概述

伤寒由伤寒沙门氏菌引起。伤寒在发达国家极少发生。在发展中国家,伤寒仍是非常严重的健康威胁,尤其对于儿童而言。

伤寒通过被污染的食物和水或者通过与感染者密切接触而传播。体征和症状通常包括:

  • 高烧
  • 头痛
  • 胃疼
  • 便秘或腹泻

大部分伤寒患者在开始抗生素治疗后几天内会好转,但少部分人可能会死于并发症。伤寒疫苗只能起到部分预防作用。疫苗通常会留给可能接触该疾病或要前往伤寒多发地区的人。

症状

相关体征和症状可能会逐步发展,通常在患病后 1 到 3 周内显现。

早期疾病

出现体征和症状后,您很可能会经历:

  • 开始时是低烧,但温度却每天增加,可能高达 104.9 华氏度(40.5 摄氏度)
  • 头痛
  • 虚弱和疲劳
  • 肌肉酸痛
  • 出汗
  • 干咳
  • 食欲不振和体重减轻
  • 腹痛
  • 腹泻或便秘
  • 皮疹
  • 腹部严重肿胀

后期疾病

如果您不接受治疗,您可能会:

  • 变得神志不清
  • 躺下不动,因疲惫半闭眼睛,也就是所谓的伤寒状态

此外,这个时候通常还会发生危及生命的并发症。

有些人在退烧后两周之内均有可能再次出现体征和症状。

何时就诊

如果怀疑自己患了伤寒请立即就诊。如果您来自美国,在外国旅游期间患病,请拨打美国领事馆电话索要医生名单。最好的做法是,提前了解您所访问地区的医疗服务,随身携带一份包括建议医生的姓名、地址和电话号码的清单。

如果您在回家后出现体征和症状,可以考虑咨询专门从事国际旅游医学或传染病的医生。专科医师比不熟悉这些领域的医生更能迅速发现并治疗您的疾病。

病因

伤寒由叫做伤寒沙门氏菌的危险细菌引起。伤寒沙门氏菌与引起沙门氏菌病(另一种严重的肠道感染)的细菌有关,但它们不是同一种细菌。

粪口传播途径

引起伤寒的细菌通过受污染的食物或水传播,有时也通过与感染者的直接接触传播。在伤寒多发(地方性流行)的发展中国家,大多数病例是由饮用水污染和卫生条件差所导致。工业化国家的大多数人在旅行时携带有伤寒菌,并通过粪口途径传播给其他人。

这意味着伤寒沙门氏菌通过感染者的粪便传播,有时也通过尿液传播。如果您食用了伤寒患者用手递给您的食物,且他/她在上完厕所后未洗净手,您可能被感染。饮用受该种细菌污染的水也可能使您感染。

伤寒携带者

即使经过抗生素治疗,少数伤寒康复者的肠道或胆囊中也会存留有细菌,时间经常长达数年之久。这些人被称为慢性携带者,尽管他们本身不再具有这种疾病的体征或症状,但他们仍能通过粪便释放细菌并感染其他人。

风险因素

伤寒是一种严重的全球性威胁,每年有约 2700 万或更多人受到影响。这种疾病在印度、东南亚、非洲、南美洲和许多其它地区都有发生。

世界范围内,儿童患这种疾病的风险最大,尽管他们的症状通常比成人轻。

如果您生活在伤寒罕见的国家,以下情况会导致患伤寒的风险升高:

  • 在有伤寒的地区工作或旅行
  • 作为临床微生物学家处理伤寒沙门氏菌
  • 与已经感染或最近感染伤寒的人有过密切接触
  • 饮用被含有伤寒杆菌的污水污染的水

并发症

肠出血或肠穿孔

伤寒最严重的并发症为肠出血或肠穿孔,可能在发病的第三周出现。当您的小肠或大肠有洞时,导致肠内容物泄漏到您的腹腔中,即发生肠穿孔,这会引发诸如严重的腹痛、恶心、呕吐和血液感染(脓毒症)等体征和症状。这种危及生命的并发症需要立即就医。

其他较不常见的并发症

其他可能的并发症包括:

  • 心肌发炎(心肌炎)
  • 心内膜和瓣膜发炎(心内膜炎)
  • 感染性肺炎
  • 胰腺发炎(胰腺炎)
  • 肾脏或膀胱感染
  • 大脑和脊髓周围的覆膜和液体感染及发炎(脑膜炎)。
  • 精神方面问题,如谵妄、幻觉和偏执性精神病

若加以及时治疗,工业化国家的伤寒患者几乎全部都可以康复。如果不予以治疗,有些患者可能死于该疾病所引起的并发症。

预防

安全的饮用水、改善的卫生条件和充足的医疗护理有助于预防和控制伤寒。遗憾的是,这些方面在许多发展中国家难以实现。因此,有些专家认为疫苗是控制伤寒的最佳方法。

如果您生活在或准备前往伤寒感染风险较高的地区,建议您接种疫苗。

疫苗

目前可用的疫苗有两种。

  • 一种是需要在癌细胞转移前至少一周进行单次注射。
  • 另一种则需要口服四粒胶囊,每隔一天服一粒。

两种疫苗都不是 100% 有效,且均需要重复接种,因为疫苗的药效会随着时间的推移减弱。

由于疫苗无法提供全面的保护,当您前往高风险地区旅行时,请遵循以下准则:

  • 洗手。经常用热肥皂水洗手是控制感染的最好方法。在吃饭或准备食材前以及排便后洗手。随身携带含酒精的洗手液以应对没有水可用的情况。
  • 避免饮用未经处理的水。在伤寒多发的地区,被污染的饮用水是尤其需要注意的问题。因此,请饮用瓶装水或罐装、瓶装碳酸饮料、葡萄酒和啤酒。碳酸瓶装水比非碳酸瓶装水更安全。

    饮用常温饮品。使用瓶装水刷牙,避免在洗澡时吞咽水。

  • 不要生食水果和蔬菜。由于未加工的食物可能用不卫生的水清洗过,请避免食用不能削皮的水果或蔬菜,特别是生菜。为了确保绝对安全,您最好避免食用所有未加工的食物。
  • 食用烹制过的食物。避免食用在室温下储存或盛放的食物。热气腾腾的食物为最佳。虽然豪华餐馆所提供的食物不一定是安全的,但您最好避免食用街边小吃,因为后者的食材更容易受到污染。

防止传染他人

如果您正在从伤寒中恢复,以下措施可以帮助确保他人的安全:

  • 服用抗生素。按照医生的指示服用抗生素,并确保服完处方中所开的全部药物。
  • 经常洗手。这是为了防止传染他人,您可以做的最重要的一件事情。用热肥皂水彻底搓洗至少 30 秒,尤其是在饭前便后。
  • 避免处理食物。在医生告知您不再具有传染性之前,避免为别人准备食物。如果您在食品服务行业或医疗保健机构工作,在检查表明您不再会散播伤寒菌之前,您不得返回工作岗位。

Jan. 13, 2022
  1. Wain J, et al. Typhoid fever. The Lancet. 2015;385:1136.
  2. Longo DL, et al., eds. Salmonellosis In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 19th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2015. http://www.accessmedicine.com. Accessed June 10, 2015.
  3. Typhoid fever. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/typhoid-fever/index.html. Accessed June 10, 2015.
  4. Hohmann EL. Epidemiology, microbiology, clinical manifestations, and diagnosis of typhoid fever. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed June 10, 2015.
  5. Hohmann EL. Treatment and prevention of typhoid fever. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed June 10, 2015.
  6. Anwar E, et al. Vaccines for preventing typhoid fever. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/14651858.CD001261.pub3/abstract. Accessed June 10, 2015.
  7. Ryan ET, et al. Treatment and prevention of enteric (typhoid and paratyphoid) fever. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 5, 2018.
  8. Steckelberg JM (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. July 11, 2018.

Overview

Typhoid fever is caused by Salmonella typhi bacteria. Typhoid fever is rare in industrialized countries. However, it remains a serious health threat in the developing world, especially for children.

Typhoid fever spreads through contaminated food and water or through close contact with someone who's infected. Signs and symptoms usually include high fever, headache, abdominal pain, and either constipation or diarrhea.

Most people with typhoid fever feel better within a few days of starting antibiotic treatment, although a small number of them may die of complications. Vaccines against typhoid fever are available, but they're only partially effective. Vaccines usually are reserved for those who may be exposed to the disease or are traveling to areas where typhoid fever is common.

Symptoms

Signs and symptoms are likely to develop gradually — often appearing one to three weeks after exposure to the disease.

Early illness

Once signs and symptoms do appear, you're likely to experience:

  • Fever that starts low and increases daily, possibly reaching as high as 104.9 F (40.5 C)
  • Headache
  • Weakness and fatigue
  • Muscle aches
  • Sweating
  • Dry cough
  • Loss of appetite and weight loss
  • Abdominal pain
  • Diarrhea or constipation
  • Rash
  • Extremely swollen abdomen

Later illness

If you don't receive treatment, you may:

  • Become delirious
  • Lie motionless and exhausted with your eyes half-closed in what's known as the typhoid state

In addition, life-threatening complications often develop at this time.

In some people, signs and symptoms may return up to two weeks after the fever has subsided.

When to see a doctor

See a doctor immediately if you suspect you have typhoid fever. If you become ill while traveling in a foreign country, call the U.S. Consulate for a list of doctors. Better yet, find out in advance about medical care in the areas you'll visit, and carry a list of the names, addresses and phone numbers of recommended doctors.

If you develop signs and symptoms after you return home, consider consulting a doctor who focuses on international travel medicine or infectious diseases. A specialist may be able to recognize and treat your illness more quickly than can a doctor who isn't familiar with these areas.

Causes

Typhoid fever is caused by virulent bacteria called Salmonella typhi (S. typhi). Although they're related, S. typhi and the bacteria responsible for salmonellosis, another serious intestinal infection, aren't the same.

Fecal-oral transmission route

The bacteria that cause typhoid fever spread through contaminated food or water and occasionally through direct contact with someone who is infected. In developing nations, where typhoid fever is endemic, most cases result from contaminated drinking water and poor sanitation. The majority of people in industrialized countries pick up typhoid bacteria while traveling and spread it to others through the fecal-oral route.

This means that S. typhi is passed in the feces and sometimes in the urine of infected people. You can contract the infection if you eat food handled by someone with typhoid fever who hasn't washed carefully after using the toilet. You can also become infected by drinking water contaminated with the bacteria.

Typhoid carriers

Even after treatment with antibiotics, a small number of people who recover from typhoid fever continue to harbor the bacteria in their intestinal tracts or gallbladders, often for years. These people, called chronic carriers, shed the bacteria in their feces and are capable of infecting others, although they no longer have signs or symptoms of the disease themselves.

Risk factors

Typhoid fever remains a serious worldwide threat — especially in the developing world — affecting an estimated 26 million or more people each year. The disease is endemic in India, Southeast Asia, Africa, South America and many other areas.

Worldwide, children are at greatest risk of getting the disease, although they generally have milder symptoms than adults do.

If you live in a country where typhoid fever is rare, you're at increased risk if you:

  • Work in or travel to areas where typhoid fever is endemic
  • Work as a clinical microbiologist handling Salmonella typhi bacteria
  • Have close contact with someone who is infected or has recently been infected with typhoid fever
  • Drink water contaminated by sewage that contains S. typhi

Complications

Intestinal bleeding or holes

The most serious complications of typhoid fever — intestinal bleeding or holes (perforations) in the intestine — may develop in the third week of illness. A perforated intestine occurs when your small intestine or large bowel develops a hole, causing intestinal contents to leak into your abdominal cavity and triggering signs and symptoms, such as severe abdominal pain, nausea, vomiting and bloodstream infection (sepsis). This life-threatening complication requires immediate medical care.

Other, less common complications

Other possible complications include:

  • Inflammation of the heart muscle (myocarditis)
  • Inflammation of the lining of the heart and valves (endocarditis)
  • Pneumonia
  • Inflammation of the pancreas (pancreatitis)
  • Kidney or bladder infections
  • Infection and inflammation of the membranes and fluid surrounding your brain and spinal cord (meningitis)
  • Psychiatric problems, such as delirium, hallucinations and paranoid psychosis

With prompt treatment, nearly all people in industrialized nations recover from typhoid fever. Without treatment, some people may not survive complications of the disease.

Prevention

In many developing nations, the public health goals that can help prevent and control typhoid fever — safe drinking water, improved sanitation and adequate medical care — may be difficult to achieve. For that reason, some experts believe that vaccinating high-risk populations is the best way to control typhoid fever.

A vaccine is recommended if you're traveling to areas where the risk of getting typhoid fever is high.

Vaccines

Two vaccines are available.

  • One is injected in a single dose at least one week before travel.
  • One is given orally in four capsules, with one capsule to be taken every other day.

Neither vaccine is 100 percent effective, and both require repeat immunizations, as vaccine effectiveness diminishes over time.

Because the vaccine won't provide complete protection, follow these guidelines when traveling to high-risk areas:

  • Wash your hands. Frequent hand-washing in hot, soapy water is the best way to control infection. Wash before eating or preparing food and after using the toilet. Carry an alcohol-based hand sanitizer for times when water isn't available.
  • Avoid drinking untreated water. Contaminated drinking water is a particular problem in areas where typhoid fever is endemic. For that reason, drink only bottled water or canned or bottled carbonated beverages, wine and beer. Carbonated bottled water is safer than uncarbonated bottled water is.

    Ask for drinks without ice. Use bottled water to brush your teeth, and try not to swallow water in the shower.

  • Avoid raw fruits and vegetables. Because raw produce may have been washed in unsafe water, avoid fruits and vegetables that you can't peel, especially lettuce. To be absolutely safe, you may want to avoid raw foods entirely.
  • Choose hot foods. Avoid food that's stored or served at room temperature. Steaming hot foods are best. And although there's no guarantee that meals served at the finest restaurants are safe, it's best to avoid food from street vendors — it's more likely to be contaminated.

Prevent infecting others

If you're recovering from typhoid fever, these measures can help keep others safe:

  • Take your antibiotics. Follow your doctor's instructions for taking your antibiotics, and be sure to finish the entire prescription.
  • Wash your hands often. This is the single most important thing you can do to keep from spreading the infection to others. Use hot, soapy water and scrub thoroughly for at least 30 seconds, especially before eating and after using the toilet.
  • Avoid handling food. Avoid preparing food for others until your doctor says you're no longer contagious. If you work in the food service industry or a health care facility, you won't be allowed to return to work until tests show that you're no longer shedding typhoid bacteria.
July 11, 2015
References
  1. Wain J, et al. Typhoid fever. The Lancet. 2015;385:1136.
  2. Longo DL, et al., eds. Salmonellosis In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 19th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2015. http://www.accessmedicine.com. Accessed June 10, 2015.
  3. Typhoid fever. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/nczved/divisions/dfbmd/diseases/typhoid_fever. Accessed June 10, 2015.
  4. Hohmann EL. Epidemiology, microbiology, clinical manifestations, and diagnosis of typhoid fever. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed June 10, 2015.
  5. Hohmann EL. Treatment and prevention of typhoid fever. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed June 10, 2015.
  6. Anwar E, et al. Vaccines for preventing typhoid fever. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/14651858.CD001261.pub3/abstract. Accessed June 10, 2015.