النتائج والتقييمات

مَن هم أعضاء فريق رعايتي؟

بناءً على عدد الأطباء المتخصصين، يمتلك مستشفى مايو كلينك واحدًا من أضخم برامج رعاية مرضى الورم النقوي في الولايات المتحدة. ويضم برنامج علاج الورم النقوي المتعدد لدينا أكثر من 40 طبيبًا وباحثًا من المتخصصين في علاج الأورام النقوية.

تاكسياراخيس كوريليس، دكتور في الطب، قسم أمراض الدم: الورم النقوي المتعدد هو أحد أنواع سرطانات الدم. وهو ثاني أكثر سرطانات الدم شيوعًا، غير أن حالات الإصابة به لا تزال نادرة للغاية. وتمثل نسبة حدوثه 1 إلى 2 بالمئة من إجمالي الإصابات بالسرطان، وتبلغ حالات الإصابة الجديدة به كل عام نحو 35 ألف حالة تقريبًا.

ويلسون آي غونسالفيس، دكتور في الطب، قسم أمراض الدم: يرجع الفضل إلى مايو كلينك في الكثير مما نعرفه عن الأورام النقوية، إذ بدأ التعرف على كل ما يتعلق بكيفية نشأتها والأماكن التي تصيبها هنا في مايو كلينك.

إس فنسنت راجكومار، دكتور في الطب، قسم أمراض الدم: يعمل في مايو كلينك أكبر فريق متخصص في علاج الورم النقوي المتعدد على مستوى العالم. وقد ابتكر فريقنا نهجًا يعرف بالتقسيم الطبقي للأورام النقوية والعلاج المتكيف مع المخاطر، بالإضافة إلى توصيات بشأن علاج الأورام النقوية. إن هدفنا الأساسي يتمثل في تعريف المرضى بأفضل علاج متوفر للأورام النقوية في الوقت الحالي، سواء كان تشخيص الإصابة حديثًا على أنها انتكاس للمرض أو حالة دائمة.

ونجري الكثير من الاختبارات الوراثية الخلوية على عينات نخاع العظم لتحديد نوع الورم النقوي لدى المريض على وجه التحديد، ونوع العلاج الذي ستستجيب له حالته.

راهما وارسام، دكتورة في الطب، قسم أمراض الدم: ينبغي لجميع المرضى طلب الاستشارة في مركز آخر، ومراجعة الحالة في مركز ثالث في حال الإصابة بمرض مثل الورم النقوي، وبعدها يتعين عليهم اختيار العلاج الأحدث.

تاكسياراشيس كوريليس، دكتور في الطب: كانت مايو كلينك في طليعة من أجروا التجارب السريرية، وقد تمكنت بالفعل من تقديم إجابات عن التساؤلات الرئيسية حول نهج العلاج الأمثل لهذا المرض. أعتقد حقًّا أن ذلك شكل لحظة فارقة في كيفية علاج هذا المرض. جدير بالذكر أن للعلاجات المناعية أيضًا، التي تستخدم في القضاء على أنواع أخرى من السرطانات، دورًا فعالاً في علاج الورم النقوي، كما أنها أحدث ثورة نوعية في فهمنا لهذا المرض وطرق علاجه.

ويلسون آي غونسالفيس، دكتور في الطب: أخبر مرضاي دومًا بأن هناك جيشًا عظيمًا وراء الكواليس لا يدخر جهدًا في العمل من أجلهم. ويعمل معي فريق من أفضل المتخصصين في أمراض القلب والرئة والكلى والجراحين على مستوى العالم، وهم على استعداد لدعمي في تقديم أفضل رعاية صحية لهؤلاء المرضى. وفي الوقت ذاته، يعمل فريق من اختصاصيي أمراض الدم والتقنيين وغيرهم من الباحثين على دراسة عينات الدم أو عينات نخاع العظم السريرية لتزويدي بالمعلومات التي أحتاجها في توفير الخيارات العلاجية للمرضى، وتحديد العلاج الأنسب لكل حالة. ولا يقتصر دور الطبيب المعالج لمريض مصاب بالورم النقوي المتعدد على علاجه فحسب، بل يتعين عليه مساعدة عائلة المريض أو أحبائه في معرفة المزيد عن المرض من أجل مساعدتهم على الاعتناء به.

راهما وارسام، دكتور في الطب: يعمل فريق من الأطباء معًا من أجل تقديم الرعاية لمريض واحد، ويتلقى مرضانا الرعاية على يد متخصصين من مختلف التخصصات اكتسبوا خبراتهم من العمل لعقود من الزمن، ونسعى إلى تقديم وسائل علاجية مبتكرة لدعم مرضانا، ولا ندخر جهدًا في مواصلة دورنا الرائد في مجال البحث العلمي، حتى يكون لنا أثر ولنصنع فارقًا في مجال الرعاية الصحية.

رعاية على يد فريق من الخبراء، ونهج علاجي سريع المسار

بفضل عدد الأطباء المتخصصين، تمتلك مايو كلينك واحدًا من أكبر برامج الرعاية المخصصة لمرضى الورم النقوي داخل الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. ويضم برنامج الورم النقوي المتعدد لدينا أكثر من 40 طبيبًا وباحثًا مكرسين لعلاج هذا المرض.

تجمع خدمات الرعاية المعتمدة على فريق متعدد التخصصات ما بين خبراء متخصصين في علم أمراض الدم وعلم الوراثيات وعلاج الأورام بالإشعاع وطب أورام العظام والعلاج الإشعاعي والتصوير التخصصي وطب الإشعاع التدخليّ وطب الكلى والعظام وعلم الأعصاب. ويحتل هؤلاء الاختصاصيون مكانة رائدة، وهم مُعترف بهم عالميًا في مجالاتهم، ويتعاونون فيما بينهم لتحديد أفضل مسار للعلاج وتسلسل عمليات العلاج وفقًا لاحتياجاتك الفردية. وهذا النهج راسخ في مؤسسة تركز على الرعاية المعتمدة على فريق متعدد التخصصات ويعمل بها أكثر من 4000 طبيب وعالم.

فضلاً عن ذلك، يوفر مختبرنا مزودي الرعاية الصحية من شتى أنحاء العالم اختبارات الجينات للمرضى النزلاء في مؤسسات أخرى. ويُجري مستشفى مايو كلينك نحو 6500 اختبار جيني للأورام النقوية المتعددة كل عام للمرضى في جميع أنحاء العالم. كما يحظى فريق عمل مايو كلينك بخبرة كبيرة معترف بها لدى المختبرات الأخرى والأطباء الآخرين.

يتوفر أكثر من 40 طبيبًا وباحثًا مكرسين لعلاج الأورام النقوية.

تُجري مستشفى مايو كلينك نحو 6500 اختبار جيني للأورام النقوية المتعددة كل عام للمرضى في جميع أنحاء العالم.

النتائج والتصنيفات

الخبرات والتجارب

تساعد الخبرات التخصصية بالإضافة إلى العدد الكبير للمرضى في تحقيق نتائج مذهلة في مستشفى مايو كلينك. عادةً ما يستقبل مزودو خدمات مايو كلينك سنويًا نحو 4000 مريض من مرضى الورم النقوي المتعدد في جميع مراحل العلاج والمتابعة المستمرة، وأكثر من 400 مريض يخضعون لإجراءات زرع خلايا جذعية من الدم المحيطي لعلاج الورم النقوي المتعدد في مقر مايو كلينك في مدينة روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا، ومقر مايو كلينك في مدينتيّ فينيكس وسكوتسديل بولاية أريزونا، ومقر مايو كلينك في مدينة جاكسونفيل بولاية فلوريدا. وكل عام، يستقبل مقر مايو كلينك في مدينة روتشستر وحده نحو 500 مريض جديد يتلقون الرعاية الطبية المناسبة للتعافي من الورم النقوي المتعدد. وتملك مايو كلينك خبرة واسعة في مجموعة كبيرة من الأمراض المرتبطة بالورم النقوي المتعدد، ومنها الاعتلال الغامائي أحادي النسيلة، والورم النقوي المتعدد الكامن، والداء النشواني، ومتلازمة POEMS (اعتلال الأعصاب المتعدد وتضخم الأعضاء واعتلال الغدد الصماء والوذمة والأجسام المضادة غير الطبيعية وأمراض الجلد)، ومرض كاسلمان.

الأرقام السنوية لمرضى الورم النقوي المتعدد الذين فُحصوا في مقرات مايو كلينك في مدينة روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا، ومدينتَي فينيكس وسكوتسديل بولاية أريزونا، ومدينة جاكسونفيل بولاية فلوريدا

  • خضع 4000 مريض تقريبًا لفحص الورم النقوي المتعدد
  • أكتر من 400 عملية لزرع خلايا الدم الجذعية المحيطية لعلاج الورم النقوي المتعدد
  • استقبل المستشفى نحو 500 مريض جديد من مرضى الورم النقوي المتعدد في مدينة روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا

الحد من عرقلة مسار حياتك إلى أدنى حد ممكن

إننا نسعى جاهدين لتقديم رعاية ذات مستوى عالمي مع الحد من عرقلة مسار حياتك إلى أدنى حد ممكن. تحتل مايو كلينك الريادة في إجراء عمليات زرع خلايا الدم الجذعية المحيطية للورم النقوي المتعدد دون مبيت في المستشفى لعلاج الورم النقوي المتعدد، ويتميز نموذج الرعاية هذا بانخفاض التكلفة وقلة الأعباء على عاتق المرضى. لقد تأسس برنامجنا للزرع ذاتي المنشأ في مدينة روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا في عام 1989.

نتائج زرع خلايا الدم الجذعية المحيطية للورم النقوي المتعدد في مايو كلينك في مدينة روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا

  • متوسط مدة الإقامة في المستشفى أقل من يوم واحد
  • 25‎% من المرضى بعُمر 75 عامًا أو أقل يحتاجون إلى الإقامة داخل المستشفى لمدة 5 أيام أو أكثر
  • نسبة الوفيات بجميع الأسباب بلغت 0.3% حتى اليوم 100 من بدء البرنامج
المصدر:
  1. Gertz MA, et al. Safety outcomes for autologous stem cell transplant in multiple myeloma. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. 2018; doi:10.1016/J.MAYOCP.2017.09.012.

النتائج التي ظهرت في تقييمات المرضى

تحقق مايو كلينك معدلات عالية جدًا من رضا المرضى. ومن بين المرضى الذين زاروا عيادات مايو كلينك الخارجية لتشخيص الورم النقوي المتعدد، فإن 99% من المشاركين في استطلاع الرأي* قد منحوا مايو كلينك تقييم الدرجة الأولى أو التالية للأولى فيما يتعلق برضاهم العام عن مستوى الرعاية واحتمالية التوصية بمايو كلينك للآخرين وغيرها من الأسئلة الرئيسية عن تجربتهم.

جيد أو جيد جدًا (أعلى درجتين) من المشاركين الذين زاروا العيادات لعلاج الورم النقوي المتعدد†
الفئة التقييم

*قدمت استطلاعات الرأي شركة Press Ganey

†تشخيص الورم النقوي المتعدد خلال زيارات عام 2019 لعيادات مايو كلينك في مدينة روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا، ومدينتَي فينيكس وسكوتسديل بولاية أريزونا، ومدينة جاكسونفيل بولاية فلوريدا

التقييم الإجمالي للرعاية المتلقاة أثناء زيارتك 98.6‎%
احتمالية التوصية للآخرين 98.6‎%
حسن إدراكنا لاحتياجاتك 97.9%
ثقتك في مزود الرعاية الصحية 97.7‎%
جهود مزود الرعاية الصحية لإشراكك في القرارات المتخذة بشأن علاجك 97.6%

رعاية طبية على مستوى عالمي

تقدم مايو كلينك في كل عام عادةً رعاية الورم النقوي المتعدد للمرضى من أكثر من 20 بلدًا و50 ولاية ومقاطعة أمريكية.‡ وتحتل مايو كلينك الريادة في أبحاث الورم النقوي المتعدد والتحليلات المتعلقة به، انطلاقًا من امتلاكها قاعدة بيانات أبحاث مركزة تأسست في ستينيات القرن الماضي وما زالت مستمرة حتى اليوم.

استطاع المرضى المصابون بالورم النقوي المتعدد الحصول على فرصة للمشاركة في أكثر من 35 تجربة سريرية للعلاج في مايو كلينك في عام 2019، بما في ذلك دراسات تتناول شتى صور المرض ومراحله، بدءًا من الورم النقوي المتعدد المشخص حديثًا حتى المرض المنتكس والمقاوم للعلاج. ونظرًا إلى أن مايو كلينك رائدة في مجال الأبحاث، فإن المرضى في مايو كلينك يمكنهم الحصول على علاجات لا تتوفر في أي مكان آخر.

يُستخدَم نموذجنا لرعاية الورم النقوي في جميع أنحاء العالم مع إمكانية الوصول إلى أدلة وإرشادات جديدة عبر نظام Mayo Stratification for Myeloma & Risk-Adapted Therapy (mSMART)‎، والذي يصل عدد زائري موقع الويب المخصص له إلى أكثر من 22000 زائر من الولايات المتحدة واليابان والصين والهند وكندا والبرازيل وكثير من البلدان الأخرى سنويًا.

‡زيارة للعيادة أو زرع خلايا الدم الجذعية المحيطية للورم النقوي المتعدد

الوصول إلى الأطباء والعلماء المتخصصين

يمتلك مستشفى مايو كلينك أحد أكبر البرامج في الولايات المتحدة، وهو مخصص لرعاية الورم النقوي، وذلك بفضل عدد أطبائه المتخصصين في علاج هذا المرض. ويضم برنامجنا للورم النقوي المتعدد أكثر من 40 طبيبًا وباحثًا مكرسين لعلاج الورم النقوي. تجمع الرعاية التي يقدمها فريق متعدد التخصصات خبراء متخصصين في أمراض الدم والوراثيات وعلاج الأورام بالإشعاع، وطب أورام العظام، والأشعة والتصوير المتخصص، والأشعة التدخلية، وأمراض الكلى، والعظام، وطب الأعصاب. ويتميز هؤلاء الاختصاصيون بأنهم قادة معترف بهم دوليًا في مجالاتهم، ويتعاون معًا لتحديد أفضل مسار وتسلسل للعلاج حسب احتياجاتك الفردية. وما يزيد الثقة في هذا البرنامج أنه مقدَّم من مؤسسة تركز على الرعاية القائمة على الفريق متعدد التخصصات وتضم أكثر من 4000 طبيب وعالم. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يخدم مختبرنا مزودي الرعاية الصحية في جميع أنحاء العالم من خلال اختبارات الجينات للمرضى في مؤسسات أخرى. وتُجري مايو كلينك ما يقرب من 6500 اختبار جيني للورم النقوي المتعدد كل عام للمرضى من جميع أنحاء العالم. وتقدِّر المختبرات الأخرى والأطباء الآخرون العاملين في مايو كلينك وتعدهم خبراء في مجالاتهم.

لا تتوقف خدمات الرعاية التي تقدمها مايو كلينك عند عودتك إلى المنزل.

تقدم مايو كلينك خدمات المتابعة عن بُعد لحالتك الصحية من خلال الاستشارات الإلكترونية عن طريق أطباء محليين. قدمت مايو كلينك في روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا وفينيكس وسكوتسديل بولاية أريزونا وجاكسونفيل بولاية فلوريدا أكثر من 34 ألف استشارة عن بُعد في كانون الثاني/يناير 2021 وحده. يمكنك الاستفادة من خبراتنا أينما كنت وطيلة مسيرة شفائك.

16/06/2021
  1. Kaushansky K, et al., eds. Myeloma. In: Williams Hematology. 9th ed. McGraw Hill; 2016. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Sept. 1, 2020.
  2. Ferri FF. Multiple myeloma. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2020. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 1, 2020.
  3. Niederhuber JE, et al., eds. Multiple myeloma and related disorders. In: Abeloff's Clinical Oncology. 6th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 1, 2020.
  4. Multiple myeloma. National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed Sept. 1, 2020.
  5. Plasma cell neoplasms (including multiple myeloma) treatment (PDQ) — Patient version. National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/myeloma/patient/myeloma-treatment-pdq. Accessed Sept. 1, 2020.
  6. Distress management. National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed Sept. 1, 2020.
  7. Warner KJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. June 24, 2020.
  8. Russell SJ, et al. Remission of disseminated cancer after system oncolytic virotherapy. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. 2014; doi:10.1016/j.mayocp.2014.04.003.
  9. Myeloma SPOREs. National Cancer Institute. https://trp.cancer.gov/spores/myeloma.htm. Accessed Sept. 4, 2020.
  10. AskMayoExpert. Multiple myeloma (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  11. Kumar S, et al. International Myeloma Working Group consensus criteria for response and minimal residual disease assessment in multiple myeloma. Lancet Oncology. 2016; doi:10.1016/S1470-2045(16)30206-6.
  12. Cavo M, et al. Role of 18F-FDG PET/CT in the diagnosis and management of multiple myeloma and other plasma cell disorders: A consensus statement by the International Myeloma Working Group. Lancet Oncology. 2017; doi:10.1016/S1470-2045(17)30189-4.
  13. Rajkumar SV, et al. Program genealogies: Myeloma at Mayo. The Hematologist. 2015; doi:10.1182/hem.V12.4.4166.
  14. Kyle RA, et al. Diagnostic criteria for the electrophoretic patterns of serum and urinary proteins in multiple myeloma. JAMA. 1960; doi:10.1001/jama.1960.03030030025005.

Outcomes & ratings

Who's on my team?

Based on specialized physician count, Mayo Clinic has one of the largest programs in the nation devoted to myeloma care. Our multiple myeloma program has over 40 physicians and researchers dedicated to treating myeloma.

Taxiarchis Kourelis, M.D., Hematology: Multiple myeloma is a blood cancer. It's the second most common blood cancer, but it's still a pretty rare cancer. It's 1 to 2% of all cancers, which comes down to about 35,000 new cases per year.

Wilson I. Gonsalves, M.D., Hematology: A lot of what we know about myeloma and where it originates that entire thought process was initiated out here at the Mayo Clinic.

S. Vincent Rajkumar, M.D., Hematology: Mayo Clinic has the largest multiple myeloma group anywhere in the world. Our group has developed what is called the M smart risk stratification and recommendations for myeloma therapy. The primary goal is to tell patients what is the current best treatment for myeloma, whether it be newly diagnosed for relapsed or maintenance.

We do a lot of cytogenetic testing on the bone marrow samples to find out precisely what type of myeloma patients have and what treatments they would respond to.

Rahma Warsame, M.D., Hematology: Everyone should get a second consultation and reviewed at a tertiary center when you have a disease like multiple myeloma, so then you're really making that fast decisions on the most novel therapies.

Taxiarchis Kourelis, M.D.Mayo has been at the forefront of clinical trial development and have really helped answer key questions about the optimal treatment approach of this disease. I think truly this is a watershed moment in the management of the disease. Immunotherapies that have affected other cancers, also coming into myeloma and revolutionizing the way we think about the disease and we treat the disease.

Wilson I. Gonsalves, M.D.: I always tell my patients there's a big army behind the scenes working for them. I have some of the world's best heart doctors, lung doctors, kidney doctors, surgeons ready to back me up in providing the best care for that patient. Hematopathologists, technicians and other researchers who in real time are working on either blood samples of clinical bone marrow samples to provide that information that I need to help provide the patients with options to make the best decision on treatment. Because physician treating a patient with multiple myeloma, you're not just treating that patient, your also helping their family or their loved one's understand more about the disease to help them take care of that patient.

Rahma Warsame, M.D.: Watching our colleagues work together for one patient, and it's a really multidisciplinary practice and leveraging the knowledge of decades and that history as well as all of the novel therapeutics to support our patients and continue to drive the science is going to make a difference.

Team-Based Care & Fast-Track Treatment

Based on specialized physician count, Mayo Clinic has one of the largest programs in the nation devoted to myeloma care. Our multiple myeloma program has over 40 physicians and researchers dedicated to treating myeloma.

Our multidisciplinary team-based care brings together experts who specialize in hematopathology, genetics, radiation oncology, orthopedic oncology, radiology and specialized imaging, interventional radiology, nephrology, bone, and neurology. These specialists are internationally recognized leaders in their field, and they work together to determine the best course and sequence of therapy according to your individual needs. This is embedded within an organization that focuses on multidisciplinary team-based care and is home to over 4,000 physicians and scientists.

In addition, our laboratory serves health care providers worldwide through genetic testing for patients at other institutions. Mayo Clinic does approximately 6,500 genetic tests for multiple myeloma each year for patients around the world. Mayo Clinic staff are recognized as experts by other laboratories and physicians.

Over 40 physicians and researchers dedicated to treating myeloma.

Mayo Clinic does approximately 6,500 genetic tests for multiple myeloma each year for patients around the world.

Outcomes & ratings

Expertise and experience

Specialized expertise combined with high patient volumes drive superior results at Mayo Clinic. In a typical year, Mayo Clinic providers see nearly 4,000 individual patients for multiple myeloma, and over 400 patients receive peripheral blood stem cell transplant for multiple myeloma at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida. Each year, the Rochester campus of Mayo Clinic alone sees approximately 500 new patients for multiple myeloma care. Mayo Clinic also has broad expertise across the spectrum of disease related to myeloma, including monoclonal gammopathy, smoldering multiple myeloma, amyloidosis, POEMS syndrome and Castleman disease.

Patients seen annually for multiple myeloma at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida

  • Nearly 4,000 patients seen for multiple myeloma
  • 400+ peripheral blood stem cell transplants for multiple myeloma
  • Approximately 500 new patients seen for multiple myeloma in Rochester, Minnesota

Minimal disruption to your life

We strive to provide world-class care with minimal disruption to your life. Mayo Clinic is a pioneer in performing outpatient peripheral blood stem cell transplant for multiple myeloma, a care model that can reduce cost and burden. Our autologous transplant program in Rochester, Minnesota, was established in 1989.

Outcomes from peripheral blood stem cell transplant for multiple myeloma at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota

  • 0 days median inpatient hospital length of stay
  • 25% of patients age 75 or younger requiring inpatient hospital stay 5 days or more
  • 0.3% day-100 all-cause mortality
Source:
  1. Gertz MA, et al. Safety outcomes for autologous stem cell transplant in multiple myeloma. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. 2018; doi:10.1016/J.MAYOCP.2017.09.012.

Results that show in patient ratings

Patient satisfaction with Mayo Clinic is very high. Among patients with an outpatient office visit at Mayo Clinic for a diagnosis of multiple myeloma, 99% of survey respondents* gave Mayo Clinic the top or next-to-top rating when it came to reporting on overall satisfaction with care, likelihood of recommending Mayo Clinic and other key experience questions.

Good or very good (top two ratings) from respondents with an office visit for multiple myeloma†
Category Rating

*Surveys administered by Press Ganey

†Diagnosis of multiple myeloma accompanying 2019 office visit at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida

Overall rating of care received during your visit 98.6%
Likelihood of recommending 98.6%
Our sensitivity to your needs 97.9%
Your confidence in this care provider 97.7%
Care provider's efforts to include you in decisions about your treatment 97.6%

World-class care

In a typical year, patients from over 20 countries and 50 U.S. states and territories receive care for multiple myeloma at Mayo Clinic.‡ Mayo Clinic is a leader in multiple myeloma research and analytics, with a focused research database established in the 1960s that continues today.

Patients with multiple myeloma had access to over 35 treatment clinical trials at Mayo Clinic in 2019, including studies across the spectrum of disease, from newly diagnosed multiple myeloma to relapsed and refractory disease. Because Mayo Clinic is a leader in research, patients at Mayo Clinic have access to therapies that are not available elsewhere.

Our myeloma care model is used all over the world with access to new evidence and guidelines via the Mayo Stratification for Myeloma & Risk-Adapted Therapy (mSMART) system, which reaches over 22,000 website visitors from the United States, Japan, China, India, Canada, Brazil and many other countries annually.

‡Office visit or peripheral blood stem cell transplant for multiple myeloma

Access to specialized physicians and scientists

Based on specialized physician count, Mayo Clinic has one of the largest programs in the nation devoted to myeloma care. Our multiple myeloma program has over 40 physicians and researchers dedicated to treating myeloma. Our multidisciplinary team-based care brings together experts who specialize in hematopathology, genetics, radiation oncology, orthopedic oncology, radiology and specialized imaging, interventional radiology, nephrology, bone and neurology. These specialists are internationally recognized leaders in their field, and they work together to determine the best course and sequence of therapy according to your individual needs. This is embedded within an organization that focuses on multidisciplinary team-based care and is home to over 4,000 physicians and scientists. In addition, our laboratory serves health care providers worldwide through genetic testing for patients at other institutions. Mayo Clinic does approximately 6,500 genetic tests for multiple myeloma each year for patients around the world. Mayo Clinic staff are recognized as experts by other laboratories and physicians.

Your care journey with Mayo Clinic doesn't stop when you return home

Mayo Clinic offers remote capability to monitor your case through eConsults with your local providers and telemedicine to your home. Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida, conducted over 34,000 virtual visits in January 2021 alone. Carry our expertise with you throughout your journey.

June 16, 2021
  1. Kaushansky K, et al., eds. Myeloma. In: Williams Hematology. 9th ed. McGraw Hill; 2016. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Sept. 1, 2020.
  2. Ferri FF. Multiple myeloma. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2020. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 1, 2020.
  3. Niederhuber JE, et al., eds. Multiple myeloma and related disorders. In: Abeloff's Clinical Oncology. 6th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 1, 2020.
  4. Multiple myeloma. National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed Sept. 1, 2020.
  5. Plasma cell neoplasms (including multiple myeloma) treatment (PDQ) — Patient version. National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/myeloma/patient/myeloma-treatment-pdq. Accessed Sept. 1, 2020.
  6. Distress management. National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed Sept. 1, 2020.
  7. Warner KJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. June 24, 2020.
  8. Russell SJ, et al. Remission of disseminated cancer after system oncolytic virotherapy. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. 2014; doi:10.1016/j.mayocp.2014.04.003.
  9. Myeloma SPOREs. National Cancer Institute. https://trp.cancer.gov/spores/myeloma.htm. Accessed Sept. 4, 2020.
  10. AskMayoExpert. Multiple myeloma (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  11. Kumar S, et al. International Myeloma Working Group consensus criteria for response and minimal residual disease assessment in multiple myeloma. Lancet Oncology. 2016; doi:10.1016/S1470-2045(16)30206-6.
  12. Cavo M, et al. Role of 18F-FDG PET/CT in the diagnosis and management of multiple myeloma and other plasma cell disorders: A consensus statement by the International Myeloma Working Group. Lancet Oncology. 2017; doi:10.1016/S1470-2045(17)30189-4.
  13. Rajkumar SV, et al. Program genealogies: Myeloma at Mayo. The Hematologist. 2015; doi:10.1182/hem.V12.4.4166.
  14. Kyle RA, et al. Diagnostic criteria for the electrophoretic patterns of serum and urinary proteins in multiple myeloma. JAMA. 1960; doi:10.1001/jama.1960.03030030025005.