运动和阿片类药物:锻炼前您应该了解的事

阿片类药物会使人难以安全地完成运动。了解如何在您服用阿片类药物期间保护自身安全。

一天的工作结束了,您准备好晚上骑自行车了。然而,您的背部一直不舒服,您最近开始服用阿片类药物缓解疼痛。这样可以骑车吗?

运动可能在控制疼痛和改善情绪方面起重要作用,这可能会减轻您的疼痛感。经常锻炼的好处有心脏更健康、骨骼更强壮、灵活性和平衡力更好,这些在保持您的身体健康方面发挥了作用。所以,当您因慢性疼痛接受治疗时,坚持您的健身计划可能是个不错的选择。

然而,如果您正在服用阿片类药物来缓解疼痛,最好调整一下您的日常计划。阿片类药物会引起心脏、肺和骨骼功能的变化,从而影响您的活动能力:

  • 心率和心律的变化。有些人发现,服用阿片类药物时,他们的心跳更慢或不规律。服用阿片类药物时,这些变化可能使运动更困难、更不舒适或更危险。
  • 呼吸困难。阿片类药物可抑制您的咳嗽能力。如果您有过敏反应或在运动期间被鼻窦引流所困扰,您可能会感到胸部更加充血,因为您的身体不太能咳出肺部和咽喉里的东西。
  • 耐力下降。阿片类药物会减缓您的呼吸和心率(心动过缓)。当您呼吸较少时,您吸入的氧气会更少,肌肉获得的氧气就会减少。因此,您可能会发现您会更容易疲劳,或者无法达到您平常的运动强度。
  • 骨质疏松症和骨折。服用阿片类药物可能会降低骨骼强度,久而久之,您的骨骼会变薄(骨质疏松症)。这种情况下,您可能更容易骨折,特别是如果您参加了具有冲击力的活动,例如跑步。
  • 跌倒次数更多。服用阿片类药物的人比服用其他类型止痛药的人跌倒的次数更多。如果您因其他健康问题出现平衡问题或肌肉萎缩,如果您在运动时服用阿片类药物,您更有可能跌倒。

它们还会影响您的消化和情绪:

  • 便秘。阿片类药物可以减少使食物通过结肠的肌肉的收缩。即使服药时间很短,您也可能会觉得运动让您感到不适。
  • 恶心。有些人服用阿片类药物时会感到恶心,即使他们在饭后服用。在恶心时,需要不懈努力的活动(如跑步)可能不舒服或难以忍受。
  • 情绪的变化。阿片类药物会影响您对很多基本的人类情绪的感受。如果您经常服用这些药物,您可能会发现您对活动的享受、锻炼的动机和相关的感受都发生了变化。

如果您和您的医生认为阿片类药物可以治疗您的疼痛,并且您想继续运动,那么您可以采取措施将运动中受伤的风险降到最低。

  • 替换成不太费力的运动。在平坦、明亮的地方散步可能比跑步更安全。
  • 选择影响较小的活动。浅水中的运动课可以替代陆地上有氧运动或其他健身课程。
  • 使用健身器材。与在街上骑自行车相比,固定自行车更加稳定,对平衡力的要求更低。
  • 减少锻炼时间。将锻炼时间从一个小时减少到 30 或 40 分钟,可以让您不那么累并降低跌倒的风险。
June 24, 2022 了解更多深度信息

Exercise and opioids — What to know before you go

Opioid medications can make it more difficult to exercise safely. Learn how to stay safe if you are active while taking opioids.

Work is over for the day, and you're ready to go on your evening bike ride. However, your back has been giving you trouble, and you recently started taking an opioid medication for your pain. Is it still okay to ride?

Exercise can play an important role in managing pain and in improving your mood, which may decrease your feelings of pain. And the benefits of regular activity – better heart health, stronger bones, more flexibility and better balance – all play a role in keeping you healthy. So when you are being treated for chronic pain, it may be tempting to keep up your fitness routine.

However, if you're taking opioids to manage pain, it may be best to adjust your routine. Opioids cause several changes in your heart, lung and bone functions that may affect your ability to be active:

  • Changes in your heart rate and rhythm. Some people find that their heart beats more slowly or irregularly when they take opioid medications. These changes may make it harder, less comfortable or dangerous to exercise while taking opioids.
  • Breathing trouble. Opioid medications suppress your ability to cough. If you have allergies or are bothered by sinus drainage during activity, you may feel more congestion in your chest because your body is less able to cough matter out of your lungs and throat.
  • Reduced endurance. Opioids slow your breathing and heart rate (bradycardia). When you breathe less, you take in less oxygen, which means that less oxygen is available to your muscles. As a result, you may find that you tire more quickly or cannot exercise as hard as you usually do.
  • Osteoporosis and bone fractures. Taking opioids can reduce building (metabolism) of bone, and over time your bones may become thinner (osteoporosis). When this happens, you may be more likely to experience breaks (fractures) in your bones. This may be more likely to occur if you engage in activities that involve impact, such as running.
  • More falls. People who take opioid drugs fall more often than those taking other types of pain medication. If you have balance problems or muscle wasting due to other health conditions, you may be even more likely to fall if you take opioids while exercising.

They also affect your digestion and emotions:

  • Constipation. Opioids reduce the contraction of muscles that move food through your colon. Even after using them for just a short time, you may find exercise to be uncomfortable.
  • Nausea. Some people feel nauseated when taking opioids, even if they take these drugs with food. Activities that require strenuous effort, such as running, may be unpleasant or impossible if you feel like you may throw up.
  • Changes in emotions. Opioids affect how you experience many basic human emotions. If you take them regularly, you may see changes in your enjoyment of activity, your motivation to exercise and related feelings.

If you and your doctor decide opioids are right for your pain and you want to remain active, you can take steps to minimize the risk of injury while exercising.

  • Substitute activities that require less exertion. If you live near a flat, well-lit place, walking may be a safer choice than running.
  • Choose activities that involve less impact. Exercise classes in shallow water may be an alternative to aerobics or other fitness classes on land.
  • Use exercise machines. A stationary bike at the gym offers more stability and requires less balance than riding a bicycle on the street.
  • Reduce workout time. Cutting an hour-long workout to 30 or 40 minutes will reduce the risk of falling because you're tired or losing motivation.
Feb. 13, 2018 See more In-depth