诊断

目前还没有针对化疗脑的诊断性检查。经历这些症状的癌症幸存者在记忆测试中的评分往往在正常范围内。

医生可能建议进行血液检查、脑部扫描或其他检查,以排除记忆问题的其他原因。

治疗

化疗脑的治疗重点是应对症状。在大多数情况下,与癌症相关的记忆问题都是暂时的。

化疗脑的症状和严重程度因人而异,医生可以与您一起制定个性化的应对方法。

控制导致记忆问题的状况

癌症和癌症治疗可导致其他状况,例如贫血、抑郁症、睡眠问题和提早绝经等,这些可能加剧记忆问题。控制住这些其他因素可以让您更容易应对疾病症状。

管理化疗脑症状

专门负责诊断和治疗影响记忆和思考的病症的专家(神经心理科医生)可制定计划帮助您应对化疗脑症状。有时,医生称此为认知康复或认知补救。

学习适应和应对记忆变化的活动可能涉及:

  • 反复练习,训练大脑。记忆和思考练习可帮助大脑修复断裂的回路,这可能对化疗脑有益。
  • 跟踪和了解影响记忆问题的因素。仔细跟踪记忆问题可能会找到应对方法。例如,如果您在饥饿或疲倦时更容易分心,则可以将需要更加集中精力的高难度任务安排在每天您感受最佳的时间。
  • 采用应对策略。您学到日常工作的新方法,以帮助您集中精力。例如,您可以学习在阅读时做笔记或列出书面材料的提纲。或者,治疗师可帮助您学习交谈的方法,帮助您记住对话,随后再找回这些记忆。
  • 压力释放技巧。压力大时可能更容易出现记忆问题。而存在记忆问题本身就让人有压力。为了终结这个循环,您可以学习放松技巧。例如渐进的肌肉放松或正念减压法练习,这些技巧可以帮助您找出压力,从而应对压力。

药物

尚无药物被批准用于治疗化疗脑。如果您和医生认为某些获批用于治疗其他病症的药物可能对此病有一定益处,则可以考虑使用此类药物。

有时用于治疗化疗脑患者症状的药物包括:

  • 哌甲酯(Concerta、Ritalin 等),一种用于治疗注意缺陷多动障碍(ADHD)的药物
  • 多奈哌齐(Aricept),一种用于阿尔茨海默病患者的药物
  • 莫达非尼(Provigil),一种用于某些睡眠障碍患者的药物
  • 美金刚胺(Namenda),一种用于改善阿尔茨海默病患者记忆的药物,在脑部放射治疗期间可能会有所帮助

生活方式与家庭疗法

您可以采取一些措施自行缓解化疗脑部症状。例如,尝试:

  • 尽量控制你的工作环境。如果噪音和喧闹导致您分心,请尝试找一个安静的地方,以便能够集中注意力。可以佩戴耳塞或降噪耳机。轻音乐可能有助于压过其他的噪音。
  • 为成功做好准备。在处理需要集中注意力的复杂任务之前,采取一些措施,以确保有最大机率取得成功。合理饮食,以确保您不会由于饥饿而分心。选择一天当中您最清醒的时间。晚上睡个好觉。制定计划,确切了解如何才能完成任务。
  • 井然有序。利用日历或计划书保证任务进度。这样,您就不会浪费时间,担心忘记就诊或者没有完成任务清单上的某项任务。在计划书上写下每一件事。无论是在家还是上班,首先做好规划统筹。井然有序的工作空间意味着您可以将更多时间花在需要完成的任务上。
  • 消除杂念。当产生杂念时,将它们写在计划书上。记录想法有助于当下将其快速消除,并确保将来不会忘记。
  • 经常性小憩一下。将您的任务分成容易处理的多个部分,每完成一个部分休息一次。让自己短暂休息一会儿,以便能够稍后继续。
  • 锻炼大脑。玩一玩填字游戏或数字游戏,以锻炼您的大脑。培养一个新的爱好或掌握一项新的技能,例如学一种乐器或一门语言。
  • 锻炼身体。适度锻炼有助于应对压力、疲劳和抑郁,例如快走所有这些都可能导致记忆问题。如果您最近缺乏运动,请先得到医生的同意。

替代医学

尚未证明替代疗法可预防或治愈化疗脑。如果您有兴趣尝试针对您症状的替代疗法,请向医生咨询风险和益处。

补充和替代治疗或许能帮助您应对痛苦,而痛苦可能造成癌症患者思维和记忆障碍。

可能有帮助的治疗示例包括:

  • 艺术疗法
  • 运动
  • 冥想
  • 音乐疗法
  • 放松练习
  • 精神疗法

妥善处理与支持

化疗脑的症状可能包括心情抑郁和身体虚弱。经过一段时间,您会找到适应的方法,这时会更容易集中注意力,记忆问题也可能逐渐消失。到那时您就会明白这是常见问题,可以随着时间而改善。您可能会发现它有助于您:

  • 理解其实每个人都会遇到记忆问题。尽管您找到了处理记忆变化的最佳方法,但可能还是偶有失误。每个人都会遇到这种事情。虽然您可能无法控制与癌症治疗相关的记忆变化,但是您可以控制导致记忆力衰退的其他原因,例如过度疲劳、注意力不集中或者做事缺乏条理,这些原因对每个人来说都很常见。
  • 每天留出时间放松身心。压力会导致记忆和注意力出现问题。每天花一些时间做点可以减轻压力的事情,例如运动、听音乐、冥想或者写日记。
  • 对他人坦承自己的症状。保持开放的心态,对亲密的人坦承自己的化疗脑症状。解释自己的症状,并向亲友提供能够帮助到您的方法。例如,您可以请朋友通过电话和电子邮件重复提醒您之前所制订的计划。

准备您的预约

如果您当前正在接受癌症治疗,请与您的肿瘤医生讨论您的体征和症状。如果您已完成治疗,您可以先和家庭医生约诊。在某些情况下,您可能会被转诊给专门帮助人们应对记忆困难的专业人士(神经心理学家)。

由于就诊时间可能很短,而且通常会涉及到很多方面,因此最好为就诊做好准备。以下信息可以帮助您做好准备,并了解医生可能会做什么。

您可以做什么

  • 写日记记录您的记忆缺失情况。描述您遇到记忆问题的情况。记下您当时在做什么,遇到了什么样的困难。
  • 列出您正在服用的所有药物、维生素或补充剂。
  • 请家人或朋友陪同或带上录音设备。有时,您可能很难记住就诊时医务人员告知的所有信息。陪同您的亲友可能会记住您遗漏或忘记的信息。录下与医生的对话,以便今后收听。
  • 写下要向医生咨询的问题。

您的就诊时间有限,提前列出问题有助于充分利用就诊时间。请按照重要性从大到小的顺序列出问题,以免时间不够。对于化疗脑,要向医生咨询的一些基本问题可能包括:

  • 我的症状可能是什么原因造成的?
  • 症状一般会持续多长时间?
  • 哪些检查可能有助于确定我的症状是否由癌症治疗引起?
  • 我应该去看神经心理学家吗?治疗费用是多少,我的保险能报销吗?
  • 对于我的症状,最佳治疗方案是什么?
  • 除了您建议的治疗方法外,我自己能不能做些什么来帮助改善我的记忆力问题?
  • 有没有我可以带走的手册或其他印刷材料?您推荐哪些网站?
  • 我应该制订随访计划吗?
  • 如果我需要脑放疗,您可以进行海马区保护性放疗吗?
  • 脑放疗期间我是否应该服用美金刚(Namenda)?

除了事先准备好的问题外,如果想到任何其他问题,您也可以随时询问医生。

医生可能做些什么

医生可能会询问您一些问题。做好回答这些问题的准备,可以让您有更多的时间问您想解决的问题。医生可能会问:

  • 您第一次出现这些症状是在什么时候?
  • 症状是持续存在还是偶尔出现?
  • 您的症状给您的日常生活造成了什么影响?
  • 有没有什么因素似乎会令您的症状好转?
  • 有没有什么因素似乎会令您的症状恶化?
Feb. 09, 2023

Living with 化疗脑?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Cancer: Managing Symptoms support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Cancer: Managing Symptoms Discussions

ashby1947
Does anyone have experience with Palliative Care?

103 Replies Thu, Apr 18, 2024

patrickf1
Wound from radiation therapy won't heal: What helps?

12 Replies Wed, Apr 17, 2024

See more discussions
  1. Cognitive impairment in adults with non-central nervous systems cancer (PDQ). https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/treatment/side-effects/memory/cognitive-impairment-hp-pdq. Accessed Jan. 19, 2019.
  2. Niederhuber JE, et al., eds. Neurologic complications. In: Abeloff's Clinical Oncology. 5th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Churchill Livingstone Elsevier; 2014. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 17, 2019.
  3. Vannorsdall TD. Cognitive changes related to cancer therapy. Medical Clinics of North America. 2017;101:1115.
  4. Survivorship. Plymouth Meeting, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/default.aspx. Accessed Jan. 17, 2019.
  5. Asher A, et al. The effect of cancer treatment on cognitive function. Clinical Advances in Hematology and Oncology. 2015;13:1.
  6. DeVita VT Jr, et al., eds. Neurocognitive effects. In: DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Wolters Kluwer Health Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015. http://www.ovid.com/site/index.jsp. Accessed Jan. 17, 2019.
  7. Distress management. Plymouth Meeting, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/default.aspx. Accessed Jan. 25, 2019.
  8. Giridhar KV (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Feb. 19, 2019.

Diagnosis

There are no tests to diagnose chemo brain. Cancer survivors who experience these symptoms often score within normal ranges on memory tests.

Your doctor may recommend blood tests, brain scans or other tests to rule out other causes of memory problems.

Treatment

Chemo brain treatment focuses on coping with symptoms. In most cases, cancer-related memory problems are temporary.

Because chemo brain symptoms and severity differ from person to person, your doctor can work with you to develop an individualized approach to coping.

Controlling conditions that contribute to memory problems

Cancer and cancer treatment can lead to other conditions, such as anemia, depression, sleep problems and early menopause, which may worsen memory problems. Controlling these other factors may make it easier to cope with these symptoms.

Managing chemo brain symptoms

A professional who specializes in diagnosing and treating conditions that affect memory and thinking (neuropsychologist) can create a plan to help you cope with chemo brain symptoms. Doctors sometimes refer to this as cognitive rehabilitation or cognitive remediation.

Learning to adapt and cope with memory changes may involve:

  • Repetitive exercises to train your brain. Memory and thinking exercises may help your brain repair broken circuits that may contribute to chemo brain.
  • Tracking and understanding what influences memory problems. Carefully tracking your memory problems may reveal ways to cope. For instance, if you become more easily distracted when you're hungry or tired, you could schedule difficult tasks that require extra concentration for the time of day when you feel your best.
  • Using coping strategies. You may learn new ways of doing everyday tasks to help you concentrate. For instance, you may learn to take notes or make an outline of written material as you read. Or a therapist may help you learn ways of speaking that help you commit conversations to memory and then retrieve those memories later.
  • Stress-relief techniques. Stressful situations can make memory problems more likely. And having memory problems can be stressful. To end the cycle, you may learn relaxation techniques. These techniques, such as progressive muscle relaxation or mindfulness practices, may help you identify stress and help you cope.

Medications

No medications have been approved to treat chemo brain. Medications approved for other conditions may be considered if you and your doctor agree they may offer some benefit.

Medications that are sometimes used in people with these symptoms include:

  • Methylphenidate (Concerta, Ritalin, others), a drug used to treat attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)
  • Donepezil (Aricept), a drug used in people with Alzheimer's disease
  • Modafinil (Provigil), a drug used in people with certain sleep disorders
  • Memantine (Namenda), a drug used to improve memory in people with Alzheimer's disease, may help during radiation therapy to the brain

Lifestyle and home remedies

You can take steps to ease chemo brain symptoms on your own. For instance, try to:

  • Control what you can about your working environment. If noise and commotion are contributing to your distraction, try to find a quiet place where you can concentrate. Consider earplugs or noise-cancelling headphones. Soft music may help drown out other noises.
  • Prepare yourself for success. Before tackling a complicated task that requires concentration, take steps to ensure that you will have the best chance for success. Eat so you won't be distracted by hunger. Pick a time of day when you'll be the most alert. Get a good night's sleep. Have a plan so you know exactly what you'll need to do in order to complete your task.
  • Stay organized. Use calendars or planners to keep on task. That way you won't spend time wondering if you're forgetting an appointment or an item on your to-do list. Write everything down in your planner. Make organization a priority at home and at work, too. Having an organized work space means you can spend more time on tasks that you need to accomplish.
  • Clear your mind of distractions. When distracting thoughts pop up, write them down in your planner. Recording your thoughts will help to quickly clear them and ensure that you remember them later.
  • Take frequent breaks. Divide your tasks into manageable portions and take a break each time you complete one part. Give yourself a short rest so that you'll be able to continue later.
  • Exercise your brain. Try crossword puzzles or number games to exercise your brain. Take up a new hobby or master a new skill, such as learning to play a musical instrument or learning a language.
  • Exercise your body. Moderate exercise, such as brisk walking, can help you cope with stress, fatigue and depression. All can contribute to memory problems. If you haven't been active lately, get the OK from your doctor first.

Alternative medicine

No alternative treatments have been found to prevent or cure chemo brain. If you're interested in trying alternative treatments for your symptoms, discuss the risks and benefits with your doctor.

Complementary and alternative treatments might help you cope with distress, which can contribute to thinking and memory problems in people with cancer.

Examples of treatments that might help include:

  • Art therapy
  • Exercise
  • Meditation
  • Music therapy
  • Relaxation exercises
  • Spirituality

Coping and support

Chemo brain symptoms can be frustrating and debilitating. With time, you'll find ways to adapt so that concentration will become easier and memory problems may fade. Until then, know that this is a common problem that's likely to improve with time. You might find it helpful to:

  • Understand that memory problems happen to everyone. Despite your best strategies for dealing with your memory changes, you'll still have the occasional lapse. It happens to everyone. While you may have little control over the cancer-treatment-related memory changes, you can control other causes of memory lapses that are common to everyone, such as being overly tired, distracted or disorganized.
  • Take time each day to relax. Stress can contribute to memory and concentration problems. Devote time each day to stress-relief activities, such as exercise, listening to music, meditation or writing in a journal.
  • Be honest with others about your symptoms. Be open and honest with the people who are close to you about your chemo brain symptoms. Explain your symptoms and also suggest ways friends and family can help. For instance, you might ask a friend to remind you of plans by both phone and email.

Preparing for your appointment

If you're currently undergoing cancer treatment, talk to your oncologist about your signs and symptoms. If you've completed treatment, you might start by making an appointment with your family doctor. In some cases, you may be referred to a professional who specializes in helping people cope with memory difficulties (neuropsychologist).

Because appointments can be brief, and because there's often a lot of ground to cover, it's a good idea to be well-prepared. Here's some information to help you get ready and what to expect from your doctor.

What you can do

  • Keep a journal of your memory lapses. Describe the situations in which you experience memory problems. Note what you were doing and what type of difficulty you experienced.
  • Make a list of all medications, as well as any vitamins or supplements that you're taking.
  • Take a family member or friend along or bring a recorder. Sometimes it can be difficult to remember all the information provided during an appointment. Someone who accompanies you may remember something that you missed or forgot. Record the conversation with your doctor so you can listen to it later.
  • Write down questions to ask your doctor.

Your time with your doctor is limited, so preparing a list of questions can help you make the most of your visit. List your questions from most important to least important in case time runs out. For chemo brain, some basic questions to ask your doctor might include:

  • What is likely causing my symptoms?
  • How long do symptoms typically last?
  • What kinds of tests can help determine whether my symptoms are caused by cancer treatment?
  • Should I see a neuropsychologist? What will that cost, and will my insurance cover it?
  • What is the best treatment for my symptoms?
  • Are there things I can do on my own, in addition to the treatment you're suggesting, to help improve my memory problems?
  • Are there brochures or other printed material that I can take with me? What websites do you recommend?
  • Should I plan for a follow-up visit?
  • If I need brain radiation, can you do hippocampal-sparing radiation?
  • Should I take memantine (Namenda) during brain radiation?

In addition to the questions that you've prepared to ask your doctor, don't hesitate to ask any other questions that occur to you.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions. Being ready to answer them may allow more time later to cover points you want to address. Your doctor may ask:

  • When did you first begin experiencing these symptoms?
  • Have your symptoms been continuous or occasional?
  • How do your symptoms affect your everyday life?
  • What, if anything, seems to improve your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, appears to worsen your symptoms?
March 22, 2019
References
  1. Cognitive impairment in adults with non-central nervous systems cancer (PDQ). https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/treatment/side-effects/memory/cognitive-impairment-hp-pdq. Accessed Jan. 19, 2019.
  2. Niederhuber JE, et al., eds. Neurologic complications. In: Abeloff's Clinical Oncology. 5th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Churchill Livingstone Elsevier; 2014. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 17, 2019.
  3. Vannorsdall TD. Cognitive changes related to cancer therapy. Medical Clinics of North America. 2017;101:1115.
  4. Survivorship. Plymouth Meeting, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/default.aspx. Accessed Jan. 17, 2019.
  5. Asher A, et al. The effect of cancer treatment on cognitive function. Clinical Advances in Hematology and Oncology. 2015;13:1.
  6. DeVita VT Jr, et al., eds. Neurocognitive effects. In: DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Wolters Kluwer Health Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015. http://www.ovid.com/site/index.jsp. Accessed Jan. 17, 2019.
  7. Distress management. Plymouth Meeting, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/default.aspx. Accessed Jan. 25, 2019.
  8. Giridhar KV (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Feb. 19, 2019.

Related

Products & Services