脑震荡研究和教育赋能患者护理

研究脑部,让运动员更安全

来自妙佑医疗国际员工

妙佑医疗国际运动医学中心的骨科医生和联合主管 Michael Stuart 医学博士说,年轻人应该享受体育活动带来的回报。“我的方法一直是,我们不想放弃运动、团队运动或碰撞性运动。我们需要努力使运动更安全。”

作为主要转诊中心,妙佑医疗国际收治过许多运动员,如曾为 Ben Utecht 治疗过脑震荡或其他创伤性脑损伤。妙佑医疗国际的专家们致力于提供卓越的治疗方案,同时也专注于研究和教育工作,以对脑震荡做出更准确、客观的诊断,使各个年龄段和能力水平不同的运动员都能更安全地进行运动。

“诊断脑震荡很有挑战性,” Michael J. Stuart 医学博士说,他是骨科外科医生兼妙佑医疗国际运动医学中心联合主任。“传统方法是通过球员描述的症状、可观察到的体征或一些与记忆、回忆和平衡有关的侧面检查来诊断脑震荡的。这些都很重要,但是也有一小部分运动员没有报告症状或还没有症状,因为症状会随着时间的推移而演变。”

为了解决这个问题,妙佑医疗国际的专家采取了多方面的方法来研究脑震荡和创伤性脑损伤,期望能消除一些猜测。

这些努力包括:

  • 开展脑部研究,解开让运动员更加安全的答案:位于佛罗里达州院区的佑医疗国际脑库的研究人员正在研究慢性创伤性脑病,这种脑部退化很可能是由反复的头部创伤引起。研究小组发现,有证据表明,职业橄榄球运动员和年轻时参加业余接触性运动的男性容易患上这种疾病,他们正在努力解决其他问题,以期让所有运动员都更加安全。
  • 开发和测试脑震荡工具:妙佑医疗国际提供专业知识和建议,用于开发 King-Devick 测试,这是一种快速、易于管理的眼动测试。妙佑医疗国际还致力于开发未来有望用于定量测量脑震荡的仪器。
  • 促进引领变革的对话:妙佑医疗国际举办专题讨论会,进一步促进脑震荡对话,其中包括妙佑医疗国际的冰球峰会。这些峰会已通过讨论,提出行动项目。

不到十分之一的人会失去意识。不是必须被“打昏”才会患上脑震荡。

两分钟测试

King-Devick 测试有助于客观地决定一名运动员是否应该退出比赛。边线测试需要两分钟。测试项目:

  • 眼动
  • 注意力
  • 专心度
  • 言语/语言
  • 其他脑功能低下的体征

用卡片或平板电脑显示一串个位数字,在运动员读数的同时进行计时。将完成此练习的时间与运动员的基线测试时间进行比较。

反复脑震荡

一种脑震荡可能导致另一种脑震荡。脑震荡后,您在同一赛季内再次遭受脑震荡的可能性要高出 3 至 4 倍。第二次脑震荡可能是最后一次。二次撞击综合征是指当某人在从最初的伤害中恢复的期间发生了第二次脑震荡时,可能会导致快速的脑肿胀,而这通常是致命的。所有脑震荡应由医疗专业人员进行评估。

慈善捐赠加快了护理需求的发现、发展和提供,激发了最需要护理的人的乐观情绪。

Concussion Research and Education Power Patient Care

Studying the brain to keep athletes safer

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Michael Stuart, M.D., orthopedic surgeon and co-director of Mayo Clinic Sports Medicine Center, says that youth should enjoy the rewards of participating in sports. "My approach has always been that we don't want to get rid of sports, or team sports or collision sports. We need to strive to make them safer."

As a major referral center, Mayo Clinic sees many athletes such as Ben Utecht who need care after a concussion or other traumatic brain injury. And while Mayo Clinic's experts are committed to providing unparalleled treatment options, they are also focused on research and education efforts to more accurately and objectively diagnose concussions to make sports safer for athletes at every age and ability.

"Diagnosing a concussion can be challenging," says Michael J. Stuart, M.D., orthopedic surgeon and co-director of Mayo Clinic Sports Medicine Center. "Traditionally, concussion has been diagnosed by player reported symptoms, observable signs or some type of examination on the sideline having to do with memory, recall and balance. These are all important, but there's a subgroup of athletes who don't report symptoms or don't have them yet because symptoms can evolve over time."

To address this concern, Mayo Clinic experts take a multifaceted approach to studying concussions and traumatic brain injury in hopes of eliminating some of the guesswork.

Efforts include:

  • Studying the brain to unlock answers about keeping athletes safer: Researchers at Mayo Clinic's brain bank on the Florida campus are studying chronic traumatic encephalopathy — brain degeneration likely caused by repeated head traumas. The team has found evidence that professional football players and males who participated in amateur contact sports in their youth are susceptible to this disease, and they are working to solve additional questions aimed at keeping all athletes safer.
  • Developing and testing concussion tools: Mayo Clinic provided expertise and counsel used in the development of the King-Devick Test, a rapid, easy-to-administer eye movement test. Mayo Clinic is also working on the development of devices that will hopefully be used to quantitatively measure concussions in the future.
  • Fostering dialogue that leads to change: Mayo Clinic hosts symposiums to further concussion dialogue, including Mayo Clinic's Ice Hockey Summits. Discussion from these summits has resulted in action items.

Less than 1 in 10 people lose consciousness. You don't need to be "knocked out" to have a concussion.

Two-Minute Test

The King-Devick Test helps objectively determine whether an athlete should be removed from play. The sideline test takes two minutes. It screens for:

  • Eye movements
  • Attention
  • Concentration
  • Speech/language
  • Other signs of subpar brain function

Athletes are timed while reading a series of single-digit numbers off a card or tablet. The time to complete this exercise is compared to the player's baseline test time.

Repeat Concussions

One concussion can lead to another. After a concussion, you're three to four times more likely to sustain another concussion within the same season. A second hit could be the last. Second impact syndrome, when someone incurs a second concussion while still recovering from the initial injury, may result in rapid brain swelling that's often fatal. All concussions should be assessed by a medical professional.

Philanthropic gifts accelerate the discovery, development and delivery of care that inspires optimism in people who need it most.