نظرة عامة

نقص صوديوم الدم هو حالة تحدث عندما يكون مستوى الصوديوم في الدم منخفضًا عن الطبيعي. الصوديوم هو أحد الكهارل، ويساعد على تنظيم كمية الماء التي توجد في الخلايا وحولها.

فيما يخص نقص صوديوم الدم، واحد أو اثنان من العوامل -تتراوح بين حالة طبية كامنة أو تناوُل الكثير من الماء- قد يتسبب في تخفيف نسبة الصوديوم داخل جسمك. عندما يحدث ذلك، ترتفع نسبة الماء في جسمك، وتبدأ خلاياك في الانتفاخ. هذا الانتفاخ يمكن أن يسبِّب مشاكل صحية عديدة، تتدرَّج من خفيفة إلى مهدِّدة للحياة.

علاج نقص الصوديوم في الدم يهدف إلى حل الأسباب الضمنية الكامنة. بالرجوع إلى سبب نقص الصوديوم، قد تحتاج إلى تقليل مقدار الماء الذي تشربه. في حالة الأسباب الأخرى لنقص الصوديوم في الدم، قد تحتاج إلى محلول وريدي غني بالكهارل وبعض الأدوية.

الأعراض

قد يشمل النقص الشديد في الصوديوم في الدم العلامات والأعراض الأخرى الآتية:

  • الغثيان والقيء
  • الصداع
  • التشوُّش
  • فقدان الطاقة، والنعاس والإرهاق
  • التملمُل والتهيُّج
  • الشعور بضعف العضلات، أو التقلُّصات، أو التشنُّجات
  • النوبات الـمَرَضية
  • الغيبوبة

متى تزور الطبيب؟

استدعِ الرعاية الطارئة لأي شخص يُصاب بعلامات وأعراض شديدة من نقص مستوى صوديوم الدم، مثل الغثيان والقيء، والارتباك، والنوبات الـمَرَضية، أو فقدان الوعي.

اتصل بطبيبك إذا كنت تعرف أنك مُعرَّض لخطر نقص صوديوم الدمِ، وتواجه غثيانًا أو صداعًا أو تقلُّصًا أو ضعفًا. بناءً على حجم العلامات والأعراض ومُدَّتِها، قد يوصي طبيبك بطلب رعاية طبية فورية.

الأسباب

يؤدي الصوديوم دورًا رئيسيًّا في جسمك. حيثُ يساعد في الحفاظ على ضغط الدم لديك عند المستويات الطبيعية ويدعم أداء أعصابك وعضلاتك ويُنظِّم توازن السوائل في الجسم.

يتراوح المستوى الطبيعي لصوديوم الدم ما بين 135-145 ميلي مكافئ في اللتر الواحد. ويحدث نقص صوديوم الدم عندما ينخفض مستوى الصوديوم في الدم عن 135 ميلي مكافئ/لتر.

يمكن أن تتسبب العديد من الحالات الصحية المحتملة وعوامل نمط الحياة في نقص صوديوم الدم، بما في ذلك:

  • أدوية مُعيَّنة. يمكن أن تتداخل بعض الأدوية، مثل بعض حبوب الماء (مدرّات البول) ومضادات الاكتئاب وأدوية تخفيف الألم، مع العمليات الهرمونية والكلوية الطبيعية التي تحافظ على تركيز الصوديوم ضمن المعدل الطبيعي الصحي.
  • مشاكل القلب والكلى والكبد. يمكن أن يتسبب فشل القلب الاحتقاني وبعض الأمراض التي تصيب الكلى أو الكبد في تراكم السوائل في جسمك، مما يخفض من الصوديوم لديك ويقلل من مستوى تركيزه العام.
  • متلازمة الإفراز غير الملائم للهرمون المضاد لإدرار البول (SIADH). في هذه الحالة، تُفرَز مستويات عالية من الهرمون المضاد لإدرار البول (ADH)، مما يؤدي إلى احتفاظ جسمك بالماء بدلًا من التخلص منه في البول بشكل طبيعي.
  • القيء أو الإسهال المزمن أو الشديد وأسباب الجفاف الأخرى. يتسبب هذا في فقدان جسمك للشوارد، مثل الصوديوم، ويزيد أيضًا من مستويات الهرمون المضاد لإدرار البول (ADH).
  • شرب الكثير من الماء. يمكن أن يتسبب شرب كميات زائدة من الماء إلى انخفاض مستوى الصوديوم ومن ثمَّ الحد من قدرة الكلى على التخلص من الماء. نظرًا لأنك تفقد الصوديوم من خلال العرق، فإن شرب الكثير من الماء أثناء أنشطة التحمل، مثل الماراثون والترياثلون (ماراثون المسافات البعيدة)، يمكن أن يخفف أيضًا من مستوى الصوديوم في دمك.
  • التغيرات الهرمونية. يؤثر قصور الكظر (مرض أديسون) في قدرة الغدد الكظرية على إفراز الهرمونات التي تساعد في الحفاظ على توازن مستويات الصوديوم والبوتاسيوم والماء في الجسم. ويمكن أن يؤدي انخفاض مستويات هرمون الغدة الدرقية (الهرمون الدرقي) أيضًا إلى انخفاض مستوى الصوديوم في الدم.
  • المُخدر الترويحي إكستاسي. يزيد هذا الأمفيتامين من خطر الإصابة بنقص صوديوم الدم الحاد الذي يصل إلى المميت في بعض الأحيان.

عوامل الخطر

عادة ما تتسبَّب العوامل التالية من خطر إصابتكَ بنقص صوديوم الدم:

  • العمر. توجد لدى كبار السن عوامل أخرى قد تُسهِم في نقص صوديوم الدم، كالعوامل المرتبطة بتغيُّرات العمر، تَناوُل بعض الأدوية واحتمالية أكبر للإصابة بمرض مزمن يُغَيِّر من اتزان نسبة الصوديوم في الجسم.
  • عقاقير مُعيَّنة. تضمُّ الأدوية التي تَزيد خطر انخفاض صوديوم الدم مدرَّات البول الثيازيدية، وكذلك بعض مضادات الاكتئاب ومسكنات الألم. كذلك، ارتبط المُخدر الترويحي إكستاسي بحالات وفاة نتيجة نقص صوديوم الدم.
  • ما يتسبَّب في تقليل خروج الماء من الجسم. تتضمَّن الحالات الطبية التي قد تزيد خطر نقص صوديوم الدم أمراض الكلى، ومتلازمة الإفراز غير الملائم للهرمون المضاد لإدرار البول (SIADH) وفشل القلب، وغيرها.
  • الأنشطة البدنية المكثفة. يتعرَّض من يُكثِرون من شرب الماء خلال مشاركتهم في سباقات المشي والعدو، وماراثون المسافات البعيدة، والسباقات الرياضية الثلاثية، وغير ذلك من الأنشطة ذات المسافة الطويلة وعالية الكثافة البدنية، لزيادة خطر نقص صوديوم الدم.

المضاعفات

في نقص الصوديوم المزمن، تَنخفض مستويات الصوديوم تدريجيًّا لفترة تَزيد عن 48 ساعة أو أكثر - وعادة تَكون الأعراض والمضاعفات أكثر اعتدالًا.

أما في نقص صوديوم الدم الحاد، فتَنخفض مستويات الصوديوم بسرعة - وهذا ما يَنجم عنه آثار خطيرة محتملة، كتورم الدماغ السريع، الذي يُمكن أن يُؤدي إلى غيبوبة ووفاة.

يَبدو أن النساء اللاتي وصلن لسن اليأس يَكنَّ أكثر عرضة للإصابة بتلف الدماغ الناجم عن نقص الصوديوم في الدم. قد يَكون هذا مرتبطًا بتأثير الهرمونات الجنسية لدى النساء على قدرة الجسم على موازنة مستويات الصوديوم.

الوقاية

قد تساعدك التدابير الآتية في الوقاية من نقص صوديوم الدم:

  • علاج الحالات المرضية المصاحبة. قد يساعد الحصول على علاج للحالات التي تسهم في نقص صوديوم الدم، مثل قصور الغدة الكظرية في منع انخفاض الصوديوم في الدم.
  • ثقّف نفسك. في حالة الإصابة بحالة طبية من شأنها أن تزيد من خطورة الإصابة بنقص صوديوم الدم أو كنت تتناول أدوية مدرة للبول، فتعرَّف على علامات وأعراض انخفاض صوديوم الدم. تحدَّث دائمًا مع طبيبك حول مخاطر أي دواء جديد.
  • اتخذ الاحتياطات خلال الأنشطة عالية الكثافة. يتعين على الرياضيين شرب السوائل بقدر ما يفقدونها بسبب التعرق أثناء المسابقات. ويُعد العطش بشكل عام دليلًا جيدًا على كمية المياه أو السوائل الأخرى التي تحتاج إليها.
  • اعتنِ بتناول المشروبات الرياضية خلال الأنشطة التي تتطلب عناية فائقة. اسأل طبيبك عن استبدال المياه بالمشروبات الرياضية التي تحتوي على الكهارل عند المشاركة في مسابقات التحمل مثل سباق الجري لمسافات طويلة، والسباق الثلاثي، وغيرها من الأنشطة الصعبة.
  • اشرب الماء بشكل معتدل. تُعد مياه الشرب أمرًا حيويًّا لصحتك، لذلك تأكد من شرب ما يكفي من السوائل. ولكن لا تبالغ فيها. عادة ما يكون العطش ولون البول من أفضل المؤشرات على كمية المياه التي تحتاج إليها. إذا لم تكن تشعر بالعطش وكان بولك أصفر شاحبًا، فمن المرجح أنك تحصل على ما يكفي من الماء.

20/06/2019
  1. Jameson JL, et al., eds. Hyponatremia and hypernatremia. In: Endocrinology: Adult and Pediatric. 7th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed April 6, 2018.
  2. Bope ET, et al. Hyponatremia. In: Conn's Current Therapy 2017. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed April 6, 2018.
  3. Hyponatremia. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/endocrine-and-metabolic-disorders/electrolyte-disorders/hyponatremia. Accessed April 6, 2018.
  4. Kengne FG, et al. Hyponatremia and the brain. Kidney International Reports. 2018;3:24.
  5. Hyponatremia. National Kidney Foundation. https://www.kidney.org/atoz/content/hyponatremia. Accessed April 6, 2018.
  6. Nippoldt TB (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. April 18, 2018.

Overview

Hyponatremia occurs when the concentration of sodium in your blood is abnormally low. Sodium is an electrolyte, and it helps regulate the amount of water that's in and around your cells.

In hyponatremia, one or more factors — ranging from an underlying medical condition to drinking too much water — cause the sodium in your body to become diluted. When this happens, your body's water levels rise, and your cells begin to swell. This swelling can cause many health problems, from mild to life-threatening.

Hyponatremia treatment is aimed at resolving the underlying condition. Depending on the cause of hyponatremia, you may simply need to cut back on how much you drink. In other cases of hyponatremia, you may need intravenous electrolyte solutions and medications.

Symptoms

Hyponatremia signs and symptoms may include:

  • Nausea and vomiting
  • Headache
  • Confusion
  • Loss of energy, drowsiness and fatigue
  • Restlessness and irritability
  • Muscle weakness, spasms or cramps
  • Seizures
  • Coma

When to see a doctor

Seek emergency care for anyone who develops severe signs and symptoms of hyponatremia, such as nausea and vomiting, confusion, seizures, or lost consciousness.

Call your doctor if you know you are at risk of hyponatremia and are experiencing nausea, headaches, cramping or weakness. Depending on the extent and duration of these signs and symptoms, your doctor may recommend seeking immediate medical care.

Causes

Sodium plays a key role in your body. It helps maintain normal blood pressure, supports the work of your nerves and muscles, and regulates your body's fluid balance.

A normal blood sodium level is between 135 and 145 milliequivalents per liter (mEq/L). Hyponatremia occurs when the sodium in your blood falls below 135 mEq/L.

Many possible conditions and lifestyle factors can lead to hyponatremia, including:

  • Certain medications. Some medications, such as some water pills (diuretics), antidepressants and pain medications, can interfere with the normal hormonal and kidney processes that keep sodium concentrations within the healthy normal range.
  • Heart, kidney and liver problems. Congestive heart failure and certain diseases affecting the kidneys or liver can cause fluids to accumulate in your body, which dilutes the sodium in your body, lowering the overall level.
  • Syndrome of inappropriate anti-diuretic hormone (SIADH). In this condition, high levels of the anti-diuretic hormone (ADH) are produced, causing your body to retain water instead of excreting it normally in your urine.
  • Chronic, severe vomiting or diarrhea and other causes of dehydration. This causes your body to lose electrolytes, such as sodium, and also increases ADH levels.
  • Drinking too much water. Drinking excessive amounts of water can cause low sodium by overwhelming the kidneys' ability to excrete water. Because you lose sodium through sweat, drinking too much water during endurance activities, such as marathons and triathlons, can also dilute the sodium content of your blood.
  • Hormonal changes. Adrenal gland insufficiency (Addison's disease) affects your adrenal glands' ability to produce hormones that help maintain your body's balance of sodium, potassium and water. Low levels of thyroid hormone also can cause a low blood-sodium level.
  • The recreational drug Ecstasy. This amphetamine increases the risk of severe and even fatal cases of hyponatremia.

Risk factors

The following factors may increase your risk of hyponatremia:

  • Age. Older adults may have more contributing factors for hyponatremia, including age-related changes, taking certain medications and a greater likelihood of developing a chronic disease that alters the body's sodium balance.
  • Certain drugs. Medications that increase your risk of hyponatremia include thiazide diuretics as well as some antidepressants and pain medications. In addition, the recreational drug Ecstasy has been linked to fatal cases of hyponatremia.
  • Conditions that decrease your body's water excretion. Medical conditions that may increase your risk of hyponatremia include kidney disease, syndrome of inappropriate anti-diuretic hormone (SIADH) and heart failure, among others.
  • Intensive physical activities. People who drink too much water while taking part in marathons, ultramarathons, triathlons and other long-distance, high-intensity activities are at an increased risk of hyponatremia.

Complications

In chronic hyponatremia, sodium levels drop gradually over 48 hours or longer — and symptoms and complications are typically more moderate.

In acute hyponatremia, sodium levels drop rapidly — resulting in potentially dangerous effects, such as rapid brain swelling, which can result in a coma and death.

Premenopausal women appear to be at the greatest risk of hyponatremia-related brain damage. This may be related to the effect of women's sex hormones on the body's ability to balance sodium levels.

Prevention

The following measures may help you prevent hyponatremia:

  • Treat associated conditions. Getting treatment for conditions that contribute to hyponatremia, such as adrenal gland insufficiency, can help prevent low blood sodium.
  • Educate yourself. If you have a medical condition that increases your risk of hyponatremia or you take diuretic medications, be aware of the signs and symptoms of low blood sodium. Always talk with your doctor about the risks of a new medication.
  • Take precautions during high-intensity activities. Athletes should drink only as much fluid as they lose due to sweating during a race. Thirst is generally a good guide to how much water or other fluids you need.
  • Consider drinking sports beverages during demanding activities. Ask your doctor about replacing water with sports beverages that contain electrolytes when participating in endurance events such as marathons, triathlons and other demanding activities.
  • Drink water in moderation. Drinking water is vital for your health, so make sure you drink enough fluids. But don't overdo it. Thirst and the color of your urine are usually the best indications of how much water you need. If you're not thirsty and your urine is pale yellow, you are likely getting enough water.

May 08, 2018
References
  1. Jameson JL, et al., eds. Hyponatremia and hypernatremia. In: Endocrinology: Adult and Pediatric. 7th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed April 6, 2018.
  2. Bope ET, et al. Hyponatremia. In: Conn's Current Therapy 2017. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed April 6, 2018.
  3. Hyponatremia. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/endocrine-and-metabolic-disorders/electrolyte-disorders/hyponatremia. Accessed April 6, 2018.
  4. Kengne FG, et al. Hyponatremia and the brain. Kidney International Reports. 2018;3:24.
  5. Hyponatremia. National Kidney Foundation. https://www.kidney.org/atoz/content/hyponatremia. Accessed April 6, 2018.
  6. Nippoldt TB (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. April 18, 2018.