低碳水化合物饮食:它能帮助您减重吗?

低碳水化合物饮食是否有助于减重?

来自妙佑医疗国际员工

定义

低碳水化合物饮食会限制碳水化合物的摄入(例如谷物、淀粉类蔬菜和水果中的碳水化合物),并着重于摄入蛋白质和脂肪含量高的食物。低碳水化合物饮食有许多类型。每种饮食对您可以摄入的碳水化合物的类型和数量都有不同的限制。

用途

低碳水化合物饮食通常用于减重。一些低碳水化合物饮食除了可用于减重之外,还可能对健康有益,比如减少与 2 型糖尿病和代谢综合征相关的风险。

您为什么会遵循低碳水化合物饮食

选择低碳水化合物饮食是因为您:

  • 想要在饮食中限制某些碳水化合物以帮助减轻体重
  • 想要改变整体饮食习惯
  • 喜欢低碳水化合物饮食中的食物种类和份量

在开始任何减重饮食前,请咨询医生,特别是如果您患有任何健康疾病(如糖尿病或心脏病)。

饮食详情

低碳水化合物饮食会限制您摄入的碳水化合物数量。碳水化合物分为简单天然(牛奶中的乳糖和水果中的果糖)、简单精制(蔗糖)、复杂天然(全谷物或豆类)和复杂精制(白面粉)。

天然碳水化合物的常见来源包括:

  • 谷物
  • 水果
  • 蔬菜
  • 牛奶
  • 坚果
  • 种子
  • 豆类(蚕豆、扁豆、豌豆)

一般来说,与精制碳水化合物相比,复杂碳水化合物的消化速度更慢,对血糖的影响更小。它们还提供纤维。

通常,加工食物中会添加糖或白面粉等精制碳水化合物。含有精制碳水化合物的食物有白面包和面食、饼干、蛋糕、糖果、加糖碳酸饮料和饮品。

身体使用碳水化合物作为主要能量来源。在消化过程中,复杂碳水化合物被分解成单糖(葡萄糖),并释放到血液中(血糖)。

胰岛素被释放出来,帮助葡萄糖进入人体细胞,葡萄糖在这里被转化成能量。多余的葡萄糖会储存在肝脏和肌肉中,有些则转化成人体脂肪。

低碳水化合物饮食旨在让身体燃烧储存的脂肪作为能量,这可实现减重。

低碳水化合物饮食的典型食物

一般来说,低碳水化合物饮食注重蛋白质和一些非淀粉类蔬菜。低碳水化合物饮食通常限制谷物、豆类、水果、面包、糖果、面食和淀粉类蔬菜,有时也限制坚果和种子。然而,一些低碳水化合物饮食计划允许摄入少量水果、蔬菜和全谷物。

每天摄入 0.7 到 2 盎司(20 到 57 克)碳水化合物是低碳水化合物饮食的典型特征。这些碳水化合物能提供 80 到 240 卡路里的热量。一些低碳水化合物饮食在最初阶段会严格限制碳水化合物的摄入,然后逐渐增加允许的碳水化合物摄入量。

相比之下,《美国人膳食指南》建议碳水化合物占您每天摄入热量总量的 45% 到 65%。所以,如果一天消耗 2000 卡路里,那么碳水化合物将占一天的 900 到 1300 卡路里。

结果

减重

如果限制卡路里摄入并增加体育锻炼,大多数人都可以减重。要想一周减掉 1 到 1.5 磅(0.5 到 0.7 千克),您需要每天少摄入 500 到 750 卡路里的热量。

低碳水化合物饮食,尤其是极低碳水化合物饮食,可能会比低脂肪饮食带来更明显的短期减重效果。但大多数研究发现,坚持 12 个月或 24 个月时,低碳水化合物饮食的好处不是很大。

对于低碳水化合物饮食,卡路里和碳水化合物摄入减少可能不是体重减轻的唯一原因。一些研究表明,额外的蛋白质和脂肪摄入能够让您有更长时间的饱腹感,从而让您吃得更少,减掉一些体重。

其他益处

强调碳水化合物、脂肪和蛋白质健康来源的低碳水化合物饮食可能有助于降低患 2 型糖尿病和心脏病的风险。事实上,几乎所有有助于减掉多余体重的饮食方案都可降低(至少可暂时降低)血糖和胆固醇水平。

风险

碳水化合物摄入量突然急剧减少可能导致暂时的副作用,例如:

  • 便秘
  • 头痛
  • 肌肉痛性痉挛

严重限制碳水化合物的摄入量可能导致身体将脂肪分解成酮类,以获取能量。这叫做酮症。酮症可能引起口臭、头痛、疲劳和虚弱等副作用。

目前尚不清楚低碳水化合物饮食可能带来怎样的长期健康风险。长期限制碳水化合物的摄入量可能引起维生素或矿物质缺乏以及胃肠道紊乱。

一些健康专家认为,如果大量食用动物性脂肪和蛋白质,实际上可能增加患心脏病或某些癌症的风险。

如果您选择遵循低碳水化合物饮食,请注意选择适当的脂肪和蛋白质。限制摄入含有饱和及反式脂肪的食物,例如肉类和高脂肪奶制品,这些食物可能会增加患心脏病的风险。

Sept. 10, 2022 了解更多深度信息

Low-carb diet: Can it help you lose weight?

Could a low-carb diet give you an edge in losing weight?

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Definition

A low-carb diet limits carbohydrates, often called carbs — such as those found in grains, starchy vegetables and fruit. A low-carb diet focuses on foods high in protein and fat. Many types of low-carb diets exist. Each diet has varying limits on the type and amount of carbs you can eat.

Purpose

A low-carb diet is generally used for weight loss. Some low-carb diets may have health benefits beyond weight loss, such as lowering your risk of type 2 diabetes and metabolic syndrome.

Why you might follow a low-carb diet

You might choose to follow a low-carb diet because you:

  • Want a diet that limits some carbs to help you lose weight.
  • Want to change your overall eating habits.
  • Enjoy the type and amount of food used in low-carb diets.

Check with your health care provider before starting any weight-loss diet, especially if you have any health conditions, such as diabetes or heart disease.

Diet details

A low-carb diet limits the amount of carbohydrates you eat. Carbs are grouped as:

  • Simple natural, such as lactose in milk and fructose in fruit.
  • Simple refined, such as table sugar.
  • Complex natural, such as whole grains or beans.
  • Complex refined, such as white flour.

Common sources of natural carbohydrates include:

  • Grains.
  • Fruits.
  • Vegetables.
  • Milk.
  • Nuts.
  • Seeds.
  • Legumes, such as beans, lentils and peas.

In general, you digest complex carbs more slowly. Complex carbs also have less effect on blood sugar than refined carbs do. They also offer fiber.

Refined carbs such as sugar or white flour are often added to processed foods. Examples of foods with refined carbs are white breads and pasta, cookies, cake, candy, and sugar-sweetened sodas and drinks.

The body uses carbs as its main energy source. During digestion, complex carbs are broken down into simple sugars, also called glucose, and released into your blood. This is called blood glucose.

Insulin is released to help glucose enter the body's cells, where it can be used for energy. Extra glucose is stored in the liver and in muscles. Some is changed to body fat.

A low-carb diet is meant to cause the body to burn stored fat for energy, which leads to weight loss.

Typical foods for a low-carb diet

In broad terms, a low-carb diet focuses on proteins and some nonstarchy vegetables. A low-carb diet generally limits grains, legumes, fruits, breads, sweets, pastas and starchy vegetables, and sometimes nuts and seeds. But some low-carb diet plans allow small amounts of fruits, vegetables and whole grains.

A daily limit of 0.7 to 2 ounces (20 to 57 grams) of carbohydrates is typical with a low-carb diet. These amounts of carbohydrates provide 80 to 240 calories. Some low-carb diets greatly limit carbs during the early phase of the diet. Then those diets allow more carbs over time.

In contrast, the Dietary Guidelines for Americans recommend that carbohydrates make up 45% to 65% of your total daily calorie intake. So if you eat or drink 2,000 calories a day, carbs would account for between 900 and 1,300 calories a day.

Results

Weight loss

Most people can lose weight if they limit calories and boost their physical activity. To lose 1 to 1.5 pounds (0.5 to 0.7 kilograms) a week, you need to eat 500 to 750 fewer calories each day.

Low-carb diets, especially very low-carb diets, may lead to greater short-term weight loss than do low-fat diets. But most studies have found that at 12 or 24 months, the benefits of a low-carb diet aren't very large.

Cutting calories and carbs may not be the only reason for the weight loss with low-carb diets. Some studies show that you may shed some weight because the extra protein and fat helps you feel full longer. Feeling full longer helps you eat less.

Other benefits

Low-carb diets that focus on healthy sources of carbs, fat and protein may help lower the risk of type 2 diabetes and heart disease. In fact, almost any diet that helps you shed excess weight may improve blood sugar and cholesterol levels, at least in the short term.

Risks

A sudden and large drop in carbs can cause short term side effects, such as:

  • Constipation.
  • Headache.
  • Muscle cramps.

Severe carb limits can cause your body to break down fat into ketones for energy. This is called ketosis. Ketosis can cause side effects such as bad breath, headache, fatigue and weakness.

It's not clear what kind of possible long-term health risks a low-carb diet may pose. If you limit carbs in the long term, it may cause you to have too little of some vitamins or minerals and to have digestive issues.

Some health experts think that if you eat large amounts of fat and protein from animal sources, your risk of heart disease or certain cancers may go up.

If you opt to follow a low-carb diet, think about the fats and proteins you choose. Limit foods with saturated and trans fats, such as meat and high-fat dairy products. These foods may make your risk for heart disease go up.

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free, and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips and current health topics, like COVID-19, plus expertise on managing health.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Nov. 15, 2022 See more In-depth