سمعت في الأخبار أن جهاز Essure لن يعد متوفرًا في السوق. ماذا يعني هذا بالنسبة للنساء اللائي يستخدمن هذا الجهاز لمنع الحمل؟

إجابة من إيفون باتلر توباه، (دكتور في الطب)

Essure عبارة عن جهاز قابل للزرع لمنع الحمل يعمل على سد قناة فالوب بشكل دائم. أعلنت الشركة المصنعة لجهاز Essure الخاص بمنع الحمل أنها ستتوقف عن بيع الجهاز في الولايات المتحدة بداية من 31 ديسمبر 2018. توقفت مبيعات الجهاز في عام 2017 في جميع البلدان الأخرى.

تشير الشركة إلى وجود أسباب تجارية لإيقاف مبيعات الجهاز، وليست مشكلات تتعلق بالسلامة.

ولكن كانت هناك تقارير عن آثار جانبية خطيرة للجهاز، بما في ذلك الألم المستمر وحدوث ثقب في الرحم أو قناة فالوب وتحرك الجهاز من قنوات فالوب إلى الحوض أو البطن. ستستمر الدراسات المتعلقة بسلامة جهاز Essure حتى بعد التوقف عن طرحه في السوق.

إذا كنت تستخدمين الجهاز بالفعل ولم يكن لديك أي آثار جانبية منه، فيمكنك الاستمرار في الاعتماد عليه لمنع الحمل. تحدثي مع طبيبك أو مقدم خدمات رعاية آخر عن أي مخاوف لديكِ بخصوص سلامة الجهاز.

إذا كنتِ تعانين من ألم أو أعراض أخرى تعتقدين أنها قد تكون مرتبطة بجهاز Essure، فتحدثي مع طبيبك أو مقدم خدمات رعاية آخر حول خياراتك. قد تتطلب إزالة جهاز Essure إجراء عملية جراحية، مما يشكل بعض المخاطر الصحية.

With

إيفون باتلر توباه، (دكتور في الطب)

11/06/2019 See more Expert Answers

I heard on the news that the Essure system is going off the market. What does this mean for women who use this device for birth control?

Answer From Yvonne Butler Tobah, M.D.

Essure is an implantable birth control device that permanently blocks the fallopian tubes. The company that makes the Essure system of birth control announced that it would stop selling the device in the U.S. on Dec. 31, 2018. Sales of the device stopped in 2017 in all other countries.

The company cites commercial reasons, not safety issues, for halting sales of the device.

But there have been reports of serious side effects with the device, including persistent pain, development of a hole in the uterus or fallopian tubes, and movement of the device from the fallopian tubes into the pelvis or abdomen. Studies on the safety of the Essure device will continue even after it's off the market.

If you already have the device in place and don't have any side effects from the device, you can continue to rely on Essure to prevent pregnancy. Speak with your doctor or other care provider about any safety concerns you may have about the device.

If you have persistent pain or other symptoms that you think might be related to the Essure device, talk with your doctor or other care provider about your options. Removing the Essure device may require surgery, which poses certain health risks.

With

Yvonne Butler Tobah, M.D.

Aug. 29, 2018 See more Expert Answers