التشخيص

قد يشك طبيبك في حساسية عثة الفراش بناء على الأعراض وإجاباتك عن الأسئلة عن منزلك.

لتأكيد أنك حساس لبعض المواد الهوائية قد يستخدم طبيبك جهاز مضيء للنظر إلى حالة بطانة أنفك. إذا كان لديك حساسية لشيء في الهواء فستكون بطانة الممر الأنفي متورمة وقد تبدو شاحبة أو زرقاء.

قد يشك طبيبك في حساسية عثة الفراش إذا كانت أعراضك تزداد سوءًا عندما تذهب للفراش أو أثناء التنظيف — عندما تكون مسببات حساسية عثة الفراش متواجدة في الهواء بصورة مؤقتة. إذا كان لديك حيوان أليف فقد يكون من الأصعب تحديد سبب الحساسية خصوصًا إذا كان حيوانك الأليف ينام في غرفة نومك.

  • اختبارات الحساسية الجلد. قد يقترح طبيبك اختبارات حساسية للجلد لتحديد ما سبب حساسيتك. قد تحال إلى متخصص في الحساسية (أخصائي حساسية) لهذا الاختبار.

    في هذا الاختبار يتم نقل كميات صغيرة من خلاصات الحساسية النقية — بما في ذلك خلاصة عثة الفراش — إلى سطح جلدك. يتم ذلك عادة في مقدمة الذراع لكن يمكن فعله في الخلفية العلوية.

    يراقب طبيبك أو ممرضة جلدك بحثًا عن علامات التفاعل التحسسي بعد 15 دقيقة. إذا كنت حساسًا لعثة الفراش سيتشكل نتوء أحمر مثير للحكة حيث تم نقل خلاصة عثة الفراش إلى جلدك. تتمثل الآثار الجانبية الأكثر شيوعًا لاختبارات الجلد هذه في وجود حكة واحمرار. تزول هذه الآثار الجانبية عادة في غضون 30 دقيقة.

  • اختبار حساسية الدم. لا يمكن لبعض الناس الخضوع لاختبار الحساسية لأن لديهم حالة في الجلد أو لأنهم يتناولون دواء يمكنه التأثير على النتائج. كبديل قد يطلب طبيبك اختبار دم يصور أجسام مضادة خاصة مسببة للحساسية لأنواع متعددة من الحساسيات بما في ذلك عثة الفراش. قد يشير هذا الفحص أيضًا إلى مدى حساسيتك لمسبب حساسية.

العلاج

يكمن أول علاج للسيطرة على حساسية عثة الغبار في تجنب عث الغبار قدر المستطاع. عند تقليل التعرض لعثة الغبار، يمكنك أن تتوقع ردود فعل تحسسية أخف أو أقل حدة. ومع ذلك، فإنه من المستحيل القضاء تمامًا على عثة الغبار من بيئتك. وقد تحتاج أيضًا إلى أدوية للسيطرة على الأعراض.

أدوية الحساسية

قد يوجهك الطبيب إلى تناول أحد الأدوية التالية لتحسين أعراض الحساسية الأنفية:

  • مضادات الهيستامين تقلل من إنتاج المادة الكيميائية الخاصة بالجهاز المناعي التي تنشط في رد فعل تحسسي. تخفف هذا الأدوية الحكة، والعطس، ورشح الأنف. تتوفر أقراص مضادات الهيستامين التي تصرف من دون وصفة طبية، مثل فيكسوفينادين (أليجرا لعلاج الحساسية) ولوراتادين (ألافيرت، كلاريتين) والسيتريزين (زيريتك) وغيرهم بالإضافة إلى منتجات شرب مضادات الهيستامين للأطفال. وتتضمن مضادات الهيستامين التي تُصرف بوصفة طبية والتي يتم تناولها على هيئة بخاخ أنفي أزيلاستين (azelastine) (أستيلين (Astelin)، أستيبرو (Astepro)) وأولوباتادين (Olopatadine) (باتانيز (Patanase)).
  • يمكن لمواد الكورتيكوستيرويد التي يتم تناولها على هيئة بخاخ أنفي التقليل من الالتهاب والتحكم في أعراض حمى القش. تتضمن هذا الأدوية فلوتيكازون بروبيونات (فلونيز) وموميتـازون فيروات (نازونكس) وتريامسينولون (Nasacort Allergy 24HR) وسيكليسونيد (أومناريس) وغيرهم. توفر الكورتيكوستيرويدات عبر الأنف جرعة أقل من الدواء وتجعله أقل عرضة للآثار الجانبية بالمقارنة الكورتيكوستيرويدات عبر الفم.
  • يمكن لمضادات الاحتقان المساعدة في تقليص الأنسجة المتورمة في ممرات الأنف لديك وجعل التنفس من خلال أنفك أسهل. تجمع بعض أقراص الحساسية التي تُصرف دون وصفة طبية بين مضادات الهيستامين ومضادات الاحتقان. يمكن لمضادات الاحتقان الفموية أن تزيد من ضغط الدم ولا يجب أن تؤخذ إذا كنت تعاني من ارتفاع شديد في ضغط الدم أو الزرق أو أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية. لدى الرجال الذين يعانون من تضخم البروستاتا، يمكن أن يزيد الدواء من سوء الحالة. تحدّث إلى طبيبك حول ما إذا كنت تستطيع تناول مضادات الاحتقان بأمان.

    قد تقلل مضادات الاحتقان التي تُصرف دون وصفة طبيب ويتم تناولها على هيئة بخاخ أنفي من أعراض الحساسية في فترة وجيزة. إذا كنت تستخدم بخاخ مزيل الاحتقان لأكثر من ثلاثة أيام متتالية، يمكن أن يجعل احتقان الأنف أسوأ في الواقع.

  • تمنع معدلات الليوكوترايين عمل بعض المواد الكيميائية المحددة للجهاز المناعي. قد يصف طبيبك معدّل اللوكوترايينات مونتيلوكاست (سينجولاير)، والذي يأتي في شكل قرص. تشمل الآثار الجانبية المحتملة الناجمة عن تناول مونتيلوكاست (montelukast) الإصابة بعدوى بالجهاز التنفسي العلوي والصداع والحمى. وتشمل الآثار الجانبية الأقل شيوعًا تغيّر السلوك أو الحالة المزاجية، مثل الشعور بالقلق أو الاكتئاب.

العلاجات الأخرى

  • العلاج المناعي. يمكنك "تدريب" جهازك المناعي على ألا يكون حساسًا تجاه المواد المثيرة للحساسية. ويتم هذا عبر سلسلة من حقن الحساسية المسماة بالعلاج المناعي. تعرضك الحقن الأسبوعية لمدة أسبوع أو اثنين لمسبب الحساسية بنسبة ضئيلة جدًا، ويكون في هذه الحالة بروتينات عثة الغبار التي تسبب ردة الفعل التحسسية. وتزيد هذه الجرعة تدريجيًا، عادة في فترة تتراوح بين ثلاثة وستة أشهر. هناك حاجة لحُقن المداومة كل أربعة أسابيع لمدة تتراوح بين ثلاث وخمس سنوات. ويستخدم العلاج المناعي عادة حين لا تكون نتائج العلاجات البسيطة الأخرى مُرضية.
  • الإرواء الأنفي. يمكنك استخدام أداة غسيل الأنف أو زجاجة مصممة خصيصًا قابلة للاعتصار لغسل المخاط السميك والمُهيجات من الجيوب الأنفية بغسول من المياه المالحة (محلول ملحي). إذا كنت تُعد المحلول الملحي بنفسك، فاستخدم ماءً خاليًا من الملوثات ـــ مُقَطّرًا، أو مُعَقّمًا، أو ماءً باردًا مغليًّا مسبقًا، أو مفلترًا بفلتر مسامه مقاس 1 ميكرون أو أصغر. تأكد من غسل أداة الضخ بعد كل استخدام بماء خالٍ من الملوثات، واتركها في الهواء الطلق لتجف.

نمط الحياة والعلاجات المنزلية

يُعدُّ تجنُّب التعرُّض لعثَّة الغُبار الاستراتيجيَّةَ الفُضلى للتحكُّم في حساسية عثَّة الغبار. على الرغم من تعذُّر التخلُّص الكامل من عثَّة الغُبار من منزلك، إلَّا أنَّه بإمكانك تقليل عدَدِها بشكلٍ كبير. فيما يلي كيفية ذلك:

  • استخدام أغطية السَّرير المُضادَّة لمُسبِّبات الحساسية. احفَظ المرتَبة والوَسائد داخل أغطية مُضادَّة للغُبار أو مانِعة للحساسية. تمنع هذه الأغطية المصنوعة من القماش المنسوج بصورة وثيقة عثَّة الغُبار من التَّوطُّن في المراتِب أو الوسائد أو الخروج منها. غلِّف الصندوق النابِض بأغطية مضادَّة للحساسية.
  • اغسِل مفروشات السَّرير أُسبوعيًّا. اغسِل جميع أغطية السرير والبطانيَّات وأغطية الوسائد وأغطية الأسِرَّة بالماء الساخِن عند درجة حرارة 130 فهرنهايت (54.4 درجة مئوية) على الأقلِّ لقتْل عثِّ الغُبار وإزالة المواد المُثيرة للحساسية. إذا تعذَّر غسْل مفروشات السرير في الماء الساخِن، فضَع المفروشات في المُجفِّف لمُدَّة 15 دقيقة على الأقلِّ عند درجة حرارة أعلى من 130 درجة فهرنهايت (54.4 درجة مئوية) لقتل العثَّة. ثُمَّ اغسِل مفروشات الأسرة وجفِّفها لإزالة المواد المُثيرة للحساسية. يُمكِن أيضًا أن يؤدِّي تجميد العناصر غير القابلة للغسل لمدة 24 ساعة إلى قتل عثَّة الغبار ولكن لن يتخلَّص هذا من المواد المُثيرة للحساسية.
  • حافِظ على انخِفاض الرطوبة. حافِظ على رطوبة نِسبية أقلَّ من 50 بالمائة في منزلك. يُمكن لجهاز إزالة الرُّطوبة أو مُكيِّف الهواء المُساعدة في الحِفاظ على انخفاض الرطوبة، ويُمكِن لجهاز قياس الرُّطوبة (المُتوفِّر في متاجِر الأجهزة) القيام بقِياس مُستويات الرُّطوبة.
  • اختَرْ مفروشات الأسِرَّة بحِكمة. تجنَّبْ أغطية الفِراش التي يعلَقُ الغُبار فيها بسهولةٍ والتي يصعُب تنظيفها بشكل مُتكرر.
  • اشتَرِ لُعَبًا مَحشوَّة قابِلة للغسْل. اغسِلها غالبًا بالماء السَّاخِن وجفِّفها جيِّدًا. أبْقِ اللُّعَب المَحشوَّة بعيدةً عن الأسِرَّة.
  • أزِلِ التُّراب. استَخدِم مِمْسحةً مُبلَّلة أو مُزيَّتة بدلاً من المواد الجافَّة لتنظيف الغُبار. ويمنع هذا الغُبار من أن يُحمَل جوًّا ومن إعادة تَوطِينه.
  • نظِّف بمِكنَسةٍ كهربائية بانتِظام. يؤدِّي تنظيف السجَّاد والأثاث المُنجَّد بالمِكنسة الكهربائية إلى إزالة الغُبار الموجود على السطح ولكن لا يكون التنظيف بالمِكنسة الكهربائية فعَّالاً في إزالة مُعظَم عثَّة الغُبار والمواد المُثيرة للحساسية لعثَّة الغُبار. استخدِمْ مِكنسةً كهربائية مع كِيس فلتر دقيق مُزدَوج الطَّبقات أو مُرشِّح هواء جُسيْمات عالي الكفاءة (HEPA) للمُساعَدة في تقليل انبِعاثات الأترِبة بالمنزل من المُنظِّف. إذا كنتَ مُصابًا بحساسية شديدة، ابقَ بعيدًا عن المنطقة التي يتمُّ تنظيفها بينما يقوم شخصٌ آخَر بالتَّنظيف. انتظِرْ حوالي ساعَتَين قبل الرجوع إلى الغُرفة التي يتمُّ تنظيفها بالمِكنسة.
  • تخلَّصْ من الأغراض المُبعثرة على أرضية المنزل. إذا كانت تجمع الغُبار، فإنَّها تجمَع أيضًا عثَّة الغُبار. تخلَّص من أدوات الزِّينة البسيطة وسطح الطاولة والزِّينة والكُتب والمجلَّات والصُّحف من غُرفة نومِك.
  • تخلَّص من السجَّاد والمأوى الآخَر لعثَّة الغُبار. يوفِّر السجَّاد مأوًي مُريحًا لعثَّة الغُبار. ويكون هذا صحيحًا بشكلٍ خاصٍّ إذا كان السجَّاد فوق الخرسانة، التي تحتفِظ بسهولةٍ بالرُّطوبة وتُوفِّر بيئةً رطبة للعثَّة. إذا كان ذلك مُمكنًا، استبدِلِ السجَّاد بغرفة النوم من الأرض بموادِّ فرْش الأرضية من الفينيل أو مُشمَّع الأرضية أو الخشب أو البلاط. فكِّر في استبدال المَفروشات الأُخرى التي تجمع الغُبار في غُرَف النوم مثل الأثاث المُنجَّد والستائر غير القابلة للغسْل وستائر حجْب الضوء.
  • ركِّب فلتر تَنقِية عالي الكفاءة في الفُرن ووحدة تكييف الهواء. ابحثْ عن فلترٍ يتمتَّع بأقلِّ قِيمة للإبلاغ عن الفاعلية بمِقدار 11 أو 12 واترُك المروحة مُشغَّلةً لإنشاء فلتر هواء للمَنزِل بالكامل. تأكَّد من تغيير الفلتر كلَّ ثلاثة أشهُر.

الاستعداد لموعدك

إذا كنت تعاني ما يبدو أنفًا مرتشحة وعطسًا، وصفيرًا وضيقًا في التنفس أو غيره من الأعراض التي قد تكون ذات صلة بالإصابة بحساسية ما، فستبدأ على الأرجح بزيارة طبيب العائلة أو طبيب عام. لأن المواعيد الطبية يمكن أن تكون قصيرة وغالبًا ما يكون هناك الكثير من الأمور الواجب توضيحها، فمن الجيد أن تكون قبل الذهاب.

ما يمكنك فعله

  • دوِّن أي أعراض تعاني منها، بما في ذلك أي أعراض قد لا تبدو ذات صلة بالأعراض المشابهة للحساسية.
  • دوّن تاريخ عائلتك المتعلق بالحساسية والربو، بما فيه من أنواع معينة من أمراض الحساسية إذا كنت تعرفها.
  • أعد قائمة بجميع الأدوية أو الفيتامينات أو المكملات الغذائية التي تتناولها.
  • اسأل ما إذا كان يجب عليك التوقف عن أي أدوية التي ستؤثر في نتائج اختبارات حساسية الجلد. قد تُخمد مضادات الهيستامين على سبيل المثال أعراض الحساسية.

إعداد قائمة بالأسئلة سيساعدك على الاستفادة القصوى من الوقت معًا. بالنسبة للأعراض التي قد تكون ذات صلة بالحساسية الناجمة عن عثة الغبار، تتضمن بعض الأسئلة الأساسية لتطرحها على طبيبك:

  • ما هو السبب الأكثر احتمالاً في حدوث العلامات والأعراض لديّ؟
  • هل يوجد أي أسباب أخرى محتملة؟
  • هل سأحتاج إلى أي اختبارات للحساسية؟
  • هل يجب عليَّ زيارة أخصائي علاج الحساسية؟
  • ما العلاج الأفضل؟
  • أعاني حالات صحية أخرى. كيف يمكنني إدارة هذه الحالات معًا بشكل أفضل؟
  • هل هناك دواء بديل جنيس للدواء الذي تصفه لي؟
  • ما التغييرات التي يمكن أن أقوم بها في المنزل لتقليل التعرض إلى عثة الغبار؟
  • ومن التغييرات التي وصفتها، ما الذي على الأرجح أن يساعدني؟
  • إذا لم تساعدني الجولة الأولى من العلاجات الدوائية والتغييرات البيئية التي ناقشتها، فماذا سنجرب بعد ذلك؟
  • هل هناك أي منشورات أو مواد مطبوعة أخرى يمكنني أخذها معي إلى المنزل؟ ما المواقع الإلكترونية التي توصي بها؟

بالإضافة إلى الأسئلة التي قد أعددتها لطرحها على طبيبك، لا تتردد في طرح الأسئلة في أثناء موعدك.

ما الذي تتوقعه من طبيبك

من المرجح أن يطرح عليك طبيبك عددًا من الأسئلة. قد يحفظ لك الاستعداد للإجابة عن الأسئلة مزيدًا من الوقت للتطرق إلى أي نقاط تريد أن تركز عليها. قد يسأل طبيبك الأسئلة التالية:

  • متى أول مرة بدأت تعاني فيها الأعراض؟
  • هل ضايقتك هذه الأعراض طوال العام؟
  • هل تسوء أعراضك بأوقات معينة من اليوم؟
  • هل تسوء الأعراض في غرفة النوم أو بغرف أخرى بالمنزل؟
  • هل لديك حيوانات أليفة تعيش في المنزل، وهل تدخل تلك الحيوانات إلى غرف النوم؟
  • أي أساليب رعاية ذاتية استخدمتها، وهل ساعدتك؟
  • ما الذي يجعل أعراضك تزداد سوءًا، إن وُجد؟
  • هل يوجد رطوبة أو تلفيات في المياه في المنزل أو مكان العمل؟
  • هل لديك مبرد للهواء في المنزل؟
  • هل أنت مصاب بالربو؟

قد يكون تأثير الحساسية تجاه اللقاح ملحوظًا لأن الحساسية تكون موسمية. على سبيل المثال، قد يكون لديك صعوبة أكبر في التحكم في حالة الربو لديك لفترة قصيرة خلال فصل الصيف. حساسية عثة الغبار، من ناحية أخرى، يرجع ذلك إلى شيء قد تعرضت له باستمرار لدرجة ما. ولذلك، قد لا تتعرف عليه كعامل في تعقيد الربو لديك بينما في الحقيقة قد يكون هو السبب الأساسي.

ما الذي يمكنك القيام به في هذه الأثناء

إذا اشتبهت في أنك ربما تكون مصابًا بحساسية عثة الغبار، فاتخذ خطوات للحد من غبار المنزل، وخاصة في غرفة النوم. واحرص على الإبقاء على نظافة غرفة النوم، وتخلص من الركام الذي يجمع الأتربة، واغسل أغطية الفراش في مياه ساخنة لا تقل درجة حرارتها عن 54.4 درجة مئوية (130 درجة فهرنهايت).

07/05/2019
References
  1. Dust mite allergy. Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America. https://www.aafa.org/dust-mite-allergy/. Accessed Dec. 12, 2016.
  2. Matsui EC, et al. Indoor environmental control practices and asthma management. Pediatrics. 2016;138:e1.
  3. Bope ET, et al. The respiratory system. In: Conn's Current Therapy 2016. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2016. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 13, 2016.
  4. Dust allergy. American College of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology. https://acaai.org/allergies/types/dust-allergy. Accessed Dec. 22, 2016.
  5. Dust mites. American Lung Association. https://www.lung.org/our-initiatives/healthy-air/indoor/indoor-air-pollutants/dust-mites.html. Accessed Dec. 22, 2016.
  6. Immunotherapy can provide lasting relief. American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology. https://www.aaaai.org/conditions-and-treatments/library/allergy-library/immunotherapy-can-provide-lasting-relief. Accessed Dec. 27, 2016.
  7. Sexton DJ, et al. The common cold in adults: Diagnosis and clinical features. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 27, 2016.
  8. Platts-Mills TAE. Allergen avoidance in the treatment of asthma and allergic rhinitis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 12, 2016.
  9. Oszukowska M, et al. Role of primary and secondary prevention in atopic dermatitis. Postepy Dermatologii I Alergologii. 2015;32:409.
  10. Allergy testing. American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology. https://www.aaaai.org/conditions-and-treatments/library/allergy-library/allergy-testing. Accessed Dec. 27, 2016.
  11. AAAAI allergy and asthma drug guide. American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology. https://www.aaaai.org/conditions-and-treatments/drug-guide. Accessed Dec. 27, 2016.
  12. Is rinsing your sinuses safe? U.S. Food and Drug Administration. http://www.fda.gov/ForConsumers/ConsumerUpdates/ucm316375.htm. Accessed Dec. 23, 2016.
  13. deShazo RD, et al. Pharmacotherapy of allergic rhinitis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 27, 2016.
  14. Rhinitis (hay fever). American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology. https://www.aaaai.org/conditions-and-treatments/allergies/rhinitis. Accessed Dec. 27, 2016.
  15. deShazo RD, et al. Allergic rhinitis: Clinical manifestations, epidemiology, and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 29, 2016.
  16. Wachtel TJ, et al. Selected organ system abnormalities. In: Practical Guide to the Care of the Geriatric Patient. 3rd ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Mosby Elsevier; 2007. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 30, 2016.

Diagnosis

Your doctor may suspect dust mite allergy based on symptoms and your answers to questions about your home.

To confirm that you're allergic to some airborne substance, your doctor may use a lighted instrument to look at the condition of the lining of your nose. If you have an allergy to something airborne, the lining of the nasal passage will be swollen and may appear pale or bluish.

Your doctor may suspect a dust mite allergy if your symptoms are worse when you go to bed or while cleaning — when dust mite allergens would be temporarily airborne. If you have a pet, it may be more difficult to determine the cause of the allergy, particularly if your pet sleeps in your bedroom.

  • Allergy skin test. Your doctor may suggest an allergy skin test to determine what you're allergic to. You may be referred to an allergy specialist (allergist) for this test.

    In this test, tiny amounts of purified allergen extracts — including an extract for dust mites — are pricked onto your skin's surface. This is usually carried out on the forearm, but it may be done on the upper back.

    Your doctor or nurse observes your skin for signs of allergic reactions after 15 minutes. If you're allergic to dust mites, you'll develop a red, itchy bump where the dust mite extract was pricked onto your skin. The most common side effects of these skin tests are itching and redness. These side effects usually go away within 30 minutes.

  • Allergy blood test. Some people can’t undergo a skin test because they have a skin condition or they take a medication that can affect the results. As an alternative, your doctor may order a blood test that screens for specific allergy-causing antibodies to various common allergens, including dust mites. This test may also indicate how sensitive you are to an allergen.

Treatment

The first treatment for controlling dust mite allergy is avoiding dust mites as much as possible. When you minimize your exposure to dust mites, you can expect fewer or less severe allergic reactions. However, it's impossible to completely eliminate dust mites from your environment. You may also need medications to control symptoms.

Allergy medications

Your doctor may direct you to take one of the following medications to improve nasal allergy symptoms:

  • Antihistamines reduce the production of an immune system chemical that is active in an allergic reaction. These drugs relieve itching, sneezing and runny nose. Over-the-counter antihistamine tablets, such as fexofenadine (Allegra Allergy), loratadine (Alavert, Claritin,), cetirizine (Zyrtec) and others, as well as antihistamine syrups for children, are available. Prescription antihistamines taken as a nasal spray include azelastine (Astelin, Astepro) and olopatadine (Patanase).
  • Corticosteroids delivered as a nasal spray can reduce inflammation and control symptoms of hay fever. These drugs include fluticasone propionate (Flonase), mometasone furoate (Nasonex), triamcinolone (Nasacort Allergy 24HR), ciclesonide (Omnaris) and others. Nasal corticosteroids provide a low dose of the drug and have a much lower risk of side effects compared with oral corticosteroids.
  • Decongestants can help shrink swollen tissues in your nasal passages and make it easier to breathe through your nose. Some over-the-counter allergy tablets combine an antihistamine with a decongestant. Oral decongestants can increase blood pressure and shouldn't be taken if you have severe high blood pressure, glaucoma or cardiovascular disease. In men with an enlarged prostate, the drug can worsen the condition. Talk to your doctor about whether you can safely take a decongestant.

    Over-the-counter decongestants taken as a nasal spray may briefly reduce allergy symptoms. If you use a decongestant spray for more than three days in a row, however, it can actually make nasal congestion worse.

  • Leukotriene modifiers block the action of certain immune system chemicals. Your doctor may prescribe the leukotriene modifier montelukast (Singulair), which comes in tablet form. Possible side effects of montelukast include upper respiratory infection, headache and fever. Less common side effects include behavior or mood changes, such as anxiousness or depression.

Other therapies

  • Immunotherapy. You can "train" your immune system not to be sensitive to an allergen. This is done through a series of allergy shots called immunotherapy. One to two weekly shots expose you to very small doses of the allergen, in this case, the dust mite proteins that cause the allergic reaction. The dose is gradually increased, usually during a three- to six-month period. Maintenance shots are needed every four weeks for three to five years. Immunotherapy is usually used when other simple treatments are not satisfactory.
  • Nasal irrigation. You can use a neti pot or a specially designed squeeze bottle to flush thickened mucus and irritants from your sinuses with a prepared saltwater (saline) rinse. If you're preparing the saline solution yourself, use water that's contaminant-free — distilled, sterile, previously boiled and cooled, or filtered with a filter that has an absolute pore size of 1 micron or smaller. Be sure to rinse the irrigation device after each use with contaminant-free water, and leave open to air-dry.

Lifestyle and home remedies

Avoiding exposure to dust mites is the best strategy for controlling dust mite allergy. While you can't completely eliminate dust mites from your home, you can significantly reduce their number. Here’s how:

  • Use allergen-proof bed covers. Keep your mattress and pillows in dustproof or allergen-blocking covers. These covers, made of tightly woven fabric, prevent dust mites from colonizing or escaping from the mattress or pillows. Encase box springs in allergen-proof covers.
  • Wash bedding weekly. Wash all sheets, blankets, pillowcases and bedcovers in hot water that is at least 130 F (54.4 C) to kill dust mites and remove allergens. If bedding can't be washed hot, put the items in the dryer for at least 15 minutes at a temperature above 130 F (54.4 C) to kill the mites. Then wash and dry the bedding to remove allergens. Freezing nonwashable items for 24 hours also can kill dust mites, but this won't remove the allergens.
  • Keep humidity low. Maintain a relative humidity below 50 percent in your home. A dehumidifier or air conditioner can help keep humidity low, and a hygrometer (available at hardware stores) can measure humidity levels.
  • Choose bedding wisely. Avoid bedcovers that trap dust easily and are difficult to clean frequently.
  • Buy washable stuffed toys. Wash them often in hot water and dry thoroughly. Also, keep stuffed toys off beds.
  • Remove dust. Use a damp or oiled mop or rag rather than dry materials to clean up dust. This prevents dust from becoming airborne and resettling.
  • Vacuum regularly. Vacuuming carpeting and upholstered furniture removes surface dust — but vacuuming isn't effective at removing most dust mites and dust mite allergens. Use a vacuum cleaner with a double-layered microfilter bag or a high-efficiency particulate air (HEPA) filter to help decrease house-dust emissions from the cleaner. If your allergies are severe, stay out of the area being vacuumed while someone else does the work. Wait about two hours before going back in the vacuumed room.
  • Cut clutter. If it collects dust, it also collects dust mites. Remove knickknacks, tabletop ornaments, books, magazines and newspapers from your bedroom.
  • Remove carpeting and other dust mite habitats. Carpeting provides a comfortable habitat for dust mites. This is especially true if carpeting is over concrete, which holds moisture easily and provides a humid environment for mites. If possible, replace wall-to-wall bedroom carpeting with tile, wood, linoleum or vinyl flooring. Consider replacing other dust-collecting furnishings in bedrooms, such as upholstered furniture, nonwashable curtains and horizontal blinds.
  • Install a high-efficiency media filter in your furnace and air conditioning unit. Look for a filter with a Minimum Efficiency Reporting Value (MERV) of 11 or 12 and leave the fan on to create a whole house air filter. Be sure to change the filter every three months.

Preparing for your appointment

If you have what seems like a constant runny nose, sneezing, wheezing, shortness of breath or other symptoms that may be related to an allergy, you'll probably start by seeing your family doctor or general practitioner. Because appointments can be brief and there's often a lot of ground to cover, it's a good idea to prepare before you go.

What you can do

  • Write down any symptoms you're experiencing, including any that may seem unrelated to allergy-like symptoms.
  • Write down your family's history of allergy and asthma, including specific types of allergies if you know them.
  • Make a list of all the medications, vitamins or supplements you're taking.
  • Ask if you should stop any medications that would affect the results of an allergy skin test. Antihistamines, for example, could suppress your allergy symptoms.

Preparing a list of questions will help you make the most of your time together. For symptoms that may be related to dust mite allergy, some basic questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What is the most likely cause of my signs and symptoms?
  • Are there any other possible causes?
  • Will I need any allergy tests?
  • Should I see an allergy specialist?
  • What is the best treatment?
  • I have other health conditions. How can I best manage these conditions together?
  • Is there a generic alternative to the medicine you're prescribing for me?
  • What changes can I make at home to reduce my exposure to dust mites?
  • Of the changes you've described, which are the most likely to help?
  • If the first round of drug treatments and environmental changes we've discussed don't help, what will we try next?
  • Are there any brochures or other printed material that I can take home? What websites do you recommend?

In addition to the questions that you've prepared to ask your doctor, don't hesitate to ask questions during your appointment.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions. Being ready to answer them may reserve time to go over any points you want to spend more time on. Your doctor may ask:

  • When did you first begin experiencing symptoms?
  • Do these symptoms bother you throughout the year?
  • Are symptoms worse at certain times of day?
  • Are the symptoms worse in the bedroom or other rooms of the house?
  • Do you have indoor pets, and do they go in the bedrooms?
  • What kind of self-care techniques have you used, and have they helped?
  • What, if anything, appears to worsen your symptoms?
  • Is there dampness or water damage in the home or workplace?
  • Do you have an air conditioner in the home?
  • Do you have asthma?

The impact of a pollen allergy may be noticeable because the allergy is seasonal. For example, you may have more difficulty managing your asthma for a short time during the summer. Dust mite allergy, on the other hand, is due to something to which you're constantly exposed to some degree. Therefore, you may not recognize it as a factor complicating your asthma when, in fact, it may be a primary cause.

What you can do in the meantime

If you suspect that you may have a dust mite allergy, take steps to reduce house dust, particularly in your bedroom. Keep your bedroom clean, remove dust-collecting clutter and wash bedding in hot water that is at least 130 F (54.4 C).

May 11, 2017
References
  1. Dust mite allergy. Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America. http://www.aafa.org/page/dust-mite-allergy.aspx. Accessed Dec. 12, 2016.
  2. Matsui EC, et al. Indoor environmental control practices and asthma management. Pediatrics. 2016;138:e1.
  3. Bope ET, et al. The respiratory system. In: Conn's Current Therapy 2016. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2016. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 13, 2016.
  4. Dust allergy. American College of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology. http://acaai.org/allergies/types/dust-allergy. Accessed Dec. 22, 2016.
  5. Dust mites. American Lung Association. http://www.lung.org/our-initiatives/healthy-air/indoor/indoor-air-pollutants/dust-mites.html. Accessed Dec. 22, 2016.
  6. Immunotherapy can provide lasting relief. American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology. http://www.aaaai.org/conditions-and-treatments/library/allergy-library/immunotherapy-can-provide-lasting-relief. Accessed Dec. 27, 2016.
  7. Sexton DJ, et al. The common cold in adults: Diagnosis and clinical features. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Dec. 27, 2016.
  8. Platts-Mills TAE. Allergen avoidance in the treatment of asthma and allergic rhinitis. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Dec. 12, 2016.
  9. Oszukowska M, et al. Role of primary and secondary prevention in atopic dermatitis. Postepy Dermatologii I Alergologii. 2015;32:409.
  10. Allergy testing. American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology. Allergic triggers in atopic dermatitis. Accessed Dec. 27, 2016.
  11. AAAAI allergy and asthma drug guide. American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology. https://www.aaaai.org/conditions-and-treatments/drug-guide. Accessed Dec. 27, 2016.
  12. Is rinsing your sinuses safe? U.S. Food and Drug Administration. http://www.fda.gov/ForConsumers/ConsumerUpdates/ucm316375.htm. Accessed Dec. 23, 2016.
  13. deShazo RD, et al. Pharmacotherapy of allergic rhinitis. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Dec. 27, 2016.
  14. Rhinitis (hay fever). American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology. http://www.aaaai.org/conditions-and-treatments/allergies/rhinitis. Accessed Dec. 27, 2016.
  15. deShazo RD, et al. Allergic rhinitis: Clinical manifestations, epidemiology, and diagnosis. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Dec. 29, 2016.
  16. Wachtel TJ, et al. Selected organ system abnormalities. In: Practical Guide to the Care of the Geriatric Patient. 3rd ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Mosby Elsevier; 2007. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 30, 2016.