概述

热性惊厥是指儿童发热所引起的惊厥。发热通常由感染引起。热性惊厥常见于发育正常且既往没有任何神经系统症状的健康儿童。

孩子发生热性惊厥时,场面可能很吓人。幸运的是,热性惊厥一般对身体无害,仅持续几分钟,通常也不表明存在严重的健康问题。

发生热性惊厥期间,请确保孩子的安全,并在发作过后进行安抚。热性惊厥发作后尽快致电医生,对孩子进行检查。

症状

通常,热性惊厥患儿会全身摇晃并失去意识。有时,孩子可能只是身体的某一部位变得非常僵硬或抽搐。

热性惊厥患儿可能出现以下情况:

  • 高烧超过 100.4 华氏度(38.0 摄氏度)
  • 失去意识
  • 手臂或腿部抖动或抽搐

热性惊厥分为单纯型和复杂型两种:

  • 单纯型热性惊厥。这种最常见的类型通常持续几秒钟到 15 分钟不等。单纯型热性惊厥 24 小时内不会复发,并且不会局限于身体的特定部位。
  • 复杂型热性惊厥。这种类型通常持续超过 15 分钟,24 小时内会多次复发,或者局限于孩子身体的一侧。

热性惊厥最常见于发热后 24 小时内,也可能是孩子生病的第一个体征。

何时就诊

在您的孩子首次出现热性惊厥之后,即使只持续几秒钟,也要尽快去找医生就诊。如果癫痫发作持续时间超过五分钟或伴随下列情况,请呼叫救护车将孩子送往急诊室:

  • 呕吐
  • 落枕
  • 呼吸问题
  • 困倦嗜睡

病因

通常,高于正常的体温会引起热性惊厥。即使低烧也可能引起热性惊厥。

感染

诱发热性惊厥的发热通常由病毒感染引起,较少见情况下由细菌引起。流行性感冒(流感)病毒和引起玫瑰疹的病毒(常常伴有高烧)似乎最常与热性惊厥有关。

疫苗接种后癫痫发作

一些儿童在疫苗接种后,发生热性惊厥的风险可能会增加。这些疫苗包括白喉、破伤风和百日咳疫苗以及麻疹 - 流行性腮腺炎 - 风疹疫苗。接种疫苗后,儿童可能发低烧。发热(而非疫苗接种)会引起癫痫发作。

风险因素

增加您患热性惊厥的风险因素包括:

  • 年幼。大多数热性惊厥发生在 6 个月至 5 岁的儿童,年龄在 12 个月至 18 个月之间的儿童的患病风险最大。
  • 家族史。有些孩子继承了家族患热性惊厥的倾向。此外,研究人员还将几个基因与易于出现热性惊厥联系起来。

并发症

大多数热性惊厥不会产生持久影响。简单的热性惊厥不会引起脑损伤、智力残疾或学习障碍,也不意味着您的孩子患有更严重的基础病。

热性惊厥是被引发的癫痫发作,并不表明患有癫痫。癫痫的特征是大脑中异常电信号引起的、无引发因素的反复癫痫样发作。

反复热性惊厥

最常见的并发症是可能更频繁地出现热性惊厥。如果出现以下情况,则复发风险较高:

  • 您的孩子首次癫痫发作是由低烧引起的。
  • 热性惊厥是疾病的首发体征。
  • 直系亲属有热性惊厥史。
  • 您的孩子在首次发生热性惊厥时未满 18 个月。

预防

大多数热性惊厥发生在发热的最初几个小时,即体温初次升高的几个小时内。

给孩子吃药

在孩子开始发热时,让其服用婴儿或儿童版对乙酰氨基酚(Tylenol 等)或布洛芬(Advil、Motrin 等),可以减轻孩子的不适感,但不能防止癫痫发作。

儿童或青少年要慎用阿司匹林。尽管阿司匹林已获批用于 3 岁以上的儿童,但千万不要给处于水痘或流感样症状恢复期的儿童和青少年使用阿司匹林。这是因为阿司匹林与这类儿童出现瑞氏综合征有关,瑞氏综合征是一种罕见但可能危及生命的状况。

处方预防药物

极少数情况下,处方抗惊厥药物会被用来预防热性惊厥。但是这些药物的严重副作用可能远远超过其带来的治疗效果。

对于容易出现长时间热性惊厥的儿童,可根据需要使用直肠地西泮(Diastat)或鼻用咪达唑仑。这些药物通常用于治疗持续时间超过五分钟的癫痫发作,或者用于孩子在 24 小时内的癫痫发作不止一次的情况。通常不用于预防热性惊厥。

Aug. 27, 2022
  1. Febrile seizures fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Fact-Sheets/Febrile-Seizures-Fact-Sheet. Accessed Jan. 12, 2021.
  2. Millichap JG, et al. Clinical features and evaluation of febrile seizures. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 12, 2021.
  3. Millichap JG, et al. Treatment and prognosis of febrile seizures. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 12, 2021.
  4. AskMayoExpert. Febrile seizure (child). Mayo Clinic. 2019.
  5. Subcommittee on Febrile Seizures. Febrile seizures: Guideline for the neurodiagnostic evaluation of the child with a simple febrile seizure. American Academy of Pediatrics. 2011; DOI: https://doi.org/10.1542/peds.2010-3318.
  6. Wong-Kisiel LC (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Jan. 13, 2021.

Overview

A febrile seizure is a convulsion in a child that may be caused by a spike in body temperature, often from an infection. Your child's having a febrile seizure can be alarming, and the few minutes it lasts can seem like an eternity.

Febrile seizures represent a unique response of a child's brain to fever, usually the first day of a fever. Fortunately, they're usually harmless and typically don't indicate an ongoing problem. You can help by keeping your child safe during a febrile seizure and by comforting him or her afterward.

Call your doctor to have your child evaluated as soon as possible after a febrile seizure.

Symptoms

Febrile seizure symptoms can range from mild — staring — to more severe shaking or tightening of the muscles.

A child having a febrile seizure may:

  • Have a fever higher than 100.4 F (38.0 C)
  • Lose consciousness
  • Shake or jerk arms and legs

Febrile seizures are classified as simple or complex:

  • Simple febrile seizures. This more common type lasts from a few seconds to 15 minutes. Simple febrile seizures do not recur within a 24-hour period and are generalized, not specific to one part of the body.
  • Complex febrile seizures. This type lasts longer than 15 minutes, occurs more than once within 24 hours or is confined to one side of your child's body.

Febrile seizures most often occur within 24 hours of the onset of a fever and can be the first sign that a child is ill.

When to see a doctor

See your child's doctor as soon as possible after your child's first febrile seizure, even if it lasts only a few seconds. Call an ambulance to take your child to the emergency room if the seizure lasts longer than 5 minutes or is accompanied by:

  • Vomiting
  • A stiff neck
  • Breathing problems
  • Extreme sleepiness

Causes

A high body temperature causes most febrile seizures.

Infection

Usually the fevers that trigger febrile seizures are caused by a viral infection, less commonly by a bacterial infection. Viral infections such as the flu and roseola, which often are accompanied by high fever, appear to be most associated with febrile seizure.

Post-immunization seizures

The risk of febrile seizures may increase after some childhood immunizations, such as the diphtheria, tetanus and pertussis or measles-mumps-rubella vaccinations. A child can develop a low-grade fever after a vaccination. The fever, not the vaccination, causes the seizure.

Risk factors

Factors that increase the risk of having a febrile seizure include:

  • Young age. Most febrile seizures occur in children between 6 months and 5 years of age. It's unusual for children younger than 6 months to have a febrile seizure, and it's rare for these seizures to occur after 3 years of age.
  • Family history. Some children inherit a family's tendency to have seizures with a fever. Additionally, researchers have linked several genes to a susceptibility to febrile seizures.

Complications

Most febrile seizures produce no lasting effects. Simple febrile seizures don't cause brain damage, mental retardation or learning disabilities, and they don't mean your child has a more serious underlying disorder.

Febrile seizures don't indicate epilepsy, a tendency to have recurrent seizures caused by abnormal electrical signals in the brain.

Recurrent febrile seizures

The most common complication is the possibility of more febrile seizures. The risk of recurrence is higher if:

  • Your child's first seizure resulted from a low fever.
  • The period between the start of the fever and the seizure was short.
  • An immediate family member has a history of febrile seizures.
  • Your child was younger than 15 months at the time of the first febrile seizure.

Prevention

Most febrile seizures occur in the first few hours of a fever, during the initial rise in body temperature.

Giving your child medications

Giving your child infants' or children's acetaminophen (Tylenol, others) or ibuprofen (Advil, Motrin, others) at the beginning of fever may make your child more comfortable, but it won't prevent a seizure.

Use caution when giving aspirin to children or teenagers. Though aspirin is approved for use in children older than age 3, children and teenagers recovering from chickenpox or flu-like symptoms should never take aspirin. This is because aspirin has been linked to Reye's syndrome, a rare but potentially life-threatening condition, in such children.

Prescription prevention medications

Rarely, prescription anticonvulsant medications are used to try to prevent febrile seizures. However, these medications can have serious side effects that may outweigh any possible benefit.

Oral diazepam (Valium), lorazepam intensol, clonazepam (Klonopin) or rectal diazepam (Diastat) may be prescribed for children who are prone to febrile seizures. These medications are typically used to treat seizures that last longer than 10 minutes or if the child has more than one seizure within 24 hours. They are not typically used to prevent febrile seizures.

June 03, 2017
References
  1. Febrile seizures fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. http://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/febrile_seizures/detail_febrile_seizures.htm. Accessed Nov. 3, 2014.
  2. Millichap JG, et al. Clinical features and evaluation of febrile seizures. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Nov. 3, 2014.
  3. Millichap JG, et al. Treatment and prognosis of febrile seizures. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Nov. 3, 2014.
  4. Chung S. Febrile seizures. Korean Journal of Pediatrics. 2014;57:384.
  5. Febrile seizures: Clinical practice guideline for the long-term management of the child with simple febrile seizures. American Academy of Pediatrics. http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/121/6/1281.full.html. Accessed Nov. 3, 2014.