نظرة عامة

تعيش البكتيريا الإشريكية القولونية (E. coli) بصورة طبيعية في أمعاء الأصحاء من الأشخاص والحيوانات. غالبية أنواع الإشريكية القولونية غير مؤذية أو تسبب إسهالاً وجيزًا نسبيًا. ولكن توجد بضع سلالات خطيرة، مثل السلالة (O157:H7) من الإشريكية القولونية، يمكن أن تسبب تقلصات شديدة في البطن، وإسهالاً دمويًا وقيئًا.

قد تتعرض للإشريكية القولونية من الماء أو الطعام الملوث — وخاصةً الخضروات النيئة واللحم المفروم غير كامل الطهي. عادةً ما يتعافى البالغون الأصحاء من العدوى بالفصيلة (O157:H7) من الإشريكية القولونية خلال أسبوع، ولكن الأطفال وكبار السن أكثر عُرضة لخطر الإصابة بشكل مهدد للحياة من الفشل الكلوي يسمى متلازمة انحلال الدم اليوريمية.

الأعراض

عادة ما تبدأ علامات وأعراض عدوى الإشريكية القولونية من السلالة (O157:H7) بعد مرور ثلاثة أو أربعة أيام بعد التعرض للبكتيريا، وإن كان من الممكن أن تصاب بالمرض في غضون يوم واحد من التعرض لها، أو حتى بعد مرور أكثر من أسبوع على التعرض. تتضمن العلامات والأعراض ما يلي:

  • إسهالاً، قد يتراوح بين معتدل مائي وشديد دموي
  • تشنجات البطن، أو الشعور بالألم أو الوجع
  • الغثيان والقيء لدى البعض

متى تزور الطبيب

اتصل بطبيبك إذا كان الإسهال مستمرًا، أو شديدًا أو دمويًا.

الأسباب

هناك سلالات قليلة من الإشريكية القولونية هي التي تسبب الإسهال. سلالة واحدة من الإشريكية القولونية E. coli — والتي تشمل سلالة (O157:H7) — تفرز سمًّا قويًّا يُدمر بطانة الأمعاء الدقيقة، وهو ما قد يتسبب في الإصابة بالإسهال الدموي. وستُصاب بعدوى الإشريكية القولونية عند ابتلاعك هذه السلالة من البكتيريا.

ويمكن للإشريكية القولونية، بعكس العديد من أنواع البكتيريا الأخرى المُمرِضة، التسبب في الإصابة بالعدوى حتى إن ابتلعت كميات صغيرة منها. ومن ثم، قد تُصاب بمرض ناجم عن الإشريكية القولونية نتيجة لتناوُل هامبرغر ناقص السواء بدرجة بسيطة أو من جرّاء ابتلاع كمية صغيرة من ماء حمام سباحة ملوث.

تتضمن المصادر المحتملة للتعرض للإصابة بهذه البكتيريا الأطعمة أو المياه الملوثة والاتصال الشخصي المباشر.

الأطعمة الملوثة

الطريقة الأكثر شيوعًا للإصابة بعدوى الإشريكية القولونية هي تناوُل الأطعمة الملوثة، مثل الأطعمة الآتية:

  • اللحم البقري المفروم. عند ذبح الماشية ومعالجتها، يمكن للإشريكية القولونية الموجودة في الأمعاء الدقيقة لدى الماشية أن تنتقل إلى لحومها. ويجمع اللحم المفروم بين لحوم العديد من الحيوانات، مما يعزز احتمالية تلوثه.
  • الحليب غير المبستر. يمكن لبكتيريا الإشريكية القولونية الموجودة على ضروع الأبقار أو على معدات الحلب أن تلوث الحليب غير الخام.
  • المنتجات الزراعية (الخضار والثمار) الطازجة. حيث يمكن لجريان الماء من مزارع الماشية أن يلوث الحقول التي تُستنبت فيها المنتجات الزراعية الطازجة. وبعض أنواع الخضراوات أكثر عرضة بشكل خاص للإصابة بهذا النوع من التلوث، مثل السبانخ والخس.

المياه الملوثة

قد يلوث البراز البشري والحيواني المياه الجوفية والمياه السطحية، بما في ذلك مياه الجداول أو الأنهار أو البحيرات أو المياه المستخدمة في ري المحاصيل. وعلى الرغم من أن شبكات المياه العامة تستخدم الكلور أو الأشعة فوق البنفسجية أو الأوزون لقتل الإشريكية القولونية، فإن بعض حالات تفشي هذه البكتيريا قد جرى ربطها بإمدادات مياه ملوثة من هيئات بلدية.

وتُعد الآبار الخاصة مثار قلق أكبر لأنها لا تشتمل عادة على أي نظام تطهير. وتُعد إمدادات المياه في المناطق الريفية الأكثر عرضة لأن تكون ملوثة. وقد أُصيب بعض الأشخاص كذلك بالعدوى بعد سباحتهم في حمامات السباحة أو البحيرات الملوثة بالبراز.

الاتصال الشخصي

يمكن للإشريكية القولونية الانتقال بسهولة من شخص إلى آخر، لا سيما عندما لا يغسل البالغون والأطفال المصابون بالعدوى أيديهم بشكل صحيح. ويكون أفراد الأسر التي تضم أطفالًا صغارًا مصابين بعدوى الإشريكية القولونية معرضين بشكل خاص للإصابة بهذه العدوى. فقد حدثت حالات تفشي كذلك بين الأطفال الذين يزورون حدائق الحيوانات الأليفة وحظائر الحيوانات في معارض المقاطعات.

عوامل الخطر

قد تؤثر الإشريكية القولونية على أي شخص معرض للبكتيريا. ولكن بعض الأشخاص تزيد احتمالية إصابتهم بالمشاكل عن غيرهم. وتتضمن عوامل الخطر ما يلي:

  • العمر. إن الأطفال الصغار والبالغين هم الأكثر عرضةً لخطر الإصابة بالمرض المسبب من الإشريكية القولونية وبمضاعفات أكثر خطورة من العدوى.
  • ضعف أجهزة المناعة. الأشخاص الذين لديهم جهاز مناعي ضعيف — جراء مرض فيروس المناعة المكتسبة (الإيدز) أو الأدوية التي تعالج السرطان أو منع رفض الجسم للأعضاء المزروعة — تزيد احتمالية إصابتهم بالمرض بعد دخول الإشريكية القولونية إلى جسمهم.
  • تناول أنواعًا معينة من الطعام. وتتضمن الأطعمة الأكثر خطرًا الهمبورغر غير المطهو، والحليب غير المبستر، وعصير التفاح أو نبيذ التفاح، والجبن الطري المصنوع من الحليب الخام.
  • فترة من السنة. معظم عدوى الإشريكية القولونية في الولايات المتحدة تقع في الفترة من يونيو إلى سبتمبر، والسبب غير واضح.
  • انخفاض مستويات حموضة المعدة. توفر حموضة المعدة بعض الحماية من الإشريكية القولونية. وإذا كنت تتناول أدوية تقلل من مستويات حموضة المعدة، مثل إيزوميبرازول (نيكسيوم) أو بانتوبرازول (بروتونيكس) أو لانزوبرازول (بريفاسيد) أو أوميبرازول (بريلوزيك)، فقد تزيد من خطر إصابتك بعدوى الإشريكية القولونية.

المضاعفات

يتعافى معظم الأشخاص الأصحاء من التوعك الناتج عن عدوى الإشريكية القولونية خلال أسبوع واحد لكن قد تظهر لدى بعض الأشخاص — لا سيما الأطفال الصغار وكبار السن — صورة مهددة للحياة من صور الفشل الكلوي تسمى متلازمة انحلال الدم اليوريمية.

الوقاية

لا يوجد لقاح أو دواء يمكنه الوقاية من عدوى الإشريكية القولونية، على الرغم من ذلك هناك بعض الباحثون يعملون على إنتاج لقاحات محتملة للعلاج منها. للتقليل من احتمالية التعرض للإشريكية القولونية، تجنب الأطعمة الخطرة وانتبه لإصابتك بالتلوث العرضي.

الأطعمة الخطرة

  • احرص على طهي الهامبرجر حتى درجة 160 فهرنهايت. يجب طهي الهامبرجر جيدًا دون ترك أي أجزاء وردية في أي جزء من قطع اللحم. على الرغم من ذلك، لا يُعد اللون مؤشرًا موثوقًا للتأكد مما إذا كانت اللحوم قد تم طهيها جيدًا أم لا. اللحوم — خاصة إذا كانت مشوية — يمكن أن تكون بنية قبل طهيها تمامًا.

    لذلك فمن المهم استخدام مقياس حرارة اللحوم للتأكد من وصول درجة حرارة اللحوم إلى 160 درجة فهرنهايت (71 درجة مئوية) عند أكبر أجزائها سمكًا.

  • اشرب اللبن المبستر أو العصير أو عصير التفاح. أي عصير يتم حفظه في عبوة ورقية أو زجاجية عند درجة حرارة الغرفة هو مبستر على الأرجح، حتى إذا لم يكن ذلك مذكورًا على الملصق.
  • اغسل المنتجات النيئة جيدًا. لن يتخلص غسل المنتج بالضرورة من الإشريكية القولونية — خصوصًا في الخضروات الورقية حيث يوجد بها العديد من الأماكن التي يمكن أن تلتصق بها البكتيريا. يمكن للغسيل الجيد أن يزيل الأتربة ويقلل من كمية البكتيريا التي قد تكون ملتصقة بالمنتج.

تجنب التلوث العرضي

  • اغسل الأواني. استخدم الماء الساخن مع الصابون لغسل السكاكين وأسطح وألواح التقطيع قبل وبعد استخدامها في تقطيع المنتجات الطازجة أو اللحوم النيئة.
  • احتفظ بالأطعمة النيئة منفصلة. يشمل ذلك استخدام ألواح تقطيع منفصلة للحوم النيئة والأطعمة مثل الخضروات والفواكه. لا تضع أبدًا الهامبرجر المطهو على نفس الطبق الذي تم استخدامه لوضع القطع النيئة.
  • غسل اليدين. اغسل يديك بعد تحضير الطعام أو تناوله أو بعد دخول الحمام أو تغيير الحفاضات. تأكد من قيام الأطفال كذلك بغسل أيديهم قبل الأكل وبعد دخول الحمام وبعد ملامسة الحيوانات.

الإشريكية القولونية - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

09/07/2019
  1. E. coli (Escherichia coli). Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/ecoli/general/index.html. Accessed June 10, 2014.
  2. Longo DL, et al. Harrison's Online. 18th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2012. http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=4. Accessed June 10, 2014.
  3. Calderwood SB. Microbiology, pathogenesis, epidemiology and prevention of enterohemorrhagic Escherichia coli (EHEC). http://www.uptodate.com/home/. Accessed June 10, 2014.
  4. Ryan KJ, et al., eds. Sherris Medical Microbiology. 5th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2010. http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/content.aspx?bookid=375&Sectionid=40299161. Accessed June 10, 2014.
  5. Basic information about E. coli O157:H7 in drinking water. Environmental Protection Agency. http://water.epa.gov/drink/contaminants/basicinformation/ecoli.cfm. Accessed June10, 2014.
  6. Bain R, et al. Global assessment of exposure to faecal contamination through drinking water based on a systematic review. Tropical Medicine and International Health. In press. Accessed June 10, 2014.
  7. Calderwood SB. Clinical manifestations, diagnosis and treatment of enterohemorrhagic Escherichia coli (EHEC). http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed June 10, 2014.
  8. What I need to know about diarrhea. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. http://digestive.niddk.nih.gov/ddiseases/pubs/diarrhea_ez/index.aspx. Accessed June 10, 2014.

Overview

Escherichia coli (E. coli) bacteria normally live in the intestines of healthy people and animals. Most varieties of E. coli are harmless or cause relatively brief diarrhea. But a few particularly nasty strains, such as E. coli O157:H7, can cause severe abdominal cramps, bloody diarrhea and vomiting.

You may be exposed to E. coli from contaminated water or food — especially raw vegetables and undercooked ground beef. Healthy adults usually recover from infection with E. coli O157:H7 within a week, but young children and older adults have a greater risk of developing a life-threatening form of kidney failure called hemolytic uremic syndrome.

Symptoms

Signs and symptoms of E. coli O157:H7 infection typically begin three or four days after exposure to the bacteria, though you may become ill as soon as one day after to more than a week later. Signs and symptoms include:

  • Diarrhea, which may range from mild and watery to severe and bloody
  • Abdominal cramping, pain or tenderness
  • Nausea and vomiting, in some people

When to see a doctor

Contact your doctor if your diarrhea is persistent, severe or bloody.

Causes

Among the many strains of E. coli, only a few trigger diarrhea. One group of E. coli — which includes O157:H7 — produces a powerful toxin that damages the lining of the small intestine, which can cause bloody diarrhea. You develop an E. coli infection when you ingest this strain of bacteria.

Unlike many other disease-causing bacteria, E. coli can cause an infection even if you ingest only small amounts. Because of this, you can be sickened by E. coli from eating a slightly undercooked hamburger or from swallowing a mouthful of contaminated pool water.

Potential sources of exposure include contaminated food or water and person-to-person contact.

Contaminated food

The most common way to acquire an E. coli infection is by eating contaminated food, such as:

  • Ground beef. When cattle are slaughtered and processed, E. coli bacteria in their intestines can get on the meat. Ground beef combines meat from many different animals, increasing the risk of contamination.
  • Unpasteurized milk. E. coli bacteria on a cow's udder or on milking equipment can get into raw milk.
  • Fresh produce. Runoff from cattle farms can contaminate fields where fresh produce is grown. Certain vegetables, such as spinach and lettuce, are particularly vulnerable to this type of contamination.

Contaminated water

Human and animal feces may pollute ground and surface water, including streams, rivers, lakes and water used to irrigate crops. Although public water systems use chlorine, ultraviolet light or ozone to kill E. coli, some outbreaks have been linked to contaminated municipal water supplies.

Private wells are a greater cause for concern because they don't often have any disinfecting system. Rural water supplies are the most likely to be contaminated. Some people also have been infected after swimming in pools or lakes contaminated with feces.

Personal contact

E. coli bacteria can easily travel from person to person, especially when infected adults and children don't wash their hands properly. Family members of young children with E. coli infection are especially likely to acquire it themselves. Outbreaks have also occurred among children visiting petting zoos and in animal barns at county fairs.

Risk factors

E. coli can affect anyone who is exposed to the bacteria. But some people are more likely to develop problems than are others. Risk factors include:

  • Age. Young children and older adults are at higher risk of experiencing illness caused by E. coli and more-serious complications from the infection.
  • Weakened immune systems. People who have weakened immune systems — from AIDS or drugs to treat cancer or prevent the rejection of organ transplants — are more likely to become ill from ingesting E. coli.
  • Eating certain types of food. Riskier foods include undercooked hamburger; unpasteurized milk, apple juice or cider; and soft cheeses made from raw milk.
  • Time of year. Though it's not clear why, the majority of E. coli infections in the U.S. occur from June through September.
  • Decreased stomach acid levels. Stomach acid offers some protection against E. coli. If you take medications to reduce your levels of stomach acid, such as esomeprazole (Nexium), pantoprazole (Protonix), lansoprazole (Prevacid) and omeprazole (Prilosec), you may increase your risk of an E. coli infection.

Complications

Most healthy adults recover from E. coli illness within a week. Some people — particularly young children and older adults — may develop a life-threatening form of kidney failure called hemolytic uremic syndrome.

Prevention

No vaccine or medication can protect you from E. coli-based illness, though researchers are investigating potential vaccines. To reduce your chance of being exposed to E. coli, avoid risky foods and watch out for cross-contamination.

Risky foods

  • Cook hamburgers until they're 160 F. Hamburgers should be well-done, with no pink showing anywhere in the meat. But color isn't a reliable indicator of whether or not meat is done cooking. Meat — especially if grilled — can brown before it's completely cooked.

    That's why it's important to use a meat thermometer to ensure that meat is heated to at least 160 F (71 C) at its thickest point.

  • Drink pasteurized milk, juice and cider. Any boxed or bottled juice kept at room temperature is likely to be pasteurized, even if the label doesn't say so.
  • Wash raw produce thoroughly. Washing produce won't necessarily get rid of all E. coli — especially in leafy greens, which provide many spots for the bacteria to attach themselves to. Careful rinsing can remove dirt and reduce the amount of bacteria that may be clinging to the produce.

Avoid cross-contamination

  • Wash utensils. Use hot soapy water on knives, countertops and cutting boards before and after they come into contact with fresh produce or raw meat.
  • Keep raw foods separate. This includes using separate cutting boards for raw meat and foods, such as vegetables and fruits. Never put cooked hamburgers on the same plate you used for raw patties.
  • Wash your hands. Wash your hands after preparing or eating food, using the toilet, or changing diapers. Make sure that children also wash their hands before eating, after using the bathroom and after contact with animals.

E. coli care at Mayo Clinic

Aug. 01, 2014
References
  1. E. coli (Escherichia coli). Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/ecoli/general/index.html. Accessed June 10, 2014.
  2. Longo DL, et al. Harrison's Online. 18th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2012. http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=4. Accessed June 10, 2014.
  3. Calderwood SB. Microbiology, pathogenesis, epidemiology and prevention of enterohemorrhagic Escherichia coli (EHEC). http://www.uptodate.com/home/. Accessed June 10, 2014.
  4. Ryan KJ, et al., eds. Sherris Medical Microbiology. 5th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2010. http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/content.aspx?bookid=375&Sectionid=40299161. Accessed June 10, 2014.
  5. Basic information about E. coli O157:H7 in drinking water. Environmental Protection Agency. http://water.epa.gov/drink/contaminants/basicinformation/ecoli.cfm. Accessed June10, 2014.
  6. Bain R, et al. Global assessment of exposure to faecal contamination through drinking water based on a systematic review. Tropical Medicine and International Health. In press. Accessed June 10, 2014.
  7. Calderwood SB. Clinical manifestations, diagnosis and treatment of enterohemorrhagic Escherichia coli (EHEC). http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed June 10, 2014.
  8. What I need to know about diarrhea. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. http://digestive.niddk.nih.gov/ddiseases/pubs/diarrhea_ez/index.aspx. Accessed June 10, 2014.