الكوليسترول: أفضل أطعمة لخفض مستواه

يمكن للنظام الغذائي لعب دور مهم في خفض الكوليسترول. تلك هي بعض الأطعمة لتحسين الكوليسترول وحماية القلب.

من إعداد فريق مايو كلينك

هل يمكن لوعاء من حبوب الشوفان أن يخفض الكوليسترول لديك؟ ما رأيك في مقدار ضئيل من اللوز؟ قد تساعدك بعض التعديلات البسيطة القليلة على نظامك الغذائي — إلى جانب ممارسة الرياضة والمداومة على العادات الأخرى المفيدة للقلب — في خفض الكوليسترول لديك.

حبوب الشوفان ونخالة الشوفان والأطعمة الغنية بالألياف

تحتوي حبوب الشوفان على ألياف ذائبة، تقلل كوليسترول البروتين الدهني منخفض الكثافة (LDL)، وهو الكوليسترول "الضار". توجد الألياف الذائبة أيضًا في أطعمة مثل الفاصوليا وبراعم بروكسل والتفاح والكمثرى.

تقلل الألياف الذائبة امتصاص الكوليسترول في مجرى الدم. يمكن بتناول خمسة إلى عشر جرامات من الألياف الذائبة يوميًا تقليل كوليسترول البروتين الدهني منخفض الكثافة لديك. توفر الحصة الواحدة من حبوب الإفطار ذات الشوفان أو نخالة الشوفان 3 إلى 4 جرامات من الألياف. إن أضفت الفاكهة، مثل الموز أو التوت، فستحصل على المزيد من الألياف.

السمك وأحماض أوميجا-3 الدهنية

تحتوي الأسماك الدهنية على مستويات عالية من أحماض أوميجا-3 الدهنية، التي يمكن أن تقلل من الدهون الثلاثية الموجودة لديك — في الدم — وكذلك يمكنها تقليل ضغط الدم وخطر الإصابة بتجلط الدم. وبالنسبة للأشخاص الذين يتعرضون بالفعل لنوبات قلبية، قد تقلل أحماض أوميجا-3 الدهنية من خطر الموت المفاجئ.

ولا تؤثر أحماض أوميجا-3 الدهنية في مستويات كوليسترول البروتين الدهني منخفض الكثافة (LDL). ولكن بسبب الفوائد الأخرى لهذه الأحماض بالنسبة إلى القلب، توصي جمعية القلب الأمريكية بتناول حصتين على الأقل من السمك أسبوعيًا. ويعمل طهو السمك بالحرارة الجافة أو شيِّه على تجنب إضافة الدهون غير الصحية.

توجد أعلى مستويات من أحماض أوميجا-3 الدهنية في:

  • سمك الماكريل
  • سمك الرنجة
  • سمك التونة
  • سمك السلمون
  • سمك السلمون المرقط

كما تحتوي أطعمة، مثل الجوز وزيت بذرة الكتان وزيت الكانولا، على كميات صغيرة من أحماض أوميجا-3 الدهنية.

وتتوفر مكملات أوميجا-3 وزيت السمك. يُرجى التحدث مع الطبيب قبل تناول أي مكملات.

اللوز وأنواع المكسرات الأخرى

يمكن للوز والمكسرات الأخرى تحسين كوليسترول الدم. توصلت دراسة حديثة إلى أن النظام الغذائي المُكمَّل بمكسرات عين الجمل يمكن أن يقلل من خطورة الإصابة بمضاعفات في القلب للأشخاص الذين سبق إصابتهم بأزمة قلبية. تحتوي كل المكسرات على نسبة عالية من السعرات الحرارية، لذا يمكنك إضافة حفنة إلى السلطة أو تناولها كوجبة خفيفة وستؤدي الغرض منها.

الأفوكادو

يعد الأفوكادو مصدراً قوياً من العناصر الغذائية وكذلك الأحماض الدهنية الأحادية (MUFAs). تشير الأبحاث إلى أن إضافة الأفوكادو يومياً إلى نظام غذائي صحي للقلب يمكن أن يساعد في تحسين مستويات الكولسترول منخفض الكثافة لدى الأشخاص الذين يعانون من زيادة الوزن أو السمنة.

يميل الناس إلى التعرف على الأفوكادو في سلطة الجواكامولي، والتي تؤكل عادةً مع رقائق الذرة عالية الدهون. جرب إضافة شرائح الأفوكادو إلى أطباق السلطة والسندويتشات أو أن تتناولها كطبق جانبي. جرب أيضاً تناول الجواكامولي مع الخضراوات النيئة المقطعة مثل شرائح الخيار.

إن استبدال الدهون المشبعة، مثل تلك الموجودة في اللحوم، مع الأحماض الدهنية الأحادية هي جزء من المنظومة التي تجعل نظام البحر الأبيض المتوسط الغذائي للقلب في صحة جيدة.

زيت الزيتون

حاول استخدام زيت الزيتون بدلاً من الدهون الأخرى ضمن نظامك الغذائي. يمكنك تسوية الخضراوات بزيت الزيتون، أو إضافته إلى سائل التتبيل أو خلطه مع الخل كصوص للسلطة. يمكنك أيضًا استخدام زيت الزيتون كبديل للزبد عند تغطية اللحم أو كغموس للخبز.

أطعمة مضاف لها مركبات الستيرول النباتية أو الاستانول

مركبات الستيرول النباتية أو الاستانول هي مواد توجد في النباتات تساعد في منع امتصاص الكوليسترول. الأطعمة المعززة بمركبات الستيرول أو الاستانول متاحة.

السمن النباتي وعصير البرتقال المضاف إليهما مركبات الستيرول النباتية يمكن أن يساعدا في تقليل كوليسترول البروتين الدهني منخفض الكثافة. إضافة 2 جرام من الستيرول إلى نظامك الغذائي يوميًا يمكن أن تخفض مستوى كوليسترول البروتين الدهني منخفض الكثافة بنسبة تتراوح بين 5 و15 في المئة.

من غير الواضح ما إذا كانت الأطعمة المعززة بمركبات الستيرول النباتية أو الاستانول تقلل خطورة الإصابة بالنوبة القلبية أو السكتة الدماغية — على الرغم من افتراض الخبراء أن الأطعمة التي تقلل الكوليسترول تقلل تلك الخطورة بدورها. لا يبدو أن مركبات الستيرول النباتية أو الاستانول يؤثر على مستويات الدهون الثلاثية أو كوليسترول البروتين الدهني عالي الكثافة (HDL)، وهو الكوليسترول "النافع".

بروتين مصل اللبن

قد يُعتمد على بروتين مصل اللبن، الموجود في منتجات الألبان، للحصول على العديد من المزايا الصحية المرتبطة بالألبان. وقد أظهرت الدراسات أن بروتين مصل اللبن الذي يتم منحه كمكمل يقلل من كل من كولسترول البروتين الدهني منخفض الكثافة (الكولسترول الضار "LDL") والكولسترول الكلي فضلاً عن ضغط الدم. يمكنك العثور على مساحيق بروتين مصل اللبن في متاجر الأغذية الصحية وبعض متاجر البقالة.

التغييرات الأخرى في نظامك الغذائي

يتطلب الحصول على الفائدة الكاملة من هذه الأطعمة إجراء تغييرات أخرى في نظامك الغذائي ونمط حياتك. من التغييرات الأكثر فائدة احد من الدهون المشبعة والمتحولة في طعامك.

الدهون المشبعة — مثل الموجودة في اللحم والزبد والجبن ومنتجات الألبان الأخرى كاملة الدسم — ترفع إجمالي الكولسترول لديك. خفض استهلاكك من الدهون المشبعة إلى أقل من 7 في المائة من إجمالي ما تتناوله يوميًا من السعرات يمكن أن يقلل من البروتين الدهني منخفض الكثافة لديك بمقدار 8 إلى 10 في المائة.

يتم إدراج الدهون المتحولة أحيانًا ضمن الملصقات على الطعام باعتبارها "زيت خضروات مهدرج جزئيًا" وتُستخدم غالبًا في السمن الصناعي واالمخبوزات والمقرمشات والكعك المتاح للشراء في المتاجر. الدهون المتحولة ترفع من مستويات الكولسترول الكلية. لقد حظرت هيئة الأغذية والأدوية استخدام زيوت الخضروات المهدرجة جزئيًا في يوم 1 يناير 2021.

27/09/2018 انظر المزيد من التفاصيل الشاملة

اطلع كذلك على

  1. After a flood, are food and medicines safe to use?
  2. Arcus senilis: A sign of high cholesterol?
  3. Birth control pill FAQ
  4. Cholesterol concerns? Get moving
  5. Cholesterol concerns? Lose excess pounds
  6. Cholesterol level: Can it be too low?
  7. Cholesterol medications: Consider the options
  8. Cholesterol ratio or non-HDL cholesterol: Which is most important?
  9. Cholesterol test kits: Are they accurate?
  10. Cholesterol-lowering supplements may be helpful
  11. Coconut oil: Can it cure hypothyroidism?
  12. Congenital adrenal hyperplasia
  13. Prickly pear cactus
  14. Eggs and cholesterol
  15. Eggs: Bad for cholesterol?
  16. Fasting diet: Can it improve my heart health?
  17. Five foods to lower your cholesterol
  18. Flaxseed best when ground
  19. Hashimoto's disease
  20. HDL cholesterol: How to boost your 'good' cholesterol
  21. Herbal supplements and heart drugs
  22. High cholesterol
  23. High cholesterol in children
  24. High cholesterol treatment: Does cinnamon lower cholesterol?
  25. Hypothyroidism: Can calcium supplements interfere with treatment?
  26. Hypothyroidism diet
  27. Hypothyroidism and joint pain?
  28. Hypothyroidism: Should I take iodine supplements?
  29. Hypothyroidism symptoms: Can hypothyroidism cause eye problems?
  30. Hypothyroidism (underactive thyroid)
  31. Is your diet hurting your heart?
  32. Lowering Triglycerides
  33. Mediterranean diet recipes
  34. Menus for heart-healthy eating
  35. Metabolic syndrome
  36. MUFAs
  37. Niacin overdose: What are the symptoms?
  38. Niacin to improve cholesterol numbers
  39. Nuts and your heart: Eating nuts for heart health
  40. Pomegranate juice: Can it lower cholesterol?
  41. Is there a risk of rhabdomyolysis from statins?
  42. Soy: Does it reduce cholesterol?
  43. Soy: Does it worsen hypothyroidism?
  44. Statin side effects
  45. Statins
  46. Statins: Do they cause ALS?
  47. Statins: Should you be on one?
  48. Lifestyle changes to improve cholesterol
  49. Trans fat: A double whammy
  50. Trans fat
  51. Trans fat substitutes: Not a slam dunk
  52. Triglycerides: Why do they matter?
  53. VLDL cholesterol: Is it harmful?
  54. Wilson's syndrome: An accepted medical diagnosis?

Cholesterol: Top foods to improve your numbers

Diet can play an important role in lowering your cholesterol. Here are some foods to improve your cholesterol and protect your heart.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Can a bowl of oatmeal help lower your cholesterol? How about a handful of almonds? A few simple tweaks to your diet — along with exercise and other heart-healthy habits — might help you lower your cholesterol.

Oatmeal, oat bran and high-fiber foods

Oatmeal has soluble fiber, which reduces your low-density lipoprotein (LDL) cholesterol, the "bad" cholesterol. Soluble fiber is also found in such foods as kidney beans, Brussels sprouts, apples and pears.

Soluble fiber can reduce the absorption of cholesterol into your bloodstream. Five to 10 grams or more of soluble fiber a day decreases your LDL cholesterol.

One serving of a breakfast cereal with oatmeal or oat bran provides 3 to 4 grams of fiber. If you add fruit, such as a banana or berries, you'll get even more fiber.

Fish and omega-3 fatty acids

Fatty fish has high levels of omega-3 fatty acids, which can reduce your triglycerides — a type of fat found in blood. These acids also may help lower your blood pressure and risk of developing blood clots. In people who have already had heart attacks, omega-3 fatty acids may reduce the risk of sudden death.

Omega-3 fatty acids don't affect LDL cholesterol levels but may help lower triglycerides and increase HDL, the good cholesterol. But because of those acids' other heart benefits, the American Heart Association recommends eating at least two servings of fish a week. Baking or grilling the fish avoids adding unhealthy fats.

The highest levels of omega-3 fatty acids are in:

  • Mackerel.
  • Herring.
  • Tuna.
  • Salmon.
  • Trout.

Foods such as walnuts, flaxseed and canola oil also have small amounts of omega-3 fatty acids.

Omega-3 and fish oil supplements are available. Talk to your doctor before taking any supplements.

Almonds and other nuts

Almonds and other tree nuts can improve blood cholesterol. Studies have shown that walnuts, which have omega-3 fats, may help protect the heart and lower the risk of heart attack for people who already have heart disease. All nuts are high in calories, so a handful added to a salad or eaten as a snack will do.

Avocados

Avocados are a good source of nutrients as well as monounsaturated fatty acids (MUFAs). Research suggests that the fiber from avocados can improve HDL cholesterol levels and the quality of LDL cholesterol. Adding two servings of avocado per week to a heart-healthy diet can lower your risk of heart disease.

People tend to think of avocados in guacamole, which often is eaten with high-fat corn chips. Try adding avocado slices to salads and sandwiches or eating them as a side dish. Also try guacamole with raw cut vegetables, such as cucumber slices.

Replacing saturated fats, such as those found in meats, with MUFAs are part of what makes the Mediterranean diet heart healthy.

Olive oil

Try using olive oil in place of other fats in your diet. You can saute vegetables in olive oil, add it to a marinade or mix it with vinegar as a salad dressing. You can also use olive oil as a substitute for butter when basting meat or as a dip for bread. Extra virgin olive oil also reduces the risk of heart attacks.

Foods with added plant sterols or stanols

Sterols and stanols are substances found in plants that help block the absorption of cholesterol. Foods that have been fortified with sterols or stanols are available.

Margarines and orange juice with added plant sterols can help lower LDL cholesterol. Adding 2 grams of sterol to your diet every day can lower your LDL cholesterol by 5% to 15%.

It's not clear whether food with plant sterols or stanols lowers your risk of heart attack or stroke — although experts assume that foods that lower cholesterol do cut the risk. Plant sterols or stanols don't appear to affect levels of triglycerides or of high-density lipoprotein (HDL) cholesterol, the "good" cholesterol.

Whey protein

Whey protein, which is found in dairy products, may account for many of the health benefits attributed to dairy. Studies have shown that whey protein given as a supplement lowers both LDL and total cholesterol as well as blood pressure. You can find whey protein powders in health food stores and some grocery stores.

Other changes to your diet

Getting the full benefit of these foods requires other changes to your diet and lifestyle. One of the most helpful changes is limiting the saturated and trans fats you eat.

Saturated fats — such as those in meat, butter, cheese and other full-fat dairy products — raise your total cholesterol. Decreasing your consumption of saturated fats to less than 7% of your total daily calorie intake can reduce your LDL cholesterol by 8% to 10%.

Trans fats, sometimes listed on food labels as "partially hydrogenated vegetable oil," are often used in margarines and store-bought cookies, crackers and cakes. Trans fats raise overall cholesterol levels. The Food and Drug Administration banned the use of partially hydrogenated vegetable oils in processed foods sold after January 1, 2020.

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips, current health topics, and expertise on managing health. Click here for an email preview.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

June 14, 2023 See more In-depth