نظرة عامة

الهربس النطاقي هو عدوى فيروسية تسبب طفحًا جلديًا مؤلمًا. بالرغم من إمكانية إصابة الهربس النطاقي لأي مكانٍ في الجسم، إلا أنه غالبًا ما يظهر على شكل شريطٍ واحدٍ من البثور يغطي الجانب الأيسر أو الأيمن من جذعك.

الهِربس النطاقي هو حالة مرضية ناجمة عن الفيروس النطاقي الحُماقي، وهو نفس الفيروس الذي يسبب جدري الماء. بعد إصابتك بالجدري، يكمن الفيروس في النسيج العصبي قرب النخاع الشوكي والمخ. وبعد سنوات، قد يعود الفيروس للنشاط مرةً أخرى مسببًا الهربس النطاقي.

بالرغم من أن الهربس النطاقي لا يشكل خطرًا على الحياة، إلا أنه قد يكون مؤلمًا جدًا. تساعد التحصينات على خفض احتمالية الإصابة بالهربس النطاقي، ويساعد العلاج المبكر على الحدّ من العدوى ومضاعفاتها.

الأعراض

تؤثر علامات وأعراض داء الهربس النطاقي في العادة على قسم صغير بجانب واحد من جسدك فقط. قد تتضمن هذه العلامات والأعراض:

  • آلامًا أو إحساسًا بالحرقة أو التنميل أو النَخْز
  • الحساسية تجاه اللمس
  • طفحًا جلديًا أحمر يبدأ في الظهور بعد بضع أيام من الشعور بالألم
  • بثورًا ممتلئة بالسوائل تنفتح وتتكون قشرة عليها
  • حكة

كما يشعر بعض الناس أيضًا بـ:

  • الحمى
  • الصداع
  • حساسية للضوء
  • الإرهاق

يكون الشعور بالألم عادة هو أول أعراض الإصابة بالهربس النطاقي. قد يكون الألم لدى البعض شديدًا. وبناءً على موضع الألم قد يتم تشخيص الأمر بالخطأ على أنها مشكلات تؤثر على القلب أو الرئتين أو الكليتين. بعض الناس يعانون ألم الإصابة بداء الهربس النطاقي من دون ظهور أي طفح جلدي.

ويكون ظهور الطفح الجلدي بسبب داء الهربس النطاقي في الأغلب على هيئة حزام من البثور يلف حول الجانب الأيمن أو الأيسر من الجذع. كما قد يظهر طفح الهربس النطاقي الجلدي في بعض الأحيان حول إحدى العينين أو في جانب واحد من الرقبة أو الوجه.

متى تزور الطبيب

اتصل بطبيبك على الفور إذا شككت في إصابتك بداء الهربس النطاقي ولكن بالأخص في المواقف التالية:

  • الشعور بالألم أو ظهور طفح جلدي بالقرب من إحدى العينين. إذا تُرك هذا الأمر من دون علاج فقد تؤدي الإصابة إلى ضرر دائم بالعين.
  • إذا كنت تبلغ من العمر 60 عامًا أو أكثر، فهذا لأن العمر يعمل على زيادة خطر وقوع مضاعفات بشكل كبير.
  • إذا كنت أنت أو أحد أفراد عائلتك يعاني ضعفًا في الجهاز المناعي (بسبب الإصابة بالسرطان أو تناول أدوية أو الإصابة بمرض مزمن).
  • إذا كان الطفح الجلدي منتشرًا ومؤلمًا.

الأسباب

الهِربس النطاقي هو حالة مرضية ناجمة عن الفيروس النطاقي الحُماقي، وهو نفس الفيروس الذي يسبب جدري الماء. يمكن لأي شخص يعاني جدري الماء أن يصاب بالهربس النطاقي. بعد التعافي من الجدري، يمكن أن يدخل الفيروس إلى النظام العصبي ويظل خاملًا لسنوات.

في نهاية الأمر، قد يعيد تنشيطه وينتقل خلال المسارات العصبية إلى الجلد — مما ينتج الهربس النطاقي. ولكن، ليس كل شخص يعاني جدري الماء سوف يصاب بالهربس النطاقي.

يعتبر سبب الهربس النطاقي مجهولًا. ولكنه قد يكون بسبب نقص المناعة تجاه حالات العدوى مع التقدم في السن. يُعد الهِربس النطاقي أكثر شيوعًا لدى الكبار ولدى الأشخاص المصابين بضعف جهاز المناعة.

يعتبر فيروس النِّطاقي الحُماقي جزء من مجموعة فيروسات تُسمى فيروسات الهربس، والتي تشمل الفيروسات التي تسبب قروح البرد والهربس التناسلي. وبسبب ذلك، يُعرف الهربس النطاقي أيضًا باسم الحزام الناري. ولكن الفيروس الذي يسبب جدري الماء والهربس النطاقي ليس هو نفسه الفيروس المسؤول عن قرحات البرد أو الهربس التناسلي، وهو عدوى منقولة بالاتصال الجنسي.

هل أنت ناقل للعدوى؟

يمكن للشخص المصاب بالهربس النطاقي أن ينقل الفيروس النطاقي الحُماقي لأي شخص ليس لديه مناعة ضد جدري الماء. يحدث هذا عادةً من خلال الاتصال المباشر مع القروح المفتوحة للطفح الجلدي الناجم عن الهريس النطاقي. بعد الإصابة بالعدوى، سوف يصاب الشخص بجدري الماء مع ذلك، وليس بالهربس النطاقي.

يمكن أن يكون جدري الماء خطرًا لبعض الأشخاص. حتى تُكّون بثور الهربس النطاقي قشرة على الجرح، تصبح ناقل للعدوى ويجب تجنب الاتصال الجسدي مع أي شخص لم يصاب بعد بجدري الماء أو لقاح جدري الماء، خاصةً الأشخاص ذوي أجهزة المناعة الضعيفة، والنساء الحوامل، وحديثو الولادة.

عوامل الخطر

يمكن لأي شخص أُصيب من قبل بالجديري المائي أن يصاب بالهربس النطاقي. يصاب معظم البالغين بالولايات المتحدة بالجديري المائي عند الصغر، وذلك قبل ظهور تطعيم الأطفال الروتيني والذي يقي الآن من الجديري المائي.

تتضمن العوامل التي قد تزيد من خطر الإصابة بالهربس النطاقي ما يلي:

  • تجاوز سن الخمسين عامًا. تشيع الإصابة بالهربس النطاقي لدى الأشخاص فوق سن 50 عامًا. تزيد مخاطر الإصابة بتقدم السن. يقدّر بعض الخبراء أن نصف الأشخاص الذين يبلغون من العمر 80 عامًا أو أكثر سيصابون بالهربس النطاقي.
  • الإصابة بأمراض معينة. يمكن للأمراض التي تعمل على ضعف الجهاز المناعي، مثل فيروس نقص المناعة البشري (HIV)/متلازمة العوز المناعي المكتسب (الإيدز) والسرطان، أن تزيد من خطورة الإصابة بالهربس النطاقي.
  • الخضوع لعلاجات السرطان. يمكن للإشعاع أو العلاج الكيميائي تقليل مقاومة الجسم للأمراض وتحفيز ظهور الهربس النطاقي.
  • تناول أدوية محددة. يمكن للأدوية المصممة لمنع رفض الجسم للأعضاء المزروعة زيادة خطورة الإصابة بالهربس النطاقي — كما هو الحال عند الاستخدام طويل الأمد للإسترويدات، مثل بريدنيزون.

المضاعفات

قد تتضمن مضاعفات داء الهربس النطاقي ما يلي:

  • ألم عصبي تال للهربس. بالنسبة إلى بعض الأشخاص، قد يستمر ألم داء الهربس النطاقي لفترة طويلة بعد زوال البثور. تُعرف هذه الحالة بالألم العصبي التالي للهربس، ويحدث عند إرسال الألياف العصبية التالفة رسائل متضاربة ومبالغ فيها بشأن الألم من الجلد إلى المخ.
  • فقدان الرؤية. قد يسبب الهربس النطاقي داخل العين أو حولها حالات عدوى العين المؤلمة التي قد ينتج عنها فقدان الرؤية.
  • مشاكل عصبية. يمكن أن يسبب الهربس النطاقي التهاب الدماغ أو شلل الوجه أو مشكلات التوازن أو السمع، وفقًا للأعصاب المصابة.
  • الالتهابات الجلدية. إذا لم يتم معالجة بثور الهربس النطاقي بشكل صحيح، فقد تصاب بحالات العدوى الجلدية.

الوقاية

هناك لقاحان يمكنهما المساعدة على منع القوباء المنطقية — لقاح جدري الماء (الحماقي) ولقاحي القوباء المنطقية (الفيروس النطاقي الحُماقي).

لقاح جديري الماء

أصبح لقاح الحماق (Varivax) تحصينًا روتينيًا في مرحلة الطفولة للوقاية من الجدري. يوصى أيضًا باستخدام اللقاح للبالغين الذين لم يصابوا بجدري الماء. على الرغم من أن اللقاح لا يضمن لك عم الإصابة بجدري الماء أو القوباء المنطقية، إلا أنه قد يقلل من فرص حدوث المضاعفات ويقلل من حدة المرض.

لقاح القوباء المنطقية

وافقت إدارة الغذاء والدواء على استخدام لقاح الفيروس النطاقي الحُماقي (زوستافاكس) للبالغين الذين يبلغون من العمر 50 عامًا فما فوق، سواءً كانوا مصابون بالفعل بقوباء نباتية أم لا. على الرغم من الموافقة على اللقاح للأشخاص الذين يبلغون 50 عامًا فما فوق، إلا أن مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها لا توصي بها إلا بعد بلوغك سن 60 عامًا فما فوق، عندما يكون خطر القوباء المنطقية ومضاعفاتها أعلى.

قد يوصي طبيبك بالتطعيم بين سن 50 و59 عامًا إذا كان لديك حالة طبية أو ظرف قد يزيد من صعوبة تحمل عدوى القوباء المنطقية، مثل ألم مزمن أو إذا كنت قد تلقيت أو تتوقع الحصول على بعض الأدوية التي تكبت جهاز المناعة.

كما هو الحال مع لقاح جدري الماء، لا يضمن لقاح القوباء المنطقية عدم حصولك على القوباء المنطقية. لكن من المحتمل أن يقلل هذا اللقاح من دورة المرض وحدته ويقلل من خطر الإصابة بألم عصبي بعد الجراحة خلال السنوات الخمس الأولى من التطعيم. تكون الحماية بعد خمس سنوات غير مؤكدة.

يستخدم لقاح القوباء المنطقية فقط كاستراتيجية للوقاية. ولا يقصد به علاج الأشخاص الذين يعانون من هذا المرض. يحتوي اللقاح على فيروس حي ويجب عدم إعطائه للحوامل أو الذين يعانون من ضعف في جهاز المناعة.

16/05/2018
References
  1. Shingles: Hope through research. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Hope-Through-Research/Shingles-Hope-Through-Research. Accessed May 9, 2017.
  2. Yun H, et al. Longterm effectiveness of herpes zoster vaccine among patients with autoimmune and inflammatory diseases. Journal of Rheumatology. In press. Accessed May 9, 2017.
  3. Ferri FF. Herpes zoster. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2017. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 9, 2017.
  4. Bennett JE, et al., eds. Chickenpox and herpes zoster (varicella-zoster virus). In: Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases. 8th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2015. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 9, 2017.
  5. Shingles: Clinical overview. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/shingles/hcp/clinical-overview.html. Accessed May 9, 2017.
  6. Longo DL, et al., eds. Varicella-zoster virus infections. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 19th ed. New York, N.Y.: McGraw-Hill Education; 2015. http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed May 9, 2017.
  7. Albrecht MA. Vaccination for the prevention of shingles (herpes zoster). https://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 9, 2017.
  8. Shingles/herpes zoster vaccine recommendations. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/vpd/shingles/hcp/recommendations.html. Accessed May 18, 2017.

Shingles is a viral infection that causes a painful rash. Although shingles can occur anywhere on your body, it most often appears as a single stripe of blisters that wraps around either the left or the right side of your torso.

Shingles is caused by the varicella-zoster virus — the same virus that causes chickenpox. After you've had chickenpox, the virus lies inactive in nerve tissue near your spinal cord and brain. Years later, the virus may reactivate as shingles.

While it isn't a life-threatening condition, shingles can be very painful. Vaccines can help reduce the risk of shingles, while early treatment can help shorten a shingles infection and lessen the chance of complications.


The signs and symptoms of shingles usually affect only a small section of one side of your body. These signs and symptoms may include:

  • Pain, burning, numbness or tingling
  • Sensitivity to touch
  • A red rash that begins a few days after the pain
  • Fluid-filled blisters that break open and crust over
  • Itching

Some people also experience:

  • Fever
  • Headache
  • Sensitivity to light
  • Fatigue

Pain is usually the first symptom of shingles. For some, it can be intense. Depending on the location of the pain, it can sometimes be mistaken for a symptom of problems affecting the heart, lungs or kidneys. Some people experience shingles pain without ever developing the rash.

Most commonly, the shingles rash develops as a stripe of blisters that wraps around either the left or right side of your torso. Sometimes the shingles rash occurs around one eye or on one side of the neck or face.

When to see a doctor

Contact your doctor promptly if you suspect shingles, but especially in the following situations:

  • The pain and rash occur near an eye. If left untreated, this infection can lead to permanent eye damage.
  • You're 60 or older, because age significantly increases your risk of complications.
  • You or someone in your family has a weakened immune system (due to cancer, medications or chronic illness).
  • The rash is widespread and painful.


Shingles is caused by the varicella-zoster virus — the same virus that causes chickenpox. Anyone who's had chickenpox may develop shingles. After you recover from chickenpox, the virus can enter your nervous system and lie dormant for years.

Eventually, it may reactivate and travel along nerve pathways to your skin — producing shingles. But, not everyone who's had chickenpox will develop shingles.

The reason for shingles is unclear. But it may be due to lowered immunity to infections as you grow older. Shingles is more common in older adults and in people who have weakened immune systems.

Varicella-zoster is part of a group of viruses called herpes viruses, which includes the viruses that cause cold sores and genital herpes. Because of this, shingles is also known as herpes zoster. But the virus that causes chickenpox and shingles is not the same virus responsible for cold sores or genital herpes, a sexually transmitted infection.

Are you contagious?

A person with shingles can pass the varicella-zoster virus to anyone who isn't immune to chickenpox. This usually occurs through direct contact with the open sores of the shingles rash. Once infected, the person will develop chickenpox, however, not shingles.

Chickenpox can be dangerous for some people. Until your shingles blisters scab over, you are contagious and should avoid physical contact with anyone who hasn't yet had chickenpox or the chickenpox vaccine, especially people with weakened immune systems, pregnant women and newborns.

Risk factors

Anyone who has ever had chickenpox can develop shingles. Most adults in the United States had chickenpox when they were children, before the advent of the routine childhood vaccination that now protects against chickenpox.

Factors that may increase your risk of developing shingles include:

  • Being older than 50. Shingles is most common in people older than 50. The risk increases with age. Some experts estimate that half the people age 80 and older will have shingles.
  • Having certain diseases. Diseases that weaken your immune system, such as HIV/AIDS and cancer, can increase your risk of shingles.
  • Undergoing cancer treatments. Radiation or chemotherapy can lower your resistance to diseases and may trigger shingles.
  • Taking certain medications. Drugs designed to prevent rejection of transplanted organs can increase your risk of shingles — as can prolonged use of steroids, such as prednisone.


Complications from shingles can include:

  • Postherpetic neuralgia. For some people, shingles pain continues long after the blisters have cleared. This condition is known as postherpetic neuralgia, and it occurs when damaged nerve fibers send confused and exaggerated messages of pain from your skin to your brain.
  • Vision loss. Shingles in or around an eye (ophthalmic shingles) can cause painful eye infections that may result in vision loss.
  • Neurological problems. Depending on which nerves are affected, shingles can cause an inflammation of the brain (encephalitis), facial paralysis, or hearing or balance problems.
  • Skin infections. If shingles blisters aren't properly treated, bacterial skin infections may develop.


Two vaccines may help prevent shingles — the chickenpox (varicella) vaccine and the shingles (varicella-zoster) vaccine.

Chickenpox vaccine

The varicella vaccine (Varivax) has become a routine childhood immunization to prevent chickenpox. The vaccine is also recommended for adults who've never had chickenpox. Though the vaccine doesn't guarantee you won't get chickenpox or shingles, it can reduce your chances of complications and reduce the severity of the disease.

Shingles vaccine

People looking to receive the shingles vaccine have two options: Zostavax and Shingrix.

Zostavax, which was approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in 2006, has been shown to offer protection against shingles for about five years. It’s a live vaccine given as a single injection, usually in the upper arm.

Shingrix was approved by the FDA in 2017 and is the preferred alternative to Zostavax. Studies suggest Shingrix offers protection against shingles beyond five years. It’s a nonliving vaccine made of a virus component, and is given in two doses, with two to six months between doses.

Shingrix is approved and recommended for people age 50 and older, including those who've previously received Zostavax. Zostavax isn’t recommended until age 60.

The most common side effects of either shingles vaccine are redness, pain, tenderness, swelling and itching at the injection site, and headaches.

As with the chickenpox vaccine, the shingles vaccine doesn't guarantee you won't get shingles. But this vaccine will likely reduce the course and severity of the disease and reduce your risk of postherpetic neuralgia.

The shingles vaccine is used only as a prevention strategy. It's not intended to treat people who currently have the disease. Talk to your doctor about which option is right for you.

March 09, 2018
  1. Shingles: Hope through research. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Hope-Through-Research/Shingles-Hope-Through-Research. Accessed May 9, 2017.
  2. Yun H, et al. Longterm effectiveness of herpes zoster vaccine among patients with autoimmune and inflammatory diseases. Journal of Rheumatology. In press. Accessed May 9, 2017.
  3. Ferri FF. Herpes zoster. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2017. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 9, 2017.
  4. Bennett JE, et al., eds. Chickenpox and herpes zoster (varicella-zoster virus). In: Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases. 8th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2015. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 9, 2017.
  5. Shingles: Clinical overview. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/shingles/hcp/clinical-overview.html. Accessed May 9, 2017.
  6. Longo DL, et al., eds. Varicella-zoster virus infections. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 19th ed. New York, N.Y.: McGraw-Hill Education; 2015. http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed May 9, 2017.
  7. Albrecht MA. Vaccination for the prevention of shingles (herpes zoster). https://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 9, 2017.
  8. Shingles/herpes zoster vaccine recommendations. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/vpd/shingles/hcp/recommendations.html. Accessed May 18, 2017.