عمري 60 عامًا، وقد لاحظت أن شعري بدأ يصبح خفيفًا. ما الذي يمكنني عمله لاستعادة كثافة الشعر التي اعتدتها؟

إجابة من لورنس إي غيبسون، (دكتور في الطب)

يُعد تساقط الشعر المرتبط بالعمر شائعًا لدى النساء. تتعرض نسبة 55 في المائة من النساء تقريبًا لبعض تساقط الشعر ببلوغ عمر 70 سنة. والسبب الأكثر شيوعًا هو الصلع ذو النمط الأنثوي، وهي حالة وراثية. وهي تتسم بالترقق التدريجي لشعر فروة الرأس، وهو ما قد يكون ملحوظًا في شكل اتساع الجزء الخالي من الشعر أو ذيل حصان أقل كثافة من المعتاد.

العلاج برغوة مينوكسيديل المتاحة دون وصفة طبية (5 في المائة) قد يمنع المزيد من تساقط الشعر ويؤدي إلى تحسين كثافة الشعر. ضعي المنتج قبل النوم على الشعر المبتل واغسليه عندما تستيقظين. ثم صففي شعرك كالمعتاد. ستحتاجين إلى الالتزام بفترة تجربة تتراوح بين ستة أشهر و12 شهرًا لأن البدء في رؤية أي تأثير لهذا المنتج يستغرق منكِ ثلاثة أشهر، وبضعة أشهر أخرى لتحديد ما إذا كان هذا المنتج يساعدكِ فعلاً. إذا كان يساعدكِ، فستحتاجين إلى مواصلة استخدامه للحفاظ على كثافة شعرك. لا يغطي التأمين تكلفة المنتج في العادة.

تحدثي مع طبيبك إذا استمر تساقط الشعر، لأنه قد يكون دليلاً على حالة طبية أخرى مثل الثعلبة البقعية.

قد تحتاجين إلى تجربة عدة أساليب للعناية بالشعر للتوصل إلى الأسلوب الذي يجعلكِ تشعرين بالرضا عن مظهر شعركِ. استخدمي مثلاً منتجات تصفيف الشعر التي تزيد من حجم الشعر واصبغي شعركِ واختاري نمط تصفيف يجعل الجزء المتزايد الخالي من الشعر أقل ظهورًا أو استخدمي شعرًا صناعيًا أو خصلات تطويل. تعاملي مع شعرك دائمًا برفق.

11/06/2019 See more Expert Answers

I'm 60 years old, and I've noticed my hair starting to thin. What can I do to regain the fullness I used to have?

Answer From Lawrence E. Gibson, M.D.

Age-related hair loss is common in women. About 55 percent of women experience some hair loss by the age of 70. The most common cause is female-pattern baldness, an inherited condition. It's characterized by gradual thinning of your hair, which may be noticeable as a widening part or a ponytail that's less hefty than it used to be.

Treatment with over-the-counter minoxidil foam (5 percent) may prevent further hair loss and result in improved hair density. Apply the product at bedtime to wet hair and wash it out when you wake. Then style your hair as usual. You'll need to commit to a six- to 12-month trial period because it takes three months to begin seeing any effect, and a few more months to determine whether it's really working for you. If it is helping, you'll need to continue using the medicine to keep your fuller hair. Insurance usually doesn't cover the cost of the product.

Talk with your doctor if the hair loss continues, as it may be an indication of another condition, such as alopecia areata.

You might want to try various hair care methods to find one that makes you feel better about how your hair looks. For example, use styling products that add volume, color your hair, choose a hairstyle that makes a widening part less noticeable, or use wigs or extensions. Always handle your hair gently.

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free, and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips and current health topics, like COVID-19, plus expertise on managing health.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Nov. 03, 2021 See more Expert Answers