阿尔茨海默病:确保搬家当天平滑过渡

携患有阿尔茨海默病的亲人搬进新家或新场所是一项艰巨的任务。以下技巧有助于提前计划(从早期探索各种方案到添加熟悉的感觉)。

来自妙佑医疗国际员工

搬家向来不易。对于阿尔茨海默病患者来说,改变常规并进入陌生的环境可能尤其紧张。

如果您正在帮助罹患阿尔茨海默病的亲人搬入新家或护理设施,尽可能让他们适应过渡期。

提前制定计划

如有可能,在他或她仍然可以做出合理的选择时,和您的亲人谈谈对生活安排的偏好。以后可能更难猜测您的亲人想要的东西。

如果您的亲人要搬到护理机构,在搬家前一天的不同时间频繁探访。与工作人员谈论您亲人的背景和任何特殊需求。提供您亲人的医疗和心理健康史的详细信息,包括详细的药物清单。

深思熟虑这些探访是否包含您的亲人。如果您的亲人有兴趣,可以带上他。如果您觉得探访只会产生压力和焦虑,那就不要带您的亲人去了。

添加熟悉的内容

在搬家之前,让您亲人的新房间或空间看起来和感觉都尽可能熟悉。用一床深受喜爱的被子、一个放有特别物件的架子、一把最喜欢的椅子或其他有意义的物品来装饰这个区域。熟悉的物品可以激发联系感和归属感,并增强您亲人的安全感。

在房间中放置亲人和朋友的照片、纪念册或相册。回忆过去可以帮助阿尔茨海默病患者将令人安心的回忆带入现在。给图片贴上标签,以帮助工作人员或其他人识别您亲人生活中的人,并鼓励谈论过去。

在为您的亲人准备住处时,请留意祖传物品、珍贵物品或不可替代的物品。不妨携带一些在必要情况下容易替换的物品,例如人造珠宝或旧照片的副本。

重要的日子

在搬家的那一天,请尽可能遵循关爱之人的日常习惯。如果可以的话,请在关爱之人一天中状态最佳的时间处理搬家事宜,无论是在早晨还是下午。

当您搬家的时候,尽您最大的努力保持乐观。尽量不要和您的关爱之人争论为什么需要搬家。您的态度可以帮助关爱之人在新的环境中感到安全和有保障。

一旦您的关爱之人安定下来,请相信工作人员会为您的下一个重大步骤“离开”提供帮助。工作人员可能会在您离开的时候让您的关爱之人参与一项有意义的活动,而不是把您的离开当作一件重要的事情来看待。

July 02, 2022 了解更多深度信息

Alzheimer's: Smoothing the transition on moving day

Moving a loved one who has Alzheimer's into a new home or facility is a daunting task. Here's help planning ahead.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Moving from one home to another is never easy. For a person who has Alzheimer's disease or another disorder causing dementia, changing the routine and moving into a new or unfamiliar environment can be especially stressful.

If you're helping someone with dementia move into your home or a care facility, find out how to make the transition as comfortable as possible.

Plan ahead

If possible, talk to the person with dementia about preferences for living arrangements while he or she can still make reasonable choices.

When planning the move, be honest with the person and provide as much information as is appropriate. You might consider allowing the person to make some choices in the process. If the person becomes angry or resistant, ask other caregivers, family members and the person's health care provider for help explaining the importance of the move.

If the person with dementia will be moving into your home, discuss with other family members how you will all handle the expenses as well as the time commitment. Be prepared to make changes to your routine to provide care and bring the person to medical appointments. It's also important to think about how to make your home safe for the person with dementia.

If the person with dementia will be moving to a care facility, speak with the staff about the person's background, hobbies, interests and any special needs. Provide the person's medical and mental health history, including a detailed medication list.

Add familiar touches

Before the move, make the person's new room or space look and feel as familiar as possible. Decorate the area with a favorite chair or other meaningful possessions. Familiar belongings can trigger feelings of connectedness and ownership, as well as boost the person's sense of security.

Stock the space with pictures of loved ones and friends or photo albums. Play favorite or familiar music. Reminiscing about the past can help a person with dementia bring reassuring memories into the present.

The big day

On the day of the move, follow the person's normal routine as much as possible. If you can, handle the move during the person's typical best time of day — whether it's in the morning or the afternoon. Or you might consider having friends or family take the person out for the day so you can complete the move.

While you're moving, do your best to stay positive. Try not to argue with the person about why he or she needs to move. Your attitude can help the person with dementia feel safe and secure in the new environment.

If the person is moving into a care facility, once the person is settled trust the staff to help with the next big step — your departure. Rather than making a big deal about your leaving, the staff might engage the person in a meaningful activity while you walk away.

Leaving a person with dementia in a care facility might be difficult for you — both on the day of the move and in the weeks and months that follow. Feelings of grief, loss, relief and guilt are normal. Make sure you have someone to support you on moving day. A social worker might be able to help.

It might take time for the person with dementia to get used to his or her new living arrangement. Be patient. If the person is living in your home, tell him or her that you're glad about the move because it means spending more time together. If the person is living in a care facility, visit often and encourage friends and family to do the same. Extra care and attention can help make the new place a home.

Nov. 20, 2020 See more In-depth