概述

偷窃癖是指无法抵抗偷东西的冲动,反复偷窃您不需要且没什么价值的东西。偷窃癖是一种罕见却非常严重的心理健康疾病,如果得不到及时治疗,可能对您和您所爱之人造成情感伤害。

偷窃癖是一种冲动控制障碍,其特征是情感或行为自控出现问题。如果患有冲动控制障碍,您会很难抵抗去做某些对自己或他人很过分或有害的行为的诱惑或冲动。

许多有偷窃癖的人都在生活中藏着难以启齿的秘密,因为他们害怕寻求心理健康治疗。虽然偷窃癖尚无治愈方法,但使用药物治疗或谈话疗法(心理疗法)可能会有助于终止强迫性偷窃的循环。

症状

偷窃癖症状可能包括:

  • 无法抗拒强烈的偷窃无用物品的欲望
  • 感到因偷窃而带来的紧张感、焦虑或兴奋
  • 偷窃时感到愉悦、放松或满足
  • 偷窃之后会感到非常内疚、自责、羞耻或害怕被捕
  • 欲望仍然出现,偷窃癖周期不断重复

特征

偷窃癖患者通常表现出以下特征或特点:

  • 与典型的入店行窃者不同,偷窃癖患者不是为了个人利益、胆量、报复或叛逆而强迫偷窃。他们之所以偷窃,只是因为这种欲望过于强大,他们完全无法抗拒。
  • 偷窃癖的发作一般是自发发生的,通常没有事先计划,也没有他人的帮助或协作。
  • 大多数偷窃癖患者都是从商店和超市等公共场所偷窃。有些人可能会从朋友或熟人那里偷窃,例如在聚会上。
  • 通常,被盗物品对于偷窃癖患者没有什么价值,而且这些患者也买得起这些物品。
  • 被盗物品通常会被藏起来,永远不会使用。这些患者可能捐赠被盗物品,赠送给家人或朋友,甚至偷偷送回到被盗的地方。
  • 偷窃的欲望可能随时间而反复发作,强度或增加或减小。

何时就医

如果您无法停止入店行窃或偷窃,请寻求医疗帮助。许多偷窃癖患者因为害怕被捕或入狱而不想寻求治疗。但是,心理健康专家通常不会将您的盗窃行为报告给执法机关。

有些人之所以寻求医疗帮助,是因为他们担心自己会被抓住并造成法律后果。或者他们已经被捕,并且法律上要求他们寻求治疗。

如果亲友患有偷窃癖

如果您怀疑亲朋密友或家人可能患有偷窃癖,请委婉地表达您对亲友的关心。请记住,偷窃癖是一种心理健康疾病,而不是性格缺陷,因此请不要责怪或指责亲友。

强调以下几点可能会有所帮助:

  • 您之所以担心是因为您关心亲友的身心健康。
  • 您担心强迫型偷窃狂的风险,例如被捕、失去工作或破坏珍贵的关系。
  • 您要明白,患有偷窃癖,只是因为偷窃的欲望太强烈,无法仅仅通过“专注”来抗拒这种冲动。
  • 目前的治疗方法有助于最大程度地抑制偷窃的欲望,继续正常生活,戒掉成瘾习惯和羞耻感。

如果您需要帮助来准备谈话,请咨询医生。医生可能将您转诊给心理健康专家,由专家帮您规划适当的方式,既表达您的关切,又不会使您的亲友产生戒备心理或感觉受到威胁。

病因

偷窃癖的病因尚未知。数个理论表明,脑部变化可能是偷窃癖的根本原因。需要进行更多研究以更好地理解这些可能病因,但是偷窃癖可能与以下因素有关:

  • 大脑中一种名为血清素的天然化学物质(神经递质)。血清素帮助调节心情和情绪。血清素水平低常见于容易冲动行事的人。
  • 成瘾性疾病。偷窃可能会释放多巴胺(另一种神经递质)。多巴胺产生愉悦感,一些人会一次次追求这种刺激的感觉。
  • 脑部阿片肽系统。脑部阿片肽系统调节冲动。这个系统失衡后会更难抑制冲动。

风险因素

偷窃癖并不常见。然而,一些患有偷窃癖的人可能永远不会寻求治疗,或者他们只是在反复盗窃后被监禁,因此一些偷窃癖病例可能永远无法确诊。偷窃癖通常在青少年时期或青年期发病,但也可能在成年期或以后发病。已知患有偷窃癖的人约三分之二是女性。

偷窃癖的风险因素可能包括:

  • 家族病史。有一级亲属(如父母或兄弟姐妹)患有偷窃癖、强迫障碍或酒精或其他物质使用障碍可能会增加患偷窃癖的风险。
  • 患有另一种心理疾病。患有偷窃癖的人通常会有另一种心理疾病,如双相障碍、焦虑障碍、进食障碍、物质使用障碍或人格障碍。

并发症

如果不加治疗,偷窃癖会导致严重的情感、家庭、工作、法律和经济问题。例如,您知道偷窃是不对的,但您会感觉无力抵抗这种偷窃冲动,因此内疚、羞愧、自我厌恶和尴尬可能会让您痛苦不堪。您还可能会因为偷窃被捕。您也可能会过着品行端正的生活,但冲动性偷窃会让您感到困惑和心烦。

与偷窃癖相关的其他并发症和疾病可能包括:

  • 其他冲动控制障碍,如强迫性赌博或购物
  • 酒精和物质滥用
  • 人格障碍
  • 进食障碍
  • 抑郁症
  • 双相障碍
  • 焦虑
  • 自杀想法、自杀未遂和自杀

预防

因为尚不清楚导致偷窃癖的原因,所以还不知道如何才能进行有效预防。在发生冲动性偷窃后立即接受治疗可能有助于防止偷窃癖恶化,并防止产生一些不良后果。

Jan. 13, 2022
  1. Kleptomania. In: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5. 5th ed. Arlington, Va.: American Psychiatric Association; 2013. http://dsm.psychiatryonline.org. Accessed Sept. 15, 2017.
  2. Grant JE, et al. Kleptomania. In: Gabbard's Treatments of Psychiatric Disorders. 5th ed. Arlington, Va.: American Psychiatric Association; 2014. http://psychiatryonline.org/doi/full/10.1176/appi.books.9781585625048.gg45. Accessed Sept. 16, 2017.
  3. Hales RE, et al. Disruptive, impulse-control, and conduct disorders. In: The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry. 6th ed. Washington, D.C.: American Psychiatric Publishing; 2014. http://psychiatryonline.org. Accessed Sept. 16, 2017.
  4. Kin HS, et al. Kleptomania and co-morbid addictive disorders. Psychiatry Research. 2017;250:35.
  5. Palmer BA (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Sept. 21, 2017.

相关

Associated Procedures

Overview

Kleptomania (klep-toe-MAY-nee-uh) is the recurrent inability to resist urges to steal items that you generally don't really need and that usually have little value. Kleptomania is a rare but serious mental health disorder that can cause much emotional pain to you and your loved ones if not treated.

Kleptomania is a type of impulse control disorder — a disorder that's characterized by problems with emotional or behavioral self-control. If you have an impulse control disorder, you have difficulty resisting the temptation or drive to perform an act that's excessive or harmful to you or someone else.

Many people with kleptomania live lives of secret shame because they're afraid to seek mental health treatment. Although there's no cure for kleptomania, treatment with medication or talk therapy (psychotherapy) may help to end the cycle of compulsive stealing.

Symptoms

Kleptomania symptoms may include:

  • Inability to resist powerful urges to steal items that you don't need
  • Feeling increased tension, anxiety or arousal leading up to the theft
  • Feeling pleasure, relief or gratification while stealing
  • Feeling terrible guilt, remorse, self-loathing, shame or fear of arrest after the theft
  • Return of the urges and a repetition of the kleptomania cycle

Features

People with kleptomania typically exhibit these features or characteristics:

  • Unlike typical shoplifters, people with kleptomania don't compulsively steal for personal gain, on a dare, for revenge or out of rebellion. They steal simply because the urge is so powerful that they can't resist it.
  • Episodes of kleptomania generally occur spontaneously, usually without planning and without help or collaboration from another person.
  • Most people with kleptomania steal from public places, such as stores and supermarkets. Some may steal from friends or acquaintances, such as at a party.
  • Often, the stolen items have no value to the person with kleptomania, and the person can afford to buy them.
  • The stolen items are usually stashed away, never to be used. Items may also be donated, given away to family or friends, or even secretly returned to the place from which they were stolen.
  • Urges to steal may come and go or may occur with greater or lesser intensity over the course of time.

When to see a doctor

If you can't stop shoplifting or stealing, seek medical advice. Many people who may have kleptomania don't want to seek treatment because they're afraid they'll be arrested or jailed. However, a mental health professional typically doesn't report your thefts to authorities.

Some people seek medical help because they're afraid they'll get caught and have legal consequences. Or they've already been arrested, and they're legally required to seek treatment.

If a loved one has kleptomania

If you suspect a close friend or family member may have kleptomania, gently raise your concerns with your loved one. Keep in mind that kleptomania is a mental health condition, not a character flaw, so approach your loved one without blame or accusation.

It may be helpful to emphasize these points:

  • You're concerned because you care about your loved one's health and well-being.
  • You're worried about the risks of compulsive stealing, such as being arrested, losing a job or damaging a valued relationship.
  • You understand that, with kleptomania, the urge to steal may be too strong to resist just by "putting your mind to it."
  • Treatments are available that may help to minimize the urge to steal and live without addiction and shame.

If you need help preparing for this conversation, talk with your doctor. He or she may refer you to a mental health professional who can help you plan a way of raising your concerns without making your loved one feel defensive or threatened.

Causes

The cause of kleptomania is not known. Several theories suggest that changes in the brain may be at the root of kleptomania. More research is needed to better understand these possible causes, but kleptomania may be linked to:

  • Problems with a naturally occurring brain chemical (neurotransmitter) called serotonin. Serotonin helps regulate moods and emotions. Low levels of serotonin are common in people prone to impulsive behaviors.
  • Addictive disorders. Stealing may cause the release of dopamine (another neurotransmitter). Dopamine causes pleasurable feelings, and some people seek this rewarding feeling again and again.
  • The brain's opioid system. Urges are regulated by the brain's opioid system. An imbalance in this system could make it harder to resist urges.

Risk factors

Kleptomania is considered uncommon. However, some people with kleptomania may never seek treatment, or they're simply jailed after repeated thefts, so some cases of kleptomania may never be diagnosed. Kleptomania often begins during the teen years or in young adulthood, but can start in adulthood or later. About two-thirds of people with known kleptomania are women.

Kleptomania risk factors may include:

  • Family history. Having a first-degree relative, such as a parent or sibling, with kleptomania, obsessive-compulsive disorder, or an alcohol or other substance use disorder may increase the risk of kleptomania.
  • Having another mental illness. People with kleptomania often have another mental illness, such as bipolar disorder, anxiety disorder, an eating disorder, substance use disorder or a personality disorder.

Complications

Left untreated, kleptomania can result in severe emotional, family, work, legal and financial problems. For example, you know stealing is wrong but you feel powerless to resist the impulse, so you may be wracked by guilt, shame, self-loathing and humiliation. And you may be arrested for stealing. You may otherwise lead a moral, upstanding life and be confused and upset by your compulsive stealing.

Other complications and conditions associated with kleptomania may include:

  • Other impulse-control disorders, such as compulsive gambling or shopping
  • Alcohol and substance misuse
  • Personality disorders
  • Eating disorders
  • Depression
  • Bipolar disorder
  • Anxiety
  • Suicidal thoughts, suicide attempts and suicide

Prevention

Because the cause of kleptomania isn't clear, it's not yet known how to prevent it with any certainty. Getting treatment as soon as compulsive stealing begins may help prevent kleptomania from becoming worse and prevent some of the negative consequences.

Oct. 21, 2017
References
  1. Kleptomania. In: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5. 5th ed. Arlington, Va.: American Psychiatric Association; 2013. http://dsm.psychiatryonline.org. Accessed Sept. 15, 2017.
  2. Grant JE, et al. Kleptomania. In: Gabbard's Treatments of Psychiatric Disorders. 5th ed. Arlington, Va.: American Psychiatric Association; 2014. http://psychiatryonline.org/doi/full/10.1176/appi.books.9781585625048.gg45. Accessed Sept. 16, 2017.
  3. Hales RE, et al. Disruptive, impulse-control, and conduct disorders. In: The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry. 6th ed. Washington, D.C.: American Psychiatric Publishing; 2014. http://psychiatryonline.org. Accessed Sept. 16, 2017.
  4. Kin HS, et al. Kleptomania and co-morbid addictive disorders. Psychiatry Research. 2017;250:35.
  5. Palmer BA (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Sept. 21, 2017.