ستيسي ريزا، دكتورة في الطب، ومتخصصة في الأمراض المُعدية، في مايو كلينك: أولاً، أوصي بأن يتلقى جميع الأشخاص المؤهلين في الولايات المتحدة لقاح كوفيد 19. فسيؤدي ذلك إلى تقليل خطر الإصابة بعدوى فيروس كورونا المسبب للالتهاب التنفسي الحاد الوخيم، وهو الفيروس المسبب لكوفيد 19، كما سيؤدي إلى تقليل خطر نقل العدوى إلى الآخرين بشكل كبير حتى إذا كنت مصابًا بها. ولا شك في أن ذلك أهم ما يمكن أن يفعله الأشخاص لحماية أنفسهم من فيروس كورونا المسبب للالتهاب التنفسي الحاد الوخيم في أي مكان، وتحديدًا أثناء السفر.

سيظل على هؤلاء الأشخاص ارتداء الكمامة أثناء وجودهم على متن الطائرة - تلقي اللقاح، وارتداء الكمامة أثناء وجودك على متن الطائرة، والحفاظ على أساليب النظافة المناسبة، والحفاظ على نظافة المكان الذي توجد فيه، وغسل يديك قبل خلع كمامتك لتناول الطعام، وغيرها من سلوكيات النظافة الصحية العادية.

أتيح لي الاطلاع على البيانات على النحو الذي نُشرت عليه وفهم التجارب التي وردت فيها، ويمكنني القول بالتأكيد إن هذا اللقاح فعال جدًا وآمن تمامًا، بل هو أكثر أمانًا بكثير من الإصابة بالفيروس نفسه. ويستطيع هذا اللقاح إحداث فارق في الحفاظ على صحة الأشخاص على المدى الطويل، بالإضافة إلى القضاء على هذا الوباء في مجتمعاتنا.

إذا كان الشخص يسافر داخل الولايات المتحدة وكان قد حصل على اللقاح فلا داعي لخضوعه للاختبار. ولا داعي للحجر الصحي. والشيء الوحيد الذي ينبغي للجميع فعله هو الاستمرار في رصد الأعراض.

لا يزال من المستحسن ارتداء الكمامات، وخاصة للأشخاص الذين لم يتلقوا اللقاح. وربما يظل الخيار الأفضل أن يحافظ الأشخاص الذين لم يتلقوا اللقاح على التباعد حتى لا يكونوا عرضة للإصابة بالعدوى من شخص آخر. وفي حال ظهرت على الشخص في أي وقت -سواء أكان ذلك بعد السفر أم أي فترة زمنية أخرى- أعراض تتطابق مع متلازمة كوفيد مثل الحمى وضيق النفس والسعال وتغيُّر في حاستي التذوق والشم، فعندئذ ينبغي لمزود الرعاية الصحية تقييم حالته وعلى الأرجح سيخضع لاختبار كوفيد 19. في الوقت الحالي، إذا كان شخص قادمًا من خارج الولايات المتحدة، فسيتعين عليه إجراء اختبار فيروس كورونا المسبب للالتهاب التنفسي الحاد الوخيم قبل صعوده على متن الطائرة والعودة إلى الولايات المتحدة بنحو 72 ساعة على الأقل. وما دام هذا الشخص قد أجرى الاختبار وكانت نتيجته سلبية، فعندها لا يلزم خضوعه لحجر صحي.

إذا كان لديك أطفال لم يتلقوا اللقاح فأنا أعتقد أن سفرهم جوًا لا يزال آمنًا، ولكن سيتعين عليهم ارتداء الكمامة دومًا بالطبع. وأرى أنك إذا قصدت الأماكن العامة ذات المساحات المفتوحة الأكبر ولم تجتمع مع الكثير من الأشخاص الآخرين، فسيكون هذا خيارًا آمنًا. كل ما عليك هو التفكير فيما سيحدث في العُطلة.

لا يزال من الآمن السفر بالطائرة. ولا يزال السفر آمنًا، ولكن عليك الحفاظ على ارتداء الكمامة أكثر مما كنت ستفعله لو كنت قد تلقيت اللقاح كاملاً. في رأيي، لا يتطلب الأمر سوى قليل من التفكير والتخطيط.

09/10/2021

Stacey Rizza, M.D., Infectious Diseases, Mayo Clinic: Firstly, I recommend that all eligible people in the United States get vaccinated for COVID-19. That is going to dramatically decrease your risk of getting infected with SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19, and also dramatically decrease the risk that even if you were infected, you could transmit it to others. So without a doubt, that's the most important thing a person can do to protect themselves from SARS-CoV-2 anywhere, but particularly during travel.

They will still need to wear a mask while they are on the airplane — Getting vaccinated, wearing a mask while your on the airplane, and then just maintaining other good hygiene, keeping your area clean, washing your hands before taking off your mask to eat, and other just normal, healthy hygiene behaviors.

I've had the privilege of seeing the data as its been published and understanding the trials that occurred in, I can absolutely say that this is very effective, very safe vaccine, and it is far safer than getting the virus itself. And it will make a difference in keeping them healthy long-term, as well as getting rid of the pandemic in our communities.

If they are traveling within the United States and the person is vaccinated, there's no need to be tested. There's no need to quarantine. The only thing everybody should do is to continue to monitor for symptoms.

It's still advisable, particularly for people who are not vaccinated to wear masks. It's still probably best that unvaccinated people maintain distance so that they are not at risk of getting an infection from someone else. If at anytime, whether it's after travel or any other period of time, they start developing symptoms that are consistent with the COVID syndrome, such as fevers, shortness of breath, cough, change in taste or smell than they should be evaluated by their provider and likely get a COVID-19 test. Now if somebody's traveling from outside the United States, they're going to need to do SARS-CoV-2 test at least 72 hours before they board the airplane and come back to the United States. But as long as they do that and it's negative, then there should be no further quarantining that's required.

If you have unvaccinated children, I think it's still safe to fly, but of course they will always be masked. And if you go to places that are more outdoors, more open space, and you are not congregated with lots of other people, I think it's very safe. You just have to think through the steps of what's going to happen on the vacation.

It's still safe to get on an airplane. It's still safe to travel, but just maintain masking more than you would have if you were fully vaccinated. I think it just takes a little bit of thought and planning.