自杀:有人自杀时该怎么办

当认识的人有自杀倾向时,您可能不知道该怎么办。学习警告信号、应该问什么问题以及如何获得帮助。

来自妙佑医疗国际员工

当某人说他或她正在考虑自杀,或者说的话听起来好像其正在考虑自杀时,这可能会非常令人难过。您可能不确定要采取什么措施来提供帮助,是否应该认真谈论自杀问题,或者您的干预是否会使情况变得更糟。采取行动永远是最好的选择。以下是要做的事。

从提问开始

第一步是要找出这个人是否有自杀的危险。保持敏感,但要直接提出问题,比如:

  • 您如何应对生活中发生的事?
  • 您有没有想过要放弃?
  • 您想过死吗?
  • 您想伤害自己吗?
  • 您有自杀的想法吗?
  • 您以前有没有想过自杀,或者试图伤害自己?
  • 您想过怎么做或者什么时候做吗?
  • 您有武器或者其他可以用来伤害自己的东西吗?

询问自杀想法或感受不会促使某人做出自我毁灭的事情。事实上,提供一个可以谈论其感受的机会可能会降低自杀的风险。

留意一些危险迹象

您不一定能够判断亲人或朋友是否有自杀倾向。但这里有一些常见的迹象:

  • 谈论自杀,例如说“我要自杀”、“我希望我死了”或“我希望我没有出生”
  • 获取自杀工具,例如购买枪支或囤积药片等
  • 退出社会交往,想独处
  • 情绪波动大,例如前一天还情绪高涨,第二天就情绪低落
  • 脑海中被死亡、寻死或暴力的想法所占据
  • 对某种情况感到深陷其中或毫无希望
  • 酒精或药物使用增加
  • 改变日常习惯,包括饮食或睡眠模式
  • 做危险或自我毁灭的事情,例如吸毒或鲁莽驾驶
  • 在没有其他合理解释的情况下,开始安置财务或其他事务
  • 向别人道别,仿佛再也不能相见
  • 性格发生变化或极度焦虑或激动,尤其是在遇到上面列出的一些警告信号时

获取紧急援助

如果有人企图自杀:

  • 不要让此人独处。
  • 立即拨打 911 或当地的急救电话。或者,在您能安全做到的情况下,可以自己把患者送到最近的医院急诊室。
  • 尝试查明他或她是否受到酒精或药物的影响,或者可能服用过量药物。
  • 立刻告诉家人或朋友发生了什么事。

如果一个朋友或亲人的言行举止让您感觉他或她可能企图自杀,不要试图独自处理这种情况:

  • 尽快从训练有素的专业人士那里获取帮助。此人可能需要住院治疗,直到自杀危机过去。
  • 鼓励此人拨打自杀热线电话。在美国,您可以拨打国家预防自杀热线 800-273-TALK(800-273-8255),联系训练有素的咨询师。拨打相同的号码,然后按“1”可接通退伍军人危机热线。

青少年自杀预防

青少年:当您认识的人有自杀倾向时

如果您是一名青少年,怀疑某位朋友或同学有自杀倾向,请采取行动。

  • 直接询问对方的感受,尽管可能会很尴尬。倾听对方在说什么,并认真对待。仅与真正表示关心的人聊一聊,就会带来很大的影响。
  • 如果您已经和他谈过了,但还是很担心,请把您的担忧告诉老师、辅导员、在教堂工作的人、当地青少年中心工作人员或其他有责任感的成年人。

可能很难判断朋友或同学是否有自杀倾向,您可能害怕采取行动以及害怕出错。如果某人的行为言谈让您觉得他或她可能有自杀倾向,那么这个人可能正在与一些重大问题作斗争,即使目前尚未考虑自杀。您可以帮助他/她找到适合的资源来解决问题。

提供帮助

如果一个朋友或亲人想要自杀,他或她需要专业的帮助,即使自杀并不是迫在眉睫的危险。以下是您可以做的:

  • 鼓励此人拨打自杀热线电话。在美国,您可以拨打国家预防自杀热线 800-273-TALK (800-273-8255),联系经过培训的咨询师。
  • 鼓励患者寻求治疗。有自杀倾向或严重抑郁的人可能没有精力或动机去寻求帮助。如果此人不想咨询医生或心理健康服务人员,建议从支持团体、危机中心、宗教团体、老师或其他值得信任的人那里寻求帮助。您可以提供支持与建议,但记住,您的工作不是代替心理健康服务人员。
  • 主动提出帮助该人采取措施获得帮助和支持。例如,您可以研究治疗方案、打电话、查看保险利益信息,甚至可以主动提出和患者一起去就诊。
  • 鼓励此人与您交流。想要自杀的人可能会因为羞愧、内疚或尴尬而试图压抑自己的情感。支持和理解,表达您的观点而不是指责。认真倾听,避免打断。
  • 尊重对方,承认对方的感受。不要试图说服对方放弃他或她的感觉或表现出震惊。请记住,即使有自杀倾向的人没有合乎逻辑地思考,但情绪很真实。不尊重对方的感受可能会导致沟通中断。
  • 不要傲慢或武断。例如,不要告诉别人,“情况可能会更糟”或“您拥有活着的理由。”相反,您应该问这样的问题:“是什么让您感觉这么糟糕?”“什么能让您感觉好点?”或者“我能帮上什么忙?”
  • 永远不要承诺对某人的自杀倾向保密。要理解,但要说明如果您认为此人的生命处于危险之中,您可能无法兑现这样的承诺。在这种情况下,您必须寻求帮助。
  • 保证事情会变得更好。当有人想自杀时,似乎没有什么能让事情好转。向患者保证,通过适当的治疗,他或她可以找到其他的方法来应对,重新找回对生活的感觉。
  • 鼓励患者不要饮酒和吸毒。使用药物或酒精似乎可以缓解痛苦的感觉,但最终它会使事情变得更糟,它可能导致鲁莽的行为或感觉更抑郁。如果此人不能自己戒掉,那就帮助他/她找到治疗方法。
  • 如果可能,从患者家中移除有潜在危险的物品。如果可能,确保此人身边没有可能用于自杀的物品,例如刀、剃须刀、枪支或毒品。如果患者服用了可能会过量的药物,鼓励他或她请人保护并按医嘱给药。

认真对待自杀行为的所有迹象

如果有人说他或她想自杀,或者行为方式让您认为这个人可能有自杀倾向,不要忽略或忽视这种情况。许多自杀的人都在某种程度上表达过自己自杀的意图。您可能会担心自己反应过度,但您的朋友或所爱的人的安全最重要。当某人的生命处于危险之中时,不要再担心使你们关系紧张。

您没有责任阻止某人结束他或她的生命,但您的干预可能会帮助那个人看到他或她还可以选择其他方式,活下去并接受治疗。

延伸服务 — 预防青少年自杀

Feb. 12, 2022 了解更多深度信息

Suicide: What to do when someone is suicidal

When someone you know appears suicidal, you might not know what to do. Learn warning signs, what questions to ask and how to get help.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

When people say they're thinking about suicide, or say things that sound like they're considering suicide, it can be very upsetting. You may not be sure what to do to help, whether you should take talk of suicide seriously, or if your intervention might make the situation worse. Taking action is always the best choice. Here's what to do.

Start by asking questions

The first step is to find out whether the person is in danger of acting on suicidal feelings. Be sensitive, but ask direct questions, such as:

  • How are you coping with what's been happening in your life?
  • Do you ever feel like just giving up?
  • Are you thinking about dying?
  • Are you thinking about hurting yourself?
  • Are you thinking about suicide?
  • Have you ever thought about suicide before, or tried to harm yourself before?
  • Have you thought about how or when you'd do it?
  • Do you have access to weapons or things that can be used as weapons to harm yourself?

Asking about suicidal thoughts or feelings won't push someone into doing something self-destructive. In fact, offering an opportunity to talk about feelings may reduce the risk of acting on suicidal feelings.

Look for warning signs

You can't always tell when a loved one or friend is considering suicide. But here are some common signs:

  • Talking about suicide — for example, making statements such as "I'm going to kill myself," "I wish I were dead" or "I wish I hadn't been born"
  • Getting the means to take their own life, such as buying a gun or stockpiling pills
  • Withdrawing from social contact and wanting to be left alone
  • Having mood swings, such as being emotionally high one day and deeply discouraged the next
  • Being preoccupied with death, dying or violence
  • Feeling trapped or hopeless about a situation
  • Increasing use of alcohol or drugs
  • Changing normal routine, including eating or sleeping patterns
  • Doing risky or self-destructive things, such as using drugs or driving recklessly
  • Giving away belongings or getting affairs in order when there is no other logical explanation for doing this
  • Saying goodbye to people as if they won't be seen again
  • Developing personality changes or being severely anxious or agitated, particularly when experiencing some of the warning signs listed above

For immediate help

If someone has attempted suicide:

  • Don't leave the person alone.
  • Call 911 or your local emergency number right away. Or, if you think you can do so safely, take the person to the nearest hospital emergency room yourself.
  • Try to find out if the person is under the influence of alcohol or drugs or may have taken an overdose.
  • Tell a family member or friend right away what's going on.

If a friend or loved one talks or behaves in a way that makes you believe the person might attempt suicide, don't try to handle the situation alone:

  • Get help from a trained professional as quickly as possible. The person may need to be hospitalized until the suicidal crisis has passed.
  • Encourage the person to call a suicide hotline number.
    • In the U.S., anyone needing help can call or text 988 to reach the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline, available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Or use the Lifeline Chat. Services are free and confidential.
    • U.S. veterans or service members who are in crisis can call 988 and then press "1" for the Veterans Crisis Line. Or text 838255. Or chat online.
    • The Suicide & Crisis Lifeline in the U.S. has a Spanish language phone line at 1-888-628-9454 (toll-free).

Teen suicide prevention

Teenagers: When someone you know is suicidal

If you're a teenager who's concerned that a friend or classmate may be considering suicide, take action.

  • Ask the person directly about their feelings, even though it may be awkward. Listen to what the person has to say and take it seriously. Just talking to someone who really cares can make a big difference.
  • If you've talked to the person and you're still concerned, share your concerns with a teacher, guidance counselor, someone at church, someone at a local youth center or another responsible adult.

It may be hard to tell whether a friend or classmate is suicidal, and you may be afraid of taking action and being wrong. If someone's behavior or talk makes you think the person might be suicidal, that individual may be struggling with some major issues, even if not considering suicide at the moment. You can help the person get to the right resources.

Offer support

If a friend or loved one is thinking about suicide, professional help is needed, even if suicide isn't an immediate danger. Here's what you can do.

  • Encourage the person to call a suicide hotline number. In the U.S., call or text 988 to reach the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline, or use the Lifeline Chat. Veterans or service members can call 988 and then press "1," or text 838355, or chat online. The Suicide & Crisis Lifeline has a Spanish language phone line at 1-888-628-9454 (toll-free).
  • Encourage the person to seek treatment. A suicidal or severely depressed person may not have the energy or motivation to find help. If the person doesn't want to consult a doctor or mental health provider, suggest finding help from a support group, crisis center, faith community, teacher or other trusted person. You can offer support and advice — but remember that it's not your job to substitute for a mental health provider.
  • Offer to help the person take steps to get assistance and support. For example, you can research treatment options, make phone calls and review insurance benefit information, or even offer to go with the person to an appointment.
  • Encourage the person to communicate with you. Someone who's suicidal may be tempted to bottle up feelings because the person feels ashamed, guilty or embarrassed. Be supportive and understanding, and express your opinions without placing blame. Listen attentively and avoid interrupting.
  • Be respectful and acknowledge the person's feelings. Don't try to talk people out of their feelings or express shock. Remember, even though someone who's suicidal isn't thinking logically, the emotions are real. Not respecting how the person feels can shut down communication.
  • Don't be patronizing or judgmental. For example, don't tell someone, "Things could be worse" or "You have everything to live for." Instead, ask questions such as, "What's causing you to feel so bad?" "What would make you feel better?" or "How can I help?"
  • Never promise to keep someone's suicidal feelings a secret. Be understanding, but explain that you may not be able to keep such a promise if you think the person's life is in danger. At that point, you have to get help.
  • Offer reassurance that things can get better. When someone is suicidal, it seems as if nothing will make things better. Reassure the person that with appropriate treatment, other ways to cope can be developed and the person can feel better about life again.
  • Encourage the person to avoid alcohol and drug use. Using drugs or alcohol may seem to ease the painful feelings, but ultimately it makes things worse — it can lead to reckless behavior or feeling more depressed. If the person can't quit on their own, offer to help find treatment.
  • Remove potentially dangerous items from the person's home, if possible. If you can, make sure the person doesn't have items around that could be used for suicide — such as knives, razors, guns or drugs. If the person takes a medication that could be used for overdose, encourage the person to have someone safeguard it and give it as prescribed.

Take all signs of suicidal behavior seriously

If someone says they're thinking of suicide or behaves in a way that makes you think the person may be suicidal, don't play it down or ignore the situation. Many people who kill themselves have expressed the intention at some point. You may worry that you're overreacting, but the safety of your friend or loved one is most important. Don't worry about straining your relationship when someone's life is at stake.

You're not responsible for preventing someone from taking their own life — but your intervention may help the person see that other options are available to stay safe and get treatment.

Reach out — Preventing teen suicide

[Music playing]

[Woman singing]

[Song lyrics]

I know what it feels like to say I'm so cold. One without the other. Lost in that hole. Don't think you are all alone. You have somewhere to go. This ain't a one-person show. Let someone out there lend you a hand. Don't go through this alone.

Reach Out. Give someone a chance to help even when you are feeling down, down, down. Your whole life will turn around. Reach out to somebody. Give your hand to somebody. Life is in the palm of their hands.

Reach Out. Give someone a chance to help even when you are feeling down, down, down. Your whole life will turn around. Reach out to somebody. Give your hand to somebody. Life is in the palm of their hands. Reach out to them. Reach out to them. Reach out to them.

[Music playing]

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free, and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips and current health topics, like COVID-19, plus expertise on managing health.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

July 21, 2022 See more In-depth