إن الحياة الصحية تبدأ بتغيير طريقة التفكير

إن اتباع منهج إما تحقيق كل شيء أو لا شيء خطأ شائع يرتكبه الناس عند سعيهم إلى تحقيق الأهداف الصحية التي ينشدوها. فتلك الطريقة في التفكير لا تؤدي إلى أي توازن أو مرونة، وتلك أمور ضرورية لتحقيق النجاح على المدى الطويل.

By كاتي إيه بيرنارد

إن اتباع منهج إما تحقيق كل شيء أو لا شيء خطأ شائع يرتكبه الناس عند سعيهم إلى تحقيق الأهداف الصحية التي ينشدونها. قد يقولون أشياء مثل "أنا أتناول الخضروات فقط!" أو "أنا لا أحصل على الجلوتين مرة أخرى!" وتتمثل المشكلة في أن هذه الطريقة ليست واقعية. فتلك الطريقة في التفكير لا تؤدي إلى أي توازن أو مرونة، وتلك أمور ضرورية لتحقيق النجاح على المدى الطويل. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإنه يؤدي إلى أفكارٍ قضائية. يمكنك تصنيف اختياراتك على أنها صحيحة أو خاطئة، أو جيدة أو سيئة، ما قد يمنعك من تحقيق أهدافك.

تشير الأبحاث إلى أنه من المرجح أن تحقق أهدافك عندما تتحدى التفكير بمنهج إما كل شيء أو لا شيء، وتعكس الأفكار السلبية وأفكار تدمير الذات. لنلقِ نظرة إلى مثال.

كانت ميشيل تحاول فقد 15 رطلاً من وزنها خلال أشهر حسب ظنّها. وكانت تتأرجح ما بين فقد أرطال قليلة وبين اكتسابها مرة أخرى. تبدأ يومها ببعض أحاديث النفس الإيجابية مثل ("سأتناول طعامًا صحيًا طوال اليوم!") وتلتزم بخطة التغذية الخاصة بها. ولكن بحلول وقت ما بعد الظهر تجد نفسها تتناول أطعمة ومشروبات خفيفة ليست في الخطة. فتقول لنفسها: "ما الفائدة؟ لقد أفسدت الخطة، وتدمر يومي". وتنهي ليلتها بأفكار مثل "لن أنجح أبدًا. وما الفائدة من تناول طعام صحي إن لم أستطع تناول الحلويات مرة أخرى؟" وتذهب للنوم يراودها شعور بالفشل. وتكرر هذه الدورة نفسها مرارًا وتكرارًا.

فما الخطأ في طريقة تفكير ميشيل؟ كبداية، لا يتسم تفكيرها بكثير من المرونة. وعندما انحرفت عن الخطة التي وضعتها، شعرت أنها أخفقت بالفعل، ما يحفز حديث النفس السلبي. وتقريبًا من المستحيل أن تنجح عندما يكون تفكيرك أبيض وأسود محضًا. فما قد يساعد ميشيل في مثل هذا الموقف؟

السماح بالقليل من الرمادي. في حالة ميشيل، هي تنظر إلى فقدان الوزن على أنه شيء يجب إتمامه بشكل مثالي. ("سأتناول طعامًا صحيًا طوال اليوم!"). ستحظى ميشيل بنجاح أعظم مع تغيير نمط الحياة هذا، إذا سمحت ببعض المساحة للحلوى أو أي طعام مكافأة آخر بين الحين والآخر. لا يجب على عاداتها الجديدة أن تكون مثالية، بل أن تكون معقولة بالنسبة لها حتى تتمكن من تحقيقها.

تحديد حديث النفس السلبي. أولًا تحتاج ميشيل إلى أن تكون على دراية بأفكارها السلبية. فإذا لاحظتهم، فيمكنها حينها أن تسأل نفسها: "هل حقًا أفسدت يومي؟ هل أنا حقًا فاشلة بسبب الخروج عن خطتي؟

استبدال حديث النفس السلبي بعبارات إيجابية صادقة. وبعد أن لاحظت ميشيل حديثها النفسي السلبي يمكنها أن تقضي مدة من ثلاث إلى خمس دقائق في التفكير بطرق تجعل أفكارها أكثر إيجابية. ويمكنها استبدال طريقة التفكير بمنهج إما كل شيء أو لا شيء بفكرة "تناول قطعة شيكولاتة لن تفسد يومي أو تؤثر على كل جهودي إلى هذه النقطة. يمكنني أن أثبت على المسار لبقية اليوم. الالتزام بخطتي يستحق ذلك وكذلك أنا: "لقد حققت نجاحًا في مجالات عدة من حياتي. أنا لست فاشلة. سمحت ببعض التوازن في حياتي، وهذا مهم بالسنة لي".

يمكن أن يشكّل تغيير طريقة التفكير بمنهج إما كل شيء أو لا شيء تحديًا في البداية، ولكن استمر في المحاولة. سيمكّنك تخفيف الضغوط التقييدية وحديث النفس السلبي من الشعور بالصبر والنعمة في رحلتك نحو حياة أكثر صحة.

تجارب

  1. انتبه إلى حوارك الداخلي. اسأل نفسك: "هل أحكم على نفسي أم تراودني أفكار مهينة؟" انظر إذا كنت لاحظت أي أنماط.
  2. اعكس الأفكار السلبية باتباع طريقة تفكير إيجابية. وبدلًا من التفكير في "لماذا لا أستطيع الالتزام بتناول الطعام الصحي؟"، جرب التفكير في "خطأ واحد ليس بأمر جلل. سأعود إلى المسار الصحيح في فرصتي التالية".
  3. اترك لنفسك بعض المرونة. على سبيل المثال، إذا حضرت لقاءً اجتماعيًا حيث تقل خيارات الطعام الصحي، فاسمح لنفسك بالاستمتاع بقطعة حلوى أو اثنتين دون الشعور بالذنب، ثم عد إلى المسار الصحيح في الوجبة التالية.
28/09/2018 انظر المزيد من التفاصيل الشاملة

اطلع كذلك على

  1. Boost your weight-loss confidence
  2. Getting the support you need
  3. Body fat: What happens to lost fat?
  4. Breakfast
  5. Calorie calculator
  6. Carbohydrates
  7. Check your weight-loss readiness
  8. Coping with weight-loss plateaus
  9. Counting calories
  10. Don't let the scale weigh you down
  11. Fast weight loss: What's wrong with it?
  12. Find your motivations for weight loss
  13. Weight-loss plateau
  14. Hidradenitis suppurativa: Tips for weight-loss success
  15. Hitting a weight-loss plateau
  16. Brown fat
  17. How to prevent relapses
  18. Is yo-yo dieting making you fat?
  19. Keep the focus on your long-term vision
  20. Light activity helps, too
  21. Losing weight: 5 tips that work
  22. Maintain a healthy weight with psoriatic arthritis
  23. Make a misstep? Skip the guilt
  24. BMI and waist circumference calculator
  25. Weight gain after menopause
  26. Metabolism and weight loss
  27. Metabolism boost for weight loss?
  28. Overcoming the all-or-nothing mindset
  29. Preventing binge eating
  30. Prioritize your wellness
  31. New Year's resolutions
  32. Setting smart weight-loss goals
  33. Sleep and weight gain: What's the connection?
  34. Sleep: The healthy habit that promotes weight loss
  35. Foods for weight control
  36. Slow metabolism
  37. Solutions for weight-loss setbacks
  38. Strengthen your social support
  39. Summer confidence? It's possible
  40. Teen weight loss
  41. Beating a weight-loss plateau
  42. Two types of goals for weight loss
  43. Waist size may be a predictor of life expectancy
  44. Weight-loss strategies
  45. Weight Loss After Breast Cancer
  46. Weight loss after pregnancy
  47. Weight-loss goals
  48. Weight-loss readiness
  49. Weight loss: Set a realistic goal
  50. Weight-loss hypnosis

Getting healthy starts with changing your mindset

Taking an all-or-nothing approach is a common mistake people make when trying to reach their health goals. This mentality offers no balance or flexibility, which is essential for long-term success.

By Katie A. Bernard

Taking an all-or-nothing approach is a common mistake people make when trying to reach their health goals. They may say things such as "I'm only eating vegetables!" or "I'm never having gluten again!" The problem is, this way of thinking isn't realistic. This mentality offers no balance or flexibility, which is essential for long-term success. Plus, it tends to lead to judgmental thoughts. You may label your choices as right or wrong, or good or bad, which can prevent you from achieving your goals.

Research shows that you're more likely to reach your goals when you challenge your all-or-nothing thinking and reverse negative, self-destructive thoughts. Let's take a look at an example.

Michelle has been trying to lose 15 pounds for what feels like months. She yo-yos between losing a few pounds and then gaining them back. She starts off her day with positive self-talk ("I am going to eat healthy food all day!") and sticks to her nutrition plan. But by midafternoon she finds herself snacking on foods that aren't on the plan. She tells herself, "What's the point? I've messed this up, my day is ruined." She ends her night with thoughts such as, "I will never be successful. What's the point of eating healthy food if I can never have sweets again?" She goes to bed feeling like a failure. This cycle repeats itself over and over.

What's wrong with Michelle's way of thinking? To start, it offers very little flexibility. When she deviates from her set plan, she feels that she has already messed up, which triggers negative self-talk. It's almost impossible to be successful when your thinking is completely black and white. So what might help Michelle in this situation?

Allow for gray space. In Michelle's case, she is viewing weight loss as something that has to be done perfectly ("I am going to eat healthy food all day!"). Michelle will have greater success with this lifestyle change if she allows some wiggle room for an occasional dessert or other treat. Her new habits don't have to be perfect; they just have to be manageable for her.

Identify the negative self-talk. Michelle first needs to become aware of her negative thoughts. As she notices them, she can then ask herself, "Is my day really ruined? Am I really a failure because I slipped from my plan?"

Replace the negative self-talk with positive, true statements. Michelle can take three to five minutes after she notices her negative self-talk and think of ways to make the thoughts more positive. She could replace those all-or-nothing thoughts with, "Having one piece of chocolate does not ruin my day or derail all of my efforts up until this point. I can still stay on track the rest of the day. Sticking to my plan is worth it and so am I." Or, "I have been successful in many areas of my life. I am not a failure. I allowed myself some balance in my life, and that is important to me."

Transforming all-or-nothing thinking can be a challenge at first, but keep at it. Easing up on restrictive pressures and negative self-talk will allow you to practice patience and grace on your journey to a healthier you!

Experiments

  1. Pay attention to your internal dialogue. Ask yourself: "Am I judging myself or having demeaning thoughts?" See if you notice any patterns.
  2. Reverse negative thoughts by adopting a positive mindset. Instead of thinking, "Why can't I stick with healthy eating?" try, "One slip isn't a big deal. I will get back on track at my next opportunity."
  3. Give yourself some flexibility. For instance, if you attend a social gathering where healthy options are limited, allow yourself to enjoy a treat or two guilt-free, and then get back on track at your next meal.
Nov. 30, 2016 See more In-depth