decision on my treatment?
  • Should I get a second opinion from a specialist? What will that cost, and will my insurance cover it?
  • Are there brochures or other printed material that I can take with me? What websites do you recommend?

In addition to the questions that you've prepared to ask your doctor, don't hesitate to ask other questions that occur to you.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions. Being ready to answer them may allow time later to cover other points you want to address. Your doctor may ask:

  • When did you first begin experiencing symptoms?
  • Have your symptoms been continuous or occasional?
  • How severe are your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, seems to improve your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, appears to worsen your symptoms?

Lip cancer care at Mayo Clinic

Dec. 10, 2019
  1. AskMayoExpert. Oral cavity carcinoma, stages I to IV: Diagnosis to first treatment (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2017.
  2. Head and neck cancers. National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/default.aspx. Accessed June 14, 2019.
  3. Niederhuber JE, et al., eds. Cancer of the head and neck. In: Abeloff's Clinical Oncology. 6th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 14, 2019.
  4. Warner KJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. July 10, 2019.
  5. Flint PW, et al. Malignant neoplasms of the oral cavity. In: Cummings Otolaryngology: Head & Neck Surgery. 6th ed. Saunders Elsevier; 2015. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 14, 2019.
  6. Sunscreen: How to protect your skin from the sun. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/drugs/understanding-over-counter-medicines/sunscreen-how-help-protect-your-skin-sun. Accessed Sept 15, 2019.

Related

Associated Procedures

Products & Services