概述

当糖尿病患者的血液中没有足够的糖(葡萄糖)时,就会发生糖尿病低血糖症。葡萄糖是身体和大脑的主要燃料来源,所以您体内没有足够的葡萄糖,就不能正常工作。

低血糖(低血糖症)是指血糖水平低于 70 毫克每分升(mg/dL)或 3.9 毫克每升(mmol/L)。

注意低血糖症的早期征兆,及时治疗低血糖。您可以通过食用简单的糖源(如葡萄糖片或果汁)迅速提高血糖。告诉家人和朋友要关注哪些症状,如果您不能自己治疗病症,该怎么办。

产品与服务

症状

早期体征和症状

糖尿病低血糖症的初始症状和体征包括:

  • 发抖
  • 头晕
  • 出汗
  • 饥饿
  • 心跳加速
  • 无法集中注意力
  • 意识混乱
  • 易怒或喜怒无常
  • 焦虑或紧张
  • 头痛

夜间的体征和症状

如果您在睡眠时发生糖尿病低血糖症,一些体征和症状可能会将您唤醒,包括:

  • 因出汗而弄湿床单或睡衣
  • 梦魇
  • 醒来时疲劳、烦躁易怒或意识混乱

严重的体征和症状

如果不治疗糖尿病低血糖症,可能出现严重低血糖的体征和症状。其中包括:

  • 动作笨拙或抽搐
  • 无法进食或饮水
  • 肌无力
  • 说话困难或言语不清
  • 视物模糊或复视
  • 嗜睡
  • 意识混乱
  • 惊厥或癫痫发作
  • 失去意识
  • 死亡(较罕见)

症状可能因人而异,或因发作性症状而异。有些人没有任何明显的症状。您也可能没有任何低血糖症状,因此定期监测血糖水平并记录血糖水平较低时的感觉非常重要。

何时就诊

重度低血糖症可能导致严重疾病(包括癫痫发作或失去意识),需要急救护理。确保您的家人、朋友和同事知道如何应对该紧急状况。

如果您身边的人因低血糖失去意识或无法吞咽:

  • 请勿注射胰岛素,因为这会使血糖水平降得更低
  • 请勿给予液体或食物,因为这些可能引起呛噎
  • 通过注射或者滴鼻给予胰高血糖素,胰高血糖素是一种刺激糖类释放到血液中的激素
  • 如果手上没有胰高血糖素,拨打 911 电话或您区域的急诊服务电话,寻求立即救治

如果您在一周或多周几次出现低血糖症的症状,请及时就医。您可能需要改变您的用药剂量或时间,或者在其他方面调整您的糖尿病治疗方案。

病因

低血糖最常见于使用胰岛素的患者,但也可见于口服某些类型抗糖尿病药的患者。

糖尿病低血糖症的常见原因包括:

  • 过量使用胰岛素或抗糖尿病药
  • 进食量不够
  • 推迟或者漏掉一餐或零食
  • 加强锻炼或者身体活动的同时,没有增加进食量或者调整药物的剂量
  • 饮酒

血糖调节

当血糖过高时,胰岛素会使血糖水平降低。如果您患有 1 型或 2 型糖尿病且需要胰岛素来控制血糖,摄入过量胰岛素会导致您的血糖水平降得过低,导致低血糖症。

如果在服用糖尿病药物后,您吃得比平时少(人体的大部分葡萄糖来自食物),或者如果您比平时的运动更多(消耗更多葡萄糖),血糖也会下降得太低。维持胰岛素、食物和活动之间的平衡并非易事,但您的医生或糖尿病教育者可以与您一起努力预防低血糖。

风险因素

有些人群患糖尿病低血糖症的风险更大,包括:

  • 使用胰岛素的人群
  • 服用某些口服糖尿病药物(磺脲类药物)的人群
  • 幼童和老年人
  • 肝肾功能不全者
  • 长期患有糖尿病的人群
  • 不会感知到低血糖症状的人群(无症状低血糖症)
  • 服用多种药物的人群
  • 任何因残障无法快速应对血糖水平下降的人
  • 饮酒人群

并发症

如果您长时间忽视低血糖症状,则可能失去意识。这是因为您的大脑需要葡萄糖来正常发挥功能。要尽早识别低血糖症的体征和症状,因为如果不加治疗,低血糖症将可能导致:

  • 癫痫发作
  • 意识丧失
  • 死亡

严肃对待早期症状。糖尿病低血糖症会增加发生严重意外甚至致命的风险。

预防

为了帮助预防糖尿病低血糖症:

  • 监测血糖。根据您的治疗计划,您可以每周数次或每天多次检查并记录您的血糖水平。仔细监测是确保血糖水平保持在目标范围内的唯一方法。
  • 避免跳过或延迟进餐和零食。如果您服用胰岛素或口服糖尿病药物,那么您的进餐和吃零食的量和时间要保持一致。
  • 认真计算用药,并按时服用。按照医生的建议服用药物。
  • 如果您增加身体活动,请调整用药或多吃零食。该调整取决于血糖检测结果、活动的类型和持续时间以及您使用的药物。
  • 如果您选择饮酒,则在饮酒的同时进餐或吃零食。空腹饮酒可引起低血糖症。酒精也可能在数小时后引起迟发性低血糖症,这使得血糖监测更加重要。
  • 记录您的低血糖反应。这可以帮助您和您的医疗保健团队识别导致低血糖症的模式,并找到预防它们的方法。
  • 携带某种形式的糖尿病标识,以便在紧急情况下,让别人知道您患有糖尿病。使用医疗标识项链或手环和钱包卡。
Jan. 13, 2022
  1. American Diabetes Association. Standards of medical care in diabetes — 2020. Diabetes Care. 2020; doi:10.2337/dc20-SINT.
  2. Low blood glucose (hypoglycemia). National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/diabetes/overview/preventing-problems/low-blood-glucose-hypoglycemia. Accessed Feb. 10, 2020.
  3. Melmed S, et al. Hypoglycemia. In: Williams Textbook of Endocrinology. 14th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Feb. 17, 2020.
  4. Hypoglycemia (low blood sugar). American Diabetes Association. https://www.diabetes.org/diabetes/medication-management/blood-glucose-testing-and-control/hypoglycemia. Accessed Feb. 10, 2020.
  5. Mahoney GK, et al. Severe hypoglycemia attributable to intensive glucose-lowering therapy among US adults with diabetes: Population-based modeling study, 2011-2014. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. 2019; doi:10.1016/j.mayocp.2019.02.028.
  6. Cryer PE, et al. Hypoglycemia in adults with diabetes mellitus. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 16, 2020.
  7. Castro MR (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. March 5, 2020.

相关

产品与服务

糖尿病低血糖症

Overview

Diabetic hypoglycemia occurs when someone with diabetes doesn't have enough sugar (glucose) in his or her blood. Glucose is the main source of fuel for the body and brain, so you can't function well if you don't have enough.

For many people, low blood sugar (hypoglycemia) is a blood sugar level below 70 milligrams per deciliter (mg/dL), or 3.9 millimoles per liter (mmol/L). But your numbers might be different. Ask your health care provider about the appropriate range to keep your blood sugar (target range).

Pay attention to the early warning signs of hypoglycemia and treat low blood sugar promptly. You can raise your blood sugar quickly by eating or drinking a simple sugar source, such as glucose tablets, hard candy or fruit juice. Tell family and friends what symptoms to look for and what to do if you're not able to treat the condition yourself.

Products & Services

Symptoms

Early warning signs and symptoms

Initial signs and symptoms of diabetic hypoglycemia include:

  • Looking pale (pallor)
  • Shakiness
  • Dizziness or lightheadedness
  • Sweating
  • Hunger or nausea
  • An irregular or fast heartbeat
  • Difficulty concentrating
  • Feeling weak and having no energy (fatigue)
  • Irritability or anxiety
  • Headache
  • Tingling or numbness of the lips, tongue or cheek

Nighttime signs and symptoms

If diabetic hypoglycemia occurs when you're sleeping, signs and symptoms that may disturb your sleep include:

  • Damp sheets or nightclothes due to perspiration
  • Nightmares
  • Tiredness, irritability or confusion upon waking

Severe signs and symptoms

If diabetic hypoglycemia isn't treated, signs and symptoms of hypoglycemia worsen and can include:

  • Confusion, unusual behavior or both, such as the inability to complete routine tasks
  • Loss of coordination
  • Difficulty speaking or slurred speech
  • Blurry or tunnel vision
  • Inability to eat or drink
  • Muscle weakness
  • Drowsiness

Severe hypoglycemia may cause:

  • Convulsions or seizures
  • Unconsciousness
  • Death, rarely

Symptoms can differ from person to person or from episode to episode. Some people don't have any noticeable symptoms. It's also possible you won't have any symptoms of hypoglycemia. It's important to monitor your blood sugar levels regularly and keep track of how you're feeling when your blood sugar is low.

When to see a doctor

Severe hypoglycemia can lead to serious problems, including seizures or unconsciousness, that require emergency care. Make sure your family, friends and co-workers know what to do in an emergency.

Inform people you trust about hypoglycemia. If others know what symptoms to look for, they might be able to alert you to early symptoms. It's important that family members and close friends know where you keep glucagon and how to give it so that a potentially serious situation can be easier to safely manage. Glucagon is a hormone that stimulates the release of sugar into the blood.

Here's some emergency information to give to others. If you're with someone who is not responding (loses consciousness) or can't swallow due to low blood sugar:

  • Don't inject insulin, as this will cause blood sugar levels to drop even further
  • Don't give fluids or food, because these could cause choking
  • Give glucagon by injection or a nasal spray
  • Call 911 or emergency services in your area for immediate treatment if glucagon isn't on hand, you don't know how to use it, or the person isn't responding

If you have symptoms of hypoglycemia several times a week or more, see your health care provider. You may need to change your medication dosage or timing, or otherwise adjust your diabetes treatment regimen.

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free, and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips and current health topics, like COVID-19, plus expertise on managing health.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Causes

Low blood sugar is most common among people who take insulin, but it can also occur if you're taking certain oral diabetes medications.

Common causes of diabetic hypoglycemia include:

  • Taking too much insulin or diabetes medication
  • Not eating enough
  • Postponing or skipping a meal or snack
  • Increasing exercise or physical activity without eating more or adjusting your medications
  • Drinking alcohol

Blood sugar regulation

Most of the body's glucose comes from food. The hormone insulin lowers blood sugar (glucose) levels when blood sugar is too high. If you have type 1 or type 2 diabetes and need insulin to control your blood sugar, taking more insulin than you need can cause your blood sugar level to drop too low and result in hypoglycemia.

Your blood sugar can also drop too low if, after taking your diabetes medication, you eat less than usual, or if you exercise more than you typically do, which uses extra glucose. Maintaining the balance between insulin, food and activity isn't always easy. But your health care provider, certified diabetes care and education specialist, and registered dietitian can work with you to try to prevent low blood sugar levels.

Risk factors

Some people have a greater risk of diabetic hypoglycemia, including:

  • People using insulin
  • People taking diabetes drugs called sulfonylureas, such as glipizide (Glucotrol), glimepiride (Amaryl) or glyburide (Diabeta, Glynase)
  • Young children and older adults
  • Those with impaired liver or kidney function
  • People who've had diabetes for a long time
  • People who don't feel low blood sugar symptoms (hypoglycemia unawareness)
  • Those taking multiple medications
  • Anyone with a disability that prevents a quick response to falling blood sugar levels
  • People who drink alcohol

Complications

If you ignore the symptoms of hypoglycemia too long, you may lose consciousness. That's because your brain needs glucose to function. Recognize the signs and symptoms of hypoglycemia early, because if untreated, hypoglycemia can lead to:

  • Seizures
  • Loss of consciousness
  • Death

Take your early symptoms seriously. Diabetic hypoglycemia can increase the risk of serious — even deadly — accidents.

Prevention

To help prevent diabetic hypoglycemia:

  • Monitor your blood sugar. Depending on your treatment plan, you may check and record your blood sugar level several times a week or multiple times a day. Careful monitoring is the only way to make sure that your blood sugar level remains within your target range.
  • Don't skip or delay meals or snacks. If you take insulin or oral diabetes medication, be consistent about the amount you eat and the timing of your meals and snacks.
  • Measure medication carefully and take it on time. Take your medication as recommended by your health care provider.
  • Adjust your medication or eat additional snacks if you increase your physical activity. The adjustment depends on the blood sugar test results, the type and length of the activity, and what medications you take. Follow your diabetes treatment plan when making adjustments.
  • Eat a meal or snack with alcohol, if you choose to drink. Drinking alcohol on an empty stomach can cause hypoglycemia. Alcohol may also cause delayed hypoglycemia hours later, making blood sugar monitoring even more important.
  • Record your low glucose reactions. This can help you and your health care team identify patterns contributing to hypoglycemia and find ways to prevent them.
  • Carry some form of diabetes identification so that in an emergency others will know that you have diabetes. Use a medical identification necklace or bracelet and wallet card.

May 06, 2022
  1. American Diabetes Association. Standards of medical care in diabetes — 2020. Diabetes Care. 2020; doi:10.2337/dc20-SINT.
  2. Low blood glucose (hypoglycemia). National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/diabetes/overview/preventing-problems/low-blood-glucose-hypoglycemia. Accessed Feb. 10, 2020.
  3. Melmed S, et al. Hypoglycemia. In: Williams Textbook of Endocrinology. 14th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Feb. 17, 2020.
  4. Hypoglycemia (low blood sugar). American Diabetes Association. https://www.diabetes.org/healthy-living/medication-treatments/blood-glucose-testing-and-control/hypoglycemia. Accessed Jan. 19, 2022.
  5. Mahoney GK, et al. Severe hypoglycemia attributable to intensive glucose-lowering therapy among US adults with diabetes: Population-based modeling study, 2011-2014. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. 2019; doi:10.1016/j.mayocp.2019.02.028.
  6. Cryer PE, et al. Hypoglycemia in adults with diabetes mellitus. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 16, 2020.
  7. Castro MR (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Feb. 19, 2022.

Related

Products & Services