نظرة عامة

سرطان الخلايا القاعدية هو نوع من سرطان الجلد. يبدأ سرطان الخلايا القاعدية في الخلايا القاعدية — وهو نوع من الخلايا داخل الجلد التي تنتج خلايا الجلد الجديدة بعد موت الخلايا القديمة.

يظهر سرطان الخلايا القاعدية في كثير من الأحيان في صورة نتوء بسيط شفاف على الجلد، لكنه يمكن أن يتخذ أشكالاً أخرى. يحدث سرطان الخلايا القاعدية في معظم الأحيان في مناطق الجلد التي تتعرض لأشعة الشمس، مثل رأسك ورقبتك.

ويعتقد أن معظم أنواع سرطان الخلايا القاعدية سببها هو التعرض الطويل الأمد لأشعة الشمس فوق البنفسجية (UV). تجنب الشمس واستخدام عوازل أشعة الشمس قد يساعد في الحماية ضد سرطان الخلايا القاعدية.

الأعراض

عادةً ما يتطور سرطان الخلايا القاعدية في الأجزاء المعرضة للشمس من جسمك، ولا سيّما رأسك ورقبتك. يظهر سرطان الجلد هذا بصورة أقل على الجذع والساقين، ويمكن أن يحدث سرطان الخلايا القاعدية، لكن نادرًا، على أجزاء من جسمك تكون محمية عادةً من الشمس مثل الأعضاء التناسلية أو أثداء النساء.

يظهر سرطان الخلايا القاعدية على هيئة تغير في الجلد، مثل ورم أو تقرح لا يُشفى. عادة ما يكون لهذه التغيرات في الجلد، أو الآفات، إحدى الخصائص التالية:

  • نتوء بلون الجلد أو وردي أو أبيض كاللؤلؤ ويكون شفافًا، أي أنه يمكنك الرؤية قليلاً عبر السطح. غالبًا ما تكون الأوعية الدموية الصغيرة مرئية. في الأشخاص ذوي البشرة الداكنة، ستكون الآفة أدكن لكنها ستبقى شفافة إلى حد ما. النوع الأكثر شيوعًا من سرطان الخلايا القاعدية، غالبًا ما تظهر هذه الآفة على الوجه أو الأذن أو الرقبة. قد تؤدي الآفة إلى التمزق، والنزيف وتكوين قشرة على الجرح.
  • آفة بنية، أو سوداء أو زرقاء، أو آفة بنقاط داكنة، مع وجود حاجز مرتفع قليلاً وشفاف.
  • يعد وجود بقعة مسطحة، وحرشفية ومحمّرة مع حافة مرتفعة هو الأكثر شيوعًا على الظهر والرقبة. مع مرور الوقت، يمكن أن تنمو هذه البقع بشكل كبير للغاية.
  • وتعد الآفة البيضاء الشمعية المشابهة للندب التي ليس لها حدود واضحة، وتسمى سرطان الخلايا القاعدية قشيعي الشكل، هي الأقل شيوعًا. من السهل تجاهل هذه الآفة، لكنها قد تكون علامة من علامات السرطان الغزوي والتشويهي بشكل خاص.

متى تزور الطبيب

حدد موعدًا مع طبيبك المعالج إذا لاحظت تغيرات في مظهر بشرتك، كوجود ورم جديد، أو تغير في الورم السابق أو تكرر التقرحات.

الأسباب

يحدث سرطان الخلايا القاعدية عندما تطور واحدة من خلايا الجلد القاعدية طفرة في الحمض النووي.

يتم العثور على الخلايا القاعدية في الجزء السفلي من البشرة — الطبقة الخارجية من الجلد. تنتج الخلايا القاعدية خلايا الجلد الجديدة. أثناء إنتاج خلايا الجلد الجديدة، تقوم هذه الخلايا بدفع الخلايا القديمة نحو سطح البشرة، حيث تموت الخلايا القديمة ويتم التخلص منها.

يتم التحكم في عملية إنشاء خلايا الجلد الجديدة من قبل الحمض النووي للخلية القاعدية. وتتسبب طفرة في الحمض النووي في تضاعف الخلايا القاعدية بسرعة وتستمر في النمو في الوقت الذي كانت لتموت فيه في الحالة الطبيعية. في نهاية المطاف تقوم الخلايا المتراكمة غير الطبيعية بتكوين ورم سرطاني — الآفة التي تظهر على الجلد.

الأشعة فوق البنفسجية وغيرها من الأسباب

كثير من الأضرار التي لحقت بالحمض النووي في الخلايا القاعدية تنتج عن الأشعة فوق البنفسجية (UV) المتواجدة في ضوء الشمس وفي مصابيح التسمير التجارية وأسرة التسمير. لكن التعرض للشمس لا يفسر سرطانات الجلد التي تنشأ على جلد لا يتعرض عادةً لأشعة الشمس. يمكن أن تسهم عوامل أخرى في خطر الإصابة بسرطان الخلايا القاعدية والإصابة به، والسبب المحدد قد لا يكون واضحًا في بعض الحالات.

عوامل الخطر

تتضمن العوامل التي تزيد من خطر إصابتك بسرطان الخلايا القاعدية:

  • التعرض المزمن لأشعة الشمس. يزيد قضاء الكثير من الوقت في أشعة الشمس — أو حجرات التسمير التجارية — من خطر الإصابة بسرطان الخلايا القاعدية. ويزيد الخطر إذا كنت تعيش في منطقة مشمسة أو في المرتفعات، وكلاهما يعرضك لمزيد من الأشعة فوق البنفسجية. كما تزيد حروق الشمس الخطيرة، خاصة في مرحلة الطفولة أو البلوغ، من خطر إصابتك.
  • العلاج الإشعاعي. قد يزيد العلاج الإشعاعي المستخدم لعلاج الصدفية، أو حب الشباب، أو الأمراض الجلدية الأخرى من خطر الإصابة بسرطان الخلايا القاعدية في مواقع الجلد التي سبق لها التعرض للعلاج الإشعاعي.
  • البشرة الفاتحة. ويزيد خطر الإصابة بسرطان الخلايا القاعدية بين الأفراد الذين لديهم نمش، أو يتعرضون للحرق بسهولة، أو لديهم بشرة لونها فاتح جدًا أو شعر لونه أحمر أو أشقر، أو عيون ذات لون فاتح.
  • جنسك. يكون الرجال أكثر عُرضة للإصابة بسرطان الخلايا القاعدية عن النساء.
  • سنك. نظرًا إلى أن الإصابة بسرطان الخلايا القاعدية تستغرق عقودًا، فإن أغلب المصابين بسرطان الخلايا القاعدية تتجاوز أعمارهم 50 عامًا.
  • تاريخ شخصي أو عائلي من سرطان الجلد. إذا سبقت لك الإصابة بسرطان الخلايا القاعدية مرة واحدة أو أكثر، فإنك تكون أكثر عرضة للإصابة به مرة أخرى. وإذا كان لديك تاريخ عائلي من سرطان الجلد، فقد يزيد خطر إصابتك بسرطان الخلايا القاعدية.
  • أدوية كبت المناعة. إن تناول الأدوية التي تكبت جهازك المناعي، وخاصة فيما بعد الخضوع إلى جراحة زراعة، يزيد بشكل كبير من خطر إصابتك بسرطان الجلد. من المحتمل معاودة الإصابة بسرطان الخلايا القاعدية، الذي يُصاب به الأشخاص الذين يتناولون أدوية كبت المناعة، أو انتشاره في أجزاء أخرى من الجسم.
  • التعرض للأرسنيك. يزيد الأرسنيك، معدن سام يوجد على نطاق واسع في البيئة، من خطر الإصابة بسرطان الخلايا القاعدية أو أمراض سرطانية أخرى. يتعرض الجميع إلى نسبة من الأرسنيك، لأنه يوجد بشكل طبيعي في الأرض والهواء والمياه الجوفية. ومع ذلك هناك أفراد أكثر عرضة للأرسنيك، بما في ذلك الفلاحون وعمال التكرير والأفراد الذين يشربون مياه الآبار الملوثة أو يعيشون بالقرب من مصانع الصهر.
  • متلازمات وراثية تؤدي إلى الإصابة بسرطان الجلد. وغالبًا ما تتسبب بعض الأمراض الوراثية النادرة في الإصابة بسرطان الخلايا القاعدية. ينجم عن متلازمة سرطان الخلايا القاعدية الوحمانية (متلازمة غورلين غولتز) العديد من سرطانات الخلايا القاعدية واضطرابات الجلد والعظام والجهاز العصبي والعيون والغدد الصماء. يؤدي جفاف الجلد المصطبغ إلى الإصابة بحساسية مفرطة تجاه أشعة الشمس وارتفاع خطر الإصابة بسرطان الجلد، لأن الأفراد المصابين بهذا المرض ليس لديهم قدرة أو لديهم قدرة ضئيلة على إصلاح الضرر الذي لحق بالجلد من الأشعة فوق البنفسجية.

المضاعفات

يمكن أن تتضمن مضاعفات سرطان الخلايا القاعدية ما يلي:

  • خطر معاودة الإصابة. عادة ما تعاود الإصابة بسرطان الخلايا القاعدية. وحتى بعد العلاج الناجح، قد تظهر الآفة مرة أخرى وغالبًا في نفس المكان.
  • ارتفاع خطر الإصابة بأنواع أخرى من سرطان الجلد. كما قد يزيد تاريخ إصابتك بسرطان الخلايا القاعدية من فرصة إصابتك بأنواع أخرى من سرطان الجلد، مثل سرطان الخلايا الحرشفية.
  • السرطان الذي ينتشر متجاوزًا الجلد. نادرًا ما يمكن أن تغزو أشكال عنيفة من سرطان الخلايا القاعدية العضلات والأعصاب والعظام المجاورة وتدمرها. ونادرًا ما يمكن أن ينتشر سرطان الخلايا القاعدية في مناطق أخرى من الجسم.

الوقاية

يمكنك تقليل خطر إصابتك بسرطان الخلايا القاعدية إذا كنت:

  • تتجنب التعرض لأشعة الشمس في منتصف النهار. تتجنب التعرض لأشعة الشمس عندما تكون في ذروتها. بالنسبة لأغلب المناطق، يتراوح هذا الوقت بين الساعة 10 صباحًا و4 مساءً؛ وذلك لأن أشعة الشمس تكون في ذروتها في أثناء هذه الفترة، حاول تحديد مواعيد الأنشطة الخارجية في أوقات أخرى من اليوم، حتى في الشتاء. تمتص بشرتك الأشعة فوق البنفسجية (UV) على مدار السنة، وتوفر الغيوم نسبة قليلة من الوقاية من الأشعة الضارة.
  • تستخدم الواقيات الشمسية على مدار السنة. يُرجى اختيار أحد الواقيات الشمسية التي تحجب كلاً من الأشعة فوق البنفسيجية طويلة المدى (UVA) والأشعة فوق البنفسيجية متوسطة المدى (UVB) الصادرة من الشمس، وأن يكون عامل الحماية من الشمس 15 على الأقل. ضع واقي الشمس بكمية كبيرة، وأعد وضعه كل ساعتين - أو أكثر إذا كنت تسبح أو تتعرق. توصِي الأكاديمية الأمريكية لطب الأمراض الجلدية (American Academy of Dermatology) باستخدام واقيات الشمس واسعة الطيف ذات عامل حماية من الشمس 30 أو أكثر. ومع ذلك، قد يكون أفضل واقي شمس أقل فاعلية مما يشير إليه رقم عامل الحماية من الشمس (SPF) المتوفر على الزجاجة؛ وذلك إذا لم يتم وضعه على المنطقة بالكامل، أو لم يتم وضع طبقة سميكة بما يكفي منه، أو أُزيل بسبب العرق أو السباحة.
  • ارتدِ ملابس واقية. ارتدِ ملابس واقية. إن واقيات الشمس لا توفر الحماية التامة من الأشعة فوق البنفسيجية (UV)، لذلك احرص على ارتداء الملابس المنسوجة بإحكام التي تغطي ذراعيك وساقيك وارتداء القبعات عريضة الحواف التي توفر حماية أكثر من قبعة البيسبول أو عصابة حجب الشمس. كما تبيع بعض الشركات ملابس واقية من الضوء. ارتدِ نظارات الشمس التي توفر حماية كاملة من الأشعة فوق البنفسيجية طويلة المدى (UVA) والأشعة فوق البنفسيجية متوسطة المدى (UVB) على حد سواء.
  • تجنب أجهزة تسمير البشرة. تبعث أجهزة التسمير الأشعة فوق البنفسيجية (UV)، والتي يمكن أن تزيد من خطر الإصابة بسرطان الجلد.
  • تعرَّف على نوع بشرتك، حتى تتمكن من ملاحظة أي تغييرات تطرأ عليها. افحص بشرتك بحيث تكون على علم بما تبدو عليه بشرتك في حالتها الطبيعية. وبهذه الطريقة، يمكنك ملاحظة أي تغييرات تطرأ على بشرتك. استخدم المرايا، لتتحقق من وجهك، ورقبتك، وأذنك وفروة رأسك. تفحَّص الصدر والجذع والأجزاء العلوية والسفلية للذراعين واليدين. تفحَّص الجزء الأمامي والخلفي من الساقين والقدمين، بما في ذلك باطن القدمين والمسافات بين أصابع قدميك. تفحَّص أيضًا المنطقة التناسلية ومنطقة بين الأرداف. إذا لاحظت أي أمر غير طبيعي، يُرجى التحدث مع طبيبك.
  • يُرجى سؤال طبيبك عن الفحوصات. إذا كان لديك سرطان الجلد من قبل، فأنت تواجه خطرًا متزايدًا للإصابة بالسرطان مرة أخرى. تحدَّث مع الطبيب بشأن عدد المرات التي يجب عليك الخضوع فيها لفحوصات للكشف عن معاودة الإصابة.
05/10/2016
References
  1. Habif TP. Premalignant and malignant nonmelanoma skin tumors (أورام الجلد غير الميلانية الخبيثة ومحتملة التسرطن). في: Clinical Dermatology (طب الأمراض الجلدية السريري): A Color Guide to Diagnosis and Therapy (دليل اللون للتشخيص والعلاج). 6th ed. New York, N.Y. (الإصدار السادس، نيويورك): Mosby Elsevier; 2016. http://www.clinicalkey.com. تم الوصول في 26 من مارس 2016.
  2. Niederhuber JE, et al., eds. Nonmelanoma skin cancers (سرطان الجلد غير الميلاني): Basal cell and squamous cell carninomas (سرطان الخلايا قاعدية وسرطان الخلية الحرشفية). في: Abeloff's Clinical Oncology (كتاب علم الأورام السريري لأبيلوف). 5th ed. Philadelphia, Pa. (الإصدار الخامس، فيلادلفيا، بنسلفانيا): Churchill Livingstone Elsevier; 2014. http://www.clinicalkey.com. تم الوصول في 26 من مارس 2016.
  3. تطبيق AskMayoExpert. Basal cell carcinoma (سرطان الخلايا القاعدية). روتشستر، مينيسوتا: مؤسسة Mayo (مايو) للتعليم والأبحاث الطبية؛ 2015.
  4. What you need to know about melanoma and other skin cancers (ما تحتاج إلى معرفته عن الورم الميلاني وأنواع سرطان الجلد الأخرى). National Cancer Institute (المعهد الوطني للسرطان). http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/wyntk/skin. تم الوصول في 16 من مايو 2016.
  5. NCCN clinical practice guidelines in oncology (إرشادات الممارسة السريرية للشبكة الوطنية الشاملة للسرطان في طب الأورام): Basal cell skin cancer (سرطان الجلد بالخلايا القاعدية). الإصدار 1.2016. Fort Washington, Pa. (فورت واشنطن، بنسلفانيا): National Comprehensive Cancer Network (الشبكة الوطنية الشاملة للسرطان). http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. تم الوصول في 26 من مارس 2016.
  6. ToxFAQx للأرسنيك. Agency for Toxic Substances & Disease Registry (وكالة المواد السامة وسجل الأمراض). http://www.atsdr.cdc.gov/toxfaqs/tf.asp?id=19&tid=3. تم الوصول في 2 من يونيو 2016.
  7. Drugs approved for skin cancer (العقاقير المعتمدة لعلاج سرطان الجلد). National Cancer Institute (المعهد الوطني للسرطان). http://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/treatment/drugs/skin. تم الوصول في 16 من مايو 2016.
  8. Basal cell carcinoma (سرطان الخلايا القاعدية). American Academy of Dermatology (الأكاديمية الأمريكية لطب الأمراض الجلدية). https://www.aad.org/public/diseases/skin-cancer/basal-cell-carcinoma. تم الوصول في 2 من يونيو 2016.

Overview

Basal cell carcinoma is a type of skin cancer. Basal cell carcinoma begins in the basal cells — a type of cell within the skin that produces new skin cells as old ones die off.

Basal cell carcinoma often appears as a slightly transparent bump on the skin, though it can take other forms. Basal cell carcinoma occurs most often on areas of the skin that are exposed to the sun, such as your head and neck.

Most basal cell carcinomas are thought to be caused by long-term exposure to ultraviolet (UV) radiation from sunlight. Avoiding the sun and using sunscreen may help protect against basal cell carcinoma.

Symptoms

Basal cell carcinoma usually develops on sun-exposed parts of your body, especially your head and neck. This skin cancer appears less often on the trunk and legs, and basal cell carcinoma can — but rarely — occur on parts of your body usually protected from the sun such as genitals or women's breasts.

Basal cell carcinoma appears as a change in the skin, such as a growth or a sore that won't heal. These changes in the skin, or lesions, usually have one of the following characteristics:

  • A pearly white, skin-colored or pink bump that is translucent, meaning you can see a bit through the surface. Tiny blood vessels are often visible. In people with darker skin tones, the lesion would be darker but still somewhat translucent. The most common type of basal cell carcinoma, this lesion often appears on the face, ears or neck. The lesion may rupture, bleed and scab over.
  • A brown, black or blue lesion — or a lesion with dark spots — with a slightly raised, translucent border.
  • A flat, scaly, reddish patch with a raised edge is more common on the back or chest. Over time, these patches can grow quite large.
  • A white, waxy, scar-like lesion without a clearly defined border, called morpheaform basal cell carcinoma, is the least common. This lesion is easy to overlook, but it may be a sign of a particularly invasive and disfiguring cancer.

When to see a doctor

Make an appointment with your doctor if you observe changes in the appearance of your skin, such as a new growth, a change in a previous growth or a recurring sore.

Causes

Basal cell carcinoma occurs when one of the skin's basal cells develops a mutation in its DNA.

Basal cells are found at the bottom of the epidermis — the outermost layer of skin. Basal cells produce new skin cells. As new skin cells are produced, they push older cells toward the skin's surface, where the old cells die and are sloughed off.

The process of creating new skin cells is controlled by a basal cell's DNA. A mutation in the DNA causes a basal cell to multiply rapidly and continue growing when it would normally die. Eventually the accumulating abnormal cells may form a cancerous tumor — the lesion that appears on the skin.

Ultraviolet light and other causes

Much of the damage to DNA in basal cells is thought to result from ultraviolet (UV) radiation found in sunlight and in commercial tanning lamps and tanning beds. But sun exposure doesn't explain skin cancers that develop on skin not ordinarily exposed to sunlight. Other factors can contribute to the risk and development of basal cell carcinoma, and the exact cause may in some cases not be clear.

Risk factors

Factors that increase your risk of basal cell carcinoma include:

  • Chronic sun exposure. A lot of time spent in the sun — or in commercial tanning booths — increases the risk of basal cell carcinoma. The threat is greater if you live in a sunny or high-altitude location, both of which expose you to more UV radiation. Severe sunburn, especially during childhood or adolescence, also increases your risk.
  • Radiation therapy. Radiation therapy to treat psoriasis, acne or other skin conditions may increase the risk of basal cell carcinoma at previous treatment sites on the skin.
  • Fair skin. The risk of basal cell carcinoma is higher among people who freckle or burn easily or who have very light skin, red or blond hair, or light-colored eyes.
  • Your sex. Men are more likely to develop basal cell carcinoma than women.
  • Your age. Because basal cell carcinoma often takes decades to develop, the majority of basal cell carcinomas occur after age 50.
  • A personal or family history of skin cancer. If you've had basal cell carcinoma one or more times, you have a good chance of developing it again. If you have a family history of skin cancer, you may have an increased risk of developing basal cell carcinoma.
  • Immune-suppressing drugs. Taking medications that suppress your immune system, especially after transplant surgery, significantly increases your risk of skin cancer. Basal cell carcinoma that develops in people taking immune-suppressing drugs may be more likely to recur or spread to other parts of the body.
  • Exposure to arsenic. Arsenic, a toxic metal that's found widely in the environment, increases the risk of basal cell carcinoma and other cancers. Everyone has some arsenic exposure because it occurs naturally in the soil, air and groundwater. But people who may be exposed to higher levels of arsenic include farmers, refinery workers, and people who drink contaminated well water or live near smelting plants.
  • Inherited syndromes that cause skin cancer. Certain rare genetic diseases often result in basal cell carcinoma. Nevoid basal cell carcinoma syndrome (Gorlin-Goltz syndrome) causes numerous basal cell carcinomas, as well as disorders of the skin, bones, nervous system, eyes and endocrine glands. Xeroderma pigmentosum causes an extreme sensitivity to sunlight and a high risk of skin cancer because people with this condition have little or no ability to repair damage to the skin from ultraviolet light.

Complications

Complications of basal cell carcinoma can include:

  • A risk of recurrence. Basal cell carcinomas commonly recur. Even after successful treatment, a lesion may reappear, often in the same place.
  • An increased risk of other types of skin cancer. A history of basal cell carcinoma may also increase the chance of developing other types of skin cancer, such as squamous cell carcinoma.
  • Cancer that spreads beyond the skin. Rare, aggressive forms of basal cell carcinoma can invade and destroy nearby muscles, nerves and bone. And rarely, basal cell carcinoma can spread to other areas of the body.

Prevention

You may reduce your risk of basal cell carcinoma if you:

  • Avoid the midday sun. Avoid the sun when its rays are the strongest. For most places, this is between about 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. Because the sun's rays are strongest during this period, try to schedule outdoor activities for other times of the day, even in winter. You absorb UV radiation year-round, and clouds offer little protection from damaging rays.
  • Use sunscreen year-round. Choose a sunscreen that blocks both UVA and UVB types of radiation from the sun and has an SPF of at least 15. Apply sunscreen generously, and reapply every two hours — or more often if you're swimming or perspiring. The American Academy of Dermatology recommends using a broad-spectrum sunscreen with an SPF of 30 or more. Even the best sunscreen might be less effective than the SPF number on the bottle would lead you to believe if it isn't applied thoroughly or thickly enough, or if it's perspired away or washed off while swimming.
  • Wear protective clothing. Wear protective clothing. Sunscreens don't provide complete protection from UV rays, so wear tightly woven clothing that covers your arms and legs, and a broad-brimmed hat, which provides more protection than a baseball cap or visor does. Some companies also sell photoprotective clothing. Wear sunglasses that provide full protection from both UVA and UVB rays.
  • Avoid tanning beds. Tanning beds emit UV radiation, which can increase the risk of skin cancer.
  • Become familiar with your skin so that you'll notice changes. Examine your skin so that you become familiar with what your skin normally looks like. This way, you may be more likely to notice any skin changes. With the help of mirrors, check your face, neck, ears and scalp. Examine your chest and trunk, and the tops and undersides of your arms and hands. Examine both the front and back of your legs, and your feet, including the soles and the spaces between your toes. Also check your genital area, and between your buttocks. If you notice anything unusual, talk to your doctor.
  • Ask your doctor about screening. If you've already had skin cancer, you have an increased risk of a second cancer. Talk with your doctor about how often you should be screened for a recurrence.
Oct. 05, 2016
References
  1. Habif TP. Premalignant and malignant nonmelanoma skin tumors. In: Clinical Dermatology: A Color Guide to Diagnosis and Therapy. 6th ed. New York, N.Y.: Mosby Elsevier; 2016. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 26, 2016.
  2. Niederhuber JE, et al., eds. Nonmelanoma skin cancers: Basal cell and squamous cell carninomas. In: Abeloff's Clinical Oncology. 5th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Churchill Livingstone Elsevier; 2014. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 26, 2016.
  3. AskMayoExpert. Basal cell carcinoma. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2015.
  4. What you need to know about melanoma and other skin cancers. National Cancer Institute. http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/wyntk/skin. Accessed May 16, 2016.
  5. NCCN clinical practice guidelines in oncology: Basal cell skin cancer. Version 1.2016. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed March 26, 2016.
  6. ToxFAQx for arsenic. Agency for Toxic Substances & Disease Registry. http://www.atsdr.cdc.gov/toxfaqs/tf.asp?id=19&tid=3. Accessed June 2, 2016.
  7. Drugs approved for skin cancer. National Cancer Institute. http://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/treatment/drugs/skin. Accessed May 16, 2016.
  8. Basal cell carcinoma. American Academy of Dermatology. https://www.aad.org/public/diseases/skin-cancer/basal-cell-carcinoma. Accessed June 2, 2016.